MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #731
Kyoukai no Kanata

Kyoukai no Kanata

Alternative Titles

English: Beyond the Boundary
Synonyms: Beyond the Horizon, Kyokai no Kanata
Japanese: 境界の彼方

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 105003 users)
Ranked: #7312
Popularity: #87
Members: 198,619
Favorites: 2,873
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 21, 2014
Mchi
Damn, I feel like one of the few people who really really loves Kyoukai no Kanata on this damn site. I guess it's explaining time because as I really really like it I want it to have a halfway decent review. (especially since most of these seem written from a bias perspective from someone who only watched the first 3 episodes.

Kyuokai is not perfect, but it makes up for a lot of its flaws with gorgeous animation good laughs and a completely enjoyable ride the whole way through. The story of KnK definitely isn't original in the slightest to start off. Like everyone is saying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 26, 2015
cloudflowe
Kyoukai no Kanata is the type of show that you complete and feel all warm and fuzzy afterwords. It might not have an intricate story or the deepest, most compelling characters. but it makes up for its faults with an enjoyable ride and a charming message.

Story: 7/10

Pretty simple overall. Boy meets girl, antagonist comes to town, boy has to battle against himself and the evil outside of him. The show's narrative likes one or two day time skips, and on a couple occasions I felt like the events of the fractured narrative were not completely justified. Namely something that occurs at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Dris
"Judgement prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances."
-Wayne Dyer

There is one thing I will rarely, if ever, do. That is give the show a rating before watching the entire show through. That doesn't mean that I don't have preconceived notions about the show and have some idea how I'm going to rate it. As a human being, I am flawed with the inability to look at something objectively from the beginning. That being said, I felt like I should take the time to address all the people somehow climbing over each other trying to stick his or her opinion down the throat's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Stark700
Watching Kyoukai no Kanata is like riding a train but as it moves, it goes down spiral, into the abyss, and finally reaches trainwreck at the shadow of the pit. Don’t get me wrong, the show has quite an promising premise with the style of a dark fantasy genre. It’s something that Kyoto Animation haven’t tried before in the past so Kyoukai no Kanata should set its par high with this new style, right? Wrong. This series is fails at various levels and if you’re expecting a deep engaging story with well developed characters, then look somewhere else. It doesn’t break any boundary or go read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2015
TheRuine
To be honest, when I finished this series, I did not expect myself to be so intrigued in the anime.

The storyline isn't one that is revealed until about episode 6, so I recommend you watch until there to get a gist instead of dismissing it as any other typical anime.

Of course, this is just an opinion.

The plot is very intriguing, as well as some small plot twists that might not be considered. It's ok. BUT this is not it's best trait: The way they are able to convey the character's emotions and feelings to the viewer in many ways got me attached. Some episodes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2014
lonelyintrovert
"No amount of great animation will save a bad story."-John Lasseter

When news came out that Kyoto Animation was going to make a supernatural anime me like many others were surprised and excited. A supernatural show with great animation made by one of the most popular anime studios in japan? What could possibly go wrong with Kyoukai No Kanata? Almost everything,apparently.

The story is set in a fictional world where Supernatural creatures called Youmu exist. Youmu come in various shapes and sizes. Although most Youmu are harmless. Some could be hostile and dangerous. To stop these Youmu from harming read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Aines445
You know they're doing something wrong when you only find two likable characters, when you feel like killing all lolis in the Universe and when you feel so depressed and demotivated while watching this kind of anime that it hurts. And really, that's exactly how I felt when I watched Kyoukai no Kanata. Fuyukai indeed, Mirai, fuyukai indeed.

Story:
The story… It’s not like it’s badly paced, but it doesn’t seem to go into much detail regarding certain points and I was getting really frustrated. What are youmu? They have “types”, what do you mean they have types? Why would they have types? What do you mean, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 20, 2015
Leopah
Kyoukai no Kanata/Beyond the Boundary was one of my first animes (my fifth to be precise), so I'm probably a bit biased, but here I go anyway.

Story: 6/10
The show starts off in an unexpected way: A girl backflipping over a fence and stabbing our male lead in the heart. Extremely surprising, to say the least. However, he isn't dead. Akihito Kanbara is immortal so needless to say, being stabbed in the chest doesn't kill him.
And here we are introduced to our two main characters. We have Mirai, shunned due to her blood manipulation powers, and Akihito, existing as an immortal half-youmu.
So what's a youmu? Similar read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2015
kokoro_connect
I know many people out there doesn't like this particular anime. And i wont blame them. The anime is tailored in such a way that it tends to attract mixed opinions.

So here is my honest review for the anime.

Plot- Please google it. I wont waste time here.

Now getting to the important matter, the greatest thing about this anime is the growing love story between the two protagonist. I mean it has really a cute approach and yet feels mature. Though it is mainly an actioned centred anime, the romantic element doesn't look left out at all. All the characters are given equal detail and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 25, 2014
Harrymanhunter
The Fantasy genre has had its share of great Anime and also really bad ones. I wasn't sure whether I'd like Kyoukai no Kanata or not since it didn't seem to do anything outside the norm. But boy, was I wrong. I actually liked it better than I expected to. Anyways, on to my review.


read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 24, 2015
thedeathboy
For me, Kyoukai no Kanaka was a really fun show to watch. Now, I understand that not many people enjoyed the show as much as I did, but, to me, it was entertaining and very well paced. Also, unlike many of the 12 episode anime that I've seen, the ending was satisfying and didn't leave me wondering what the heck I just watched. The show follows Mirai Kuriyama, a young high school girl who is a Spirit World Warrior (someone who hunts and kills youmos - which are beings similar to Norigami's phantoms). The male lead is named Akihito. I've heard many complaints that Akihito's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 15, 2015
YorouzoyaHouse
[Notice the Slice of Life under the genre]

Imagine you are on a roller-coaster, it starts, and moves towards the climb. You are sitting there all excited because it seems like this is going to be one hell of a ride. It goes all the way up, the scenery is beautiful, and then it starts to come down. You scream in excitement, but then halfway around the fall --- Zipppp, it stops and they tell you "That's it. Now get off."

That is how I felt when I first finished the first couple episodes of Kyoukai no Kanata.
But, then I re-watched the whole thing (Because my Spidey read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2015
HotaruMari
This beautifully drawn anime will get you right in the heart. Just like Kuriyama at the very beginning. This show made me go "Whuuuuut?!" in only first two minutes, after that I was in!

The story of gifted young lady, who happens to be Spirit Warrior with unusual powers, that run in her family. She can use her blood to form a weapon or incapacitate her opponents. However, she is last of her family and is considered to be cursed. When she meets Akihito, who turns out to be kinda immortal due to his mom being a demon, things are gonna change. And we all hope read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2015
MimisMan
Kyokai no Kanata could have been more than a 7/10. Don't get me wrong it's still fine, but it could have had been something more than an OK anime. Sadly it falls short. In my opinion there are two major flaws that hold it down and I am gonna explain them briefly.

But let me start with the good stuff. The story starts off pretty nicely and catches your interest as it is surrounded by mystery. The characters are definately the strongest point of Kyokai no Kanata toghether with its visuals. All the protagonists are enjoyable to watch and have nice traits that make them read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 10, 2015
JamesFranco
Well this anime was ok not the best, Had some really good comedy, The animation was brilliant, The action was up to par but the problem i had with this were the story holes. The antagonist didnt get much screen time; i felt like who's the main villain here? whats is this demon doing all this for? the world is gonna end, WHAT!? there was little to no exposition for anyone else besides the main 2 characters and they didnt do a great job at that. I was left asking "whats up with the mom, whats the society, where did the blood clan go or read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 7, 2014
Droppling
Christ, where do I begin with KnK? It's gorgeous. It really is; I actually got very jealous at Mirai's ridiculously poofy hair. The animation with blood and special effects was also really great. The character designs are also memorable and cute.

But the plot... There was so much the studio could have done and so little done with what they did present. To be fair, I'll start with what I think they did do right.

First, the main character, Akihito, is half-Youmu (basically a youkai/demon) and half-human. A hybrid protagonist is nothing new but unlike most he balances the time spent angsting about being a special snowflake read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2014
The42gamer
Have you ever heard of the term “wasted potential”?
Intro: Kyoto Animation has developed a reputation over the years. They’re known for amazing animation, but they tend to focus mainly on slice of life shows with tons of MOE and basically cute girls doing cute things. They only recently stepped out of this rut (sort of) with the manservice show known as Free. But then again it played out like a typical Kyotoani show, but with guys. So when I heard they were making a show focused more on action, I was immediately skeptical. Did it impress me? Let’s find out.

Story: Kyoukai no Kanata takes place read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 17, 2014
yogotah

“ Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
-Albert Camus

If nothing else, Kyoukai no Kanata was an entertaining anime. It was able to produce tears, surprise, excitement, and many laughs. The coherency of the plot may have been questionable, but nonetheless, the ride that the anime portrayed was over-exceeded any nuances with the direction of the story line.

The main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2014
MidnightWalker95
Despite the various bad comments and reviews panning this series, I took a leap of faith and decided to watch it. I must say that, although not the best anime of all time, it is an enjoyable anime series.

With a length of 12 episodes, Kyoto Animation's "Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)" brings us a tale of two young teenagers, whose hearts are filled with regrets and burdens placed on their shoulders. Their actions will determine the fate of humanity itself, and while at that, they will draw near each other as they learn more about themselves and come to terms with their hardships. It read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 20, 2013
Mikashimotaku
Following their high success with "Free! Iwatobi Swim Club" Kyoto Animation has done it again with the stellar fall anime "Kyoukai no Kanata". Overall, the series works with supernatural elements, such as the "spirit world warriors" and the "youmu".

Story: 8
The story of Kyoukai no Kanata is about protagonists Kuriyama Mirai and Kanbara Akihito. Students in high school, both extraordinary in different ways. Mirai is the only living member of the 'cursed' spirit world warrior clan that is able to manipulate blood. Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human, making him immortal. The story revolves around these two and their adventures, and the even mysterious "Kyoukai no Kanata" read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful