Ranked #493

Ghost Hunt

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Hunt
Japanese: ゴーストハント


Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.011 (scored by 50,520 users)
Ranked: #4932
Popularity: #361
Members: 103,547
Favorites: 2,012
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Oct 20, 2014
When looking at the different genres Ghost Hunt takes on I could only think it was doomed on arrival, taking on the supernatural horror mystery genre as well as the Shoujo Romance genre? How can it possibly present both of those properly and simultaneously? The answer is it couldn't.

Story (3): The premise revolves around a group of paranormal investigators who investigate reports of spiritual activity and as such the series is divided into 7 cases as opposed to having one overarching story. Sounds like it could be interesting however what lets the plot-lines down for pretty much all of these cases are the poorly written read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 20, 2014
Ghost Hunt's backstory and setups of how the various supernatural forces operate are well done, as well as the actual mysteries they are involved in. However, what distracted its best qualities are the forced relationships and relying on predictable tropes to advance plot elements. My impression is that Ghost Hunter may have been altered to cater to target audiences by dumbing down the plot and dialog at some points, but when the actual investigation storyline calls for complex explanations and logic, the characters inexplicably gains 200 points in IQ to figure everything out.

Case in point: after almost a year working for ghost hunter experts, the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2007
Ghost Hunt is one of those rare gems that I accidentally stumbled across, and I'm so thankful that I did.

The greatest asset of this series is the characters. Their personalities are rich and engaging, and their memorable interactions with one another is one of the greatest selling points of this series. It is one of the main aspects that makes you want to keep watching episode to episode.

Yes, the storyline is superb, and the arcs are usually kept to 3 to 4 episodes. This keeps the series watchable without frustrating the viewer, waiting for an arc or storyline to end.

This series is read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 19, 2008
The story for Ghost Hunt is a very fun and interesting one. And at least for me, unique. It takes on an unusual way of telling about ghost hunting, giving you a look into the more scientific and realistic ways ghost hunting actually works.(Ar rather would work if it was real)
It is also told well, the episodes, or cases, are all full of twists that keep you guessing and wondering what's going to happen next. And it never fails to give you a complete and satisfying ending. Not to mention that each case is very different from the others, so there is a lot read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 22, 2015
(I try to keep my reviews short and sweet and straight to the point without giving away spoilers with that said lets get this show on the road)

This anime had potential to be something more however I felt like they took short cuts.
Character development was zero but overall enjoyable.

This show has

1. Supernatural (They fight/slay ghost,spirits and monster)
2. No gore/blood (A little here and there both nothing special)
3. No romance (Nothing heavy except for crushes)
4. Action ( They fight the supernatural)
5. Comedy (Little jokes nothing to take over the main reason of the anime)

Overall 14+ should watch this anime. Anime is good if you are read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 7, 2015
7/10 -
I found this anime to be more a lot more charming than scary, which is actually a good thing. Since the genre isn't listed as horror, but Occult Detective I am going to assume that it wasn't intended to be that scary. (Some people found it to be really scary, as I did not).

I feel this is something probably overlooked time and time again, which is a shame really. No, it's not the greatest anime you will ever see but there is something about it that keeps you intrigued, and wanting to watch more. It is what you would call a hidden gem.

This read more
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2015
Ghost Hunt is not treated with the respect it deserves I think.It has great suspense and mystery, fun characters, and knows when to be serious and when to have a laugh. A friend recommended it to me and just by looking at it, I wasn't impressed. After watching it, I changed my tune.

Though our main lead can be annoying, I find the other characters fascinating. They aren't the most fleshed out, but a lot of the little subtleties I find very endearing.

The music is nice, haunting at times, and the show knows that silence is golden during certain scenes.

From what I have heard the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 8, 2013
I love Ghost Hunt, have loved it and always will!

This is my second time watching the series. The first was around 5 or 6 years ago and back then, I've already decided that it's ONE OF THE MOST ENTERTAINING ANIME that I've watched in my entire life.

I don't usually watch anime series of supernatural genre (although Supernatural is my favorite US TV show) so I only pick those which are really worth my time. Ghost Hunt along with XXXholic remain to be the shows that can give me GENUINE SCARES all the time. I love to watch these shows at night but THEY read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2009
Ghost hunt.
Pretty attractive name for those looking for some horror anime. Well, you might not completely be in the blood/gore/heart attacks section but you'll definitely regret if you choose to leave it.
It is quite a unique anime. The series is not a typical fantasy/thriller horror. It infact, shows 'ghost hunting' by means of technology and modern day equipment and ofcourse, the old purification and chanting ways are included too.

The series does not have a main plot. There are small arcs which usually don't last for more than 3-4 episodes thus not dragging the anime and neither taking away the viewer's attention. Every arc is read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 17, 2013
GHOST HUNT was actually a difficult anime series to watch. It is a series of ghost hunts broken down into chapters. Typically, four episodes make up each chapter. The first chapter had a slow predictable plot and unremarkable characters, so I stopped watching. Later, on a whim, I went back and started watching again. The second chapter's writing was so much better, and the stories kept providing great jump scares! Plus, through developments, the characters started to come to life, making me care more about their plight. So, all in all, I was glad I gave GHOST HUNT a second chance.
I found this review Helpful
Jun 8, 2010
Ghost Hunt is another anime that I randomly picked just for the sake of it. Ghost Hunt is a 2006 anime adapted from a series of novels that started back in 1989. Unlike most adaptations, Ghost Hunt is not a direct one. While both of them keep the same characters and the same background, the novels were actually oriented towards young girl (shoujo) while the anime tends itself toward young male audience or perhaps a mix audience. Ghost Hunt was actually a nice find at first. The anime started fluidly and was very interesting at first. However, almost everything that made it enjoyable was lost read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 12, 2015
I'll be real, this is my guilty pleasure show. I've watched it through about 8 times now. In reality it is just pretty good but I absolutely love it. I try not to watch it too often because I'm afraid of ruining it. I'm not sure what it is, but I really like the characters and the demonology lessons and even the slight romance (this is not a romance anime) between Mai and Naru. I'd 100% recommend you try it but I also will totally understand if it doesn't grab you.
I found this review Helpful
Oct 8, 2014
16 year old Mai Taniyama is a happy-go-lucky orphan who loves to hang out with her friends in creepy places and trade ghost stories with them. One evening, as they’re doing this in an empty classroom, they’re interrupted by Kazuya Shibuya, a paranormal researcher who’s been hired to investigate the old, abandoned school house next door. Well, prompted by this, Mai decides to explore the building herself, upon which she accidentily damages both Kazuya’s camera as well as his camera-man. In lieu of a proper monetary compensation, Mai agrees to work with Kazuya as his assistant, and after one case, she gets read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 12, 2014
Ghost Hunt is one of those animes where I was just looking for a cool anime to watch just for the heck of it,and I can say that I will never regret choosing to watch it ^_^

I personally loved the anime,because the music was amazing and set the stage for the exciting/mysterious mood the anime has.

The characters are very memorable and are one of the main things that kept me watching.
The anime develops the characters really well and made me care more when something happened to them during an investigation.

The plot is probably my favorite thing about the show besides the characters,because it took a read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 8, 2008
An anime mixed with two Hs, horror and humour.

When i started watching this anime, my first impression was "it doesnt look as promising as the title", as i didnt find it scary at all. With that, I was quite tempted to hold it. But anyway, i cont'ed and much thanks to that, the stories behind just grow on me. Though it is abit draggy at the front, but as the anime progresses, each hunt is more dangerous than the others, with increasing suspense and scary factor.Characters wise, it is quite funny to see them attacking each other verbally, and how they bond togther, not forgetting read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 30, 2012
Ghost Hunt is a supernatural mystery series from Fuyumi Ono, the creator of Twelve Kingdoms and Shiki. Like most of its genre, show that plays on people's fascination with the eerie and unknown: haunted houses, poltergeists, possessions, etc. to draw its audience in and spook them. What sets it apart as better than a lot of its kin is mostly in its execution, but also Ono's knack of using myths and superstitions to build strong mythos in her stories.

The show consists of loosely connected supernatural cases follows Mai Taniyama, a high school girl who works part time for paranormal investigator Kazuya Shibuya, better known as read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 28, 2015
I first came across the manga Ghost Hunt maybe 4-5 years ago and I was immediately hooked to the story and art. I didn't realize that Ghost Hunt had an anime until about 2 years ago.
But anyway, having read both the manga and watched the anime, here is my review.

Story 10
Having been adapted from the manga, this show sticks pretty much 100% to the manga, which is pretty surprising to me since most other animes are not so. 10/10 just for this

Art 10
Not much to say here. JC Staff has been traditionally among my favorites in terms of art.

Sound 8
Maybe it's my laptop or headphones, read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
Ghost Hunt is, in my opinion, a little under-appreciated. In fact, I never knew or heard anything about it before watching, but when I saw it, it caught my attention. And I am glad that it did!

Story 8/10: I will admit, the story is a little slow in the beginning but it definitely gets better as you go along. It is a really intriguing and different show, kind of like a better version of those ghost hunting shows on TV, hence the name Ghost Hunt. The story is divided into case files with each case file having a total of two to three episodes. read more
I found this review Helpful
May 29, 2008
The story started out well for me, but to be honest it wasn't good enough to keep me interested for long. The problem with an anime like this is that there are hardly any common threads throughout each episode block. Every 3 or so episodes features its own storyline and while that may work for a title such as Jigoku Shoujo there is no balance between character development and plot to really engage the viewer. We hardly learn anything about the characters besides there occupation outside "ghost busting". And the female lead seemed too naive, which is pretty ironic seeing as that was the only read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 8, 2015
Ghost Hunt is a decent anime, but it does struggle with pacing, the anime is laid out as arcs containing 3-4 episodes. There are times where you just feel like giving up because it starts to get boring, and although with the expection of a few comedic moments, the overall character developement is poor and the female MC is really annoying. I will give it some credit though, it does have a few moments where it will make you shed a tear, or send a chill down your spine but these are far and few between. The later arcs do get darker especially the 2nd read more
I found this review Helpful