Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kyoukai no Kanata


Alternative Titles

English: Beyond the Boundary
Synonyms: Beyond the Horizon, Kyokai no Kanata
Japanese: 境界の彼方

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Lantis, Pony Canyon, TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 161,700 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #66
Members: 309,727
Favorites: 5,134

Reviews

Stark700
Dec 18, 2013
Watching Kyoukai no Kanata is like riding a train but as it moves, it goes down spiral, into the abyss, and finally reaches trainwreck at the shadow of the pit. Don’t get me wrong, the show has quite an promising premise with the style of a dark fantasy genre. It’s something that Kyoto Animation haven’t tried before in the past so Kyoukai no Kanata should set its par high with this new style, right? Wrong. This series is fails at various levels and if you’re expecting a deep engaging story with well developed characters, then look somewhere else. It doesn’t break any boundary or go read more
I found this review Helpful
Dris
Dec 18, 2013
"Judgement prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances."
-Wayne Dyer

There is one thing I will rarely, if ever, do. That is give the show a rating before watching the entire show through. That doesn't mean that I don't have preconceived notions about the show and have some idea how I'm going to rate it. As a human being, I am flawed with the inability to look at something objectively from the beginning. That being said, I felt like I should take the time to address all the people somehow climbing over each other trying to stick his or her opinion down the throat's read more
I found this review Helpful
Mchi
Jun 21, 2014
Damn, I feel like one of the few people who really really loves Kyoukai no Kanata on this damn site. I guess it's explaining time because as I really really like it I want it to have a halfway decent review. (especially since most of these seem written from a bias perspective from someone who only watched the first 3 episodes.

Kyuokai is not perfect, but it makes up for a lot of its flaws with gorgeous animation good laughs and a completely enjoyable ride the whole way through. The story of KnK definitely isn't original in the slightest to start off. Like everyone is saying read more
I found this review Helpful
lonelyintrovert
Jan 29, 2014
"No amount of great animation will save a bad story."-John Lasseter

When news came out that Kyoto Animation was going to make a supernatural anime me like many others were surprised and excited. A supernatural show with great animation made by one of the most popular anime studios in japan? What could possibly go wrong with Kyoukai No Kanata? Almost everything,apparently.

The story is set in a fictional world where Supernatural creatures called Youmu exist. Youmu come in various shapes and sizes. Although most Youmu are harmless. Some could be hostile and dangerous. To stop these Youmu from harming read more
I found this review Helpful
LeaderTGW
Mar 22, 2016
Pretty damn interesting show. Along the way I had some pretty mixed reactions, and feelings, however those negative feelings didn't stop me from enjoying Kyoukai no Kanata.

Story- 8/10

You can pretty much get a concept or idea of what the show is about by reading the description lol. That aside, the story was actually pretty decent. Full of thrills, excitement, and feels. There were many events that I loved in the story, however my most favorite on-going thing about it was every episode (Including the stupid ones, yeah I'm talking about episode 6) had the right amount of enjoyment whether it was action or read more
I found this review Helpful
cloudflowe
May 26, 2015
Kyoukai no Kanata is the type of show that you complete and feel all warm and fuzzy afterwords. It might not have an intricate story or the deepest, most compelling characters. but it makes up for its faults with an enjoyable ride and a charming message.

Story: 7/10

Pretty simple overall. Boy meets girl, antagonist comes to town, boy has to battle against himself and the evil outside of him. The show's narrative likes one or two day time skips, and on a couple occasions I felt like the events of the fractured narrative were not completely justified. Namely something that occurs at read more
I found this review Helpful
MidnightWalker95
Jan 10, 2014
Despite the various bad comments and reviews panning this series, I took a leap of faith and decided to watch it. I must say that, although not the best anime of all time, it is an enjoyable anime series.

With a length of 12 episodes, Kyoto Animation's "Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)" brings us a tale of two young teenagers, whose hearts are filled with regrets and burdens placed on their shoulders. Their actions will determine the fate of humanity itself, and while at that, they will draw near each other as they learn more about themselves and come to terms with their hardships. It read more
I found this review Helpful
allflying
Dec 18, 2013
"Fools have a habit of believing that everything written by a famous author is admirable. For my part I read only to please myself and like only what suits my taste." ~Voltaire~

Kyoukai no Kanata was by no means a very ambitious project (or a very pretentious subject). It had very linear and straight forward story line which actually very easy to understand and very comfy to follow, delivered with excellent animation and a proper adolescence romance development ... is probably an understatement. But, saying it was the best foreshadowing is also an exaggeration.

For starters, the anime was built upon a very basic concept: human with read more
I found this review Helpful
TheRuine
Apr 20, 2015
To be honest, when I finished this series, I did not expect myself to be so intrigued in the anime.

The storyline isn't one that is revealed until about episode 6, so I recommend you watch until there to get a gist instead of dismissing it as any other typical anime.

Of course, this is just an opinion.

The plot is very intriguing, as well as some small plot twists that might not be considered. It's ok. BUT this is not it's best trait: The way they are able to convey the character's emotions and feelings to the viewer in many ways got me attached. Some episodes read more
I found this review Helpful
Asfaria
Dec 18, 2013
Kyoukai no Kanata is the newest anime from Kyoto Animation who is best known for their multitude of anime all about high school clubs and moe character designs. Kyoukai no Kanata is their first real attempt at a darker action series, despite having all of the previously mentioned aspects in addition to that. So how did this new genre attempt work? Given that it's in KyoAni's name you would expect this, Kyoukai no Kanata has beautiful animation which holds up both during action-packed scenes and the laid back ones. However, while the soundtrack is also good, the story suffers from having a poorly explained plot read more
I found this review Helpful
jiroutachi
Dec 18, 2013
For quite the long time, people have exposed their wishes for Kyoani, notable for their several slice of life series with high quality animation, to do something else other than the slow moe-filled series they're famous for. After years of exploring safe territory, they finally announced the highly antecipated supernatural series Kyoukai no Kanata. And with that, set themselves up for what is probably their biggest failure in the last few years.

Whether they failed because the transition from slice of life to dark fantasy was too abrupt for them to handle or because they simply do not care for quality anymore, we can't be sure. read more
I found this review Helpful
yogotah
Feb 17, 2014

“ Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
-Albert Camus

If nothing else, Kyoukai no Kanata was an entertaining anime. It was able to produce tears, surprise, excitement, and many laughs. The coherency of the plot may have been questionable, but nonetheless, the ride that the anime portrayed was over-exceeded any nuances with the direction of the story line.

The main read more
I found this review Helpful
Mikashimotaku
Dec 20, 2013
Following their high success with "Free! Iwatobi Swim Club" Kyoto Animation has done it again with the stellar fall anime "Kyoukai no Kanata". Overall, the series works with supernatural elements, such as the "spirit world warriors" and the "youmu".

Story: 8
The story of Kyoukai no Kanata is about protagonists Kuriyama Mirai and Kanbara Akihito. Students in high school, both extraordinary in different ways. Mirai is the only living member of the 'cursed' spirit world warrior clan that is able to manipulate blood. Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human, making him immortal. The story revolves around these two and their adventures, and the even mysterious "Kyoukai no Kanata" read more
I found this review Helpful
dreamfollower
Dec 18, 2013
Kyoukai no Kanata aka 'Beyond the Boundary' seems to be quite a controversial anime in a sense that some people seem to love it i think, while others say its a let down. I think its brilliant and i loved it till the end. True it could be better. But every anime has areas it needs to improve in. The fall i would say about Kyoukai no Kanata is its potential. It has masses of it. I already think its amazing, but i think it has the potential to be even greater. There was simply not enough time allowed to truly explore and understand read more
I found this review Helpful
Leopah
Feb 20, 2015
Kyoukai no Kanata/Beyond the Boundary was one of my first animes (my fifth to be precise), so I'm probably a bit biased, but here I go anyway.

Story: 6/10
The show starts off in an unexpected way: A girl backflipping over a fence and stabbing our male lead in the heart. Extremely surprising, to say the least. However, he isn't dead. Akihito Kanbara is immortal so needless to say, being stabbed in the chest doesn't kill him.
And here we are introduced to our two main characters. We have Mirai, shunned due to her blood manipulation powers, and Akihito, existing as an immortal half-youmu.
So what's a youmu? Similar read more
I found this review Helpful
Zelot
Jan 9, 2014
I never knew there was a fetish for girls who wears glasses until I watched this anime. Now I realize I enjoy it when some girls wear their glasses? Warning, you may become a megane freak from this anime. Oh and you may get a Japanese lesson from this series as well... how unfortunate.

Story: 7
In what seems to be a normal world is actually inhabited by supernatural creatures (Different subs use different names for these supernatural creatures) and people with supernatural powers. Our main character is half human and half creature as well as a person with a fetish read more
I found this review Helpful
defan752
Dec 19, 2013
Kyoukai no Kanata. The very name conjures cryptic mystery and fantastical wonder. The world is divided into humans, and youmu. Here's my personal review of this fast, strange experience.

Story: 7/10
The concept of humans and monsters struggling for control in the same world is not unseen. In fact, it's used extremely often. Kyoukai no Kanata is no stranger to this tradition. Touting a common concept and developing from it, Kyoukai takes us on a somewhat unique look towards a familiar yarn - losing some charm in the process.

Art: 10/10
Kyoto Animation's animation and art are not to be trifled with. Known for masterful eye-candy such as Free!, read more
I found this review Helpful
marinasc
Dec 18, 2013
This is by far one of my favorite (if not my favorite) anime of all time. Why, you ask? Well i'm about to tell you. From the beginning of the story I fell in love, not only with the animation but with the music and the characters and all other aspects of this show. I just thought it was so wonderful, keep in mind that this is my first review ever though, so the quality of it will be who knows how bad or good- and i'm sure that many of you probably disagree and that's okay. Now onto the review:

Story: (8/10) The fact that read more
I found this review Helpful
trickchairs
Jun 8, 2015
Ordinarily, I can just grit my teeth and power through moe fanservice like this, but Kyoukai no Kanata broke me in three episodes. The opening sequence was so heart-pounding and exciting, and I felt like the show was doing a good job with world-building and setting itself apart from the standard supernatural high school series. But Mirai's constant clumsiness and general incompetence is so clearly fan baiting that it wore me down quickly.

The final straw was Hiroomi and Akihito talking projecting their fetishes onto Mitsuki -- who I think is a pretty funny, smart and interesting character. Show me a topless minor and you read more
I found this review Helpful
Reflex96
Dec 18, 2013
It surprises me to see the mixed reaction to Kyoukai no Kanata. Some love it, even considering it as their favourite anime ever, yet some dropped it quick and didn't like it at all. I'm neither of these. I don't hate it, yet don't considering it a masterpiece. I just really liked it. Here's why.

Now, as a story, Kyoukai no Kanata goes completely unanswered until the last episode. You are quite frankly left wondering many things, and a lot of "whys" float in your head. However this isn't the worst thing that could possibly happen. It's supposed to be a dark fantasy anime. Perhaps it's read more
I found this review Helpful