Ranked #1959

Inferno Cop

Alternative Titles

Japanese: インフェルノコップ


Type: ONA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 25, 2012 to Mar 19, 2013
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Police
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.371 (scored by 14,862 users)
Ranked: #19592
Popularity: #1445
Members: 25,247
Favorites: 330
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Dec 23, 2013
Sir Isaac Newton was an English physicist and mathematician who is widely regarded as one of the most influential scientists of all time and as a key figure in the scientific revolution. One of his famous quotes that is still repeated to this day is: "Plato is my friend, Aristotle is my friend, but my favourite anime is Inferno Cop."

To be honest, I have always regarded perfection as something that cannot be attained. However, studio Trigger managed to prove me wrong with this brilliant masterpiece named Inferno Cop. With first glance, Inferno Cop may seem like a generic action hero series, but this gem of read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 21, 2013
This anime…


This masterpiece,

is a revolutionary work of art that epitomizes the pinnacle of outstanding animation, deep character interaction, and well-crafted plot development. With thought-provoking themes intermixed with deep, symbolic undertones that would bring greats such as Poe and Kerouac to their knees, Inferno Cop is an instant classic that will make its mark in history.

The story covers such a wide array of dramatic and moral tales of bravery and enlightenment that it puts Homer’s epics, The Iliad and The Odyssey, to shame. From a highly emotional legal drama to a deep, symbolic conflict with an omnipotent cult, Inferno cop includes many classic themes read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
Inferno Cop comes to us from Studio Trigger, the studio Mr. Gurren Lagann Imaishi set up after he got sick of things at Gainax. This is the first anime they've put out, simply as Youtube releases. My guess is this is one of those small projects a company does so they can get used to the creation process. Lots of companies do this. Release small product where success doesn't matter at all. It's just a learning process so they know how to structure the creation process internally. But, given that this comes from those crazy ex-Gainax guys, what they produced turned out to be inspired. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
This will be short.

I do believe for some this show has become the new "Mars of Destruction". For those of you who don't know what that show is, it is a one episode anime that was absolutely appalling in all aspects. But there's one little thing...you can't compare Mars of Destruction to this. Mars of Destruction failed to be what it wanted to be and Inferno Cop succeeded at what it wanted to be. It is a funny, show with a bizarre sense of dark humour wrapped up neatly in 3 minutes.

Inferno Cop isn't meant to be clever nor witty. It doesn't have read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2015
1st review.

So, from the studio that would later make the anime about clothing that you may didn't lost your way in, comes Inferno Cop, the first thing they pulled out and released in YouTube. How "so bad it's good" it is? I'll try to be honest...

Story - 7

There was nothing special with the story. This anime is pretty full of rip-offs and references to other TV shows, movies and animes and ranged from funny to thrilling at start to finish. You actually don't need to watch Inferno Cop for the whole story but for it's overall weirdness and twists that get it's plot straight.

Art - read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2015
Inferno Cop can be likened to Tenacious D in that its entire existence revolves around a single joke, and that joke wasn't very funny to begin with. Okay, maybe it would be funny to you if you were like what, 12? But in all seriousness, Inferno Cop is just plain worthless when you have countless other programmes accomplishing the same goals as Inferno Cop but with a much greater sense of conviction than this unpolished turd has to offer. Then again, this sheer lack of quality is to be expected from Trigger, a studio whose claim to fame is making shitty self-aware comedies that the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 1, 2015
A catchy title leading to a badass cover only makes things more exciting when seeing this ONA is made by Studio Trigger, which has many relations to Gainax. However, all of those who go in blind beyond those details will be in for a surprise. Whether that surprise is a good one or not will fluctuate greatly as this is some undoubtedly niche stuff. If action is what you're looking for, or if you tolerate nothing wacky and illogical, Inferno Cop is definitely siting outside of your safe bubble. If you read that and are still intrigued, I recommend stopping now and go watch it read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 15, 2015
When making an anime, one would like every studio has high dreams, hopes for whatever they're making becomes something worth remembering for many years, something that will stay with their viewers, hopefully change their life, even if it's a little bit, for the better and become an epic tale grandparents will tell their children. Sadly, you rarely find anime that's even worth remembering, and most series are made just with the goal of milking some money, without thinking in the true art an anime can have behind. Inferno Cop is not the case. This is a series that went outside of every cliché to create read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2015

Inferno Cop is like a combination between Ghost Rider, Strongbad, and the stoner comedy cartoons of Adult Swim. Rather than spoofing a single genre, Trigger decides to spoof a wide variety of media from Shonen to Robocop, from Marvel comics to Evangelion! This is easily the best comedy Studio Trigger has made to date!

I would like to apologize to Hiroyuki Imaishi for all the times I've spoken ill of his work! Normally I find his style of spoof to be extremely tedious, unfunny, and trying to convince people it is a masterful deconstruction when it isn't any more clever than a Setzer and Friedberg read more
I found this review Helpful
May 17, 2015
(Don LaFontaine voice)

“In a world rife with kid heroes receiving convenient powers out of nowhere…a world overrun with moeblobs and shallow archetypes for characters…a world ravaged by light novels more concerned with otaku references than telling a good story…one man will rise to dispense his brand of ironclad justice.”

(Insert fiery whoosh sound effect)

(start playing Die Hollen Polizei)

“From the studio that brought you Little Witch Academia comes an anime that kicks tiresome clichés to the curb. A dramatic tale of good versus evil unlike any you’ve ever seen, set in the United States of Japan.”

(insert stock explosion sound effect)

“Inferno Cop! Now available at your local Crunchyroll read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 23, 2013
You might've heard about this anime and how people are calling it 'Anime of the Year' and 'Best Anime Ever'. Well, guess what? They're all pulling your leg. As it turns out, this anime is nothing more than an ugly, poorly-constructed web series with almost no redeeming value. Here's why:

Story: 1
Three minutes per episode isn't a whole lot of time to develop a story. Almost every episode is either a letdown or a ripoff. Among the things ripped off in this show are "Return of the Jedi," "Monty Python and the Holy Grail," "Neon Genesis Evangelion," and of course read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 29, 2013
Inferno Cop is Trigger's new groundbreaking anime masterpiece. Inferno Cop is former GAINAX employee Amemiya Akira's directorial debut. He follows in Yamamoto Yutaka's footsteps as he tries to breath new life into the medium, or "save anime".

Story - 10
Inferno Cop has a deep, though provoking narrative. Beneath what may at first appear to be a shallow action comedy, resembling something one might find airing on Adult Swim, there is actually an interesting underlying social commentary. This show examines such topics as the criminal jusitce system, the medical care system, and religion. It manages to do all of this in 3-minute read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 22, 2014
When it comes to giving something a score, I don't base it off of the story, the art style, how well everything just works together. I base it off of how much fun I had watching it. So, put it on a scale of 1 to 10, I have to pick 10 because "roller coaster" isn't an option.

Inferno Cop was produced by the now critically acclaimed Trigger, and it certainly shows and fits along their other works. What you're not going to get here is a deep story, thousands of hours of people slaving over frames of animation or the best sounding show to date. read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 1, 2014
So you may have seen quite some reviewers giving this show a straight 10 and you're wondering why?

A show with basically no budget or animation at all and only one single voice actor voicing every single character. What would an anime like that be able to offer the nowadays demanding audience?

Breath taking action?
Heart warming sweet romance?
Comedy that'll make you laugh tears until your stomach hurts?

I can't even remember how many times I had to pause the episode because I wasn't able to see through my teary eyes anymore. Well, certainly more often than in most standard length comedy anime, maybe Gintama, but thats read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 15, 2014
First, I'm going to split this review into six points: Plot, Characters, Animation, Music, Voice Acting and Overall...

Second, review in Spanish at the end...

And, third, I hope that it will help them and they enjoy it!

Also, forgive me if my English is not very good, I'm not any expert...

Without more, begin:

Plot: It is one of the most crazy and bizarre stories you ever saw in an Anime, the plot itself has no feet or head and makes no sense. To measures that pass chapters appear more and more wefts each one more bizarre than the last, and despite the simple which is this anime, never read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 10, 2014
Inferno Cop is one of those parodies that you can just love

- Story
It was just funny nonsense about an "inferno"cop, in the first episode it seemed like some dumb nonsense, but the more you watched, the funnier the nonsense becomes.
I actually take suspicion these creators were using drugs while creating the story, it is pure nonsense, no cliches *bout time*, funny jokes, and funny side characters, this was pure fun

Now, there is nothing to say about the art, it is simple, and it is perfect for a parody, it's just some simple drawn characters, backgrounds, and some simple moving, not even a walk animation, but, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 15, 2014
How many times do we see on television, high-ranking officers and high profiled people who we thought we could trust, break the bonds of trust and betray us by stabbing us in the back? How many times do crooked cops surface and eventually face justice? Inferno Cop is not that kind of person, Inferno Cop is one who we can intrust.

Inferno Cop follows a simple story about the fight for justice between good and evil. It's a fight between a corrupt justice system and Inferno Cop pulls no punches. It follows a simple yet compelling story that everyone and anyone can relate to. As read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 19, 2013
Inferno Cop: From The Bowels Of Hell

To be completely honest with you, I really don't know what to think of this series. The anime viewer in me found it to be a downright hilarious watch, while the critic in me found this to be a mediocre production from a relative new production company. Inferno Cop is brought to us by the production company Trigger in their first production to hit the anime market. To be honest, I can't rip Trigger that much since most production companies first works are never that good. I guess the good news for Trigger is, they never even tried to read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 15, 2015
The compelling numbers you see here are meant to keep some degree of consistency with everything else I've ever written a review on.

Inferno cop looks and sounds like it was a well made high-school computer class final. Complete with clip art that only moves in the simplest fashion, stock sound effects and around two or three voices for all the characters, this is by all rights garbage...

...which makes the fact that it's hysterical all the better. Going beyond the genre of parody or inverted tropes, Inferno Cop simple lets loose a torrent of insanity that continuously tries to outdo itself in the scant hundred and read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 26, 2014
Every once in a while you stumble on this gem that was lost in the abyss, overshadowed by other overrated anime that the average joe tend to watch and discuss, and you reach it before it’s lost in oblivion, and then, it changes your life drastically without a prior warning.

At a first glance, you might be inclined to think that Inferno Cop looks like Ghost Rider. Appearance wise, the resemblance is understandable, but let’s face it, Nicolas Cage can’t act, his movies suck… and you can’t, no matter the circumstances, compare his works to this unparalleled masterpiece.

An old organization that goes back to the beginning read more
I found this review Helpful