MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #90
Nagi no Asukara

Nagi no Asukara

Alternative Titles

English: Nagi-Asu: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asu Kara
Japanese: 凪のあすから

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 22904 users)
Ranked: #902
Popularity: #329
Members: 63,098
Favorites: 1,598
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 14, 2014
Lrdwhyt
Nagi no Asukara is set in a fantasy world during a period of heightened racial tensions between two groups of humans.
This premise might make the show sound like an incredibly deep and hauntingly beautiful social commentary on racism. A work capable of making even the most intolerant of racists tearfully renounce their ways...

Sorry, but not quite. The show’s premise does influence the plot direction, but it’s not why you should watch this show. Rather, you should watch Nagi no Asukara if you’re looking for an expertly-crafted drama anime with well-written, dynamic characters; many emotionally intense moments; beautiful artwork, animation, landscapes, and music; poignant yet uplifting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
HaXXspetten
The age-old idiom of ”don’t judge a book by its cover” never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn’t expect coming into this, it’d be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I’ve seen aired since 2011.


--Story--
Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 23, 2013
jdbe
UPDATE* COMPLETELY NEW REVIEW!

With the anime concluding today, I decided that a refresh of the review HAS to do be done. To put it simply, it's one of the most memorable animes' I will ever come across and i'm glad to have seen it through to the end.

Nagi no Asukara is an anime based around the journey of 4 young teens who have to go to school on the surface, racial tensions have arisen between the people of the sea and the people of the surface. The show documents the twisting events that happen in this world, and the unraveling and intertwining of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Shiroi_Usagi
If I had to define "beautiful" with an anime, I would have to say Nagi no Asukara.

The anime industry often has a tough time dealing with the idea of love. Very few have ever portrayed it correctly, and even then it's difficult to move us. They either fall flat because of pacing issues or the plot fails to convey a character's motivation causing climactic moments seem melodramatic or forced. Nagi no Asukara doesn't face these issues. In fact, the show has been one of the most well-paced anime I have ever seen in terms of character and plot development. I will get to that soon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
AzureHakua
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
wumbmasta
Nagi no Asukara Review:

Are ya ready kids? I can’t hear youuu!!! OHHHH!!! Who lives in a village under the sea? Hikari Sakishima! Ill-tempered, in love, tsundere is he! Hikari Sakishima!
Joking aside, my first impression of this show was that it was going to be just another slice of life anime, this time set in Bikini Bottom rather than in your average high school… Oh how wrong I was. Nagi no Asukara turned out to be sooo much more, and is not only currently my personal favorite show of 2014 so far, but also a future classic if enough people are smart enough to decide to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 6, 2014
bluefire1802
DISCLAIMER: IF YOU DROPPED THIS SHOW IN THE BEGGINING, I HIGHLY RECCOMEND YOU START WATCHING IT AGAIN. IT HAS COMPLETELY DONE A 180 SINCE THE BEGINNING!!

This is going to be a spoiler free review, however, it will be a review based on
the fist 18 episodes so newcomers might not feel the same way about this show. It's a long review so sit back, and enjoy the ride.

First, the story.

Now, the beginning of the story was pretty average with the twist of middle school students from the water going to the surface. However, as the show progresses new things are constantly brought up that make read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
ggultra2764
Nagi no Asakura is focused around a group of four middle schoolers who live in a village under the sea and go to the surface for schooling, even with some hostilities between humans and sea dwellers for the former's abandoning of the seas to live on land. The series starts off focused on exploring the tensions between the sea dwellers and humans, with the four children learning to adjust to life on land and accept being among both races. This is mainly shown with Hikari who at first hates humans until his increased understanding of the close connections between his kind and humanity lead him read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 23, 2014
celesti0n
MENMA HAS FINALLY REINCARNATED FUCK YES

I seriously can't NOT do a review on Nagi no Asukara, looking at its extremely underrated score right now. If you're reading this and sitting on the fence on whether to pick it up, DO IT. REINCARNATED MENMA WOULD BE PROUD.
I heard of this show when it first started airing, but like many of you I put it aside. After another 9001 recommendations from friends, I watched the first episode.

Then the all-nighters began.

Pack yo' bags and prepare your fucking minds for the biggest feels trip this season.

Story - 8/10
The story, at first glance, seemed quite dull to me. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 6, 2013
jealousghost
First off, let me just say that this show is fantastic. Based on the raw preview I saw (no subs), I assumed this show would be a cute, possibly surreal (maybe not, maybe just symbolism) slice of life show, similar to K-on...but with water. So I sat down to watch a subbed episode and see what it was about, thinking I was going to be watching a comedy or drama, and not really having high hopes for it as I originally thought it was a bit too cutesy. Wow, was I wrong! And I'm so glad I was!

ART: This show is anything but cutesy. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 1, 2014
JonBort
I love watching the anime that looks good in terms of visuals. But sacrificing that for the story tips off the balance and the ending result is an anime show gone bad. But with Mari Okada on the story and Buriki on the visuals, better get ready for a show rich in looks and storytelling.

Synopsis: Nagi no Asukara tells a tale of three high schoolers from the sea (yeah, you heard me right) namely Hikari, Manaka, Chisaki and Kaname adjusting themselves on the surface. After meeting new faces and befriending them, the group of friends then act as a catalyst of bringing balance and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 5, 2014
NostalgicDPT
How many times will appearance fool you? You see a picture of children and dismiss all thoughts of maturity and potential. Still, isn't it funny how children are the most capable? They're the ones who have no choice but to adapt and change. Their lives transition to different stages in the blink of an eye. Children defy tradition, they are the new perspectives. Who would've thought this anime to include the topics of discrimination, morality, and coming of age?

Story
Nagi No Asukara follows the lives of a group of children. The setting takes place a world where a specific minority of humans have the ability read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 11, 2014
stream_eon
This is my first time writing a review here in MALnet but I promise you this has ABSOLUTELY NO SPOILERS. I wouldn't regret giving my first time to Nagi no Asukara since I consider this as one of the best anime I've watched.

STORY: 9
About love and youth and growing up. Also telling you that even adults are still growing up.
A mixture of drama, romance, with a little bit funny scenes coupled with fantasy and science. The personality struggle of each character is something I sympathize too.

You'd expect lots of twist in the story that would leave you expressions like "Ahh, I see" and "Oh, now read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Stark700
The ocean is a mass and mysterious place. It seems to be endless and stretches beyond our imaginations with its vast amount of creatures that lives within. If I was to live in the ocean, the possibilities would be endless to how my life would change. But in the world of Nagi no Asukara, living in the waters is not an uncommon sight to see. No, in fact it’s a way of life for sea people like Hikari Sakishima and Manaka Mukaido. Nagi No Asukara chronicles the lives of a group of young people as they go through stages of childhood, adolescence, and maturity that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Palkaline
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Mikashimotaku
Nagi no Asukara is a whirlwind. It's beautiful and breathtaking, like the tide crashing against the sand, the sunset reflecting off the ocean's glassy surface. But it's also chaotic and brash like a tsunami wave. P.A Works has created an anime that is charming, sparkling, and can reach into your heart.

Story: 8
The premise of Nagi no Asukara is 4 childhood friends, Hikari, Manaka, Chisaki, and Kaname live in the sea village of Shishishio. They are able to live underwater thanks to the layer of protective 'skin' called ena. With their school closing down, they must attend school up on the surface, where they meet new read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2014
LadyBunny

So, after watching #25, I am scratching my previous review and starting over:

Nagi no Asukara is seriously worth your time. True- it starts off slow; there are good episodes in the middle; then it becomes kind of weird (in only my opinion)- but ultimately, it gets its act together in a ridiculously heartwarming way.

Story & Plot: What made me watch and continue watching was the premise. It’s quite magical. As for the plot itself, I’d give it an 8/10. The minus two are for minor inconsistencies, but overall the story is engrossing and well played out. It’s filled with exciting twists and even a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2014
kuuurt
After realizing the fact that Mari Okada was working on the screenplay of Nagi no Asukara, I just knew that it was going to be a wild and bumpy ride. As most of you probably already know, Okada has worked on a lot of anime like Ano Hana, Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo, Toradora!, and True Tears, all of which are prominent titles in the romantic drama genre. Needless to say, Nagi-Asu obediently followed the footsteps of Okada's previous works.

Nagi no Asukara is a manga adaptation produced by P.A. Works. The series revolves around 5 friends, 4 of which came from the sea. After their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2014
AxonCrackers
Hello guys! I'm going to make my first short review of Nagi no Asukara (It's still airing so i'll be making one for the available episode i watched already)

So first of all, i'll be giving a valuation for the storyline. The storyline is very unique. I like how they tell a story about a boy and his friends who lives underwater, the most unique thing is that they can breathe both under&above water, too. The romance is complicated, but it's what makes it interesting for me. By the explanation above i'll be giving the story 9.

Art
I love the art of the anime. It's one of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 21, 2013
kaplogy
Before the fall season anime lineup came, I guess I assumed this year to be a lot of fanservice with absolutely no substance. But I was proved wrong greatly. A lot of great shows came out during this fall season, Nagi no Asukara being one.

I've only watched 3 episodes so far but I have to say that I am not disappointed at all.


My scores:

Story: 9
Art: 9
Sound: 10
Character 9
Enjoyment: 9
Overall: 9

For me the one thing that captured my attention for this show was Hikari. He is one of those rare characters who actually mature as the story progresses. In just three episodes, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices