MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #88
Nagi no Asukara

Nagi no Asukara

Alternative Titles

English: Nagi-Asu: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asu Kara
Japanese: 凪のあすから

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 23453 users)
Ranked: #882
Popularity: #327
Members: 63,862
Favorites: 1,630
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Apr 8, 2014
HaXXspetten
The age-old idiom of ”don’t judge a book by its cover” never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn’t expect coming into this, it’d be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I’ve seen aired since 2011.


--Story--
Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
6 hours ago
CuppaSteve
The coming-of-age tale is a story that's been told time and time again in different forms across all mediums of art. It's a timeless story in that the feelings one encounters while growing up are so vast and diverse that it's difficult to fully capture it all into one work, no matter how vast it may be. It's also very difficult to present this story in a manner that's genuinely creative and original, but Nagi no Asukara happens to do just that. Nagi is a coming-of-age story that, while it doesn't compose the sweeping mass of emotions experienced while growing up perfectly, certainly does a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Shiroi_Usagi
If I had to define "beautiful" with an anime, I would have to say Nagi no Asukara.

The anime industry often has a tough time dealing with the idea of love. Very few have ever portrayed it correctly, and even then it's difficult to move us. They either fall flat because of pacing issues or the plot fails to convey a character's motivation causing climactic moments seem melodramatic or forced. Nagi no Asukara doesn't face these issues. In fact, the show has been one of the most well-paced anime I have ever seen in terms of character and plot development. I will get to that soon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
wumbmasta
Nagi no Asukara Review:

Are ya ready kids? I can’t hear youuu!!! OHHHH!!! Who lives in a village under the sea? Hikari Sakishima! Ill-tempered, in love, tsundere is he! Hikari Sakishima!
Joking aside, my first impression of this show was that it was going to be just another slice of life anime, this time set in Bikini Bottom rather than in your average high school… Oh how wrong I was. Nagi no Asukara turned out to be sooo much more, and is not only currently my personal favorite show of 2014 so far, but also a future classic if enough people are smart enough to decide to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 7, 2014
AzureHakua
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
ggultra2764
Nagi no Asakura is focused around a group of four middle schoolers who live in a village under the sea and go to the surface for schooling, even with some hostilities between humans and sea dwellers for the former's abandoning of the seas to live on land. The series starts off focused on exploring the tensions between the sea dwellers and humans, with the four children learning to adjust to life on land and accept being among both races. This is mainly shown with Hikari who at first hates humans until his increased understanding of the close connections between his kind and humanity lead him read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
4 hours ago
doug23
You ever begin a show with moderate to low expectations, find more than you were looking for, get super into it, hype it up to your friends, and get so god damned excited for it every week that you just can't contain yourself (an exaggeration, of course)? Nagi no Asukara was that show for me. It blew my expectations away with it's excellent character development, good story, great art and sound direction, and just overall feel. "But then why is it a 6", you may ask. Because endings can cripple a show. A stool with 3 legs will be wobbly if one leg is too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Stark700
The ocean is a mass and mysterious place. It seems to be endless and stretches beyond our imaginations with its vast amount of creatures that lives within. If I was to live in the ocean, the possibilities would be endless to how my life would change. But in the world of Nagi no Asukara, living in the waters is not an uncommon sight to see. No, in fact it’s a way of life for sea people like Hikari Sakishima and Manaka Mukaido. Nagi No Asukara chronicles the lives of a group of young people as they go through stages of childhood, adolescence, and maturity that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2014
Palkaline
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
Mikashimotaku
Nagi no Asukara is a whirlwind. It's beautiful and breathtaking, like the tide crashing against the sand, the sunset reflecting off the ocean's glassy surface. But it's also chaotic and brash like a tsunami wave. P.A Works has created an anime that is charming, sparkling, and can reach into your heart.

Story: 8
The premise of Nagi no Asukara is 4 childhood friends, Hikari, Manaka, Chisaki, and Kaname live in the sea village of Shishishio. They are able to live underwater thanks to the layer of protective 'skin' called ena. With their school closing down, they must attend school up on the surface, where they meet new read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 5, 2014
kuuurt
After realizing the fact that Mari Okada was working on the screenplay of Nagi no Asukara, I just knew that it was going to be a wild and bumpy ride. As most of you probably already know, Okada has worked on a lot of anime like Ano Hana, Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo, Toradora!, and True Tears, all of which are prominent titles in the romantic drama genre. Needless to say, Nagi-Asu obediently followed the footsteps of Okada's previous works.

Nagi no Asukara is a manga adaptation produced by P.A. Works. The series revolves around 5 friends, 4 of which came from the sea. After their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 4, 2014
TheArchangel
Taking place in a society where humanity is very clearly divided between sea and land, "Nagi no Asukara" tells the story of a group of children from the sea who challenges the social order by attending school on the surface, making friends along the way and learning the truth behind the world. Centered primarily around Hikari Sakishima, the story dives into the connections between characters and unveiling the mysteries that inhabit the divided land. As the small circle of friends become exposed to the surface world, new challenges emerge and romance blooms, playing an integral part to the grander tale of acceptance and the inevitability read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 6, 2014
bloodgods
Nagi no Asukara is a drama about four children that live under the sea, and their merge as they are forced to attend sea on the surface. A lot of romance, tensions, and events unfolds to leave an extremely memorable and impactful series. As a person that usually doesn't go for dramas, starting this series at first seemed a little risky. It's not unlikely that I would get bored with a similar series as far as the genre goes. However, Nagi no Asukara proved me wrong and thereafter. This turned out to be a stunning work of art and definitely the most underrated show of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 17, 2014
yeslelno123
This anime was rather dull and childish. "Emotions" and "change". This didn't really carry any message with it except the repetition of these two motives that aren't even deeply explored. Same shit you see everywhere except that here they actually even managed to contradict themselves a few times and have opinions that are logically wrong. Did they reach any conclusions on either of the subjects they tried to explore? Oh gosh they did, "the world is filled with beautiful shining emotions that are passed down and surpass time". A lot of attempts to be serious sound like a badly written essay of a 14 year read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
PyraXadon
Change is something that exists as a part of everyday life. One day is different from the next, and people all over the world must adapt to the different circumstances or problems that are placed in front of them, such as having to deal with a suddenly harsh winter, food shortages, and the loss of a family member. As one of the few shows from the Fall 2013 season that had a large episode length, Nagi No Asukara, or a Lull in the Sea, explains the topic of change extremely well, as contrary to its name, a lull it is not.

Writer's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
MidnightsLament
There is NOTHING I can tell you that can prepare you for what this series brings to the table, emotionally, symbolically, morally, everything. I did a slight preview of this show before, but that gives it no justice it deserves., so this time I’m going all out on what all this series did right, and the very little it did wrong.
I’m not doing my typical genre review, because this is not my typical type of review, but just know that everything correlates fantastically (also no sub-section scores).

Story:
I hate reviewing story. If I am or am not the audience that this is directed at, cannot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 17, 2014
DuhCruzz
Directed By: Toshiya Shinohara
Produced By: P.A. Works
Script from: Mari Okada
AN EXTREMELY COMPACT REVIEW

Story: essentially a coming of age Soap Opera with a Demigod and Conflict between surface and sea people thrown in the mix

Art: P.A. Works are always on their A-Game (HOLY ish Shioshishio is gorgeous!!)

Sound: I know what water sounds like now

Character: For a large cast, ALMOST every character is developed well (Japanese people and their feelings man.)

Enjoyment: I would've had a better time if someone didn't cry every 3 minutes.
Viewing Recommended: YES

Final Statement:
"Go home Sayu, no one gives a s**t about your feelings."
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 4, 2014
RunawayPanda
Well to start things off, I'd just like to point out that this is my first review, so don't go all salty on me if i say something wrong.

Story:
Well everyone pack your bags because we're going on a feel trip!
The story is centered in a fantasy world where the sea just about the most important thing. Everyone comes from the sea and those who still live in it worship the sea God, as do those on the land, but not as greatly. The story is deeply driven by the characters. Personally, I love these types of stories. This anime was an emotional roller coaster read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2014
5upercell
(Mostly spoiler-free but be wary if you're one of those people that hates any type of spoiler)

"This world is filled with so many shining feelings."

Nagi no Asukara, an original story by P.A. Works is an unequivocal tale about harmony and relentless sacrifice. Now, Nagi no Asukara was not something that I was expecting nor hyped up for. It was just a series that was there, had an interesting unique premise, and an original story which was the selling point for me since most anime these days are adaptations of manga and light novels. The series in my opinion, was quietly hiding behind the giants of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
12 hours ago
jealousghost
First off, let me just say that this show is fantastic. Based on the raw preview I saw (no subs), I assumed this show would be a cute, possibly surreal (maybe not, maybe just symbolism) slice of life show, similar to K-on...but with water. So I sat down to watch a subbed episode and see what it was about, thinking I was going to be watching a comedy or drama, and not really having high hopes for it as I originally thought it was a bit too cutesy. Wow, was I wrong! And I'm so glad I was!

ART: This show is anything but cutesy. Well, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices