Ranked #699

Kyoukai no Kanata

Alternative Titles

English: Beyond the Boundary
Synonyms: Beyond the Horizon, Kyokai no Kanata
Japanese: 境界の彼方


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.881 (scored by 128,083 users)
Ranked: #6992
Popularity: #76
Members: 243,448
Favorites: 3,766
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Dec 18, 2013
Watching Kyoukai no Kanata is like riding a train but as it moves, it goes down spiral, into the abyss, and finally reaches trainwreck at the shadow of the pit. Don’t get me wrong, the show has quite an promising premise with the style of a dark fantasy genre. It’s something that Kyoto Animation haven’t tried before in the past so Kyoukai no Kanata should set its par high with this new style, right? Wrong. This series is fails at various levels and if you’re expecting a deep engaging story with well developed characters, then look somewhere else. It doesn’t break any boundary or go read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
"Judgement prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances."
-Wayne Dyer

There is one thing I will rarely, if ever, do. That is give the show a rating before watching the entire show through. That doesn't mean that I don't have preconceived notions about the show and have some idea how I'm going to rate it. As a human being, I am flawed with the inability to look at something objectively from the beginning. That being said, I felt like I should take the time to address all the people somehow climbing over each other trying to stick his or her opinion down the throat's read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 21, 2014
Damn, I feel like one of the few people who really really loves Kyoukai no Kanata on this damn site. I guess it's explaining time because as I really really like it I want it to have a halfway decent review. (especially since most of these seem written from a bias perspective from someone who only watched the first 3 episodes.

Kyuokai is not perfect, but it makes up for a lot of its flaws with gorgeous animation good laughs and a completely enjoyable ride the whole way through. The story of KnK definitely isn't original in the slightest to start off. Like everyone is saying read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2015

I really enjoyed this series but sadly I have to give it 8/10.

Story: 6/10

Well, it started really good, I was really impressed with the first 2 episodes. But then third and fourth episodes ruined everything for me. I couldn't understand what happened, why happened and how happened in those episodes. You'll understand what happened at fourth episode's end but I didn't get the thing about shadow thing (that youmu). I wanted to drop it but then I gave it a chance. Fifth episode had really good character developments so I continued, then a filler episode came but it was one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 29, 2014
"No amount of great animation will save a bad story."-John Lasseter

When news came out that Kyoto Animation was going to make a supernatural anime me like many others were surprised and excited. A supernatural show with great animation made by one of the most popular anime studios in japan? What could possibly go wrong with Kyoukai No Kanata? Almost everything,apparently.

The story is set in a fictional world where Supernatural creatures called Youmu exist. Youmu come in various shapes and sizes. Although most Youmu are harmless. Some could be hostile and dangerous. To stop these Youmu from harming read more
I found this review Helpful
May 26, 2015
Kyoukai no Kanata is the type of show that you complete and feel all warm and fuzzy afterwords. It might not have an intricate story or the deepest, most compelling characters. but it makes up for its faults with an enjoyable ride and a charming message.

Story: 7/10

Pretty simple overall. Boy meets girl, antagonist comes to town, boy has to battle against himself and the evil outside of him. The show's narrative likes one or two day time skips, and on a couple occasions I felt like the events of the fractured narrative were not completely justified. Namely something that occurs at read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
You know they're doing something wrong when you only find two likable characters, when you feel like killing all lolis in the Universe and when you feel so depressed and demotivated while watching this kind of anime that it hurts. And really, that's exactly how I felt when I watched Kyoukai no Kanata. Fuyukai indeed, Mirai, fuyukai indeed.

The story… It’s not like it’s badly paced, but it doesn’t seem to go into much detail regarding certain points and I was getting really frustrated. What are youmu? They have “types”, what do you mean they have types? Why would they have types? What do you mean, read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2015
I still remember that Idol dance scene that the main characters did and it won't burn off my retina. That's the whole reason how I found this anime in the first place. It just popped up on my Recommendations and I decided to watch it. The scene was weird and funny at the same time and then I decided to watch the whole show.

[Story]: (6/10)
The dark fantasy follows a high school sophomore named Akihito Kanbara. Although the boy appears human, he is a half youmu and invulnerable to wounds because he can heal quickly. One day, Akihito meets freshman Mirai Kuriyama when it seems read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 20, 2015
To be honest, when I finished this series, I did not expect myself to be so intrigued in the anime.

The storyline isn't one that is revealed until about episode 6, so I recommend you watch until there to get a gist instead of dismissing it as any other typical anime.

Of course, this is just an opinion.

The plot is very intriguing, as well as some small plot twists that might not be considered. It's ok. BUT this is not it's best trait: The way they are able to convey the character's emotions and feelings to the viewer in many ways got me attached. Some episodes read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 11, 2015
I'm a fan of the anime because of it's cute art (the characters look their age, an aspect that some anime I've watched have trouble grasping), brilliant comedic relief (the repartee between the characters make me snicker), and likable characters.
We have Kiriyama Mirai's graceful fighting skills, yet clumsy social skills, and favorite "how unpleasant" line, Akihito's glasses fetish, Mitsuki's tsundere personality, and Hiroomi's sister complex. With this colorful cast and unique story there's hardly a lull in the anime.
In addition, the opening and ending song is the perfect measure of poignant and hopeful.
The story had some questions that needed answering, but read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 8, 2015
Ordinarily, I can just grit my teeth and power through moe fanservice like this, but Kyoukai no Kanata broke me in three episodes. The opening sequence was so heart-pounding and exciting, and I felt like the show was doing a good job with world-building and setting itself apart from the standard supernatural high school series. But Mirai's constant clumsiness and general incompetence is so clearly fan baiting that it wore me down quickly.

The final straw was Hiroomi and Akihito talking projecting their fetishes onto Mitsuki -- who I think is a pretty funny, smart and interesting character. Show me a topless minor and you read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2015
Kyoukai no Kanata/Beyond the Boundary was one of my first animes (my fifth to be precise), so I'm probably a bit biased, but here I go anyway.

Story: 6/10
The show starts off in an unexpected way: A girl backflipping over a fence and stabbing our male lead in the heart. Extremely surprising, to say the least. However, he isn't dead. Akihito Kanbara is immortal so needless to say, being stabbed in the chest doesn't kill him.
And here we are introduced to our two main characters. We have Mirai, shunned due to her blood manipulation powers, and Akihito, existing as an immortal half-youmu.
So what's a youmu? Similar read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 25, 2014
The Fantasy genre has had its share of great Anime and also really bad ones. I wasn't sure whether I'd like Kyoukai no Kanata or not since it didn't seem to do anything outside the norm. But boy, was I wrong. I actually liked it better than I expected to. Anyways, on to my review.

read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
"Fools have a habit of believing that everything written by a famous author is admirable. For my part I read only to please myself and like only what suits my taste." ~Voltaire~

Kyoukai no Kanata was by no means a very ambitious project (or a very pretentious subject). It had very linear and straight forward story line which actually very easy to understand and very comfy to follow, delivered with excellent animation and a proper adolescence romance development ... is probably an understatement. But, saying it was the best foreshadowing is also an exaggeration.

For starters, the anime was built upon a very basic concept: human with read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 10, 2014
Despite the various bad comments and reviews panning this series, I took a leap of faith and decided to watch it. I must say that, although not the best anime of all time, it is an enjoyable anime series.

With a length of 12 episodes, Kyoto Animation's "Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)" brings us a tale of two young teenagers, whose hearts are filled with regrets and burdens placed on their shoulders. Their actions will determine the fate of humanity itself, and while at that, they will draw near each other as they learn more about themselves and come to terms with their hardships. It read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 10, 2015
This anime was great. All the bad reviews are just people who can't sit down and enjoy a show without nitpicking every single detail of a show. I really enjoyed the anime. it has it's random funny moments and a great atmosphere.

Art is superb, Story is above average if anything. Plot holes do not make the story bad.. they never said this would be the last in the series. Characters are very likable and have random, quirky interactions.

I suggest you watch this and decide for yourself instead of deciding because of some bad reviews. You could find that you actually enjoy this anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 18, 2015
Hey! Have you ever had that one anime that made you go all "nyeeeeeeeeeeh!" because of it's sudden ending? If yes, then this anime will be one of them.
Kyoukai no kanata (also known as "Beyond the Boundary" in English) is a anime which was created by KyotoAnimation ("KyoAni") and was something along the lines of Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! but way more complex and these fighting scenes that you have seen in Chuuni had meaning and mythology to them. Now, usually when I review an anime, I try to look at flaws etc. such as: Animation mistakes, sounds/music, character. character development, character interaction read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 24, 2015
Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary for English) for me was up to the expectations I put onto it. It was funny, loving, and had a dark side to it too.

Story - 8/10
It's pretty dark at first. A girl with a cursed bloodline, with a dark past meets a immortal half-demon boy who's very powerful. The first meeting is kind of just "What the heck, Mirai?" but it gets better over time. The demons along the way are powerful, and of course like other animes, the main character goes to kill something, and the other main character goes to stop her/him. This story left read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Kyoukai no Kanata is the newest anime from Kyoto Animation who is best known for their multitude of anime all about high school clubs and moe character designs. Kyoukai no Kanata is their first real attempt at a darker action series, despite having all of the previously mentioned aspects in addition to that. So how did this new genre attempt work? Given that it's in KyoAni's name you would expect this, Kyoukai no Kanata has beautiful animation which holds up both during action-packed scenes and the laid back ones. However, while the soundtrack is also good, the story suffers from having a poorly explained plot read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 20, 2013
Following their high success with "Free! Iwatobi Swim Club" Kyoto Animation has done it again with the stellar fall anime "Kyoukai no Kanata". Overall, the series works with supernatural elements, such as the "spirit world warriors" and the "youmu".

Story: 8
The story of Kyoukai no Kanata is about protagonists Kuriyama Mirai and Kanbara Akihito. Students in high school, both extraordinary in different ways. Mirai is the only living member of the 'cursed' spirit world warrior clan that is able to manipulate blood. Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human, making him immortal. The story revolves around these two and their adventures, and the even mysterious "Kyoukai no Kanata" read more
I found this review Helpful