MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #719
Kyoukai no Kanata

Kyoukai no Kanata

Alternative Titles

English: Beyond the Boundary
Synonyms: Beyond the Horizon, Kyokai no Kanata
Japanese: 境界の彼方

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 76223 users)
Ranked: #7192
Popularity: #98
Members: 143,298
Favorites: 2,036
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 21, 2014
Mchi
Damn, I feel like one of the few people who really really loves Kyoukai no Kanata on this damn site. I guess it's explaining time because as I really really like it I want it to have a halfway decent review. (especially since most of these seem written from a bias perspective from someone who only watched the first 3 episodes.

Kyuokai is not perfect, but it makes up for a lot of its flaws with gorgeous animation good laughs and a completely enjoyable ride the whole way through. The story of KnK definitely isn't original in the slightest to start off. Like everyone is saying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Dris
"Judgement prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances."
-Wayne Dyer

There is one thing I will rarely, if ever, do. That is give the show a rating before watching the entire show through. That doesn't mean that I don't have preconceived notions about the show and have some idea how I'm going to rate it. As a human being, I am flawed with the inability to look at something objectively from the beginning. That being said, I felt like I should take the time to address all the people somehow climbing over each other trying to stick his or her opinion down the throat's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Stark700
Watching Kyoukai no Kanata is like riding a train but as it moves, it goes down spiral, into the abyss, and finally reaches trainwreck at the shadow of the pit. Don’t get me wrong, the show has quite an promising premise with the style of a dark fantasy genre. It’s something that Kyoto Animation haven’t tried before in the past so Kyoukai no Kanata should set its par high with this new style, right? Wrong. This series is fails at various levels and if you’re expecting a deep engaging story with well developed characters, then look somewhere else. It doesn’t break any boundary or go read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2014
lonelyintrovert
"No amount of great animation will save a bad story."-John Lasseter

When news came out that Kyoto Animation was going to make a supernatural anime me like many others were surprised and excited. A supernatural show with great animation made by one of the most popular anime studios in japan? What could possibly go wrong with Kyoukai No Kanata? Almost everything,apparently.

The story is set in a fictional world where Supernatural creatures called Youmu exist. Youmu come in various shapes and sizes. Although most Youmu are harmless. Some could be hostile and dangerous. To stop these Youmu from harming read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2014
Marthgun
If you read the reviews for this, you would probably think you had some idea of what was in store. Some good, some bad, others lukewarm.

I think its fair to point out that this isn't a character driven story. If you were looking for deep characters and interesting relationships between them, you should have probably made sure this show had more than 12 episodes. That isn't a cop out, but its important to check your expectations at the door.

I don't usually go for the slice of life, tinged with romance angle, what more or less drew me in was the conflicting thoughts read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 17, 2014
yogotah

“ Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
-Albert Camus

If nothing else, Kyoukai no Kanata was an entertaining anime. It was able to produce tears, surprise, excitement, and many laughs. The coherency of the plot may have been questionable, but nonetheless, the ride that the anime portrayed was over-exceeded any nuances with the direction of the story line.

The main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2014
The42gamer
Have you ever heard of the term “wasted potential”?
Intro: Kyoto Animation has developed a reputation over the years. They’re known for amazing animation, but they tend to focus mainly on slice of life shows with tons of MOE and basically cute girls doing cute things. They only recently stepped out of this rut (sort of) with the manservice show known as Free. But then again it played out like a typical Kyotoani show, but with guys. So when I heard they were making a show focused more on action, I was immediately skeptical. Did it impress me? Let’s find out.

Story: Kyoukai no Kanata takes place read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Aines445
You know they're doing something wrong when you only find two likable characters, when you feel like killing all lolis in the Universe and when you feel so depressed and demotivated while watching this kind of anime that it hurts. And really, that's exactly how I felt when I watched Kyoukai no Kanata. Fuyukai indeed, Mirai, fuyukai indeed.

Story:
The story… It’s not like it’s badly paced, but it doesn’t seem to go into much detail regarding certain points and I was getting really frustrated. What are youmu? They have “types”, what do you mean they have types? Why would they have types? What do you mean, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 15, 2014
minishiro
This show had a great potential both in character development and story-wise; both which were entirely spoiled for the sake of moe scenes and an "epic" ending. In all honesty, maybe I had too much expectations from this show. It had an amazing artwork, characters that looked deep and interesting, and a nice concept.

I am mad at the creators of this show. M. A. D. They left so many innuendos about the different characters but never exploited any. Instead, they focused on the moe, megane and nii-chan fetishes that really didn't bring anything to the show, as well as homosexual "hints". It could have been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
allflying
"Fools have a habit of believing that everything written by a famous author is admirable. For my part I read only to please myself and like only what suits my taste." ~Voltaire~

Kyoukai no Kanata was by no means a very ambitious project (or a very pretentious subject). It had very linear and straight forward story line which actually very easy to understand and very comfy to follow, delivered with excellent animation and a proper adolescence romance development ... is probably an understatement. But, saying it was the best foreshadowing is also an exaggeration.

For starters, the anime was built upon a very basic concept: human with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 10, 2014
datboishagg
Story 7 - The story has holes, some arcs felt rushed at times and left some important questions unanswered. I feel like it could have been smoothed out better with an extra episode worth of content spread out where it needed it, but instead we got a surprisingly satisfying filler mid-way through the series. The main message of the anime is somewhat singular and explores the layers of what that message means. 5/10(70% of story)

I can't not bring up the action as playing a major role in the way the story unfolds, where some would brush it off into the Art category. 10/10(30% of story)

My read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2014
MidnightWalker95
Despite the various bad comments and reviews panning this series, I took a leap of faith and decided to watch it. I must say that, although not the best anime of all time, it is an enjoyable anime series.

With a length of 12 episodes, Kyoto Animation's "Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)" brings us a tale of two young teenagers, whose hearts are filled with regrets and burdens placed on their shoulders. Their actions will determine the fate of humanity itself, and while at that, they will draw near each other as they learn more about themselves and come to terms with their hardships. It read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 9, 2014
Zelot
I never knew there was a fetish for girls who wears glasses until I watched this anime. Now I realize I enjoy it when some girls wear their glasses? Warning, you may become a megane freak from this anime. Oh and you may get a Japanese lesson from this series as well... how unfortunate.

Story: 7
In what seems to be a normal world is actually inhabited by supernatural creatures (Different subs use different names for these supernatural creatures) and people with supernatural powers. Our main character is half human and half creature as well as a person with a fetish read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2014
Mnemofysh
I was slightly reluctant to watch this anime at first. I had seen the first half of the first episode at anime club. At home, I was desperately hoping to watch SAO, but I made myself a resolution that I would go through every anime I start. In the end, I don’t regret deciding to finish this series off.

I really want to give the story element a good score. I really do. But unfortunately, it doesn’t deserve more than a 5.5. Right from the very start I found quite a few aspects confusing, especially about the nature of youmu and Spirit World Warriors. I ended read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 20, 2013
Mikashimotaku
Following their high success with "Free! Iwatobi Swim Club" Kyoto Animation has done it again with the stellar fall anime "Kyoukai no Kanata". Overall, the series works with supernatural elements, such as the "spirit world warriors" and the "youmu".

Story: 8
The story of Kyoukai no Kanata is about protagonists Kuriyama Mirai and Kanbara Akihito. Students in high school, both extraordinary in different ways. Mirai is the only living member of the 'cursed' spirit world warrior clan that is able to manipulate blood. Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human, making him immortal. The story revolves around these two and their adventures, and the even mysterious "Kyoukai no Kanata" read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
Asfaria
Kyoukai no Kanata is the newest anime from Kyoto Animation who is best known for their multitude of anime all about high school clubs and moe character designs. Kyoukai no Kanata is their first real attempt at a darker action series, despite having all of the previously mentioned aspects in addition to that. So how did this new genre attempt work? Given that it's in KyoAni's name you would expect this, Kyoukai no Kanata has beautiful animation which holds up both during action-packed scenes and the laid back ones. However, while the soundtrack is also good, the story suffers from having a poorly explained plot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2013
dreamfollower
Kyoukai no Kanata aka 'Beyond the Boundary' seems to be quite a controversial anime in a sense that some people seem to love it i think, while others say its a let down. I think its brilliant and i loved it till the end. True it could be better. But every anime has areas it needs to improve in. The fall i would say about Kyoukai no Kanata is its potential. It has masses of it. I already think its amazing, but i think it has the potential to be even greater. There was simply not enough time allowed to truly explore and understand read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2014
Jemunoz
"So what if people hate me!? Everyone loves flaming me on blogs and Twitter!" - Kuriyama Mirai

Before I even get started, I need to get three things out of the way: I'm a sucker for "bespectacled beauties", this review is based solely on the anime and will not reference to the LN at all, and this is not an in-depth analysis featuring a full thesis on why I rated it this way. This is me simply giving my opinion.

The only thing I can compare watching this to is eating at a buffet. You stand at the front doors, really hungry and excited. As you get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2013
defan752
Kyoukai no Kanata. The very name conjures cryptic mystery and fantastical wonder. The world is divided into humans, and youmu. Here's my personal review of this fast, strange experience.

Story: 7/10
The concept of humans and monsters struggling for control in the same world is not unseen. In fact, it's used extremely often. Kyoukai no Kanata is no stranger to this tradition. Touting a common concept and developing from it, Kyoukai takes us on a somewhat unique look towards a familiar yarn - losing some charm in the process.

Art: 10/10
Kyoto Animation's animation and art are not to be trifled with. Known for masterful eye-candy such as Free!, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2014
Quamobrem
I remember seeing the trailer for Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary) back when it was first announced and thinking it looked like one of the best new anime series of the year. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations and actually turned out to be one of my least favorite shows I've ever watched. Without further introduction, I'll explain why.


[Story: 1/10]

The plot is easily the most disappointing aspect of KnK. The biggest problem is simply the poor pacing and lack of direction. With only 12 episodes, a series doesn't have time for filler episodes and multiple story arcs; it needs to pick a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices