MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1576
Inferno Cop

Inferno Cop

Alternative Titles

Japanese: インフェルノコップ

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 25, 2012 to Mar 19, 2013
Genres: Action, Police
Duration: 3 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 7903 users)
Ranked: #15762
Popularity: #1520
Members: 13,377
Favorites: 156
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Dec 23, 2013
BloodRequiem
Sir Isaac Newton was an English physicist and mathematician who is widely regarded as one of the most influential scientists of all time and as a key figure in the scientific revolution. One of his famous quotes that is still repeated to this day is: "Plato is my friend, Aristotle is my friend, but my favourite anime is Inferno Cop."

To be honest, I have always regarded perfection as something that cannot be attained. However, studio Trigger managed to prove me wrong with this brilliant masterpiece named Inferno Cop. With first glance, Inferno Cop may seem like a generic action hero series, but this gem of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2013
Baconzombie
This anime…

No…

This masterpiece,

is a revolutionary work of art that epitomizes the pinnacle of outstanding animation, deep character interaction, and well-crafted plot development. With thought-provoking themes intermixed with deep, symbolic undertones that would bring greats such as Poe and Kerouac to their knees, Inferno Cop is an instant classic that will make its mark in history.

STORY:
The story covers such a wide array of dramatic and moral tales of bravery and enlightenment that it puts Homer’s epics, The Iliad and The Odyssey, to shame. From a highly emotional legal drama to a deep, symbolic conflict with an omnipotent cult, Inferno cop includes many classic themes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
5camp
Inferno Cop comes to us from Studio Trigger, the studio Mr. Gurren Lagann Imaishi set up after he got sick of things at Gainax. This is the first anime they've put out, simply as Youtube releases. My guess is this is one of those small projects a company does so they can get used to the creation process. Lots of companies do this. Release small product where success doesn't matter at all. It's just a learning process so they know how to structure the creation process internally. But, given that this comes from those crazy ex-Gainax guys, what they produced turned out to be inspired. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
GloriousHawk
This will be short.

I do believe for some this show has become the new "Mars of Destruction". For those of you who don't know what that show is, it is a one episode anime that was absolutely appalling in all aspects. But there's one little thing...you can't compare Mars of Destruction to this. Mars of Destruction failed to be what it wanted to be and Inferno Cop succeeded at what it wanted to be. It is a funny, show with a bizarre sense of dark humour wrapped up neatly in 3 minutes.

Inferno Cop isn't meant to be clever nor witty. It doesn't have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2013
orangeHAL
Inferno Cop is Trigger's new groundbreaking anime masterpiece. Inferno Cop is former GAINAX employee Amemiya Akira's directorial debut. He follows in Yamamoto Yutaka's footsteps as he tries to breath new life into the medium, or "save anime".

Story - 10
Inferno Cop has a deep, though provoking narrative. Beneath what may at first appear to be a shallow action comedy, resembling something one might find airing on Adult Swim, there is actually an interesting underlying social commentary. This show examines such topics as the criminal jusitce system, the medical care system, and religion. It manages to do all of this in 3-minute read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 22, 2014
MrDesu
When it comes to giving something a score, I don't base it off of the story, the art style, how well everything just works together. I base it off of how much fun I had watching it. So, put it on a scale of 1 to 10, I have to pick 10 because "roller coaster" isn't an option.

Inferno Cop was produced by the now critically acclaimed Trigger, and it certainly shows and fits along their other works. What you're not going to get here is a deep story, thousands of hours of people slaving over frames of animation or the best sounding show to date. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2013
Toucanbird
Inferno Cop: From The Bowels Of Hell

To be completely honest with you, I really don't know what to think of this series. The anime viewer in me found it to be a downright hilarious watch, while the critic in me found this to be a mediocre production from a relative new production company. Inferno Cop is brought to us by the production company Trigger in their first production to hit the anime market. To be honest, I can't rip Trigger that much since most production companies first works are never that good. I guess the good news for Trigger is, they never even tried to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2013
fEast91
TL;DR version: for a 3 minute web-show from the ex-Gainaz guys that brought to you Gurren Lagann, it's a damn good throwaway show that's just chock-full of WTF action and ridiculous scenes coupled with surprisingly good SFX and VFX given the aim and budget of the project.



Back in the early time of this season (Winter 2013) when Scamp, glorious cult leader that will save animedom, hyped this up, I'm suspect that this might be a troll of the highest order. Some felt like they were trolled out of their time, but for me, this is one of the better anime that's just outright intriguing. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 17, 2013
ManlyOpinion
This series warrants a 10 for the sheer randomness that unfolds as it runs its course. The art isn't anything special, primarily low budget still shots, but the writing is top notch. You will ask yourself at least once per minute "what the f**k am I watching?". And then you'll watch the next episode. The end of the series is one of the most catastrophic and totally random that I've ever seen, in any form of media.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 30, 2014
VileBrownie
Inferno Cop is easily an absolutely love or absolutely hate kind of show.

There is very little in the way of actual content. The story is absolutely nonsensical, and the animation at times is little more than a slideshow. But the reason you watch Inferno Cop isn't for any of that. The reason you watch Inferno Cop is because it is downright one of the most absolutely ridiculous, unpredictable and hilarious animations ever to exist under the medium called "anime". Yes, a lot of its humor is juvenile in nature and there is a lot of randomness in the show, so if you're not into that, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 23, 2013
MiguelAntilsu
You might've heard about this anime and how people are calling it 'Anime of the Year' and 'Best Anime Ever'. Well, guess what? They're all pulling your leg. As it turns out, this anime is nothing more than an ugly, poorly-constructed web series with almost no redeeming value. Here's why:

Story: 1
Three minutes per episode isn't a whole lot of time to develop a story. Almost every episode is either a letdown or a ripoff. Among the things ripped off in this show are "Return of the Jedi," "Monty Python and the Holy Grail," "Neon Genesis Evangelion," and of course read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 19, 2013
seamot
Lulz(tm)

It's a clip art show, where character animation, redeeming story line, charm and wit go out of the window first. Some stale variety of randomness is replacing every vital part of the show, "jokes" and events as told by a six year old. What we end up with, is a sticky piece of crap for drunken weeaboo teens, that love shitty stuff that is "totally random" and have very low standards for their entertainment.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2013
fatmouth7
*This is my first review, so please, bear with me*

Never in my life, have I seen something so retardedly stupid that it's awesome...until now.
Studio Trigger brings Inferno Cop to the table as thier first "production," and honestly, they did a good job.
This web-series has over-the-top action with a western comic feel to it, which makes this "anime" all the more better to watch.

Story: 3
You don't watch this for the story. It's VERY stupid..and makes no sense whatsoever.

Art: 7
The gritty western-comic style, and South Park-esque cut-outs are great for a webseries like this...where it is focused on crazy action and black comedy.

Sound: 8
The sounds made by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 16, 2013
Knieves339
WHAT THE F_CK

ok so i watched this show because it was recommonded to me on the forums and worse part is i cant tell if i like it or hate it
This is not your tradition anime (and it reminded be of .hack//gift i believe) all the character look like a kid drew them, it also seems like they only have one look for a character so he or she doesnt move only gets turned/angled in another direction the animation is lazy
The storys are short and crap but in a sense the plot, art, characters and everything else doesnt matter it was just made to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices