MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #17
Shingeki no Kyojin

Shingeki no Kyojin

Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan
Japanese: 進撃の巨人

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Sep 28, 2013
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.861 (scored by 180430 users)
Ranked: #172
Popularity: #12
Members: 273,256
Favorites: 19,783
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Aug 25, 2013
Flume
If ejaculating while watching Attack on Titan is considered wrong, I don’t want to be right

Another season, another pile of shit. As delusional anime critics that are blinded by nostalgia reminisce about the ‘Golden Ages’ of anime where everything wasn't centered around kawaii school girls doing cute things done by KyoAni, the latest Gundam series or a generic tsundere romantic comedy that is set in highschool, I couldn't help but agree with them that anime has fallen to a low whilst I rummage through the shows that have assaulted us this upcoming season. However, like finding a piece of corn inside a pile of turd, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2014
Demi_V
Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) undoubtedly made it as the top anime of 2013. Hajime Isayama’s creation gained fans across the globe with its thrills, surprising twists, and memorable characters. Compared to other apocalyptic anime, Hajime develops undefeatable and menacing creatures: giant man-eating titans --- overgrown human-like creatures that range in size and ability.

Story (8)

The suspense is incredible and exciting with constant gory scenes of titans brutalizing humans to the fullest degree, whether it is crushing skulls with their massive thumbs or tearing apart the human body. Combat action involves stunning choreography as armed soldiers spin or fly in mid-air with their 3D read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 1, 2014
Eutass
Shingeki no Kyojin Season 1 review

Story:
The story is about mankind living in a world filled with monsters known as titans who feed on human beings. This has forced human beings to consolidate themselves into a walled super fortress. It follows the main protagonist, Eren Jaeger who witnesses the death of his mother at the hand of a titan during an attack of the titans. Once Eren and his friends are evacuated from the district to safety, he vows revenge against all Titans and later enlists in the military, accompanied by Mikasa and Armin. Eren and his companions begin a desperate fight to protect what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2014
HATUL
It's nice to have an anime this popular that isn't just tsundere school rom-com no' 10746 for a change. But does that alone make said anime great? No, not really.

This is a spoiler free review.

*Story*

*Insert synopsis here*

Aside from the monsters being replaced with Titans and the interesting weaponry the people have, we've definitely seen similar stories in anime before, whether it's Claymore, Blue Gender and maybe even Highschool of the Dead.

Leaving that aside though, it doesn't do a very good job with its narrative. The story relies on coincidences, has forced exposition, uneventful pacing and it also has unexplored themes that are tossed away as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 8, 2014
Born2Run
Shingeki No Kyojin is currently ranked as the 14th best anime on MyAnimeList. It has an average score of 8.88 out of 10 points, which makes it statistically into a better anime than Princess Mononoke, Cowboy Bebop, Ghost in the Shell, everything from Neon Genesis Evangelion and many other very great anime that moved the medium forward with new ideas and exceptional execution.
I’m not mad that so many people liked Shingeki No Kyojin. Indeed, I’m not even confused that it is ranked so high on the list. I’m just very sad to see that something like this is actually possible. Because it does prove my read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2014
kermamrek
Shingeki no Kyojin... Where do I start?

In summary, Shingeki no Kyojin is a perfect anime to get somebody who loves action started on anime- I think it is literally the most mainstream anime ever made, and that is definitely not a bad thing. But with this comes downsides- ones not apparent to the viewer at first glance, but looking back on it after watching it around the time it first came out, definitely shine through.

Shingeki no Kyojin starts off with a roar- the first 2 episodes explode right out of the gate with high-octane action that also leaves mystery to draw the viewer in. Who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2014
vasolina
Just like a lot of people I suppose, I watched SNK to see what's the big deal about, as it wasn't in my list that season.

It starts out with the shock factor. I thought, even though this isn't my kind of thing, I could maybe watch it for the suspense. But then it got into long cycles of boring and in my opinion, poorly executed character development scenes. As far as the story is concerned, I wouldn't say it's the most complex or sophisticated one, but they played the suspense/shock card very well, and it is something that can obviously attract a lot of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2014
Amaranthyz
Right off the bat, I have to admit; I have a distinct love for the ‘dystopian world’ genre. It’s fascinating and something we may never be able to truly understand in the real world. The suffering, the agony and fear of being caged and suppressed…it’s not uncommon, but we definitely don’t live behind 50-meter high walls and don’t see giant naked humanoids eating our family and friends.
That is what makes Shingeki No Kyojin so amazing to me.

The storyline is very simple and easy to understand right from episode 1.
The overall revelation of the exact plot does not allow me to truly comment on it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
creamypie
Attack on Titan review (Re-write)

"You can't change anything unless you can discard part of yourself too. To surpass monsters, you must be willing to abandon your humanity." - Armin Arlert

And I think I will just put it at the start of the review, since none of the not helpful voters gave any feedback on my previous reviews:

PLEASE NOT HELPFUL VOTERS, A FEEDBACK FROM YOU IS HIGHLY APPRECIATED!

Don't misunderstand me. I believe, this anime is awesome indeed! But is had some huge flaws to it that made me give it an average score.

Without a doubt this is the most hyped anime of the year. But what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2013
Wandering-Otaku
Attack on Titan is a particularly unique case for me. As such, my review needs to be broken up to properly analyze it.

Story:

Attack on Titan has an absolutely astounding setting. The sheer idea behind the setting, the exposition pieces, and the initial plot elements held the potential for it to be one of the best action anime ever. From the first three episodes, I could see how someone could believe this would be that one anime that is just absolutely amazing. It simply becomes disappointing as things continue. Long story short? The start is absolutely amazing. It's powerful. It's grabbing. It does everything read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 18, 2014
Subpyro
“I don’t know which option you should choose. I could never advise you on that… No matter what kind of wisdom dictates you the option you pick, no one will be able to tell if it’s right or wrong until you arrive to some sort of outcome from your choice.” — Rivaille

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan, or literally "Advancing Titans") is like a very specialized main dish. Although it is known that the style and type cover the biggest part of the community, it still doesn’t go with the everyday flow. What I’m focusing on is that these series are an action shounen. Nowadays, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
TheJazzinGeneral
When I look at the rankings of this anime, I am quite surprised. I was almost certain based on the praising reviews that was going to be a great anime revival show. I thought wrong.

Highlights:

START: extremely strong start, such a powerful first episode that immediately drew me into the show.
PRODUCTION: very well done, no question about it. If there is something good to say about Attack on Titan/Shingeki no Kyojin it is certainly the animation, music and sound. Crisp and perfect. The animation has entirely no flaws, and the background settings are gorgeously animated. The music was another great aspect of the show, setting the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2014
Evillordexdeath
The best way I can think of describing my experience with this show is that I found it profoundly uninteresting. So much so that I find myself in a position of being genuinely unable to understand why it is so well regarded. Which is unusual for me - I can usually understand the appeal of something even if I don't care for it myself.

Perhaps the biggest issue that I find with it is that the cast consists largely of shallow stock characters. For me this is what really kills the anime, I think. I just couldn't find it in myself to care about anything that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 1, 2013
Bear1211
A new sensation is sweeping the world of Anime, and I don't think the hype for this show can go any higher. Nothing has hit pubescent teens this hard since porn. People who have never seen an Anime in their life have picked up "Shingeki No Kyojin", and devoured it like candy. Hearing of both the love/hate the show was getting I figured my moment to watch it would be upon me soon. With this moment passed, did it live up? Was I blown away? or left angry? Here is my thoughts.

Story: 8

A nice break of pace I must say. Shingeki presents a sprawling world read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2013
Xiaraith
So what on earth? What have I done?
How am I not able to feel the stun?...
I will write about "Attack on Titan" here;
but yeah, I'm no fanboy trying to endear
myself to mainstream now or in the longer run.

I turned towards this show unbiased
considering its popularity at highest.
I wanted to see if this action show at least
conveys more meanings than being a bloody feast.
But in the end: people and story at its driest.

So hundreds of years ago, the humankind
is letting itself be completely confined
by dim-witted looking titans there
inside a 50-meter wall ensnare
and is now searching for ways to get behind.

Then suddenly, a 60-meter giant attacks
and many read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 19, 2013
Yami-Asami
What the hell, seriously, what, the, hell, is going on with this anime ?!

Before we start, I must tell that I've read the scans that are released at the moment, this is a review of the anime "Shingeki no Kyoujin".
Then, I'm French and this is my first review on MyAnimeList, I write it with my english knowledge and some help from Google Traduction. Sorry about the grammars errors.

Story (9/10) : First comes the story, adapted from the manga and pretty accurate (for the moment).
Well, it's just something you cannot predict, the story is based on feelings like weakness and vengeance. Humanity has locked herself in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2014
hope27
I wouldn't call myself an enthusiast of action/drama series, however, I thoroughly enjoyed the anime. The anime mesmerizes its audience with fascinating action sequences and with captivating story telling.

Story :( Please read the synopsis before reading any further).The setting of the story is quite intriguing in its own way. Set several hundreds of years ago, human race is endangered by titans, who are several meters high and eat humans. Humans are protected by three huge walls namely-Wall Maria, Wall Rose, Wall Sina. The progress of the story with every episode is the asset of the entire series. The series contain no filler episodes, while being read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
3 hours ago
guillaumec
Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack On Titan is a typical example of a shounen serie. It is worthfully one of the classic animes, that is highly recommended to watch. However it is far from the best anime I ever saw. Probably it will become higher in my list when the last season comes out and it has a real end.

The story is basically about a boy eren who had witnessed the dead of his mother (that was killed by a titan) and after that devoted his life to take revenge on every titan alive. What isn’t that easy since they haven’t won any battle yet. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2014
Eastunder
I wonder, why is it that today's audiences are so invested in stories that center around people suffering through harsh trials that, more often than not, showcase the worst aspects of this world? Is it some sadistic pleasure at seeing others jump through flaming hoop after flaming hoop, despite deserving better? Is it some internal relief that we get, knowing that regardless of our own lives tribulations, that it's possible for others to suffer far worse than us? Either is possible, but i choose to go for a third, more positive option. Through these works, we see the best of humanity in the worst of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 25, 2013
Extrieve
Please read the Review first before marking it as “Helpful” or “Not Helpful”

One thing I´ve been noticing in the past few years is that new anime releases are lacking on originality and a serious plot, so when Shingeki no Kyojin or if you prefer Attack on Titan first came out I had all sorts of mixed feelings towards it, but this feeling of relief was always present on me. Attack on Titan is one of those anime that even non regular anime viewers praise, but does Titan lives up to all its Hype surrounding it or it just stays as Attack on Hypu?

Setting/Plot: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices