MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #537
Hadashi no Gen

Hadashi no Gen

Alternative Titles

English: Barefoot Gen
Synonyms: Gen of Hiroshima
Japanese: はだしのゲン

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 1983
Genres: Drama, Historical
Duration: 1 hr. 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 4675 users)
Ranked: #5372
Popularity: #1983
Members: 9,926
Favorites: 23
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama historical
Jul 22, 2008
Archaeon
"I dug my father, sister and brother out of the ruins. Their skulls and other bones were intact. I thought humans became like that when they were burnt. When my mother's body was cremated however, there were very few bones. It made me shake with anger that the atomic bomb radiation deprived my mother, who had survived for 21 years, of even her bones. I vowed never to endure wars or atomic bombs"

(Taken from an interview with Nakazawa Keiji by Jonathan Clements.)


On Moday, August 6th, 1945, the US bomber Enola Gay dropped the atomic bomb known as "Little Boy" on the city of Hiroshima, Japan. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2011
Donwun
Note: In this review I will be talking about both Barefoot Gen (1983) & Barefoot Gen 2 (1986) in every respect even though there is a 3 year gap in production between the two movies I don’t really feel there is much of a difference with anything in particular. In many ways both films would have worked better a single release. This would have made more sense as the two movies address two different aspects of the given situation. Also considering the subject matter is quite difficult for many to digest I actually feel having the two films separate has hindered the second movie.

Using read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2011
IresuOtoko
Warning: As Hadashi no Gen is extremely graphic, it is not to be viewed by the faint of heart.

First off :-
What tugged at my heartstrings the most:
The scene where Gen's mother lost control of her senses as she watched her husband, daughter and youngest son perish in the flames.

The madness brought about by this atomic bombing truly was horrifying, and through this movie, I was given a little insight of what life was like for the survivors.

Though the atomic bombing did end the war, what really stunned me was the fact that the dunces of war leaders involved took way too much time read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2010
roriconfan
ANIME MOVIE DEPOT, PART 11

Preceded by: Future War 198X-nen (1982)
Followed by: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (1984)

BAREFOOT GEN (1983)

The second generation of animefans may have not been too fond of overblown drama and high ideals but also had a positive effect on the ones who wanted to make features such as this. Up until then the effects of the Hiroshima bombing was a sort of taboo nobody was allowed to speak about openly because it was causing them a big grief and the country was trying to recover from all that. Anime up to then where only indirectly showing the horrors through fiction read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2011
zozobra
Based on the manga of the same name and centred on author Keiji Nakazawa’s childhood exploits in post-atomic Hiroshima is Barefoot Gen, the classic anime directed by Mori Masaki. The crux of the story is centred on the suffering caused by the A-bomb dropped on Hiroshima. It expands the story beyond the immediate and devastating effect to show how people were affected by the fall out of one of the most monstrous man-made disasters ever. Issues that affect the survivors are varied from the brutality, bullying and negligence of occupying American forces. But much more seriously it focuses the cameras gaze on the long term read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 21, 2008
jonathanlane
Barefoot Gen is at the same time a compelling visual of the horrors of war and a cheesy soap opera; a devastating tale of courage and survival and a badly written one dimensional flick. Gen can be seen as the polar opposite of the epic masterpiece Grave of the Fireflies, for although they deal with similar subjects the way they go about doing it are completely different in both style and quality. Where Fireflies focuses on the small picture, one brother trying to care for his litter sister, Gen is bent upon showing the "big picture" of the war, the devastation that it brought upon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2009
AironicallyHuman
"The bombing of Hiroshima, as seen through the eyes of a boy."

Barefoot Gen: 9/10

A line from Apocalypse Now kept creeping into my head whilst I watched this - "The horror, the horror..."

Barefoot Gen more than lived up to my expectations. I'd read before watching that it's very similar to Grave of the Fireflies, it being a story about children trying to survive during World War 2, and they are indeed worthy of being spoken of in the same breath. There aren't many films, live-action or animated, that have the sort of impact these films do on viewers.

Barefoot Gen is a story told from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 12, 2010
Yxel
I can sum my Barefoot Gen experience up in one word: ANNOYING.

It was so damn annoying! I was ripping at my hair as Gen ripped at his!

So why was it so irritating?


First, Gen's voice. He has the most annoying voice I've heard in any anime to date. I don't know if people liked hearing voices like this in 1983, but from a 2010 viewpoint, I couldn't stand it. It's loud, obnoxious, and stays that way all throughout the movie.

I'm sitting here, trying desperately to see the emotional qualities of the movie, and this voice comes out of nowhere, blasting at my read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2009
ff7highwind
What a horrible movie..And I don't mean horrible in like a PeeWee Herman or Micheal Jackson sorta way I mean horrible in a *cut wrist* sorta way. I'll admit that initially, since I had watched Grave of the Fireflies before this movie, that because the animation wasn't as realistic as it could have been that I wasn't sure if I wanted to watch it or not. However, I have always been interested in the events of World War 2 so I gave it a go. Wow...that's all I can really say. The story is something most of us already know. During WW2, the Enola Gay read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 20, 2008
internetotaku
Barefoot Gen is one of the rare Anime films that everyone must see, at least once. If you've read the Manga then you might be a little disappointed by this movie, initially. This movie, in comparison to the Manga, lacks some of the Manga's emotional depth due to the movie cutting out most of the characters' establishing story. In this way, the feeling for the characters by the audience is diminished. Instead, the movie moves quickly to the day of the actual bombing of Hiroshima. In doing so, the movie forgoes much of the interpersonal violence that takes place in the Manga and replaces it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 6, 2008
Scallion
Don't watch this movie. Not that it's a bad movie, by any means. It's just that if you've been taking antidepressants, or have a cynical view of the world already, this movie won't help improve your outlook on anything for the time that you're watching it. It's not a date movie. And it might not be the best movie to introduce someone to anime. However, it's a great film in its own right, and will tug at your heartstrings, and give you the sniffles, or at least a manly, single tear.

For those of you who haven't finished this part of your history books, skip this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 13, 2013
NeonKazma
Barefoot Gen... Well, what can I say? It's one of the most important anime films in history, along side with Akira. It became famous for it's dark and brutal take on the bombings of Hiroshima, which was based on the manga by Keiji Nakazawa who wrote this manga based on his experience as a Hiroshima survivor when he was 6 years old and it is still the most harrowing experience ever witnessed on an anime film.

Barefoot Gen takes place in Hiroshima, as we see Gen and Shinji live with his family and working their very best to help them in a time of need, since read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2012
ggultra2764
Barefoot Gen paints a realistic and graphic look at the damage to Hiroshima during and after the dropping of an American atomic bomb on August 6, 1945. The movie doesn't hold back any punches in depicting the horrific reality of the situation as homes are destroyed; hundreds of thousands of people are either dead, homeless or suffering serious health problems from the radiation of the bomb; military personnel are around to pick up corpses and tend to those who can be saved; and water and food supplies are contaminated thanks to radiation exposure. Seeing villagers being fried to a crisp from the atomic bomb and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2010
jljaina
This really give a feel from a personal persective what families went through after the Hiroshima bombing. An emotional experience with a good history backround.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 30, 2014
Chromium_X
Gen is a little boy who lives in Hiroshima in Japan along with his father,little brother,Shinji,elder sister,Eiko,and mother,Kimie,who is pregnant and about to give birth soon.The backdrop is the ongoing Second World War and the year is 1945,the year the world came to a still.The city of Hiroshima is suffering from severe scarcity of even basic food like rice and also medicines and other such necessary commodities of life.Even then,Gen and Shinji are two boys with magnanimous spirits who live life king-size even in the face of adversity.They were a happy family with every one taking care of the others and working hard together to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 8, 2014
SporadicToast
The problem with textbooks when they talk about the Bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki is that they lack description of what really happened. Usually it just says the "bombing which ended the Second World War" but doesn't get more in-depth than that. What I love about Hadashi no Gen is that it shows the bombings to the perspective of a person living there. So you could correlate and feel empathy to each other.

Basically, this movie makes it feel like your own hometown was bombed the atomic blast, what would you feel of that?

From the disastrous air raids before the bombing, to the lone bomber that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices