MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #529
Claymore

Claymore

Alternative Titles

Japanese: クレイモア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 124540 users)
Ranked: #5292
Popularity: #55
Members: 216,426
Favorites: 5,001
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure drama fantasy shounen supernatural swords
Jan 27, 2015
Xylemicarious
I'm a sucker for super violent animes with lots of demons and/or people getting chopped up (Vampire Hunter D, Ninja Scroll, etc.), so this is definitely up my alley. Still, it has quite a few things that bug me.
Sometimes the animation is very obviously digital (Mostly the camera movements, some of the backgrounds as well. We're not talking well-integrated CGI here, it's obviously a budget thing), and it falls into some of the shonen cliches when someone busts out some badass new super power (though, admittedly, a lot of those really ARE super badass). There are a couple dozen musical cues, so that gets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 5, 2014
ktulu007
The Claymore manga was written by Yagi Norihiro from May of 2001 all the way until October 2014. Yes, it just finished. Roughly midway through the manga's run, in 2007, it got an anime adaptation from Madhouse. Now, I have not read a single chapter of the manga, so I'm not going to notice how faithfully they adapted the portion of the manga they adapted. The question is, does the anime manage to be interesting and coherent with what it does use?

Story:

In the world of Claymore, monsters called “Yoma” roam around the land disguising as ordinary humans and eating their guts. In order to combat read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 17, 2014
NaTaSo0
The anime Claymore,is one that gave me a deep impression and I am willing to read the manga too.Awesome fights and intriguing characters,Claymore is an anime you should definately check out.

In this world,humans coexist with demonic creatures called Yoma,who feast with human innards and can take human appearance.For the reason of killing Yoma,exists an organization,which consists of female warriors called "Claymore".These warriors though are half-human,half-yoma and for that are detested by humanity.

Story 7/10
The story is not an extraordinary one but not a bad one either.Following the protagonist,Clare and her path towards her goal develops gradually.From just slaying Yoma it goes on to a much read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 17, 2014
Eutass
Claymore taking place in a medieval period consists of fearsome monsters known as Yoma that prey on humans. Humans, being superior to all other beings, were bound to find a way to deal with Yoma, they had to prove their superiority. So they ended up with an organization that creates human-Yoma hybrids to kill Yoma for a fee. These female warriors wear armored uniforms. The public refer to them as "Claymores," alluding to their Claymore swords.

The series begins when a Claymore who saves a young boy, Raki, from a Yoma. That Claymore, named Clare, makes him her companion and goes into different towns for slaying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2008
Ranivus
When you first start watching the show you're greeted by a strange looking creature feasting on a dead human corpse. Unknowingly, a tall slender figure appears right behind him. He senses this new danger and turns to fight this opponent. But hidden behind this slender gorgeous figure is a sword just as tall as her. She unsheathes her massive weapon and a vicious fight ensues...

That is the backdrop of what you are going to be experiencing. Fortunately (or unfortunately), that should leave you wanting for more. This story is set in a fantasy land set in medieval times where creatures called Yoma hide read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2014
Emperormin3
Scoring Preconditions: While I rate all parts, the overall score takes in most consideration from story, character, and enjoyment. Art and sound are not factors in the overall, although they can slightly enhance or detract from enjoyment portion. I score from as unbiased a view as possible and I view it in a critical sense, not in a simple enjoyment sense. Thus I give at most a one point overall bonus for enjoyment. Story and characters matter most. I will state exceptions to this rule depending on the anime.

Summary: Without going into to much detail, this anime had a lot of potential but wasted a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2013
pivotman55
For me, Claymore has been an anime that has given so much mixed emotion over the past days that I have watched it. Emotions both surprisingly positive and unsurprisingly negative, to a point that I just had to write a review about it, both because of sheer enjoyment of how I experienced the show but mostly because of how much I was disappointed in its presentation.

To start off in the notion of why I enjoyed it, it was because not of its theme (humans< monsters< half-human half-monster< protagonist) but because somewhere down the line when I was watching the show, it gets interestingly good. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 13, 2007
rayyhum777
Claymore is one of the most intelligent shonen anime that has come out in recent years. It has a pretty good, though rather classic plot of revenge. For a story synopsis go to animenfo.com. In any case, here's my review up to eps 14.

We see that the main character, Clare, does grow throughout the series so far, which means in each episode something happens and she is changed by it, and through out the story arcs, she is either benefited by the events or suffers the consequences whether she wants or not. I can talk about this character as if she were a real life read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 15, 2014
BobDiesel
This anime is a classic for me. As an person who loves action anime it delivers some good epic stuff.

Action: 9/10. This anime is violent and gory and I'm totally fine with that. People get eaten, monsters get cut up, half humans and half monsters ( claymores) get cut up. People getting killed left, right and center. Its perfect from an action point of view. Tonnes of action throughout the series. Won't be disappointed by it either. There's fast paced action. Slow emotional paced action and intellectual action where characters outsmart there opponents or evaluate the battles in detail. It's absolutely wonderful.

Story: 6/10. This story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2014
RyokiJurushi
Claymore is one of the animes that you certainly would look a second time, just to enjoy the thrilling fights, yet while having an already seen concept.

It plays out in a medieval world where predators called ,,Yoma'' reign terror over humanity. They are able to hide in a human ,,shell'' and can pop up anytime to kill and eat a human when they see fit.
Humanity though then showed the politely described ,,Go away'' -Finger to the Yoma by the creation of a sub-race.
A secret organisation has brought women together and had let them consume Yoma flesh, or implanted yoma flesh into them. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K
Claymore is a Shounen, Action, Adventure anime in a Fantasy, Medieval setting. The story basically revolves around a specific Claymore "Clare" and her companion "Raki" as she goes from town to town, slaying monsters known as Yoma.

From the beginning the story is very easy to follow. You have Claymores (strong female warriors) and it is the job of these Claymores to slay the Yoma. The story basically follows Clare as she travels to slay these Yoma, which get increasingly difficult to defeat as the story goes on. As a character Clare is developed so well that your opinion of her will change constantly throughout the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2008
Bluesnow
I wasn't going to write a review for this, but I felt something less Bias than the over reviews were necisary.

Claymore... simply is an anime about blond haired chicks with bigs swords cutting up demons... or other women with big swords. Lots of decapitations and blood and action. The protagonist Clare is a "Claymore" or a 1/2 demon 1/2 human demon hunter. If these claymore use too much of their demon power they themselves will be engulfed by their dark side never to return.

This anime began as a potential masterpiece, but my expectations were crushed half way. What had started as a unique story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 5, 2014
tukky12
Claymore is an action, fantasy, supernatural based anime which was released in the spring of 2007. The show itself was adapted from its manga, spanning 26 episodes- although it should be noted it does cut off from the manga near the end in order to fit the anime in. This show gets going straight from minute one and from there on it’s almost impossible to stop. Almost.
The premise upon which Claymore is built is actually a very absorbing one, the setting and plot doesn’t seem clichéd and right from the first episode it is likely to have you hooked. The world in Claymore read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2014
vampalchemist
Claymore is set in the medieval times where demons called, Yoma, terrorize humans. Luckily however the humans have the claymores on their side, half human half Yoma beings ordered by a mysterious organization to rid of the Yoma. The story follows Raki and Clare who venture off to fulfill Clare's revenge quest.

Story:
The story is not unique but that ins't a issue because the story although cliche is well executed. the story is also easy to follow so there shouldn't be confusion as to what is going on in the story.

Art:
The artwork is great and reminds me much of the anime, Monster's animation, making the characters read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama
This show is really cool.

There are these women, Claymores. They are feared across the country, for they are half-monsters. And what do they fight? Monsters. Yes, they save the people from monsters, but are regarded as ones themselves. Irony, huh?

The story follows one of these women. She meets a normal human kid who isn't afraid of her, and they end up as traveling partners. At first, it starts as a standard "good-guys-killing-monsters" show, but it goes deeper. I've always felt that the organization for whom the Claymores are working isn't quite good, but let's just leave it at that. The story, as I said, develops read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2008
Deadman1709
I found this anime to be among the most disappointed ones. It started very good, and followed the manga, which is very good, too. Then... it went horribly wrong.
Story: As I mentioned, the story started very good. It was simple yet have some depth in it; love, hatred, revenge ... it had all. And slaying demons are never boring, in a good show. But all the potential in the world does not guarantee anything; from episode 20, the series branched off from the manga, and had one of the most disappointed ending ever. It made people feel incomplete. What is going to happen to them, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2014
Radeon
Whenever I see or hear the word Claymore, from my knowledge it reminds me of:
1- A large, two-handed sword from the medieval ages.
2- An anti-personnel mine.

But, now that I've completed it, the word Claymore should have forged one more meaning into my own personal dictionary.

3- A GOOD shounen anime with a dark atmosphere and solid storyline.

Claymore is animated by Madhouse, a well-known studio which animated many popular shows, their works which include highly praised anime such as Death Note but also released poop-tier anime such as Mahou Sensou. Let me first say that, Claymore's plot doesn't bear anything too innovative: An Organization with half read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 11, 2013
Nitro-Nito
Claymore is a Shounen Fantasy anime that revolves mostly around a female protagonist, Clare, and her ventures with her cook Raki. Clare is part of an organization that essentially controls half-man, half-monster beings called 'Claymores'. These Claymores go out and fight monsters called Yoma, who plague the world of wherever it is that this anime take's place setting wise. It is a moderately well thought out battle anime with decent enough character development and a plot that makes you wish it was twice as long.

Story:

The story, in the beginning, progresses very slowly. As denoted in the quick overview, the anime focuses on Clare, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2007
Galatea
Story: 9
The plot is great, even if it follows the outline of a typical Shonen: a greater enemy to defeat as final objective. The storyline however is enough original and rich of inusual particulars, for example the presence only of women as main characters to part Raki and Isley, the control of the enormous power, the awakenings, and the Organization that is incumbent every minute.

Art: 8
The design of the characters is enough anticonventional and inusual: some physical features, like lips or the face seen of profile, well, not everybody will like how they're done. However they are enough pleasant to see, and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 18, 2014
NotenSMSK
Claymore was definitely a good pick and a fine watch despite the much repeated and disappointing fact that the entire manga hasn't been adapted and considering that the manga just recently ended it just makes one wish that they would continue.

Now to start off the review, the best way to describe this anime is... an amazing idea, a well executed anime but lacking in certain elements and those elements bugged me a lot. Just to state beforehand, I am not going to stress on it being an adaptation and bringing in the manga to quote everything - I'll consider the anime as an anime, not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Advertising     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy