MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #113
Nagi no Asukara

Nagi no Asukara

Alternative Titles

English: Nagi-Asu: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asu Kara, Earth color of a calm
Japanese: 凪のあすから

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.461 (scored by 44886 users)
Ranked: #1132
Popularity: #222
Members: 102,698
Favorites: 2,773
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 8, 2014
HaXXspetten
The age-old idiom of ”don’t judge a book by its cover” never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn’t expect coming into this, it’d be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I’ve seen aired since 2011.


--Story--
Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 22, 2014
lonelyintrovert
When I first saw the description for Nagi No Asukara I really didn't know what to expect. The synopsis didn't really give off much of an idea of what this show was going to be like. So thinking that Nagi no Asukara would be another cheesy romantic comedy. I began watching with low expectations. Little did I know that what I was about to watch would be one of the most enjoyable slice of life anime I have seen in a long time.

A long time ago people lived and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2014
emberreviews
"Love is like the sea."

Love stories have existed for practically the entire existence of storytelling. They've been told countless times, in countless ways, with countless settings and characters. From the grand and epic quests to silly school rom-coms, the love story is the most enduring story of fiction, and even non-fiction in some cases. With that in mind, one would think that original ideas, or even ideas that haven't grown stale, are quite lacking in this genre. So, how does today's anime stand in the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2014
tukky12
First a little background, having just watched Golden Time, I was on the look out for something new to watch and first came across Nagi no Asukara in the suggestions list. At a first glance at the anime and having read its description, I thought perhaps it could be worthwhile and decided to chance it. It didn't disappoint at all, this show was magical from start to finish and I couldn't have been happier to have stumbled across this gem. It certainly ranks among my top 7 favourite anime.

This show is a "slice of life, fantasy and romance" show in a nutshell, however it takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 12, 2014
MeowPower
STORY
The story may seem like a typical romance, with a sea people twist, but it's so much more. At first, it was focused on the children and their feelings for each other and the surface. But as the children realized they were apart of something much bigger, the series was about accepting change and how some people wish for it and some fear it. More importantly, I thought this series told a good mixture of fantasy romance quite well. I loved the characters and was interested in the story's lore. The themes of unrequited love, change, and acceptance, were mashed around well. But, there lies read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
AzureHakua
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2014
awesomebubble
Since there are only good reviews about this anime, I thought it only fair to add in one that focused on the bad aspects of it. Keep in mind that this is only my opinion and that everyone is entitled to their own.

Let me start off with what I liked about the anime.

Art: 10/10
The art style was one that I'd never seen before, therefore it was very refreshing and overall very pleasing. Since turquoise blue is my favourite colour, the art was really a gold mine for me, seeing as all of the characters who come from the sea have turquoise coloured eyes. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 2, 2014
Earl_Ciel
Presenting a Phantomhive review of [Nagi no Asukara] for your reading pleasure.

Story(9): Nagi no Asukara has a very interesting story that will convey both heart warming moments and heart breaking moments. Much of the story is strongly driven by romantic entanglements of the various characters present. In a world where there are two types of Humans in the form of land dwellers and sea dwellers, when 4 sea dwelling teenagers are forced to attend school alongside land dwellers; the internal struggles as well as the emotional impact of trying to adapt to the new situation, results in an interesting Slice of Life type of drama. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 30, 2014
Meshi_chan
A lot of my friends were talking about Nagi no Asukara and at that time, I haven't started it. I wasn't very interested. But, as long time progress, I tried it. And I was mind blown. P.A Works have done a really, really great job by making this.

Story : Well, you might considered the background story a bit strange when you first watched it and then you raised your eyebrows. I mean, underwater villagers? It's a bit strange right? But, I promise you, with that kind of background, you'll be super amazed as the story progressed.

Nagi no Asukara served you a really interesting drama read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Shiroi_Usagi
If I had to define "beautiful" with an anime, I would have to say Nagi no Asukara.

The anime industry often has a tough time dealing with the idea of love. Very few have ever portrayed it correctly, and even then it's difficult to move us. They either fall flat because of pacing issues or the plot fails to convey a character's motivation causing climactic moments seem melodramatic or forced. Nagi no Asukara doesn't face these issues. In fact, the show has been one of the most well-paced anime I have ever seen in terms of character and plot development. I will get to that soon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Palkaline
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 6, 2014
subah-chan
When you see the poster and genres of this anime you may think this will be a childish romantic comedy show. Besides here the characters are not even high schoolers. What can you expect from some middle school going kids and their childish crush? Not to mention all those characters with large moe moe eyes. But no! Nagi No Asukara has a lot more than that to offer you.

~STORY~ 8/10
In this anime it is shown that human beings originally came from the sea. Some people craved to see the world beyond the ocean. So they left the sea and started living permanently on the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2014
Yung_Doug
You ever begin a show with moderate to low expectations, find more than you were looking for, get super into it, hype it up to your friends, and get so god damned excited for it every week that you just can't contain yourself (an exaggeration, of course)? Nagi no Asukara was that show for me. It blew my expectations away with it's excellent character development, good story, great art and sound direction, and just overall feel. "But then why is it a 6", you may ask. Because endings can cripple a show. A stool with 3 legs will be wobbly if one leg is too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
ggultra2764
Nagi no Asakura is focused around a group of four middle schoolers who live in a village under the sea and go to the surface for schooling, even with some hostilities between humans and sea dwellers for the former's abandoning of the seas to live on land. The series starts off focused on exploring the tensions between the sea dwellers and humans, with the four children learning to adjust to life on land and accept being among both races. This is mainly shown with Hikari who at first hates humans until his increased understanding of the close connections between his kind and humanity lead him read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
wumbmasta
Nagi no Asukara Review:

Are ya ready kids? I can’t hear youuu!!! OHHHH!!! Who lives in a village under the sea? Hikari Sakishima! Ill-tempered, in love, tsundere is he! Hikari Sakishima!
Joking aside, my first impression of this show was that it was going to be just another slice of life anime, this time set in Bikini Bottom rather than in your average high school… Oh how wrong I was. Nagi no Asukara turned out to be sooo much more, and is not only currently my personal favorite show of 2014 so far, but also a future classic if enough people are smart enough to decide to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 17, 2014
Hime_Ichinose
Nagi no Asukara is simply beautiful.

Story 9/10: The story was quite creative and unique. As you go along the episodes, they explain to you more things. Most events turn out to be unpredictable and very exciting, making you want to watch more! I wouldn't give it a 10/10 though as it wasn't like...Incredibly extraordinary? XD

Art 10/10: The art was beautiful! The scenery, character designs, and just everything was made stunning to the eye.

Sound 10/10: In my bias opinion, I'd give it a 10/10. Both of the openings (sung by Ray) really show you the type of atmosphere and feeling that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2014
Eudrya
Don't be deceived by its cutesy, colorful outlook. You might think Nagi no Asukara is probably one of those run-of-the-mill school romances that always end up as a cliched failure, but that's most definitely not the case here. This anime's storyline is based on two seemingly different races of humans who have been feuding for as long as anyone can remember. They are the people of the sea and surface.

Art:
Let's start off with the foremost first impression, the art. Your eyes do not deceive you when they report the mesmerizing construction of the characters and settings. The artists of this show have done an outstanding read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
SovietPsycho
I have not yet completed the anime, so please let me sink in. However I am at a point where one of the major climaxes have hit and I feel that it will only get better from here so I will write this short review, and edit it after I have completed the anime.

When I had first started the anime I didn't really know what to expect. The synopsis had led me to believe that it was a classic romance anime with a twist, but I was completely and utterly wrong.

Getting into the anime, the first few episodes I was fairly right. This made read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 27, 2014
Mnemofysh
--- CAUTION! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SOME MINOR SPOILERS! ---

I don’t know what I was expecting based on the synopsis when I started watching Nagi no Asukara, but I sure didn’t expect this.
Of course, I knew it wouldn’t be dark and mysterious like some other anime, but I never knew I would wind up watching slice of life - one of the genres I avidly avoid because my action-longing heart just can’t take it. Or, maybe I’m too immature. Whatever.

In brief, at the start, Nagi no Asukara seemed to be just a slice of life with a little bit of fantasy and too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 15, 2014
eatboxman
Let me kill two birds with one stone and review Glasslip (anime from the same makers):

Glasslip was the biggest pile of shit I've ever seen, and worst anime to date.

Okay, now that I got that out of the way, let's continue to Nagi no Asukara.

One of the main things that might put you off from this show is that the description says the characters are all in middle school. I think I was at one point awhile ago. I believe this is one of those shows where all the kids kind of act like they should have been a tiny bit older to me. They read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices