Ranked #385

Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori

Alternative Titles

English: Hell Girl: Two Mirrors
Synonyms: Jigoku Shoujo 2, Hell Girl 2, Hell Girl Futakomori, Hell Girl Second Cage, Hell Girl: The Two Prisoners, Jigoku Shoujo -Futagomori-
Japanese: 地獄少女 二籠


Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2006 to Apr 7, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.121 (scored by 31,852 users)
Ranked: #3852
Popularity: #614
Members: 66,979
Favorites: 478
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jul 26, 2007
Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori is the sequel Jigoku Shoujo. Its basically where the previous story left off. Enma Ai continuing her work as Jigoku Shoujo. The same job she has had for the past 400 years. This time around, it appears that the staff has listened to the fans of this show and pretty much made a brand new show. It still follows the same formula as part one, plot, retribution, and conculsion, but this time around they seem to mix it up alot more often this time around. Some episodes they progress it normally, in other ep's they tarintino it and start from the middle read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 18, 2008
Title: Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori

Anime: Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori continues to be directed by Takahiro Omori and produced by Studio Deen. It is twenty-six episodes long and ran from October 7th, 2006 to April 6th, 2007. Futakomori has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Story: There is a rumor that if there's someone giving you absolute hell and you want to get revenge on them, there's a website that you can access only at midnight, known as Hell Correspondence. Once the name is submitted, Ai Enma (aka Jigoku Shoujo/Hell Girl) will appear to the client and give them a straw doll with a red string wrapped around read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 17, 2011
So, you people thirsty for a second round of Ai Enma action want to know if it's worth it, right? Well, the answer is: maybe. Read below and find out.

*I'm going to make a lot of references/comparisons to the first season (which I've also reviewed), so this review may not make a lot of sense if you haven't seen it. (Watching Futakomori without watching season one would be pretty stupid anyway.)

Story: 9. This time around, we're treated to the refreshing perspective of Ai and her helpers--as opposed to only the viewpoint of the victim resorting to desperate measures. The tradeoff read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 30, 2008
Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori, being the direct sequel to Jigoku Shoujo, offers more of the same but does everything much better.

The story centers around a website called Jigoku Tsuushin (Hotline to Hell), which can only be visited at midnight. If you type in a person that you hate's name and your hate is fierce enough, the red-eyed, black-clad Enma Ai will appear before you and offer you a straw doll. If you pull off the red string attached to the doll, your antagonist will be sent immediately to hell (after being punished for his/her sins if she/he has any). However, by doing this, you automatically read more
I found this review Helpful
May 27, 2013
"Hey, did you hear about Hell Correspondence? They say if you submit someone's name there you can send that person to hell". These ever spreading rumors have given Enma Ai the chance to fill the pits of Hell with many a soul hardening her heart with every request sent to her.

The second season continues with more hatred and suffering as this well designed story advances revealing details about the main characters in an endless chain that mimics reality, it proves to us over and over again what hatred does to us, it turns us into something inhuman.

One of the various improvements made since the first read more
I found this review Helpful
May 14, 2012
"Ima Nanji Ka Oshiete Yume To Itte Dakishimete" sounds familiar, right?

The new Hate Cycle has improved & is better, faster & stronger.

it truly is

The scenarios in most episodes are more well thought of than the previous season and this where we see how Hell Girl really feels for the humans. The "Shibata needs to stop Hell Girl" Team is
not present anymore and it's actually new to me ( well kinda ) because no one tries to stop Hell Girl & no one was actually able to stop Hell Girl in this time around.

Story - 9
As I read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 28, 2011
The Second Season of Jigoku Shoujo has a few different names: Futakomori, Two Cages, Two Mirrors and my favorite Jigoku Shoujo 2: Electric Boogaloo. Ok I’m kidding on that last one, though Ai sending people to hell via break dancing would be entertaining .Regardless of what it is called it’s still the much improved second season of Jigoku Shoujo, so let’s dive right in.

The stories are the first big improvement, dropping the first season’s clear cut black and white morality for a more realistic grey morality. Gone is the pure innocent victim who is tortured by the big bad tormenter. Now both the victim and read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 27, 2008
The Story - It's actually pretty, well, not clear. Actually, Jigoku Shoujo's story line is about a girl who sends people to hell. Actually, The story plot only applies at episode 18 + or so. I'll give it a 9, though.

The Art -Are you kidding? The graphic rocks! It actually made it 3d like, kinda like the Haruhi Suzumiya graphics. It actually is believable, ah. I wish the Hell Girl exist. :<. Anyways, I'll give it a 10.

Sound -The Sound is fantastic. Indigo Dye actually got Ai's emotion coming and going. The Opening song is pretty good, too. 10.

Character -It clears all Ai's assistant's erm, read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 11, 2009
Before we get to my actual review, I would like the viewers to understand that I AM NOT A SUMMARIZER. If you want to know what's the plot, read the SUMMARY, and don't mark me down for not saying anything about the story. I tell you what elements are impacting in the story and what my opinion is. ANYWAYS...

The Second season of Jigoku Shoujo lived up to it's expectations and once again, delivered that supernatural and eerie feel that we love it for. Enma Ai's return to the business was gracefully reinstated after the ending of the first season and was even more "scary." Plus read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 1, 2010
The direct sequel to Jigoku Shoujo, and Enma Ai is back. Ai and her followers continue the job of sending off people to hell, but this time a new, mysterious character is introduced and another incredible season starts again.

Upgraded story, upgraded characters and upgraded tragedy! The Futakomori will show the horrifying evil sides within you. Again like the first season, the second season comes back with more stories full of remorse. It won't let viewers down and the story is AMAZING!!! The series is similar to its prequel and instead of the Shibata family, a new family will be involved deeply with Hell Girl.

The characters read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 1, 2008
Story (7.7) - Well, this aspect is like the first season of this anime. Each episode has an own story, and theres almost no sequence till the last episodes. However, in this season the episodes are much less formulatic, i mean, in this one they give us new situations and the end is not always the same, i mean, there are some that dont seal the contract for several reasons, by other words there are more diferrences between the episodes..i gave 7.2 to the first season, and i gave +0.5 pts since it got slighty better.

Art (8.3) - Art is good, the design is nice, read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 16, 2010
“Hell still lingers around”

The Story...

After Enma Ai knowing her past, the Hell Hotline still give services to people who have grudges growing in their hearts. As she continues working as the Hell Girl, there are lot more tales to see along the way.

It is a continuation of the preceding series which still focuses on taking revenge, giving chances, second thoughts, and bringing entertainment on its mystery, supernatural, and horror with better drama on it. As the story moves along, there are a lot of changes and slightly improvement happened, as making the short tales pleasing by putting better depth on it, which becomes entertaining read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2011
The second season of Hell Girl is a great improvement over the first season. While it is still marred with the repetitious developments with the victim and tormentor at a number of points, many of the character stories that Ai and her companions become entangled in are a bit more grey in their developments this time around. Characters among both victim and tormentor in many episodes for this season do come off as flawed this time around where the victim doesn't always come as righteous in their justifications of wanting to banish their tormentor and the tormentor does come off as having redeemable traits that read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 12, 2012
While this is a continuation of the first Jigoku Shoujo, it is quite different.
For one, the main character from the last season isn't here (not really surprising), and the story is told predominantly from Jigoku Shoujo's point of view.
Two, the authors were obviously annoyed with the one-story-per-episode format from before, so... they kept it, and toyed and played with it (very successfully, I might add).
Three, this series is noticeably darker that the previous, and if the previous depressing stories mostly ended in happy endings (of sorts), then these ones don't always follow that rule.
This is pretty much everything you need to know about Futakomori read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 25, 2008
The following review is for both seasons of Hell Girl, because they are really part of the same story;

Ok, so we've all read the Lord of the Rings.We all know the trick to it: as soon as a description passage starts, skip 5 pages and continue reading.Same is true for this anime: if you're not prepared, you'd be in serious danger of dropping it, because both seasons , at least for their first halves are so awfully repetitive: Person hates somebody, person contacts Hell Girl, Hell Girl sends said somebody to hell, black mark appears on the contractor's chest in order to remind them that read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 27, 2013
Well, basically this is the sequel of Jigoku Shoujo, so I bet everyone who watched the first part is expecting a much better story, with deeper characters. Was the plot any better? Honestly, I cannot answer that question.

There are these episodes in the beginning that kind of irritate me. I mean, as soon as I started watching Jigoku Shoujo, I figured that Ai's companions are just mythical creatures, made up so they can fit the action. I wasn't really expecting any explanation as for what were they, where they came from, why they were helping Ai and such. Just like when you read a fairytale read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 9, 2012
They are so back! This time more exciting and the characters are nastier and more irritating than ever. With some revelations about our beloved main characters.

Every story is a lot more exciting. It is made more complicating and so every each story is anticipating. There are even more twists and details in every story which makes it a lot more exciting that the previous season. Serving the revenge by the main characters is a little bit different and more exciting. It is more theatrical and more dramatic. There are more important revelations. The truth is gradually unveiling. We get to see how our lovely yet read more
I found this review Helpful