MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #13
Shingeki no Kyojin

Shingeki no Kyojin

Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan
Japanese: 進撃の巨人

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Sep 28, 2013
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.801 (scored by 241004 users)
Ranked: #132
Popularity: #7
Members: 352,637
Favorites: 24,488
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Aug 8, 2014
jraspider2
Attack on Titan or Shingeki no Kyojin has become one of the biggest anime, at least stateside, over the past few years. Unfortunately many shows that are popular often get caught up in the hype of fans and when people view it when hype has begun to cool down it is often that these shows often get a lot of backlash since they are not as good as everyone who watched it years ago says it is. Fortunately I think that Attack on Titan is well made enough that it will not be seen as trash by viewers years from now when if it does read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 16, 2014
robis798
( This is long review, so please express your opinion only after you have read it. )

In my opinion, an anime has to have a strong and gripping start. I found a lot of masterpieces in anime but only a few can make a memorable impression from the very first episode. For example, Steins;Gate – a masterpiece that only few call it otherwise – has a very slow and rather unimpressive start and doesn‘t actually show what is yet to come. However, anime that I am going to review had such a strong start that I literally ( no lying ) was sitting in front read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 7, 2014
Gladius93
I started to follow the manga after watching the anime and quite frankly I don't see where and how the plot of Shingeki no Kyojin can suck, which in my humble opinion is awsome. You can understand the anime very well even without having read the manga. However, SNK isn't understood by many because it's a psychological manga .. SNK isn't just a succession of empty and meaningless clashes and, of uncontrolled violence, stereotyped heroes who fight the bad (like Bleach). Here are shown the darkest sides of the human psyche with great mastery: the desire to be the best but can't do it, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2014
SonDavid
In the 80's, Mobile Suit Gundam catapulted anime in Japan.

In the 90s, Dragon Ball Z broke the mainstream walls while Neon Genesis Evangelion opened the doors to the now indispensable late-night anime slots in Japan.

In the 2000s, Fullmetal Alchemist marked the peak of manga-to-anime adaptations while Code Geass & Death Note headed the class of those who introduced the new anti-hero genre.

And now, in 2013, Attack on Titan has shaken the industry once again.

Unless you've been living under a rock for the past 5 months, you should at least know what the story is about, and for the sake of staying spoiler free, I'm not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 8, 2014
Born2Run
RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who like epic settings with epic battles.

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR…
…people who lack patience and the ones who expect a war drama that can be taken seriously.


**REVIEW**

Shingeki No Kyojin is a Shounen Anime with Seinen elements, in which humanity has to defend themselves from giant human-like monsters called Titans. It’s basically a post-apocalyptic scenario à la “Reign of Fire”, just with giants instead of dragons.
The show starts out very well by introducing us to the main characters and the world they inhabit and it does overall a good job in showing the horror the Titans represent. However, even the first few episodes already show signs read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2014
kermamrek
Shingeki no Kyojin... Where do I start?

In summary, Shingeki no Kyojin is a perfect anime to get somebody who loves action started on anime- I think it is literally the most mainstream anime ever made, and that is definitely not a bad thing. But with this comes downsides- ones not apparent to the viewer at first glance, but looking back on it after watching it around the time it first came out, definitely shine through.

Shingeki no Kyojin starts off with a roar- the first 2 episodes explode right out of the gate with high-octane action that also leaves mystery to draw the viewer in. Who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 21, 2014
abrodkin
I started watching Shingeki no Kyojin a year ago, almost to the day that I am writing this. So I figured I would write a review on what has grown to be one of my favourite series of all time.

What I've noticed is that people tend to be very split about this anime; you either love it, or you hate it. Clearly, in my case, I love this entire series (the show, the manga, the side-stories, etc.) Now onto the actual review.

Story: 9
At its core, Shingeki no Kyojin is something that we have seen many times in the past: humanity is being attacked, therefore we read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2014
Sora-akira
First of all I want to say that I was actually against watching this and thought it was overrated, so I am not being partial at all, the reason I started watching this anime was because I was sick and had nothing else better to do. Now i will explain to you why I gave it a high rating which is highly unexpected. I should warn you that I have read the manga, meaning I know what happens after the anime, so, don't flame me for stuff happening after, I am only reviewing the first season!


The Story
Well, the reason I gave it an 8 was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2014
Ri-chan
I don't think this review will make me very popular, because I didn't really like Attack on Titan. The first time I tried watching it, I found the first episode so boring and discomforting that I stopped right there. However, as the hype increased and people were hailing it as the best anime of the season, I thought I should give it another shot. The next time I tried watching it, I got to about episode 10 and gave up again. It was too much of a struggle for me. Though after 10 episodes I had started to see the value of the show.

Story: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2014
Subpyro
“I don’t know which option you should choose. I could never advise you on that… No matter what kind of wisdom dictates you the option you pick, no one will be able to tell if it’s right or wrong until you arrive to some sort of outcome from your choice.” — Levi

Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan, or literally "Advancing Titans") is like a very specialized main dish. Although it is known that the style and type cover the biggest part of the community, it still doesn’t go with the everyday flow. What I’m focusing on is that these series are an action shounen. Nowadays, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 24, 2014
EdBanger0123
Shingeki no Kyojin or Attack on Titan is perhaps one of the most overrated shows I have seen. Don't get me wrong, it is well worth your time, it just has been overblown by fans whose previous anime experience is most likely limited to Naruto and Bleach. Naturally this is all my own opinion, and feel free to completely disregard it.
Let me get one thing straight though, this show is an excellent gateway for people trying to get into anime. If you know someone who wants to get started then this is perfect.

Right so the story and setting are as follows. In a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2014
HATUL
It's nice to have an anime this popular that isn't just tsundere school rom-com no' 10746 for a change. But does that alone make said anime great? No, not really.

This is a spoiler free review.

*Story*

*Insert synopsis here*

Aside from the monsters being replaced with Titans and the interesting weaponry the people have, we've definitely seen similar stories in anime before, whether it's Claymore, Blue Gender and maybe even Highschool of the Dead.

Leaving that aside though, it doesn't do a very good job with its narrative. The story relies on coincidences, has forced exposition, uneventful pacing and it also has unexplored themes that are tossed away as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 31, 2014
Demi_V
Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) undoubtedly made it as the top anime of 2013. Hajime Isayama’s creation gained fans across the globe with its thrills, surprising twists, and memorable characters. Compared to other apocalyptic anime, Hajime develops undefeatable and menacing creatures: giant man-eating titans --- overgrown human-like creatures that range in size and ability.

Story (8)

The suspense is incredible and exciting with constant gory scenes of titans brutalizing humans to the fullest degree, whether it is crushing skulls with their massive thumbs or tearing apart the human body. Combat action involves stunning choreography as armed soldiers spin or fly in mid-air with their 3D read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 12, 2014
Armagenius
(NOTE: I see Shingeki no Kyojin is ranked really high here and many people belive it is overrated, but I do not care about that and will not talk, I mean write, about that...)

STORY
Let's start from the story. One hundred years before to the beginning of the story, giant scary humanoid creatures called Titans suddenly appeared and nearly wiped out humanity, devouring them with an unkown reason. What remains of humanity now resides within three enormous walls.
"People are crazy for believing that these walls will protect us forever. Even though the walls have been intact for the past 100 years, there’s nothing that can guarantee read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2013
Wandering-Otaku
Attack on Titan is a particularly unique case for me. As such, my review needs to be broken up to properly analyze it.

Story:

Attack on Titan has an absolutely astounding setting. The sheer idea behind the setting, the exposition pieces, and the initial plot elements held the potential for it to be one of the best action anime ever. From the first three episodes, I could see how someone could believe this would be that one anime that is just absolutely amazing. It simply becomes disappointing as things continue. Long story short? The start is absolutely amazing. It's powerful. It's grabbing. It does everything read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 14, 2014
MGCAnimefan
"Shingeki no Kyojin" or "Attack on Titan" (AOT) has received praise from both critics and audiences alike. With this in mind, I decided to watch it and was seriously disappointed. Although AOT has incredible artwork and highly developed characters, it fails to deliver a good story. The plot itself is actually interesting and has a lot of potential to be really good, but the anime drags on and on, taking several episodes simply to cover one battle or one plot point. Furthermore, each plot point read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2014
K-Hinamori
One thing I would like to say before anything else, don't believe the hype.

Starting off with the story. I find this right here to be half and half. As far as the background and history shown, and the world that was created I think it's really good. I liked the idea of humanity living behind walls, drove to near extinction, finding the overall story of the world to be pretty original in anime. However, on the other side, as far as the actual, episode to episode, overall story of the season... I find it to be very lackluster. The show forces shock value down your read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2014
Radeon
What is the most popular anime of 2013? Attack on Titan. Before I started watching, I read so many reviews, heard from my friends and also received so much praise that its one of those "absolute" must watch anime of last year. Yes, I did enjoyed it, but to an extent.

This review will contain spoilers. You've been warned.

Humanity have been overrun by the so called "Titans"(to be frank, they are nothing more than just giant, naked zombies) and humans have built huge walls, confining themselves within. Obviously, peace within the city didn't last forever and soon, titans managed to find their way inside. That's the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2014
TheUnsend
Oh boy, Attack on Titan.
Up front, the more time passes between me, having watched the show and now thinking about it, the more average it becomes. I came to the conclusion, that the show severely lacks memorable moments. Many may call BS on me for that, but really think about it. Excluding what happens in Episode eight...I think, there was almost nothing for me to remember fondly. I'll say, that upon first completing the show, I quite liked it and would have even called it good, but that is just not the case anymore.

Most of the things like character-motivation, their development and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 9, 2013
hesselz
Attack on Titan review (Re-write)

"You can't change anything unless you can discard part of yourself too. To surpass monsters, you must be willing to abandon your humanity." - Armin Arlert

And I think I will just put it at the start of the review, since none of the not helpful voters gave any feedback on my previous reviews:

PLEASE NOT HELPFUL VOTERS, A FEEDBACK FROM YOU IS HIGHLY APPRECIATED!

Don't misunderstand me. I believe, this anime is awesome indeed! But is had some huge flaws to it that made me give it an average score.

Without a doubt this is the most hyped anime of the year. But what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices