Ranked #687

Romeo x Juliet

Alternative Titles

English: Romeo x Juliet
Synonyms: RomeoxJuliet
Japanese: ロミオ×ジュリエット


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.891 (scored by 34,495 users)
Ranked: #6872
Popularity: #549
Members: 74,686
Favorites: 905
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Apr 18, 2008
What can we expect from a title that says Romeo x Juliet? Probably a cheesy and draggy remade version of the original story that has no dept whatsoever.

But I was utterly wrong. Simply bear in mind that this is the Anime Version of Romeo and Juliet, and expect what you'll expect from most anime for eg, fantasy. I'm no fan of Shakespear's work but I do know the general outline of the story and the important scenes such as the balcony which audience will get to enjoy during the course of the series (although I'm guilty of laughing at that part).

Story wise - read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 12, 2008
Going into this series, I admit that I had braced myself for more of a tragedy than this. Having acted in the original play, I know just how depressing and plain ol' emo it can be. But this is truly something different.

Story: First off, the story is much more moving and uplifting than I was expecting. There were times when I was actually moved to tears by the responses of characters to each other. The story just barely follows Shakespeare's original story. Basically put, if you're looking for an anime rendition of his story, you're looking in the wrong read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2008
I'm sure the Bard is turning over in his grave several times. First they make a stupid movie about him being in love, then they butcher his already crappy play into an even crappier anime.

Romeo and Juliet is the world's most popular romantic tragedy. It tells the story of two lusty 13 or 14 year olds, who just couldn't wait to jump one another's bones, but due to family conflict, they end up offing themselves. I never liked the story before because I thought Romeo and Juliet were stupid and selfish, not romantic or tragic. So I wasn't going into this anime with a read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 10, 2014
I figured that I should write my first review with one of my favorite stories I've ever seen/read. Romeo x Juliet is one of the most romantic and tragic anime ever because it's derived from Shakespeare's play, Romeo and Juliet, duh. But the anime's story is a little bit different than Shakespeare's, with the addition of mythical creatures and magic to add even more drama into an already dramatic story.

Story: The love story between Romeo Candorebanto Montague and Juliet Fiammata Asto Capulet. But instead of their parents being enemies and forbidding their love, the Montague family killed the entire Capulet family, except for read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2015
Have you ever seen Romeo and Juliet? It’s a really popular play written by William Shakespeare. Countless variations of the play have been adapted in different mediums. Movie, book, TV Series, Anime. You name it, they have it. It’s considered by many as probably the best romance story in all of literature. But does it live up to the hype? Is it really THAT good? Is it worth watching when I already know what will happen in the end? If this is a Q&A, I would’ve easily answered that, but this is a review so just find out as you read along. Romeo x Juliet: read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 19, 2015
Titel: Romeo x Juliet

Sorry! It is only German :O

Genres: Romance, Drama, Action, Fantasy, Abenteuer

Handlung: Basiert auf dem Werk von William Shakespeare. Allerdings nur der grobe Konflikt. Das Setting ist stark abgeändert, im Fantasy Stil eben. Handelt von dem jungen Mädchen Juliet, die mit ansehen musste, wie ihre gesamte Familie ermordet wurde. Sie War allerdings erst 2 Jahre alt und kann sich deshalb nicht mehr daran erinnern. Bis zu ihrem 16ten Geburtstag...

Sind nicht unbedingt die besten, da von einigen kaum die Hintergründe vorgestellt werden. Doch bei den meisten wird doch ein wenig beleuchtet. Auch den "Bösen" kann man gegen Ende teilweise verstehen und sich in read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 4, 2007
Overall I believed it was a very good story. It goes along the basic storyline of the Shakespeare version, but I thought that the twists and extra pieces really made it unique and likeable.

I loved the music, it really went well with the anime and the mood of the story. I also loved the opening and ending music.

Each episode was a sort of cliffhanger, which made me want to watch the rest of them in a row (but couldn't). When I did, I felt kind of sad that it wasn't long enough.

Some of the characters that have more similar roles in both this anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 12, 2008
Title: Romeo x Juliet

Manga, Anime: Romeo x Juliet does have a manga spinoff, with art done by COM and story still done by Gonzo and Sky Perfect Wellthink, that began running in Kadokawa Shoten's Monthly Asuka on March 24th, 2007. It is still running at this point in time, and has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Romeo x Juliet is a twenty-four episode anime that was produced by Gonzo (famous for their work on Gankutsuou and Saikano) and directed by Fumitoshi Oisaki (this was his first major work as a director). It ran from April 4th to September 26th, 2007 on Japanese TV, and, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 6, 2010
I went into this anime not expecting to like it very much. I am not a fan of Shakespeare. I am also not a fan of plots that showcase war and revenge. As it turned out, I am, however, a fan of Romeo X Juliet.

This is NOT your ordinary melodramatic love story. This is an adventure.

All of the characters are presented well and integrate with the story seamlessly, allowing this fictional world to brim with life, with living, breathing characters. Romeo and Juliet are portrayed as strong and brave protagonists that dynamically grow through each episode. The Capulets read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2008
I decided to watch this series on a complete whim. As a lover of tragedies and angst, I've always liked the original Shakespearian play well enough, despite its many flaws. Unfortunately, if the original play had many flaws, then this incredibly loose adaptations has them tenfold.

STORY - There's no hiding from it. This series is a horrible bastardization of Shakespeare's play and retains very few similarities beyond character names, references, and the fact that Romeo and Juliet have the purest and most cliche love for each other ever! That said, the changes made are interesting, if nothing else. The fantasy elements don't seem important at read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 26, 2015
Romeo X Juliet, though the story borrows mostly from the Shakespeare’s story it is presented in a remarkably different way. The story has been changed a little in order to remove overly used cliché moments by making it a somewhat opaque. Due to the fact that this is an anime adaptation, it has been moulded to fit it, by offering mythical beast such as flying horse called Dragon Steeds.

Story: (9/10)

The story revolves around our two main characters Romeo and Juliet who are bounded by love but separated by fate. I am impressed on how the story is altered not entirely but in some parts to read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 31, 2008
Firstly, it's important to point out that the name of this series is NOT "Romeo and Juliet" for a reason, that being it's not a clone of Shakespeare's original play. Now, I for one find that there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but for those who are either expecting the famous classic or cannot bear to see an exploratory remake, this series is NOT for you.

Okay, that out of the way...
Romeo X Juliet is a fantasy spin on its namesake with adorable characters and a team of well placed seiyū- including my personal favorite Ryōtarō Okiayu (e.g: Byakuya from Bleach). Much like the play read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 3, 2009
An anime version of Romeo and Juliet? Interesting.

But its a loose adaptation. Very loose. Don't expect Romeo X Juliet to be like the original Shakespeare play. This review, is written by a person who never read the play but has researched enough about it. Arguably, all the characters in this anime are made differently, unintentionally or not, from their counterparts. And from these traits we get an awfully plentiful disagreeing opinions.

Now for a detailed review...

Story: 6

The discussion of this part is going to be longer than the others because its the core of the anime, being an "adaptation." Let us begin with the basics; read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2013
Okay, lets start off with saying that everyone knows Shakespeare' s Romeo and Juliet. It's a well established play and movies have followed (with one coming soon). So when I came in to watch this anime I thought I knew what I was going into. The same old same old, right?


Romeo x Juliet tell the tale of two lovers named Romeo and Juliet but that's as far as the relevance to the play goes. In this version there's pegasi, evil Dukes, magic trees, long lost relatives and a rebel fighter. Sounds appetizing right? Wrong again. Romeo x Juliet has been one of the most read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 19, 2014
"Till death do us part."

Romeo x Juliet, based off of the infamous play by William Shakesphere, tells the heartrending tale of two young nobles, in love, whose country is plagued by war, hatred, and suffering. It is a show that will build you up, break you down, make you laugh, and make you cry. A show that doesn't hesitate to stab you in the emotions, and twist the knife just to make sure.

The two main characters, after which the show is named, are Romeo and Juliet. Just like the play by Shakesphere, the two meet and fall in love. Unfortunately, their love is that which read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 2, 2007
From the name of the anime, you can tell what it will be about, based on Shakespeare's original work.

Even from watching the opening theme, you can see that the series does not appear to be like the original, so don't expect it and judge this series based on that. For example... flying horses?

The story is extremely well played out. The only reason why I didnt rate the story any higher was that sometimes, the fantasy elements were too much, and didnt always fit in *spoiler* (Escalus). Only at the very end do all the elements fit together. Although almost everyone knows how a Romeo read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2013
There are lot of ways to go wrong when you write an anime based on a famous work. Especially when that particular work is widely disliked by your target audience. Who wants to read a play about two young teens who kill themselves because they think the other is dead (practically right after they met)? It sounds silly. But Romeo X Juliet takes the brilliant parts of Shakespeare's play and turns them into a truly fantastic anime.

Story: 10
For a plot that was (loosely) based off of a previously written work, this was done remarkably well. Each episode makes you eager for the next.

Art: read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 21, 2013
This was a struggle for me to plow through and definitely among one of Gonzo's weaker efforts. Romeo x Juliet attempts to go for a more fantasy-based approach to Shakespeare's tragic love story of feuding families and teens in love. Instead though, this series takes far too many liberties with the source material where it completely alters the basic concepts of the original play's storytelling. Rather than the Capulets and Montagues having a rivalry with one another and both sides shown to be in the wrong for their conflict, Romeo x Juliet depicts a black-and-white storyline with the Capulets being the "good" side and the read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2010
"Just another adaptation of one of Shakespeare's most popular plays. Boring." This was more or less what I thought when I stumbled upon Romeo x Juliet a while ago. One look at the opening credits of this anime suggested that I may have judged it too hastily, and 24 episodes later I knew I was definitely wrong.

It's a difficult task to improve upon the original story of Romeo and Juliet, a tremendous tale full of romance and tragedy. This anime adaptation pays a lot of respect to Shakespeare's famous work, and yet also manages to throw in so much of it's own ideas. Unlike the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 9, 2011
***This is a Spoiler-Free Review***

Alright, for better or worse, shelve what you know about Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet, this anime is a fantasy-action and romance story loosely *inspired* by the timeless play, not quite an adaptation. If that doesn't sound appealing or you were expecting Romeo & Juliet: the Noh Drama / [High School] Musical, you may leave. The rest of you...have a seat.

Story [6/10] - It should go without spoiling anything that the focus of the story is our hero Romeo and our heroine Juliet falling in love and the events that transpire before and as a result of this. Towards read more
I found this review Helpful