MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #722
Kyoukai no Kanata

Kyoukai no Kanata

Alternative Titles

English: Beyond the Boundary
Synonyms: Beyond the Horizon, Kyokai no Kanata
Japanese: 境界の彼方

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 89787 users)
Ranked: #7222
Popularity: #95
Members: 168,805
Favorites: 2,395
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 21, 2014
Mchi
Damn, I feel like one of the few people who really really loves Kyoukai no Kanata on this damn site. I guess it's explaining time because as I really really like it I want it to have a halfway decent review. (especially since most of these seem written from a bias perspective from someone who only watched the first 3 episodes.

Kyuokai is not perfect, but it makes up for a lot of its flaws with gorgeous animation good laughs and a completely enjoyable ride the whole way through. The story of KnK definitely isn't original in the slightest to start off. Like everyone is saying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Dris
"Judgement prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances."
-Wayne Dyer

There is one thing I will rarely, if ever, do. That is give the show a rating before watching the entire show through. That doesn't mean that I don't have preconceived notions about the show and have some idea how I'm going to rate it. As a human being, I am flawed with the inability to look at something objectively from the beginning. That being said, I felt like I should take the time to address all the people somehow climbing over each other trying to stick his or her opinion down the throat's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2014
lonelyintrovert
"No amount of great animation will save a bad story."-John Lasseter

When news came out that Kyoto Animation was going to make a supernatural anime me like many others were surprised and excited. A supernatural show with great animation made by one of the most popular anime studios in japan? What could possibly go wrong with Kyoukai No Kanata? Almost everything,apparently.

The story is set in a fictional world where Supernatural creatures called Youmu exist. Youmu come in various shapes and sizes. Although most Youmu are harmless. Some could be hostile and dangerous. To stop these Youmu from harming read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Stark700
Watching Kyoukai no Kanata is like riding a train but as it moves, it goes down spiral, into the abyss, and finally reaches trainwreck at the shadow of the pit. Don’t get me wrong, the show has quite an promising premise with the style of a dark fantasy genre. It’s something that Kyoto Animation haven’t tried before in the past so Kyoukai no Kanata should set its par high with this new style, right? Wrong. This series is fails at various levels and if you’re expecting a deep engaging story with well developed characters, then look somewhere else. It doesn’t break any boundary or go read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 25, 2014
Harrymanhunter
The Fantasy genre has had its share of great Anime and also really bad ones. I wasn't sure whether I'd like Kyoukai no Kanata or not since it didn't seem to do anything outside the norm. But boy, was I wrong. I actually liked it better than I expected to. Anyways, on to my review.


read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Aines445
You know they're doing something wrong when you only find two likable characters, when you feel like killing all lolis in the Universe and when you feel so depressed and demotivated while watching this kind of anime that it hurts. And really, that's exactly how I felt when I watched Kyoukai no Kanata. Fuyukai indeed, Mirai, fuyukai indeed.

Story:
The story… It’s not like it’s badly paced, but it doesn’t seem to go into much detail regarding certain points and I was getting really frustrated. What are youmu? They have “types”, what do you mean they have types? Why would they have types? What do you mean, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 7, 2014
Droppling
Christ, where do I begin with KnK? It's gorgeous. It really is; I actually got very jealous at Mirai's ridiculously poofy hair. The animation with blood and special effects was also really great. The character designs are also memorable and cute.

But the plot... There was so much the studio could have done and so little done with what they did present. To be fair, I'll start with what I think they did do right.

First, the main character, Akihito, is half-Youmu (basically a youkai/demon) and half-human. A hybrid protagonist is nothing new but unlike most he balances the time spent angsting about being a special snowflake read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 15, 2014
minishiro
This show had a great potential both in character development and story-wise; both which were entirely spoiled for the sake of moe scenes and an "epic" ending. In all honesty, maybe I had too much expectations from this show. It had an amazing artwork, characters that looked deep and interesting, and a nice concept.

I am mad at the creators of this show. M. A. D. They left so many innuendos about the different characters but never exploited any. Instead, they focused on the moe, megane and nii-chan fetishes that really didn't bring anything to the show, as well as homosexual "hints". It could have been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 17, 2014
yogotah

“ Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
-Albert Camus

If nothing else, Kyoukai no Kanata was an entertaining anime. It was able to produce tears, surprise, excitement, and many laughs. The coherency of the plot may have been questionable, but nonetheless, the ride that the anime portrayed was over-exceeded any nuances with the direction of the story line.

The main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2015
MimisMan
Kyokai no Kanata could have been more than a 7/10. Don't get me wrong it's still fine, but it could have had been something more than an OK anime. Sadly it falls short. In my opinion there are two major flaws that hold it down and I am gonna explain them briefly.

But let me start with the good stuff. The story starts off pretty nicely and catches your interest as it is surrounded by mystery. The characters are definately the strongest point of Kyokai no Kanata toghether with its visuals. All the protagonists are enjoyable to watch and have nice traits that make them read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2014
The42gamer
Have you ever heard of the term “wasted potential”?
Intro: Kyoto Animation has developed a reputation over the years. They’re known for amazing animation, but they tend to focus mainly on slice of life shows with tons of MOE and basically cute girls doing cute things. They only recently stepped out of this rut (sort of) with the manservice show known as Free. But then again it played out like a typical Kyotoani show, but with guys. So when I heard they were making a show focused more on action, I was immediately skeptical. Did it impress me? Let’s find out.

Story: Kyoukai no Kanata takes place read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2014
stonebriar
So here is my first anime review, I hope you like it!

Kuokai no Kanata or Beyond the Boundary, is a fairly good fantasy based anime. I would recommend this to viewers that enjoy shows that involve enjoyable main characters with supernatural powers fighting demons or monsters. While based on its light novel counterpart, Beyond the Boundary does a decent job of explaining the world to viewers but still ends up leaving loose ends.

Story:
The main story of BoB is very good, being adapted from a light novel, it offers a typical journey of hero is introduced, hero fights demons, hero is in peril, and hero read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2014
MidnightWalker95
Despite the various bad comments and reviews panning this series, I took a leap of faith and decided to watch it. I must say that, although not the best anime of all time, it is an enjoyable anime series.

With a length of 12 episodes, Kyoto Animation's "Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)" brings us a tale of two young teenagers, whose hearts are filled with regrets and burdens placed on their shoulders. Their actions will determine the fate of humanity itself, and while at that, they will draw near each other as they learn more about themselves and come to terms with their hardships. It read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 20, 2013
Mikashimotaku
Following their high success with "Free! Iwatobi Swim Club" Kyoto Animation has done it again with the stellar fall anime "Kyoukai no Kanata". Overall, the series works with supernatural elements, such as the "spirit world warriors" and the "youmu".

Story: 8
The story of Kyoukai no Kanata is about protagonists Kuriyama Mirai and Kanbara Akihito. Students in high school, both extraordinary in different ways. Mirai is the only living member of the 'cursed' spirit world warrior clan that is able to manipulate blood. Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human, making him immortal. The story revolves around these two and their adventures, and the even mysterious "Kyoukai no Kanata" read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
allflying
"Fools have a habit of believing that everything written by a famous author is admirable. For my part I read only to please myself and like only what suits my taste." ~Voltaire~

Kyoukai no Kanata was by no means a very ambitious project (or a very pretentious subject). It had very linear and straight forward story line which actually very easy to understand and very comfy to follow, delivered with excellent animation and a proper adolescence romance development ... is probably an understatement. But, saying it was the best foreshadowing is also an exaggeration.

For starters, the anime was built upon a very basic concept: human with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2014
Marthgun
If you read the reviews for this, you would probably think you had some idea of what was in store. Some good, some bad, others lukewarm.

I think its fair to point out that this isn't a character driven story. If you were looking for deep characters and interesting relationships between them, you should have probably made sure this show had more than 12 episodes. That isn't a cop out, but its important to check your expectations at the door.

I don't usually go for the slice of life, tinged with romance angle, what more or less drew me in was the conflicting thoughts read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2014
Zelot
I never knew there was a fetish for girls who wears glasses until I watched this anime. Now I realize I enjoy it when some girls wear their glasses? Warning, you may become a megane freak from this anime. Oh and you may get a Japanese lesson from this series as well... how unfortunate.

Story: 7
In what seems to be a normal world is actually inhabited by supernatural creatures (Different subs use different names for these supernatural creatures) and people with supernatural powers. Our main character is half human and half creature as well as a person with a fetish read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Asfaria
Kyoukai no Kanata is the newest anime from Kyoto Animation who is best known for their multitude of anime all about high school clubs and moe character designs. Kyoukai no Kanata is their first real attempt at a darker action series, despite having all of the previously mentioned aspects in addition to that. So how did this new genre attempt work? Given that it's in KyoAni's name you would expect this, Kyoukai no Kanata has beautiful animation which holds up both during action-packed scenes and the laid back ones. However, while the soundtrack is also good, the story suffers from having a poorly explained plot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2014
Mnemofysh
I was slightly reluctant to watch this anime at first. I had seen the first half of the first episode at anime club. At home, I was desperately hoping to watch SAO, but I made myself a resolution that I would go through every anime I start. In the end, I don’t regret deciding to finish this series off.

I really want to give the story element a good score. I really do. But unfortunately, it doesn’t deserve more than a 5.5. Right from the very start I found quite a few aspects confusing, especially about the nature of youmu and Spirit World Warriors. I ended read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 17, 2014
MantaTEA
Overall 7/10
The only 2 reasons why I decided to watch this series was because for the moe and action. I don't really care as much on the plot and story line or whatever. I watched this series expecting those 2 things and that was what exactly I got and I am somewhat satisfied with that.

Story 7/10
The whole plot and world concept is interesting enough to keep your attention but isn't really something original or that I have seen before. There is some half demon half human guy or whatever trying to live a normal life and then SUDDENLY, he/she has a random encounter with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices