MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #101
Nagi no Asukara

Nagi no Asukara

Alternative Titles

English: Nagi-Asu: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asu Kara, Earth color of a calm
Japanese: 凪のあすから

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.491 (scored by 36854 users)
Ranked: #1012
Popularity: #252
Members: 86,162
Favorites: 2,331
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
May 22, 2014
lonelyintrovert
When I first saw the description for Nagi No Asukara I really didn't know what to expect. The synopsis didn't really give off much of an idea of what this show was going to be like. So thinking that Nagi no Asukara would be another cheesy romantic comedy. I began watching with low expectations. Little did I know that what I was about to watch would be one of the most enjoyable slice of life anime I have seen in a long time.

A long time ago people lived and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
HaXXspetten
The age-old idiom of ”don’t judge a book by its cover” never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn’t expect coming into this, it’d be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I’ve seen aired since 2011.


--Story--
Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2014
tukky12
First a little background, having just watched Golden Time, I was on the look out for something new to watch and first came across Nagi no Asukara in the suggestions list. At a first glance at the anime and having read its description, I thought perhaps it could be worthwhile and decided to chance it. It didn't disappoint at all, this show was magical from start to finish and I couldn't have been happier to have stumbled across this gem. It certainly ranks among my top 7 favourite anime.

This show is a "slice of life, fantasy and romance" show in a nutshell, however it takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2014
awesomebubble
Since there are only good reviews about this anime, I thought it only fair to add in one that focused on the bad aspects of it. Keep in mind that this is only my opinion and that everyone is entitled to their own.

Let me start off with what I liked about the anime.

Art: 10/10
The art style was one that I'd never seen before, therefore it was very refreshing and overall very pleasing. Since turquoise blue is my favourite colour, the art was really a gold mine for me, seeing as all of the characters who come from the sea have turquoise coloured eyes. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2014
type-a1pha
"Love is like the sea."

Such a disappointment. I'm almost enraged at how things turned out!
Nagi no Asukara is one of those anime that can make you dream, smile and feel for the characters. And it was like this for me too...until it happened! A beautiful setting with quite an original and meaningful premise was ruined in the name of one of the most overused and cliched stereotypes in the anime industry.

STORY (6/10)

The story starts out stupendously. Two races coexisting in the same city and at the same time living in two different worlds. One on the quite familiar surface and the other under the blue read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
AzureHakua
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Shiroi_Usagi
If I had to define "beautiful" with an anime, I would have to say Nagi no Asukara.

The anime industry often has a tough time dealing with the idea of love. Very few have ever portrayed it correctly, and even then it's difficult to move us. They either fall flat because of pacing issues or the plot fails to convey a character's motivation causing climactic moments seem melodramatic or forced. Nagi no Asukara doesn't face these issues. In fact, the show has been one of the most well-paced anime I have ever seen in terms of character and plot development. I will get to that soon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 30, 2014
Meshi_chan
A lot of my friends were talking about Nagi no Asukara and at that time, I haven't started it. I wasn't very interested. But, as long time progress, I tried it. And I was mind blown. P.A Works have done a really, really great job by making this.

Story : Well, you might considered the background story a bit strange when you first watched it and then you raised your eyebrows. I mean, underwater villagers? It's a bit strange right? But, I promise you, with that kind of background, you'll be super amazed as the story progressed.

Nagi no Asukara served you a really interesting drama read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2014
StyleF1re
SPOILERS enclosed. Based on final impressions.


It’s safe to say that history has repeated itself once more in P.A. Works’ latest production. Similar to Shinsekai Yori of the previous year, Nagi no Asukara was accentuated by a rather slow and uninspiring start whose stifling melodrama and romance prospects may have deterred selective viewers. However, a solid game plan centered on exquisite fantasy and supernatural elements coupled with elaborate character development later made for a fascinating barrage of surprises to underscore a blistering second half.

I feared that the seemingly trivial events and occurrences within the first half would amount to little in the bigger picture. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2014
Eudrya
Don't be deceived by its cutesy, colorful outlook. You might think Nagi no Asukara is probably one of those run-of-the-mill school romances that always end up as a cliched failure, but that's most definitely not the case here. This anime's storyline is based on two seemingly different races of humans who have been feuding for as long as anyone can remember. They are the people of the sea and surface.

Art:
Let's start off with the foremost first impression, the art. Your eyes do not deceive you when they report the mesmerizing construction of the characters and settings. The artists of this show have done an outstanding read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2014
Dirty_Dan
You ever begin a show with moderate to low expectations, find more than you were looking for, get super into it, hype it up to your friends, and get so god damned excited for it every week that you just can't contain yourself (an exaggeration, of course)? Nagi no Asukara was that show for me. It blew my expectations away with it's excellent character development, good story, great art and sound direction, and just overall feel. "But then why is it a 6", you may ask. Because endings can cripple a show. A stool with 3 legs will be wobbly if one leg is too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
ggultra2764
Nagi no Asakura is focused around a group of four middle schoolers who live in a village under the sea and go to the surface for schooling, even with some hostilities between humans and sea dwellers for the former's abandoning of the seas to live on land. The series starts off focused on exploring the tensions between the sea dwellers and humans, with the four children learning to adjust to life on land and accept being among both races. This is mainly shown with Hikari who at first hates humans until his increased understanding of the close connections between his kind and humanity lead him read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Palkaline
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
wumbmasta
Nagi no Asukara Review:

Are ya ready kids? I can’t hear youuu!!! OHHHH!!! Who lives in a village under the sea? Hikari Sakishima! Ill-tempered, in love, tsundere is he! Hikari Sakishima!
Joking aside, my first impression of this show was that it was going to be just another slice of life anime, this time set in Bikini Bottom rather than in your average high school… Oh how wrong I was. Nagi no Asukara turned out to be sooo much more, and is not only currently my personal favorite show of 2014 so far, but also a future classic if enough people are smart enough to decide to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
SovietPsycho
I have not yet completed the anime, so please let me sink in. However I am at a point where one of the major climaxes have hit and I feel that it will only get better from here so I will write this short review, and edit it after I have completed the anime.

When I had first started the anime I didn't really know what to expect. The synopsis had led me to believe that it was a classic romance anime with a twist, but I was completely and utterly wrong.

Getting into the anime, the first few episodes I was fairly right. This made read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 27, 2014
Mnemofysh
--- CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SOME MINOR SPOILERS! ---

I don’t know what I was expecting based on the synopsis when I started watching Nagi no Asukara, but I sure didn’t expect this.
Of course, I knew it wouldn’t be dark and mysterious like some other anime, but I never knew I would wind up watching slice of life - one of the genres I avidly avoid because my action-longing heart just can’t take it. Or, maybe I’m too immature. Whatever.

In brief, at the start, Nagi no Asukara seemed to be just a slice of life with a little bit of fantasy and too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 30, 2014
Stelvedorn
To be honest, I was kinda pissed off by the main lead Hikari, at first. Having many episodes downloaded is somehow irritating to me to 'drop this anime!', knowing how much money I spent in Internet cafe downloading this show. Well, just a preface, but then, I am not sure how to put it, I began to love it.

The story progresses well, very well indeed. The port town isn't something new, still the show makes it possible to 'renew' the usual plot port town concept. A remarkable thing in the story is the romance progress, makes it even greater (Is it possible someone much younger read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2014
Demi_V
“Everyone is precious to someone else.” - Manaka

Judging strictly from its promotional poster and synopsis, I thought Nagi no Asukara was just another sappy, childish drama. I was greatly mistaken, and I owe P.A. Works, the studio producer of Nagi-Asu, an apology for having such presumptions. This fantasy, slice of life, and romance anime is absolutely breathtaking in every aspect. The story is unpredictable and goes beyond your typical anime of its genre. Despite the supernatural aspects, its underwater theme creates logical situations that the characters face, including forbidden love and discrimination.

Nagi-Asu takes places between two settings: an underwater village called Shioshishio and the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2014
AuVreit
::Short Review - Nagi no Asukara::

::Nagi no Asukara is a romance anime that tackles serious issues between affection, friendship, family, and society. I'm a fan of RomCom anime but this, this anime is a must watch if you wanted to have serious drama mixing with the romance which is actually pretty good in the anime.
::"Love is all about sacrifices." The plot of the anime is great. Love isn't just an affection is this series. It waits, sacrifices, lets go, cares, and protects. We can see the development of the characters as they mature from episode by episode.

::Overall, the anime is best for anyone who wanted read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 27, 2014
rawrlsy
I've been deciding if I should write a review for Nagi no Asukara. I asked myself, what if I get carried away? What if I give it too much credit? What if I don't credit it enough?
In the end, I realized that I had to, somehow, try to convey how amazing this anime is.

Story: 8/10.
I'm going to start and say that Nagi no Asukara isn't for everyone. The story is set up in a different world, where some people from the sea (not mermaids, just regular, ol' humans) left their home to live on land. The two different kinds of people became more distant after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices