Ranked #161

Nagi no Asukara

Alternative Titles

English: Nagi-Asu: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asu Kara, Earth color of a calm
Japanese: 凪のあすから


Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Original
Genres: Drama, Fantasy, Romance
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.391 (scored by 70,137 users)
Ranked: #1612
Popularity: #182
Members: 158,016
Favorites: 4,331
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 29, 2015
*This is my first review on here so don't judge me if I don't write it as amazing as all the other ones ^
To this day and forth, this anime will stand as my favorite anime for various reasons.

*Story- This anime is set in a world where there is sea people and surface people. The story follows around the leading characters Manaka Mukaido, Hikari Sakishima, Chisaki Hiradaira, and Kaname Isaki. They meet some people from the surface (which helps the plot advance in later episodes) because they are forced to go to school up there. This is a story with a lot of read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
The age-old idiom of "don't judge a book by its cover" never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn't expect coming into this, it'd be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I've seen aired since 2011.

Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 1, 2015
Oh, I'm not gonna make myself any new friends with this review. PA Works is one of those studios that you either praise the shit out of or you just don't give a rat's ass about. Even for the number of "successes" that they've had in the past, I don't really find myself feeling anything but indifference toward the bulk of stuff that they've produced. Hell, I'm surprised I found myself giving this show a negative review. Granted, I've never truly liked a single show that they've ever released. PA Works' programmes aren't as visually enticing as A-1 Pictures', they're nowhere near as emotionally involving read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2015
Do NOT judge a book by its cover, I've learnt that very well from this anime...
At first I thought it would be a cheesy cute child's play but after watching it i realized how much meaning it had and how touching it was.
The summary gave me the idea of a few kids from magical sea cities just wanted to play on land and it sounded pretty simple and somewhat boring.....seriously do NOT trust that stupid summary it got me in tears and I literally got so into it I took a day and a half to just finish it!
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2014
When I first saw the description for Nagi No Asukara I really didn't know what to expect. The synopsis didn't really give off much of an idea of what this show was going to be like. So thinking that Nagi no Asukara would be another cheesy romantic comedy. I began watching with low expectations. Little did I know that what I was about to watch would be one of the most enjoyable slice of life anime I have seen in a long time.

A long time ago people lived and read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
I found this review Helpful
May 5, 2014
First a little background, having just watched Golden Time, I was on the look out for something new to watch and first came across Nagi no Asukara in the suggestions list. At a first glance at the anime and having read its description, I thought perhaps it could be worthwhile and decided to chance it. It didn't disappoint at all, this show was magical from start to finish and I couldn't have been happier to have stumbled across this gem. It certainly ranks among my top 7 favourite anime.

This show is a "slice of life, fantasy and romance" show in a nutshell, however it takes read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 7, 2015
It may be biased when a horror/thriller enthusiast reviews a slice of life/drama anime. However, who is to say that there isn't another horror/thriller enthusiast who wants to try watching Nagi no Asukara?

Now before I begin, allow me to describe what I enjoy in a story. I like it when death lurks just around the corner for as many characters as possible. It’s just one false step away from the snatching the life from them and they know it. I want to see characters tortured and bleeding, mentally-wise, and still persevere to the end.

Don’t get me wrong, I love and adore good endings and read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 17, 2015
For the first time ever I have decided to submit a review for a anime.
Wish me good luck!

When reading my review it's good to keep in mind that my own love life is lacking severely and have been for a really long time.
It's impossible to adress the faults of Nagi no Asukara without getting into
the couples and how it all ends up so don't keep reading unless you are ready for spoilers.

It all begins in a interesting setting and I really liked this show at some points as well as for the most part.

My problem with Nagi no Asukara you ask?
Facts that gets established in read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 21, 2015
This is my first review, so I thought I'd start with one of my favorite shows. Nagi no Asukara (eng. A Lull in the Sea) is, at its core, a heartwarming tale of growing up and learning how to love and let go. This is given to us packaged with a beautiful setting and fantasy story that deals with themes varying from loneliness, love, and loss to politics and family.

I highly recommend this anime to anyone who likes a good story. You'll have a good time.

*Personal Rating: 86.5/100*

-Story: 38/40
-Characters: 14/20
-Art/Animation: 19/20
-Sound Design/Music: 6.5/10
-Personal Enjoyment: 9/10

STORY (38/40)

Good fantasy stories in anime are surprisingly rare. Don't be read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 17, 2015
I really wanted to like Nagi no Asukara. The underwater setting was gorgeous along with the character design, and it's genre of romance drama was right up my ally.
It started off fairly well-I enjoyed the first couple of episodes. But after passing the 5th, I began to like the characters less and less. Manaka became annoying and overemotional, Hikari became nonsensical in his actions, and I still wouldn't be able to tell you s*** about Kaname (who's name I had to google to remember) because while the show gave decent amounts of development to its other main characters, Kaname didn't even have enough screen time read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
The ocean is a mass and mysterious place. It seems to be endless and stretches beyond our imaginations with its vast amount of creatures that lives within. If I was to live in the ocean, the possibilities would be endless to how my life would change. But in the world of Nagi no Asukara, living in the waters is not an uncommon sight to see. No, in fact it’s a way of life for sea people like Hikari Sakishima and Manaka Mukaido. Nagi No Asukara chronicles the lives of a group of young people as they go through stages of childhood, adolescence, and maturity that read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2015
Nagi no Asukara is a story about two races of humans. One of them lives on Earth the second in the sea. I've got to say, the setting is actually a great one and can give birth to a good story but it failed to do so.

Story: 3/10
As stated before, the setting is original. The plot line however fails to bring forth anything. To put it in simple terms, it was crap from start to end. Basically, we follow a few youngsters and their romance. There is no goal whatsoever and the romance isn't even properly developped. They completely scrapped the idea within the setting read more
I found this review Helpful
May 7, 2015
Note: The following review contains spoilers for the whole show.

I’m usually not much for romanticism, and Nagi no Asukara was a clear reminder of why.

Despite a pretty interesting lore around the sea (which is represented beautifully here), the show spends nearly all of its running time on teens drama, with a pointlessly complex love polygon. In the end, all the drama created by the lore of the sea god, and the sea, and all of that, was all resolved through the power of love. Riveting.

Maybe I wouldn’t see it as that big of a problem if the show didn’t remind me of Shinsekai Yori in read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 8, 2014
Since there are only good reviews about this anime, I thought it only fair to add in one that focused on the bad aspects of it. Keep in mind that this is only my opinion and that everyone is entitled to their own.

Let me start off with what I liked about the anime.

Art: 10/10
The art style was one that I'd never seen before, therefore it was very refreshing and overall very pleasing. Since turquoise blue is my favourite colour, the art was really a gold mine for me, seeing as all of the characters who come from the sea have turquoise coloured eyes. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 30, 2015
Nagi no Asukara is a story filled with love, both the painful side of love and the wonderful side of love. The pain of not being loved by someone you love, the pain of loving someone who love someone else is what is portrayed in the story. An aspect of loving others and caring for others more than their own feelings. Both fullfilled love, and unfulfilled love that turned out differently is being amazingly shown in this anime.

Nagi no Asukara is also filled with adventures, surprises and unexpected love between the seven main characters in the story. If you are expecting development between characters, romance, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 22, 2015
At first I didn't have any interest in watching this anime. Probably because I disliked the idea of 'underwater' world. Damn I was so stupid. This anime is amazing and absolutely remarkable. This anime is my #1 favorite, no kidding. It beats AnoHana and Clannad (it's my opinion tho).

Story: 9/10
Nagi No Asukara has a very complicated drama, I must say. But is it confusing? Don't worry, it's not. Yes, it is complicated but the show won't make it that confusing to you
Although something is bugging me. Towards the end I feel like there is a little bit of 'Ex Machina' moment. But that read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 11, 2015
Do you know that moment when, I don't know, sometimes happens and you have to, bitterly, put a series you like on-hold, and then after a while you go back to it, with the good feelings that you left it with, and then you slowly realize that it's not as awesome as you remembered it, but still lying to yourself that the "magic" is still there, only to get those hopes crushed even more and realize the utter bulshit you have been watching all this time? This is exactly what happened here for me.

Story - 3
The setting is, to say the least, and I read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 25, 2015
I enjoy watching slice of life rom-com anime. They sometimes tend to be relaxing, especially after watching something that is full of action. However I am always sceptical about watching romance anime. I always worry that the show will follow the path of every stereotypical series under that genre. So it's always good to see something different, that makes it just a bit more unique. Has Nagi no Asukara steered away from the stereotypes? Yes. Has it done it well? Definitely.


Long ago, humans lived in the sea. However many of them wanted to live on the surface, and so they moved, causing a split read more
I found this review Helpful