MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #21
Shingeki no Kyojin

Shingeki no Kyojin

Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan
Japanese: 進撃の巨人

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Sep 28, 2013
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.811 (scored by 225629 users)
Ranked: #212
Popularity: #10
Members: 332,421
Favorites: 23,351
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 21, 2014
abrodkin
I started watching Shingeki no Kyojin a year ago, almost to the day that I am writing this. So I figured I would write a review on what has grown to be one of my favourite series of all time.

What I've noticed is that people tend to be very split about this anime; you either love it, or you hate it. Clearly, in my case, I love this entire series (the show, the manga, the side-stories, etc.) Now onto the actual review.

Story: 9
At its core, Shingeki no Kyojin is something that we have seen many times in the past: humanity is being attacked, therefore we read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 7, 2014
Gladius93
I started to follow the manga after watching the anime and quite frankly I don't see where and how the plot of Shingeki no Kyojin can suck, which in my humble opinion is awsome. You can understand the anime very well even without having read the manga. However, SNK isn't understood by many because it's a psychological manga .. SNK isn't just a succession of empty and meaningless clashes and, of uncontrolled violence, stereotyped heroes who fight the bad (like Bleach). Here are shown the darkest sides of the human psyche with great mastery: the desire to be the best but can't do it, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2014
Subpyro
“I don’t know which option you should choose. I could never advise you on that… No matter what kind of wisdom dictates you the option you pick, no one will be able to tell if it’s right or wrong until you arrive to some sort of outcome from your choice.” — Levi

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan, or literally "Advancing Titans") is like a very specialized main dish. Although it is known that the style and type cover the biggest part of the community, it still doesn’t go with the everyday flow. What I’m focusing on is that these series are an action shounen. Nowadays, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 8, 2014
Born2Run
RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who like epic settings with epic battles.

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who lack patience and the ones who expect a war drama that can be taken seriously.


**REVIEW**

Shingeki No Kyojin is a Shounen Anime with Seinen elements, in which humanity has to defend themselves from giant human-like monsters called Titans. It’s basically a post-apocalyptic scenario à la “Reign of Fire”, just with giants instead of dragons.
The show starts out very well by introducing us to the main characters and the world they inhabit and it does overall a good job in showing the horror the Titans represent. However, even the first few episodes already show signs read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2014
kermamrek
Shingeki no Kyojin... Where do I start?

In summary, Shingeki no Kyojin is a perfect anime to get somebody who loves action started on anime- I think it is literally the most mainstream anime ever made, and that is definitely not a bad thing. But with this comes downsides- ones not apparent to the viewer at first glance, but looking back on it after watching it around the time it first came out, definitely shine through.

Shingeki no Kyojin starts off with a roar- the first 2 episodes explode right out of the gate with high-octane action that also leaves mystery to draw the viewer in. Who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2014
ManU-Alchemist
Shingeki no Kyojin, also known as Attack on Titan, was supposed to be the next big thing, a shounen to match the height of Dragonball, Naruto, etc. In many ways it did do such a thing, being very enjoyable to watch, however, Shingeki no Kyojin also suffered various faults that made it very frustrating to watch.

Mainstream media has been on the survivor bandwagon for a couple of years now with The Walking Dead on TV and The Hunger Games on the big screen, so it was only a matter of time before we got an anime that was about human survivor. Attack on Titan read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2014
K-Hinamori
One thing I would like to say before anything else, don't believe the hype.

Starting off with the story. I find this right here to be half and half. As far as the background and history shown, and the world that was created I think it's really good. I liked the idea of humanity living behind walls, drove to near extinction, finding the overall story of the world to be pretty original in anime. However, on the other side, as far as the actual, episode to episode, overall story of the season... I find it to be very lackluster. The show forces shock value down your read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 12, 2014
Armagenius
(NOTE: I see Shingeki no Kyojin is ranked really high here and many people belive it is overrated, but I do not care about that and will not talk, I mean write, about that...)

STORY
Let's start from the story. One hundred years before to the beginning of the story, giant scary humanoid creatures called Titans suddenly appeared and nearly wiped out humanity, devouring them with an unkown reason. What remains of humanity now resides within three enormous walls.
"People are crazy for believing that these walls will protect us forever. Even though the walls have been intact for the past 100 years, there’s nothing that can guarantee read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 24, 2014
EdBanger0123
Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titan is perhaps one of the most overrated shows I have seen. Don't get me wrong, it is well worth your time, it just has been overblown by fans whose previous anime experience is most likely limited to Naruto and Bleach. Naturally this is all my own opinion, and feel free to completely disregard it.
Let me get one thing straight though, this show is an excellent gateway for people trying to get into anime. If you know someone who wants to get started then this is perfect.

Right so the story and setting are as follows. In a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2014
Ri-chan
I don't think this review will make me very popular, because I didn't really like Attack on Titan. The first time I tried watching it, I found the first episode so boring and discomforting that I stopped right there. However, as the hype increased and people were hailing it as the best anime of the season, I thought I should give it another shot. The next time I tried watching it, I got to about episode 10 and gave up again. It was too much of a struggle for me. Though after 10 episodes I had started to see the value of the show.

Story: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 29, 2014
Metal_Slime
Overview: Chances are if you watch, or know anyone who watches anime, you've heard of this one. Shingeki no Kyojin (or Attack on Titan) got crazy popular extremely quickly, and it's really no surprise why: the animation is absolutely beautiful, and the story picks up with a frantic pace right off the bat. However, despite this amazing introduction, there are significant flaws holding this anime back from being a masterpiece.

Story: 30/37
The actual story of Shingeki no Kyojin is... well, a lot better than it sounded to me at first. While the idea of mankind being held in check by some alien force is not in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 27, 2014
soapymop
Shingeki no Kyojin was a very entertaining show to watch. It had a captivating plot, powerful soundtrack, and an interesting art style. I believe that it deserved the hype that it got, but contrary to the beliefs of the majority of its fans, it was very flawed.
The plot of Shingeki no Kyojin is new to the anime world, but it is very similar to that of The Walking Dead; the world is overrun by man-eating creatures who have only bloodlust to motivate them and the surviving humans must find a way to continue living. SnK has a very original take on this subject matter, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 27, 2014
browniiesx
Is Attack on Titan is one of my favorite animes? Yes, and there are many reasons for that.
Is Attack on Titan is the greatest anime that I never see? No, and there are many reasons for that too. And I will explain why.

Story / 7

Even if some people consider Attack on Titan an average shonen, like One Piece, Naruto or Bleach, I can't see this anime like that. Compared to these light-minded, friendship and justice forever animes, Attack on Titan bring us to the darkness of the human being, the pitiful selfishness and cowardice in front of the worst terror that we could imagine - read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 15, 2014
twige
This is my first review on this site, so please be kind. No huge spoilers below, but I am talking about the series as a whole, so read at your own risk.

Story - 10
This is what makes SnK so hugely compelling, at least for me. The world is wonderfully conceived and it shows – we're given extra information on eyecatches about the history of the walls, the functioning of weaponry, the breeding of horses, the layout of towns, and anything else that might ever interest the viewer on top of and reinforcing anything contained in the actual episode. These factoids do wonders to establish a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2014
HATUL
It's nice to have an anime this popular that isn't just tsundere school rom-com no' 10746 for a change. But does that alone make said anime great? No, not really.

This is a spoiler free review.

*Story*

*Insert synopsis here*

Aside from the monsters being replaced with Titans and the interesting weaponry the people have, we've definitely seen similar stories in anime before, whether it's Claymore, Blue Gender and maybe even Highschool of the Dead.

Leaving that aside though, it doesn't do a very good job with its narrative. The story relies on coincidences, has forced exposition, uneventful pacing and it also has unexplored themes that are tossed away as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2014
Demi_V
Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) undoubtedly made it as the top anime of 2013. Hajime Isayama’s creation gained fans across the globe with its thrills, surprising twists, and memorable characters. Compared to other apocalyptic anime, Hajime develops undefeatable and menacing creatures: giant man-eating titans --- overgrown human-like creatures that range in size and ability.

Story (8)

The suspense is incredible and exciting with constant gory scenes of titans brutalizing humans to the fullest degree, whether it is crushing skulls with their massive thumbs or tearing apart the human body. Combat action involves stunning choreography as armed soldiers spin or fly in mid-air with their 3D read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 22, 2014
seekster
Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titan is one of those animes that is depressing and hard to watch but you keep watching it because its just so good. A good analog would be the Neon Genesis Evangelion series and like Evangelion, Attack on Titan will need more than one season to wrap itself up properly (though hopefully not with just a movie like Evangelion did).

First things first, the Story attached to Attack on Titan is very original and pretty unique as far as animes go. Unique doesn't necessarily mean it is great though. The plot honestly reminds me of Starship Troopers of all things...at read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2013
Wandering-Otaku
Attack on Titan is a particularly unique case for me. As such, my review needs to be broken up to properly analyze it.

Story:

Attack on Titan has an absolutely astounding setting. The sheer idea behind the setting, the exposition pieces, and the initial plot elements held the potential for it to be one of the best action anime ever. From the first three episodes, I could see how someone could believe this would be that one anime that is just absolutely amazing. It simply becomes disappointing as things continue. Long story short? The start is absolutely amazing. It's powerful. It's grabbing. It does everything read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 23, 2014
Liick958
Hum.. I don't know how to start this..

I'll try to make it short and spoiler free.

Story 7/10 : So.. The story follows the humanity getting dominated Titans. The pace of the story is not as slow as I read on some reviews.
It's overly simplistic, it's all about hatred and revenge. The anime is pretty accurate to the manga. I started reading it 2 days before I started the anime, and I remembered every moments of the manga in the anime. The ending is kinda strange, I didn't expected that at all.

Art & Sound 10/10: I don't know what can I tell you about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
hesselz
Attack on Titan review (Re-write)

"You can't change anything unless you can discard part of yourself too. To surpass monsters, you must be willing to abandon your humanity." - Armin Arlert

And I think I will just put it at the start of the review, since none of the not helpful voters gave any feedback on my previous reviews:

PLEASE NOT HELPFUL VOTERS, A FEEDBACK FROM YOU IS HIGHLY APPRECIATED!

Don't misunderstand me. I believe, this anime is awesome indeed! But is had some huge flaws to it that made me give it an average score.

Without a doubt this is the most hyped anime of the year. But what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices