Ranked #53

Shingeki no Kyojin

Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan
Japanese: 進撃の巨人


Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Sep 29, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.651 (scored by 436,559 users)
Ranked: #532
Popularity: #3
Members: 617,921
Favorites: 36,342
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 22, 2015
This is the 1st anime i ever watched so it will always have a special place in my heart. I 1st learned about it from a cousin of mine who suggested me to watch it. I was 1 of those who believed that all the anime are like Pokemon and YuGiOh so i didn't pay attention. One day i watched without noticing a music video that had Giant naked creatures eating humans. I thought that if that was what my cousin was talking about it was worth a try. And here i am reviewing my favourite anime ever.

Story: Titans eating humans like it's not big read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 19, 2015
I've been hearing a lot about this anime and how popular it was, but I never really wanted to watch it because I am really reluctant when it comes to shounen anime. Pretty much the only shounen anime I've ever enjoyed was Hunter x Hunter (2011) and Death Note (I'm also starting to get a little bit into Assassination Classroom), but considering the huge fanbase that this anime built, I decided to take a crack at it, and in my conclusive overall review, Shingeki no Kyojin is one of the coolest and most creative anime I've ever watched.

Story: 10/10

I've seen so many anime with read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 2, 2014
Oh dear Shingeki no Kyojin, where do I even begin. If you've talked with your friends about anime, then the couple anime that everyone talks about are Naruto, Bleach, One Piece, Dragon Ball, and... Shingeki no Kyojin. What's the difference between Shingeki and the rest? Shingeki only has 25 episodes so far yet it's on par in popularity with the other super long, Americanized anime. Why is it popular? Well that's simply because it's stunningly amazing. Those people that call Shingeki no Kyojin "overrated" may not have the same taste as me, and that's perfectly fine, but in my honest opinion, Shingeki no Kyojin is read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 19, 2015
I'm not even sure how to start this review, I'm just stunned at the amount of people giving this show 9 and 10/10.

It's a really bad show.

The animation is great, no argument there, and the basic concept is genius, the titans look fantastic and are truly terrifying.

But then we get to the story and the character and the pacing and the show just all falls apart. The main character Eren is just a moody teenager who only ever talks through gritted teeth in an over-dramatic tone. his best-friend Armin is just a terrible character, he's the cliché nerd but his character design is just awful, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 21, 2015
*Highly recommended watch, everyone can get something out of this anime. *=)


I play varsity tackle football, lift, keep up on all other sports, so I'd like to say I'm not one to get emotional, but this anime stuck me on a personal level and I couldn't contain the tears, it was just so sad!

I started this anime when I was pretty new to the anime world. I wasn't really into the culture all that much. I mostly just watched Naruto, DBZ, Yugi-Oh, like any basic boy growing up. I went in to this expecting this to be read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 22, 2015
before i write a review i take into consideration other peoples reviews to get an overall idea. not with this one. half of the people say its underrated, other half says its overrated, i say : dont give a fuck, and watch it for the epic fights

STORY 8 / 10 : does it have an outstanding plot? no. do you have to be a genius to understand wtf is going on? no. does that mean its not enjoyable? FUCK NOT. its titans who eat people, with some secrets hidden. simple and epic.

ART 10 / 10 : the art style is THE BEST EVER (you read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 8, 2014
…people who like epic settings with epic battles.

…people who lack patience and the ones who expect a war drama that can be taken seriously.


Shingeki No Kyojin is a Shounen Anime with Seinen elements, in which humanity has to defend themselves from giant human-like monsters called Titans. It’s basically a post-apocalyptic scenario à la “Reign of Fire”, just with giants instead of dragons.
The show starts out very well by introducing us to the main characters and the world they inhabit and it does overall a good job in showing the horror the Titans represent. However, even the first few episodes already show signs read more
I found this review Helpful
May 7, 2014
I started to follow the manga after watching the anime and quite frankly I don't see where and how the plot of Shingeki no Kyojin can suck, which in my humble opinion is awsome. You can understand the anime very well even without having read the manga. However, SNK isn't understood by many because it's a psychological manga .. SNK isn't just a succession of empty and meaningless clashes and, of uncontrolled violence, stereotyped heroes who fight the bad (like Bleach). Here are shown the darkest sides of the human psyche with great mastery: the desire to be the best but can't do it, the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 29, 2015
Attack on Titan is a survival action anime that takes place in a post-apocalyptic fantasy world where the humans, that once lived in peace, now face a last stand situation for survival of the entire race. Attack on Titan's strong points are the action, art/animation, and the soundtrack. While I don't consider Attack on Titan to have a lot of great points, the anime doesn't have any weak points either, as it does many elements pretty well, in my opinion. On the surface, Attack on Titan seems nothing more than a survival story of humans vs (insert threat here). However, the story shows us many read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2015
I really hated this anime before. I'm so glad I gave it a second chance. Now, it's one of my favourites.

Story: 10
The story is set in a dystopian world where giant human-like creatures (Titans) try to annihilate the human race. One day, Titans invade the main character's (Eren) district. Because of revenge, Eren strives to eliminate all Titans. At first, I didn't really like the story. But as the story developed, I got engrossed.

Art: 10
The art was beautiful. It showed their expressions very clearly. The landscape and bird's eye views gave me a clear picture of the setting. The characters were also nicely drawn. The read more
I found this review Helpful
May 19, 2013
What the hell, seriously, what, the, hell, is going on with this anime ?!

Before we start, I must tell that I've read the scans that are released at the moment, this is a review of the anime "Shingeki no Kyoujin".
Then, I'm French and this is my first review on MyAnimeList, I write it with my english knowledge and some help from Google Traduction. Sorry about the grammars errors.

Story (9/10) : First comes the story, adapted from the manga and pretty accurate (for the moment).
Well, it's just something you cannot predict, the story is based on feelings like weakness and vengeance. Humanity has locked herself in read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2015
So, humanity (or at least the people in the near geographical area) has locked itself inside a fortified city to protect themselves from titans, gigantic humanoid monsters that eat people. The story takes place around a guy and his friends as they train to become rangers. A decent foundation for a good anime, right?

The problem is that the epicness is never properly built up and the characters are all shallow stereotypes. There is no real character development, no person you begin to connect with and no personal storyline that grips you. The ones with potential are fumbled away and instead we get drawn out battles read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 9, 2015
I'll jump straight to the point: it gets better every episode.

I didn't see why SnK was so mainstream popular, but once I managed to get past the first terrible, terrible episode (if you liked the first episode, you are a monster.), I saw the light. The brilliance is in how impossible it is to tell what is coming next. The storyline is filled with the horrifying side to human nature, and it isn't a utopia, guys, there is going to be blood, gore and terrified humans. I like how everything is about survival, and making sure they live another day. Storyline 10/10

Art: AMAZING. Go watch read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 4, 2014
Every once in a while, and even more frequently now than in the past, an anime appears that is completely and unequivocally shrouded in layers upon layers of hype and popularity from the anime community. It's the show that's on everyone lips, as well as everyone's TV screens. In the Fall of 2011, The Future Diary created an exceptional level of hype that had not been seen for quite some time. When the Summer of 2012 rolled along, it was time for Sword Art Online to take the spotlight, and its own popularity grew to read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 25, 2015
It pains me in a way to not give Attack on Titan anything but a 10. I completely understand why this show got so popular so fast. I also understand why everybody is impatiently waiting for season 2. I want to say that it is really as flawless as people say it is.
But I can't. While I would genuinely recommend this show, I am still a critic. I still have to acknowledge that this show has problems.
As good as this show is, and it is very, very good, I cannot with a good conscience say that it does not have glaring flaws. The biggest is read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 22, 2015
This anime made my mouth open wide for longer than 5 seconds more than a handful times. This is the type of world where more people get killed than the entirety of the A Song of Ice and Fire series. It exists in a timeless universe – not in the past, present or future of our world, but in a pocket universe where Titans existed long before the existence of machines. In this world, machines were not invented to improve humanity’s lifestyle, but for the continuous existence of humanity itself.

There’s lots of shouting (especially from Eren), lots of action, lots of character development, and lots read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2015
Shingeki no Kyojin is an amazingly written story with a very dark premise and a lot of action. This is definitely not a series for the faint of heart, especially those with fears of man-eating giants that don't even have the decency to kill you before they eat you (sometimes). The story keeps you guessing as it progresses, there's a new reveal that completely destroys what you thought you knew and makes you wonder just how far the rabbit hole goes. The characters are very relatable and you really do want to see them succeed. What makes this series unique however is the protagonists very read more
I found this review Helpful
May 2, 2015
Attack on Titan is one of the manga turned to anime on recent period. It is an Action anime with focus on tragedy and very dark tone, yet maintaining some Shonen-esque messages such as trust and overcoming fears.

While the story isn't as rich as other shows in general, it is rather a very fresh take on human tragedy without reusing much of the usual apocalypse elements. There is also much lore in the world to keep creative fans making fanworks and adaptions of the world of Attack on Titan. The thrill element is very high and makes you eager to see what's next.

Keep in mind read more
I found this review Helpful
May 14, 2015
For my first review on MAL, i wanted it to be on a show of TITANic proportions... :D.

Bad puns aside, this is the show that got me into anime (as I'm sure it has for many others considering its extreme popularity) so lets just say I'm glad I decided to give it a shot. I might have a bit of a biased opinion solely because of nostalgia, but who cares. THIS. SHOW. IS. INTENSE.

After watching just the first few episodes, it's easy to see how this anime became so popular. It draws you in with its beautiful/creative setting and plot, then gets you hooked read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 6, 2015
Attack on Titan and I have a history, one filled with love and hate, a re-watch, and the manga. Of course, it seems the entire anime/manga community (and some outside of it) have an opinion on this show. It’s widely popular and has been so for quite a while now. So, just how does this show about giant monsters that eat people take us all by storm? Let’s find out. Rather, I’ll do my best to tell you why I love it (now).

Sometime to note is that I really didn’t like the AOT franchise when I first watched the anime. I wanted to like read more
I found this review Helpful