MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #8782
Romeo x Juliet

Romeo x Juliet

Alternative Titles

English: SSJMaster
Synonyms: SSJMaster
Japanese: ???????

Information

Type:
Episodes: 9001
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Not available
Genres:
Duration: Unknown
Rating: None
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.141 (scored by 7 users)
Ranked: #87822
Popularity: #441
Members: 59,141
Favorites: 811
1 This score is not weighted
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama fantasy romance
Apr 18, 2008
kahhwee
What can we expect from a title that says Romeo x Juliet? Probably a cheesy and draggy remade version of the original story that has no dept whatsoever.

But I was utterly wrong. Simply bear in mind that this is the Anime Version of Romeo and Juliet, and expect what you'll expect from most anime for eg, fantasy. I'm no fan of Shakespear's work but I do know the general outline of the story and the important scenes such as the balcony which audience will get to enjoy during the course of the series (although I'm guilty of laughing at that part).

Story wise - read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2008
lillockey
Going into this series, I admit that I had braced myself for more of a tragedy than this. Having acted in the original play, I know just how depressing and plain ol' emo it can be. But this is truly something different.

Story: First off, the story is much more moving and uplifting than I was expecting. There were times when I was actually moved to tears by the responses of characters to each other. The story just barely follows Shakespeare's original story. Basically put, if you're looking for an anime rendition of his story, you're looking in the wrong read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 6, 2010
FauxAzn
I went into this anime not expecting to like it very much. I am not a fan of Shakespeare. I am also not a fan of plots that showcase war and revenge. As it turned out, I am, however, a fan of Romeo X Juliet.

This is NOT your ordinary melodramatic love story. This is an adventure.

All of the characters are presented well and integrate with the story seamlessly, allowing this fictional world to brim with life, with living, breathing characters. Romeo and Juliet are portrayed as strong and brave protagonists that dynamically grow through each episode. The Capulets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2013
TooBadForU
When I went into this one, I really had no idea what to expect and what to receive. It's Shakespeare... as anime.
This would either be the best thing ever, or the most painful.

Story - to begin with, this isn't really Romeo and Juliet. The anime adds a lot of completely original elements, like (Neo-)Verona being a floating city in the sky, the existence of Dragonsteeds (which should be self-explanatory), people in oppression, a "La Résistance"-esque group of vigilantes and most importantly changes the morality from grey-and-grey to black-and-white. And that's this anime's biggest flaw. Capulet and their allies are pure and good and Montague are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 4, 2007
anii
Overall I believed it was a very good story. It goes along the basic storyline of the Shakespeare version, but I thought that the twists and extra pieces really made it unique and likeable.

I loved the music, it really went well with the anime and the mood of the story. I also loved the opening and ending music.

Each episode was a sort of cliffhanger, which made me want to watch the rest of them in a row (but couldn't). When I did, I felt kind of sad that it wasn't long enough.

Some of the characters that have more similar roles in both this anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2008
ethann
When i first saw the title, i though it would be quite a cliche anime since the story itself is quite well known. But i must applaud the effort put in by the studio in adding a lot of extra detail while still being able to maintain the original storyline. Myself being a fantasy lover was immediately taken in by the flying horses and mythical tree. I think that they made the story more interesting and enhanced the mood,especially the drama in the show. So in terms of the story it was quite well done in my opinion and should not be taken lightly because read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2007
ukiuki
From the name of the anime, you can tell what it will be about, based on Shakespeare's original work.

Even from watching the opening theme, you can see that the series does not appear to be like the original, so don't expect it and judge this series based on that. For example... flying horses?

The story is extremely well played out. The only reason why I didnt rate the story any higher was that sometimes, the fantasy elements were too much, and didnt always fit in *spoiler* (Escalus). Only at the very end do all the elements fit together. Although almost everyone knows how a Romeo read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 1, 2009
Pinktiarapanda
Ah, Romeo and Juliet. Probably the most enduring love story of all time. The story of passionate young star crossed lovers, in passionate searing love, falling into the hands of an impossibly tragic fate in order to teach their quarreling families and the audience a lesson about innocence in the midst of violence and hatred. Lovely and stirring and compelling, right? I sure think so. So being the really really pathetic Shakespeare nerd that I am....and a huge fan of anime I thought to myself, "ROMEO AND JULIET IN AN ANIME????" *nerdgasm* "I MUST SEE THIS".
but
after seeing it, all I could think was "poo."

STORY
This anime, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2009
danceljoy
An anime version of Romeo and Juliet? Interesting.

But its a loose adaptation. Very loose. Don't expect Romeo X Juliet to be like the original Shakespeare play. This review, is written by a person who never read the play but has researched enough about it. Arguably, all the characters in this anime are made differently, unintentionally or not, from their counterparts. And from these traits we get an awfully plentiful disagreeing opinions.

Now for a detailed review...

Story: 6

The discussion of this part is going to be longer than the others because its the core of the anime, being an "adaptation." Let us begin with the basics; read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 9, 2011
HatenaZubon
***This is a Spoiler-Free Review***

Alright, for better or worse, shelve what you know about Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet, this anime is a fantasy-action and romance story loosely *inspired* by the timeless play, not quite an adaptation. If that doesn't sound appealing or you were expecting Romeo & Juliet: the Noh Drama / [High School] Musical, you may leave. The rest of you...have a seat.

Story [6/10] - It should go without spoiling anything that the focus of the story is our hero Romeo and our heroine Juliet falling in love and the events that transpire before and as a result of this. Towards read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 27, 2010
tazillo
"Just another adaptation of one of Shakespeare's most popular plays. Boring." This was more or less what I thought when I stumbled upon Romeo x Juliet a while ago. One look at the opening credits of this anime suggested that I may have judged it too hastily, and 24 episodes later I knew I was definitely wrong.

It's a difficult task to improve upon the original story of Romeo and Juliet, a tremendous tale full of romance and tragedy. This anime adaptation pays a lot of respect to Shakespeare's famous work, and yet also manages to throw in so much of it's own ideas. Unlike the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 12, 2008
Venneh
Title: Romeo x Juliet

Manga, Anime: Romeo x Juliet does have a manga spinoff, with art done by COM and story still done by Gonzo and Sky Perfect Wellthink, that began running in Kadokawa Shoten's Monthly Asuka on March 24th, 2007. It is still running at this point in time, and has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Romeo x Juliet is a twenty-four episode anime that was produced by Gonzo (famous for their work on Gankutsuou and Saikano) and directed by Fumitoshi Oisaki (this was his first major work as a director). It ran from April 4th to September 26th, 2007 on Japanese TV, and, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 26, 2013
anime-cat
Okay, lets start off with saying that everyone knows Shakespeare' s Romeo and Juliet. It's a well established play and movies have followed (with one coming soon). So when I came in to watch this anime I thought I knew what I was going into. The same old same old, right?

Wrong.

Romeo x Juliet tell the tale of two lovers named Romeo and Juliet but that's as far as the relevance to the play goes. In this version there's pegasi, evil Dukes, magic trees, long lost relatives and a rebel fighter. Sounds appetizing right? Wrong again. Romeo x Juliet has been one of the most read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2013
9tailjeza
Romeo x Juliet, is it Romeo and Juliet? no.
This anime is based very loosely on William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet so, if you happen to be familiar with the English classic (most of us are) prepare to be surprised.

Story:
If you've seen the 2004 film Troy (starring Brad Pitt, Eric Bana, Diane Kruger, Sean Bean and Orlando Bloom) it may be easier for you to understand the premise of the story - how an inspiration becomes a legend.
Romeo x Juliet follows two young nobles Romeo, the son of the despotic Montague Ruler and Juliet, the only surviving daughter of the slaughtered Capulet family, come to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 14, 2011
AgentBEATS
As an English Major in University, I would be the first to say that Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet is far from the masterpiece many think it is.

The original play is rushed, unbelievable and ultimately the characters themselves are most at fault. Romeo and Juliet are nothing more than lovestruck teenagers, who cannot stop thinking about their libido long enough for the play not to end in tragedy. That being said, Romeo x Juliet is an inventive interpretation of one of the worlds most famously known plays.

Story:
The story of Romeo x Juliet, is thankfully, a pretty big departure from the original. Adding in a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 31, 2008
Somiboo
Firstly, it's important to point out that the name of this series is NOT "Romeo and Juliet" for a reason, that being it's not a clone of Shakespeare's original play. Now, I for one find that there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but for those who are either expecting the famous classic or cannot bear to see an exploratory remake, this series is NOT for you.

Okay, that out of the way...
Romeo X Juliet is a fantasy spin on its namesake with adorable characters and a team of well placed seiyū- including my personal favorite Ryōtarō Okiayu (e.g: Byakuya from Bleach). Much like the play read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 5, 2008
kiriska
I decided to watch this series on a complete whim. As a lover of tragedies and angst, I've always liked the original Shakespearian play well enough, despite its many flaws. Unfortunately, if the original play had many flaws, then this incredibly loose adaptations has them tenfold.

STORY - There's no hiding from it. This series is a horrible bastardization of Shakespeare's play and retains very few similarities beyond character names, references, and the fact that Romeo and Juliet have the purest and most cliche love for each other ever! That said, the changes made are interesting, if nothing else. The fantasy elements don't seem important at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 10, 2010
MightiMidget
I was recommended RomeoxJuliet as "something to poke fun at." For the first three episodes, I felt pained by how bad it felt and really did just poke fun at it. But when I went back to it, I realized that it was "funny" in and only in that it was how I was expecting it. Also, the script in the first few episodes is a bit jolty in its wording from modern to archaic and back. That levels out pretty soon, and is very smooth and beautiful. Sub and Dub are both done quite well, and I do believe that Chris Burnett as Romeo read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 25, 2008
iamjoe
I'm sure the Bard is turning over in his grave several times. First they make a stupid movie about him being in love, then they butcher his already crappy play into an even crappier anime.

Romeo and Juliet is the world's most popular romantic tragedy. It tells the story of two lusty 13 or 14 year olds, who just couldn't wait to jump one another's bones, but due to family conflict, they end up offing themselves. I never liked the story before because I thought Romeo and Juliet were stupid and selfish, not romantic or tragic. So I wasn't going into this anime with a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2010
PoweredByRamen
Many people would say, "Romeo and Juliet? Seriously?" But yes, believe it (no I'm trying to be Naruto). I have to admit I was skeptical when I first saw it but I finally decided to watch a few months later after seeing the trailer (which is seriously epic. Probably the best trailer for anything I've ever seen). That, was an excellent decision.
STORY:
Not the well known Shakespeare story. No useless battles, idiotic butlers and no hormonal teenagers (Well, actually, no. They're the main characters. But they're a lot less hormonal.) If you didn't take the time to read the summary above, I suggest you do. Both read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices