MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #442
Claymore

Claymore

Alternative Titles

Japanese: クレイモア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.041 (scored by 101434 users)
Ranked: #4422
Popularity: #52
Members: 170,184
Favorites: 4,431
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure drama fantasy shounen supernatural swords
Mar 17, 2014
Eutass
Claymore taking place in a medieval period consists of fearsome monsters known as Yoma that prey on humans. Humans, being superior to all other beings, were bound to find a way to deal with Yoma, they had to prove their superiority. So they ended up with an organization that creates human-Yoma hybrids to kill Yoma for a fee. These female warriors wear armored uniforms. The public refer to them as "Claymores," alluding to their Claymore swords.

The series begins when a Claymore who saves a young boy, Raki, from a Yoma. That Claymore, named Clare, makes him her companion and goes into different towns for slaying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K
Claymore is a Shounen, Action, Adventure anime in a Fantasy, Medieval setting. The story basically revolves around a specific Claymore "Clare" and her companion "Raki" as she goes from town to town, slaying monsters known as Yoma.

From the beginning the story is very easy to follow. You have Claymores (strong female warriors) and it is the job of these Claymores to slay the Yoma. The story basically follows Clare as she travels to slay these Yoma, which get increasingly difficult to defeat as the story goes on. As a character Clare is developed so well that your opinion of her will change constantly throughout the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 13, 2007
rayyhum777
Claymore is one of the most intelligent shonen anime that has come out in recent years. It has a pretty good, though rather classic plot of revenge. For a story synopsis go to animenfo.com. In any case, here's my review up to eps 14.

We see that the main character, Clare, does grow throughout the series so far, which means in each episode something happens and she is changed by it, and through out the story arcs, she is either benefited by the events or suffers the consequences whether she wants or not. I can talk about this character as if she were a real life read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2013
pivotman55
For me, Claymore has been an anime that has given so much mixed emotion over the past days that I have watched it. Emotions both surprisingly positive and unsurprisingly negative, to a point that I just had to write a review about it, both because of sheer enjoyment of how I experienced the show but mostly because of how much I was disappointed in its presentation.

To start off in the notion of why I enjoyed it, it was because not of its theme (humans< monsters< half-human half-monster< protagonist) but because somewhere down the line when I was watching the show, it gets interestingly good. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama
This show is really cool.

There are these women, Claymores. They are feared across the country, for they are half-monsters. And what do they fight? Monsters. Yes, they save the people from monsters, but are regarded as ones themselves. Irony, huh?

The story follows one of these women. She meets a normal human kid who isn't afraid of her, and they end up as traveling partners. At first, it starts as a standard "good-guys-killing-monsters" show, but it goes deeper. I've always felt that the organization for whom the Claymores are working isn't quite good, but let's just leave it at that. The story, as I said, develops read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2008
Ranivus
When you first start watching the show you're greeted by a strange looking creature feasting on a dead human corpse. Unknowingly, a tall slender figure appears right behind him. He senses this new danger and turns to fight this opponent. But hidden behind this slender gorgeous figure is a sword just as tall as her. She unsheathes her massive weapon and a vicious fight ensues...

That is the backdrop of what you are going to be experiencing. Fortunately (or unfortunately), that should leave you wanting for more. This story is set in a fantasy land set in medieval times where creatures called Yoma hide read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2007
Galatea
Story: 9
The plot is great, even if it follows the outline of a typical Shonen: a greater enemy to defeat as final objective. The storyline however is enough original and rich of inusual particulars, for example the presence only of women as main characters to part Raki and Isley, the control of the enormous power, the awakenings, and the Organization that is incumbent every minute.

Art: 8
The design of the characters is enough anticonventional and inusual: some physical features, like lips or the face seen of profile, well, not everybody will like how they're done. However they are enough pleasant to see, and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2008
Bluesnow
I wasn't going to write a review for this, but I felt something less Bias than the over reviews were necisary.

Claymore... simply is an anime about blond haired chicks with bigs swords cutting up demons... or other women with big swords. Lots of decapitations and blood and action. The protagonist Clare is a "Claymore" or a 1/2 demon 1/2 human demon hunter. If these claymore use too much of their demon power they themselves will be engulfed by their dark side never to return.

This anime began as a potential masterpiece, but my expectations were crushed half way. What had started as a unique story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 11, 2013
Nitro-Nito
Claymore is a Shounen Fantasy anime that revolves mostly around a female protagonist, Clare, and her ventures with her cook Raki. Clare is part of an organization that essentially controls half-man, half-monster beings called 'Claymores'. These Claymores go out and fight monsters called Yoma, who plague the world of wherever it is that this anime take's place setting wise. It is a moderately well thought out battle anime with decent enough character development and a plot that makes you wish it was twice as long.

Story:

The story, in the beginning, progresses very slowly. As denoted in the quick overview, the anime focuses on Clare, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 15, 2013
SchrodingersMatt
Don't let the creepy designs and macabre setup fool you, despite its appearance Claymore is a shonen anime at its core, which means lots of weird powers and grand-scale fight scenes, speeches about honor and friendship, a conga line of weird villains, and a whole lot of swinging swords and screaming. I know that the word "shonen" makes some anime fans cringe on sight, but it is not automatically a bad thing. There are many shone titles that have stood out positively over the years, whether through captivating heroes and villains (Rurouni Kenshin, Yu Yu Hakusho), a polished and distinctive style (Soul Eater) or some read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2008
Deadman1709
I found this anime to be among the most disappointed ones. It started very good, and followed the manga, which is very good, too. Then... it went horribly wrong.
Story: As I mentioned, the story started very good. It was simple yet have some depth in it; love, hatred, revenge ... it had all. And slaying demons are never boring, in a good show. But all the potential in the world does not guarantee anything; from episode 20, the series branched off from the manga, and had one of the most disappointed ending ever. It made people feel incomplete. What is going to happen to them, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2010
Drizzt
The whole is greater than the sum of its parts.
I will begin with saying that this is particularly true for Claymore. On the second hand i must note that this was the first of all anime I ever watched - my boat to the new unexplored horizons that awaited me...so this review might tend to be emotional, irrational, illogical, subjective and biased :) This is of course because it holds a special place for me among anime world.

Story (7): Revenge, conspiracy, redemption, comradeship, existence and purpose are the key motives of this story. Story of finding something that keeps you going on, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2009
Exiled-Masamune
Story:
In a world that is rife with deadly creatures called "Yoma", a young silver eyed woman, Clare, works on behalf of an organization that trains female warriors called Claymores, Half Human Half Yoma warriors with the ability to destroy these creatures to protect humans, while struggling to hold on to their own humanity.


Story: 9/10
The story is great, plenty of plot and plot twists, character development, background and good story in it, it also keeps on track and never loses it's thread and keeps really close to the original Manga storyline, though it isn't the most original plot line, the way it is done makes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 18, 2009
DrowRanger
I know many anime fans, who don`t like Claymore. Their argumentation is something like " What a nonsense! "You`ve lost you hand, take mine, and I`ll grow one more". Can`t stand such a crap". And I always ask: "WHAT were you watchng? Fights and breasts? (Yes, Teresa`s ones are great, hehe) Or this serial, maybe, requires a bit of thinkning and brain using?"

Howewer, that`s not easy - make people like it.

Which of you ever wanted to live in Middle ages? I think, everebody. Just look into Claymore world... there are not too much differences between guts-hungered yoma and nomad hordes. And great-looking Claymores... girls, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2008
danceljoy
The first that one will notice about Claymore is that it is a heavily thematic anime: women with swords and armor, humans versus monsters/demons and the internal battles of strong, sacrificial yet feared and misunderstood warriors.


I'll begin with what I believe to be the aspects of Claymore that are both its best asset and weakness; this anime offers an awesome blend of beautifully crafted women that possesses awesome fighting qualities. "Claymores" is what they are called, and they represent a mysterious organization that fight demons or human devouring "Youma."

The story is revealed by a certain "Claymore" named Clare and her meeting with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 1, 2014
mcburlew
I don't know what to say, except for the fact that I can't believe that I didn't discover this anime earlier. This is not only a great anime, but its also got to be one of the darkest that I've ever seen. However; despite it being real dark, they actually kept it at the right balance with the light elements in it as well.

The story deals around a group of female warriors known as Claymore's who are half-breeds; half-human and half-yoma, a demonic like creature that can not only shape shift into humans but feast on human flesh. This was the first action adventure read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2014
Rawrzz03
Claymore got my attention from the very first episode. The story focuses on a certain Claymore, Clare, who's motivated to become stronger snd stronger in order to get her revenge.

The story is truly great but what I loved the most was how every single character was amazing in their own ways. My favourite one was Teresa and I'm dissappointed that she only appears in a few episodes although she had a great influence on Clare and other characters. Many characters die and with every death you become more and more addicted to the series because it gets to your feelings.

Like I said first, I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 23, 2008
RiskyBusiness
Claymore is not a groundbreaking series. While it's great fun to watch, it does not feel like it's doing anything particularly new. The story is fairly standard, but does the job, excluding the inconclusive and, frankly, disappointing ending, the art style takes some getting used to (before I got used to it, I found that faces looked very odd, but the backgrounds and the Claymores were always excellent), the characters are fairly shallow and, in Raki's case, very annoying in parts (he just won't stop whining and blubbing - even if you don't mind him at first, you'll see what I mean later on).

Despite this, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 26, 2007
cafekun
Welcome to my first review.

A friend of mine recommended this anime to me, and I told him when the series ended that it was a nice catch. Claymore is one of the best anime's that I had seen this year. It's medieval theme and kick-ass female characters is what this anime is payed for. Claymore made a stand through the masses with it's compelling and brilliant story.

The story goes as the protagonist, Clare, fights for her humanity and seeks revenge to the Claymore named Priscilla who miserably ended the life of her most precious person, Teresa. As Clare struggles to fight and finds out read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 2, 2008
Icy_Windbreeze
At first glance Claymore could be as any other shounen anime including blood, gore,fights and a fair share of revenge. However when I continued I noticed that the characters captured my interest. The pain they suffered, the trials they faced and the despairs they were thrown formed many different people. Depending on how they coped, processed and the amount of acceptance they were each capable of thrown into a clash of competition was a brilliant combination for me. The frail limits of a human mind when pressed to the ultimate created this fascinating anime.

I admit that the story was typical as expected and I didn't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices