Ranked #164

Nagi no Asukara

Alternative Titles

English: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asu Kara, Earth color of a calm
Japanese: 凪のあすから

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: Drama, Fantasy, Romance
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.381 (scored by 75,857 users)
Ranked: #1642
Popularity: #179
Members: 170,913
Favorites: 4,779
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

HaXXspetten
Apr 8, 2014
The age-old idiom of "don't judge a book by its cover" never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn't expect coming into this, it'd be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I've seen aired since 2011.


--Story--
Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
I found this review Helpful
lonelyintrovert
May 22, 2014
When I first saw the description for Nagi No Asukara I really didn't know what to expect. The synopsis didn't really give off much of an idea of what this show was going to be like. So thinking that Nagi no Asukara would be another cheesy romantic comedy. I began watching with low expectations. Little did I know that what I was about to watch would be one of the most enjoyable slice of life anime I have seen in a long time.

A long time ago people lived and read more
I found this review Helpful
Palkaline
Apr 16, 2014
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
I found this review Helpful
tukky12
May 5, 2014
First a little background, having just watched Golden Time, I was on the look out for something new to watch and first came across Nagi no Asukara in the suggestions list. At a first glance at the anime and having read its description, I thought perhaps it could be worthwhile and decided to chance it. It didn't disappoint at all, this show was magical from start to finish and I couldn't have been happier to have stumbled across this gem. It certainly ranks among my top 7 favourite anime.

This show is a "slice of life, fantasy and romance" show in a nutshell, however it takes read more
I found this review Helpful
Stark700
Apr 3, 2014
The ocean is a mass and mysterious place. It seems to be endless and stretches beyond our imaginations with its vast amount of creatures that lives within. If I was to live in the ocean, the possibilities would be endless to how my life would change. But in the world of Nagi no Asukara, living in the waters is not an uncommon sight to see. No, in fact it’s a way of life for sea people like Hikari Sakishima and Manaka Mukaido. Nagi No Asukara chronicles the lives of a group of young people as they go through stages of childhood, adolescence, and maturity that read more
I found this review Helpful
AzureHakua
Apr 7, 2014
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
I found this review Helpful
AmazingGrace
Nov 8, 2015
Do NOT judge a book by its cover, I've learnt that very well from this anime...
At first I thought it would be a cheesy cute child's play but after watching it i realized how much meaning it had and how touching it was.
The summary gave me the idea of a few kids from magical sea cities just wanted to play on land and it sounded pretty simple and somewhat boring.....seriously do NOT trust that stupid summary it got me in tears and I literally got so into it I took a day and a half to just finish it!
I found this review Helpful
awesomebubble
Aug 8, 2014
Since there are only good reviews about this anime, I thought it only fair to add in one that focused on the bad aspects of it. Keep in mind that this is only my opinion and that everyone is entitled to their own.

Let me start off with what I liked about the anime.

Art: 10/10
The art style was one that I'd never seen before, therefore it was very refreshing and overall very pleasing. Since turquoise blue is my favourite colour, the art was really a gold mine for me, seeing as all of the characters who come from the sea have turquoise coloured eyes. read more
I found this review Helpful
phs_togusa
Nov 1, 2015
Oh, I'm not gonna make myself any new friends with this review. PA Works is one of those studios that you either praise the shit out of or you just don't give a rat's ass about. Even for the number of "successes" that they've had in the past, I don't really find myself feeling anything but indifference toward the bulk of stuff that they've produced. Hell, I'm surprised I found myself giving this show a negative review. Granted, I've never truly liked a single show that they've ever released. PA Works' programmes aren't as visually enticing as A-1 Pictures', they're nowhere near as emotionally involving read more
I found this review Helpful
Kuroi_Usagi-san
Apr 16, 2014
If I had to define "beautiful" with an anime, I would have to say Nagi no Asukara.

The anime industry often has a tough time dealing with the idea of love. Very few have ever portrayed it correctly, and even then it's difficult to move us. They either fall flat because of pacing issues or the plot fails to convey a character's motivation causing climactic moments seem melodramatic or forced. Nagi no Asukara doesn't face these issues. In fact, the show has been one of the most well-paced anime I have ever seen in terms of character and plot development. I will get to that soon read more
I found this review Helpful
theflogat
Apr 19, 2015
Nagi no Asukara is a story about two races of humans. One of them lives on Earth the second in the sea. I've got to say, the setting is actually a great one and can give birth to a good story but it failed to do so.

Story: 3/10
As stated before, the setting is original. The plot line however fails to bring forth anything. To put it in simple terms, it was crap from start to end. Basically, we follow a few youngsters and their romance. There is no goal whatsoever and the romance isn't even properly developped. They completely scrapped the idea within the setting read more
I found this review Helpful
Nikokage
May 7, 2015
Note: The following review contains spoilers for the whole show.



I’m usually not much for romanticism, and Nagi no Asukara was a clear reminder of why.

Despite a pretty interesting lore around the sea (which is represented beautifully here), the show spends nearly all of its running time on teens drama, with a pointlessly complex love polygon. In the end, all the drama created by the lore of the sea god, and the sea, and all of that, was all resolved through the power of love. Riveting.

Maybe I wouldn’t see it as that big of a problem if the show didn’t remind me of Shinsekai Yori in read more
I found this review Helpful
wumbmasta
Apr 3, 2014
Nagi no Asukara Review:

Are ya ready kids? I can’t hear youuu!!! OHHHH!!! Who lives in a village under the sea? Hikari Sakishima! Ill-tempered, in love, tsundere is he! Hikari Sakishima!
Joking aside, my first impression of this show was that it was going to be just another slice of life anime, this time set in Bikini Bottom rather than in your average high school… Oh how wrong I was. Nagi no Asukara turned out to be sooo much more, and is not only currently my personal favorite show of 2014 so far, but also a future classic if enough people are smart enough to decide to read more
I found this review Helpful
Link_of_Hyrule
Jul 4, 2014
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Well, for anyone who is a fan of the romantic drama genre, Nagi no Asukara (or “A Lull in the Sea”) is definitely a must watch. Personally though, I have never been a big fan of the genre for a wide variety of reasons, including its dependence on sappy melodrama, the abundance of clichés, and a lack of general depth in the plotlines. However, after witnessing the massive influx of monumental praise for this series, I couldn't resist giving it a try. Quite frankly, it's not hard to see why this anime received such high praise; beautiful animation, memorable characters (sort of), a read more
I found this review Helpful
Grumpsy
Aug 21, 2015
This is my first review, so I thought I'd start with one of my favorite shows. Nagi no Asukara (eng. A Lull in the Sea) is, at its core, a heartwarming tale of growing up and learning how to love and let go. This is given to us packaged with a beautiful setting and fantasy story that deals with themes varying from loneliness, love, and loss to politics and family.

I highly recommend this anime to anyone who likes a good story. You'll have a good time.


*Personal Rating: 86.5/100*

-Story: 38/40
-Characters: 14/20
-Art/Animation: 19/20
-Sound Design/Music: 6.5/10
-Personal Enjoyment: 9/10


STORY (38/40)

Good fantasy stories in anime are surprisingly rare. Don't be read more
I found this review Helpful
yeslelno123
Apr 17, 2014
This anime was rather dull and childish. "Emotions" and "change". This didn't really carry any message with it except the repetition of these two motives that aren't even deeply explored. Same shit you see everywhere except that here they actually even managed to contradict themselves a few times and have opinions that are logically wrong. Did they reach any conclusions on either of the subjects they tried to explore? Oh gosh they did, "the world is filled with beautiful shining emotions that are passed down and surpass time". A lot of attempts to be serious sound like a badly written essay of a 14 year read more
I found this review Helpful
Yung_Doug
Apr 23, 2014
You ever begin a show with moderate to low expectations, find more than you were looking for, get super into it, hype it up to your friends, and get so god damned excited for it every week that you just can't contain yourself (an exaggeration, of course)? Nagi no Asukara was that show for me. It blew my expectations away with it's excellent character development, good story, great art and sound direction, and just overall feel. "But then why is it a 6", you may ask. Because endings can cripple a show. A stool with 3 legs will be wobbly if one leg is too read more
I found this review Helpful
nasebear
Jun 12, 2015
I struggle to understand how others enjoyed this when I couldn't. The concept was great. It really was and I wanted to know how they'd explain the mechanics of the sea village. For example, how was gravity working to keep they food from floating out of their bowls and mingling with the sea. What did they do with trash and bodily waste?

But they never focused on those and instead spent an entire 26 episodes dragging out the romantic drama between various characters. I'm Sorry, but I live in Japan and the 14 year olds here are not so wrought with frustration, full of deep reflecting read more
I found this review Helpful
Earl_Ciel
Nov 2, 2014
Presenting a Phantomhive review of [Nagi no Asukara] for your reading pleasure.

Story(9): Nagi no Asukara has a very interesting story that will convey both heart warming moments and heart breaking moments. Much of the story is strongly driven by romantic entanglements of the various characters present. In a world where there are two types of Humans in the form of land dwellers and sea dwellers, when 4 sea dwelling teenagers are forced to attend school alongside land dwellers; the internal struggles as well as the emotional impact of trying to adapt to the new situation, results in an interesting Slice of Life type of drama. read more
I found this review Helpful
MeowPower
Oct 12, 2014
STORY
The story may seem like a typical romance, with a sea people twist, but it's so much more. At first, it was focused on the children and their feelings for each other and the surface. But as the children realized they were apart of something much bigger, the series was about accepting change and how some people wish for it and some fear it. More importantly, I thought this series told a good mixture of fantasy romance quite well. I loved the characters and was interested in the story's lore. The themes of unrequited love, change, and acceptance, were mashed around well. But, there lies read more
I found this review Helpful