Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Claymore


Alternative Titles

Japanese: クレイモア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.941 (scored by 153,761 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #79
Members: 278,009
Favorites: 5,835

Reviews

ktulu007
Nov 5, 2014
The Claymore manga was written by Yagi Norihiro from May of 2001 all the way until October 2014. Yes, it just finished. Roughly midway through the manga's run, in 2007, it got an anime adaptation from Madhouse. Now, I have not read a single chapter of the manga, so I'm not going to notice how faithfully they adapted the portion of the manga they adapted. The question is, does the anime manage to be interesting and coherent with what it does use?

Story:

In the world of Claymore, monsters called “Yoma” roam around the land disguising as ordinary humans and eating their guts. In order to combat read more
I found this review Helpful
rayyhum777
Jul 13, 2007
Claymore is one of the most intelligent shonen anime that has come out in recent years. It has a pretty good, though rather classic plot of revenge. For a story synopsis go to animenfo.com. In any case, here\'s my review up to eps 14.

We see that the main character, Clare, does grow throughout the series so far, which means in each episode something happens and she is changed by it, and through out the story arcs, she is either benefited by the events or suffers the consequences whether she wants or not. I can talk about this character as if she were a real life read more
I found this review Helpful
Master10K
Oct 23, 2007
Claymore is a Shounen, Action, Adventure anime in a Fantasy, Medieval setting. The story basically revolves around a specific Claymore "Clare" and her companion "Raki" as she goes from town to town, slaying monsters known as Yoma.

From the beginning the story is very easy to follow. You have Claymores (strong female warriors) and it is the job of these Claymores to slay the Yoma. The story basically follows Clare as she travels to slay these Yoma, which get increasingly difficult to defeat as the story goes on. As a character Clare is developed so well that your opinion of her will change constantly throughout the read more
I found this review Helpful
Ranivus
Mar 4, 2008
When you first start watching the show you're greeted by a strange looking creature feasting on a dead human corpse. Unknowingly, a tall slender figure appears right behind him. He senses this new danger and turns to fight this opponent. But hidden behind this slender gorgeous figure is a sword just as tall as her. She unsheathes her massive weapon and a vicious fight ensues...

That is the backdrop of what you are going to be experiencing. Fortunately (or unfortunately), that should leave you wanting for more. This story is set in a fantasy land set in medieval times where creatures called Yoma hide within read more
I found this review Helpful
TheLlama
Mar 14, 2008
This show is really cool.

There are these women, Claymores. They are feared across the country, for they are half-monsters. And what do they fight? Monsters. Yes, they save the people from monsters, but are regarded as ones themselves. Irony, huh?

The story follows one of these women. She meets a normal human kid who isn't afraid of her, and they end up as traveling partners. At first, it starts as a standard "good-guys-killing-monsters" show, but it goes deeper. I've always felt that the organization for whom the Claymores are working isn't quite good, but let's just leave it at that. The story, as I said, develops read more
I found this review Helpful
Emperormin3
Oct 31, 2014
Scoring Preconditions: While I rate all parts, the overall score takes in most consideration from story, character, and enjoyment. Art and sound are not factors in the overall, although they can slightly enhance or detract from enjoyment portion. I score from as unbiased a view as possible and I view it in a critical sense, not in a simple enjoyment sense. Thus I give at most a one point overall bonus for enjoyment. Story and characters matter most. I will state exceptions to this rule depending on the anime.

Summary: Without going into to much detail, this anime had a lot of potential but wasted a read more
I found this review Helpful
Dwarfking45
Aug 10, 2015
Claymore is an anime, much like Berserk, is about a swordsman trying to find purpose, and unlike Guts, Claire is simply not as great, but she plays her part well.

The story is about basically Claymores, who are half-human and half-kyoma, or demon, and they fight to destroy these demons, so that the humans can live in peace. Claire encounters this boy named Rocky, who is saved by Claire basically twice within the first episode, and after that, he clings to her non-stop... This is the story, not the characters. I will get to them in a second. The story basically was a mix of just read more
I found this review Helpful
Xylemicarious
Jan 27, 2015
I'm a sucker for super violent animes with lots of demons and/or people getting chopped up (Vampire Hunter D, Ninja Scroll, etc.), so this is definitely up my alley. Still, it has quite a few things that bug me.
Sometimes the animation is very obviously digital (Mostly the camera movements, some of the backgrounds as well. We're not talking well-integrated CGI here, it's obviously a budget thing), and it falls into some of the shonen cliches when someone busts out some badass new super power (though, admittedly, a lot of those really ARE super badass). There are a couple dozen musical cues, so that gets read more
I found this review Helpful
NatiReview
Oct 18, 2015
Claymore is a kind of an enigma for writing a review. For many people I discovered it was mostly hit or miss. For me this show was a hit but the flaws are completely understandable.

The premise of the show centering on a woman named clair who is a claymore; a being that is half monster half human. She works for an organization bent on ridding the world of monsters for a price.

I think the show had a few noticeable flaws like the main protagonist being Raki, a stray that Clair picked up on her travels, lacking development in his character. Additionally, all the read more
I found this review Helpful
Galatea
Jul 23, 2007
Story: 9
The plot is great, even if it follows the outline of a typical Shonen: a greater enemy to defeat as final objective. The storyline however is enough original and rich of inusual particulars, for example the presence only of women as main characters to part Raki and Isley, the control of the enormous power, the awakenings, and the Organization that is incumbent every minute.

Art: 8
The design of the characters is enough anticonventional and inusual: some physical features, like lips or the face seen of profile, well, not everybody will like how they're done. However they are enough pleasant to see, and the read more
I found this review Helpful
NaTaSo0
Apr 17, 2014
The anime Claymore,is one that gave me a deep impression and I am willing to read the manga too.Awesome fights and intriguing characters,Claymore is an anime you should definately check out.

In this world,humans coexist with demonic creatures called Yoma,who feast with human innards and can take human appearance.For the reason of killing Yoma,exists an organization,which consists of female warriors called "Claymore".These warriors though are half-human,half-yoma and for that are detested by humanity.

Story 7/10
The story is not an extraordinary one but not a bad one either.Following the protagonist,Clare and her path towards her goal develops gradually.From just slaying Yoma it goes on to a much read more
I found this review Helpful
NotenSMSK
Nov 18, 2014
Claymore was definitely a good pick and a fine watch despite the much repeated and disappointing fact that the entire manga hasn't been adapted and considering that the manga just recently ended it just makes one wish that they would continue.

Now to start off the review, the best way to describe this anime is... an amazing idea, a well executed anime but lacking in certain elements and those elements bugged me a lot. Just to state beforehand, I am not going to stress on it being an adaptation and bringing in the manga to quote everything - I'll consider the anime as an anime, not read more
I found this review Helpful
Link_of_Hyrule
Feb 23, 2014
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Claymore is a perfect example of an anime that tries desperately hard to be dark, but completely and utterly fails. This show demonstrates a complete misunderstanding of what actually makes an anime mature. The result is a series of boring, brainless, deus ex machina-filled, melodramatic fight scenes with a static plot and uninteresting/indistinguishable characters (with the exception of one). Tag on an ugly, almost monochromic animation style (in my opinion), an inconsistent soundtrack, and an unsatisfying ending, and you've got yourself a tremendously overrated anime.

Plot: 3/10
In a world where demonic predators called Yoma exist only to kill and eat humans by read more
I found this review Helpful
Bluesnow
Jan 12, 2008
I wasn't going to write a review for this, but I felt something less Bias than the over reviews were necisary.

Claymore... simply is an anime about blond haired chicks with bigs swords cutting up demons... or other women with big swords. Lots of decapitations and blood and action. The protagonist Clare is a "Claymore" or a 1/2 demon 1/2 human demon hunter. If these claymore use too much of their demon power they themselves will be engulfed by their dark side never to return.

This anime began as a potential masterpiece, but my expectations were crushed half way. What had started as a unique story read more
I found this review Helpful
AiaSnTropeaS
Oct 26, 2014
This anime is bad. Avoid watching it at all costs!


First, let me say that I was unlucky enough to watch this trash in English Dub which made it even worse. If you really want to watch it, do it in Japanese.

(6/10) Story: The story of this anime is the one thing that is a little interesting and kept me watching it until the end. It's really stupid and meaningless though. Think of demonic girls fighting each other and the more they fight the more chances they have to become demons that have to be slain. Other than that there is this typical brain-dead shitty kid read more
I found this review Helpful
JonasTheJay
Jul 30, 2015
Since Claymore is one of those anime that doesn't adapt the whole manga and has an anime original ending; I never really bothered to watch it. The premise looked cool, but I didn't want to be disapointed. Now that I've finally fished it; here are my personal thoughts on it:

Claymore's setting can be descriped as Dark Fantasy; it's very grim, there's virtually no comedy or fanservce; it's violent and a lot of people die. So first of all,what is this anime about: Claymores are half monster girls (not as sexy as it sounds) who defeat actual monsters ("Yoma") with their giant swords. But read more
I found this review Helpful
Sasori_Puppets
Jun 22, 2015
Claymore

-I am going to make this short and sweet.
-I don't understand why people gave this anime 6's & 7's. This anime is truly great in its own way.
-I believe this anime came from nothing and evolved into something much greater than expected.
-I loved this anime from the characters to the story. Every character that was involved in this anime were really unique and made this anime really good and entertaining. The story was pretty cool too, it was something new to me that really peeked my interest I didn't know much about this anime before watching it all i knew was what the synopsis provided read more
I found this review Helpful
Deadman1709
Feb 4, 2008
I found this anime to be among the most disappointed ones. It started very good, and followed the manga, which is very good, too. Then... it went horribly wrong.
Story: As I mentioned, the story started very good. It was simple yet have some depth in it; love, hatred, revenge ... it had all. And slaying demons are never boring, in a good show. But all the potential in the world does not guarantee anything; from episode 20, the series branched off from the manga, and had one of the most disappointed ending ever. It made people feel incomplete. What is going to happen to them, read more
I found this review Helpful
tentacle_raep
Apr 16, 2009
This is Dragonball. With an all female cast and the added benefit of not having to watch someone power up and grunt for 3-4 episodes before unleasing teh ultimate attak.

In an alternate reality bleak medieval world, humans are considered food by monsters creatively called Youma... :| Since this is a non-adult show Youma just masquerade as and devour humans, foregoing the rape. In a move of brilliance, a secret dark society of Men in Black decided that the best way to combat Youma is to cross-breed them with human warriors, creatively called Claymores for the weapons they wielded.

Their first attempt was to use men, but read more
I found this review Helpful
tukky12
Dec 5, 2014
Claymore is an action, fantasy, supernatural based anime which was released in the spring of 2007. The show itself was adapted from its manga, spanning 26 episodes- although it should be noted it does cut off from the manga near the end in order to fit the anime in. This show gets going straight from minute one and from there on it’s almost impossible to stop. Almost.
The premise upon which Claymore is built is actually a very absorbing one, the setting and plot doesn’t seem clichéd and right from the first episode it is likely to have you hooked. The world in Claymore read more
I found this review Helpful