Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ghost Hunt


Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Hunt
Japanese: ゴーストハント

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 55,994 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #405
Members: 116,869
Favorites: 2,202

Reviews

Chelle
Feb 20, 2007
Ghost Hunt is one of those rare gems that I accidentally stumbled across, and I'm so thankful that I did.

The greatest asset of this series is the characters. Their personalities are rich and engaging, and their memorable interactions with one another is one of the greatest selling points of this series. It is one of the main aspects that makes you want to keep watching episode to episode.

Yes, the storyline is superb, and the arcs are usually kept to 3 to 4 episodes. This keeps the series watchable without frustrating the viewer, waiting for an arc or storyline to end.

This series is read more
I found this review Helpful
nisinator
Oct 20, 2014
When looking at the different genres Ghost Hunt takes on I could only think it was doomed on arrival, taking on the supernatural horror mystery genre as well as the Shoujo Romance genre? How can it possibly present both of those properly and simultaneously? The answer is it couldn't.


Story (3): The premise revolves around a group of paranormal investigators who investigate reports of spiritual activity and as such the series is divided into 7 cases as opposed to having one overarching story. Sounds like it could be interesting however what lets the plot-lines down for pretty much all of these cases are the poorly written read more
I found this review Helpful
SDman
Sep 20, 2014
Ghost Hunt's backstory and setups of how the various supernatural forces operate are well done, as well as the actual mysteries they are involved in. However, what distracted its best qualities are the forced relationships and relying on predictable tropes to advance plot elements. My impression is that Ghost Hunter may have been altered to cater to target audiences by dumbing down the plot and dialog at some points, but when the actual investigation storyline calls for complex explanations and logic, the characters inexplicably gains 200 points in IQ to figure everything out.

Case in point: after almost a year working for ghost hunter experts, the read more
I found this review Helpful
Feena-c
Mar 19, 2008
Story:
The story for Ghost Hunt is a very fun and interesting one. And at least for me, unique. It takes on an unusual way of telling about ghost hunting, giving you a look into the more scientific and realistic ways ghost hunting actually works.(Ar rather would work if it was real)
It is also told well, the episodes, or cases, are all full of twists that keep you guessing and wondering what's going to happen next. And it never fails to give you a complete and satisfying ending. Not to mention that each case is very different from the others, so there is a lot read more
I found this review Helpful
k0k0
Sep 23, 2009
Ghost hunt.
Pretty attractive name for those looking for some horror anime. Well, you might not completely be in the blood/gore/heart attacks section but you'll definitely regret if you choose to leave it.
It is quite a unique anime. The series is not a typical fantasy/thriller horror. It infact, shows 'ghost hunting' by means of technology and modern day equipment and ofcourse, the old purification and chanting ways are included too.

The series does not have a main plot. There are small arcs which usually don't last for more than 3-4 episodes thus not dragging the anime and neither taking away the viewer's attention. Every arc is read more
I found this review Helpful
Wilio
Jun 8, 2010
Ghost Hunt is another anime that I randomly picked just for the sake of it. Ghost Hunt is a 2006 anime adapted from a series of novels that started back in 1989. Unlike most adaptations, Ghost Hunt is not a direct one. While both of them keep the same characters and the same background, the novels were actually oriented towards young girl (shoujo) while the anime tends itself toward young male audience or perhaps a mix audience. Ghost Hunt was actually a nice find at first. The anime started fluidly and was very interesting at first. However, almost everything that made it enjoyable was lost read more
I found this review Helpful
alk
Feb 8, 2008
An anime mixed with two Hs, horror and humour.

When i started watching this anime, my first impression was "it doesnt look as promising as the title", as i didnt find it scary at all. With that, I was quite tempted to hold it. But anyway, i cont'ed and much thanks to that, the stories behind just grow on me. Though it is abit draggy at the front, but as the anime progresses, each hunt is more dangerous than the others, with increasing suspense and scary factor.Characters wise, it is quite funny to see them attacking each other verbally, and how they bond togther, not forgetting read more
I found this review Helpful
docalion
Jun 8, 2013
I love Ghost Hunt, have loved it and always will!

This is my second time watching the series. The first was around 5 or 6 years ago and back then, I've already decided that it's ONE OF THE MOST ENTERTAINING ANIME that I've watched in my entire life.

I don't usually watch anime series of supernatural genre (although Supernatural is my favorite US TV show) so I only pick those which are really worth my time. Ghost Hunt along with XXXholic remain to be the shows that can give me GENUINE SCARES all the time. I love to watch these shows at night but THEY read more
I found this review Helpful
snivek101
May 29, 2008
The story started out well for me, but to be honest it wasn't good enough to keep me interested for long. The problem with an anime like this is that there are hardly any common threads throughout each episode block. Every 3 or so episodes features its own storyline and while that may work for a title such as Jigoku Shoujo there is no balance between character development and plot to really engage the viewer. We hardly learn anything about the characters besides there occupation outside "ghost busting". And the female lead seemed too naive, which is pretty ironic seeing as that was the only read more
I found this review Helpful
MDDuggan
Jul 17, 2013
GHOST HUNT was actually a difficult anime series to watch. It is a series of ghost hunts broken down into chapters. Typically, four episodes make up each chapter. The first chapter had a slow predictable plot and unremarkable characters, so I stopped watching. Later, on a whim, I went back and started watching again. The second chapter's writing was so much better, and the stories kept providing great jump scares! Plus, through developments, the characters started to come to life, making me care more about their plight. So, all in all, I was glad I gave GHOST HUNT a second chance.
I found this review Helpful
09io78ty
Jun 1, 2007
I love this anime, reasons:

1) Each episode is full of mystery, i have no idea whats going to happen next, and it's fun to try and unravel the mystery.

2) Some of the scenes are really tense, my heart was pounding so fast- some of it was really scary.

3) I liked how Mai's powers grew throughout the series.

4) Hmmmm...I liked Naru-chan although he was annoying in some episodes.

5) If ya like supernatural, mystery, horror, etc...u will love this.

6) Some parts in episodes are super scary ( well thats what i think) i actually screamed and nearly fell off my chair, but then after the fright i read more
I found this review Helpful
BRB-kun
Mar 27, 2016
Ghost Hunt is the closest anime has gone to truly being in the supernatural genre. Horror and the supernatural generally does not translate well in animated digital form simply because we already know from the start that is not real. There is simply a lack of mystery and eeriness that live action can easily produce hence the reason why anime of these kind rather goes to the mystery, thriller or romance path. It was a bold move on the part of the anime but the execution is only half decent.

The show is pretty good in executing how supernatural events occur and I applaud it read more
I found this review Helpful
zeru02
Jan 24, 2008
If you wanna get scared, entertained and learn at the same time, this anime is definitely a must-see! Ghost Hunt lives up to its name, delivering an effective plot that will leave you glued to your seat. It has that perfect mix of scariness and humor, with characters that makes the story come alive. Some parts where they explain psychic phenomenons are interesting, as well as an insight on japanese occult. There are several humorous situations as well, the episodes are well-written, making you scream at one time and laugh at the next. The opening theme is pretty cool too, kinda reminds you of that read more
I found this review Helpful
Minamino_K
Jan 20, 2008
Okay, everyone has seen that T.V Series called Ghoster Hunter right??

Well, let's just say that "Ghost Hunt" is just about the same thing, but 10X's cooler and freakier. I'm so wrapped up just from watching it. >< I wished I didn't see it at night. FRIKIN DOLLS!!! Argh, this is a great series filled with suspense and drama and just watching the first episode you have to now what will happen next. The cast of characters are all so colorful and I enjoy them very much. MOSTLY NARU THE NARCISSIST!!! <3 I love that nickname Mai gave him. ^^ You got to watch this,and read more
I found this review Helpful
Stardust_Hime
May 22, 2015
Ghost Hunt is not treated with the respect it deserves I think.It has great suspense and mystery, fun characters, and knows when to be serious and when to have a laugh. A friend recommended it to me and just by looking at it, I wasn't impressed. After watching it, I changed my tune.

Though our main lead can be annoying, I find the other characters fascinating. They aren't the most fleshed out, but a lot of the little subtleties I find very endearing.

The music is nice, haunting at times, and the show knows that silence is golden during certain scenes.

From what I have heard the read more
I found this review Helpful
daisyfang4
Jul 22, 2015
(I try to keep my reviews short and sweet and straight to the point without giving away spoilers with that said lets get this show on the road)

This anime had potential to be something more however I felt like they took short cuts.
Character development was zero but overall enjoyable.

This show has

1. Supernatural (They fight/slay ghost,spirits and monster)
2. No gore/blood (A little here and there both nothing special)
3. No romance (Nothing heavy except for crushes)
4. Action ( They fight the supernatural)
5. Comedy (Little jokes nothing to take over the main reason of the anime)

Overall 14+ should watch this anime. Anime is good if you are read more
I found this review Helpful
NeverKnowsBest26
Oct 30, 2012
Ghost Hunt is a supernatural mystery series from Fuyumi Ono, the creator of Twelve Kingdoms and Shiki. Like most of its genre, show that plays on people's fascination with the eerie and unknown: haunted houses, poltergeists, possessions, etc. to draw its audience in and spook them. What sets it apart as better than a lot of its kin is mostly in its execution, but also Ono's knack of using myths and superstitions to build strong mythos in her stories.

The show consists of loosely connected supernatural cases follows Mai Taniyama, a high school girl who works part time for paranormal investigator Kazuya Shibuya, better known as read more
I found this review Helpful
AShinyDewott
Oct 12, 2014
Ghost Hunt is one of those animes where I was just looking for a cool anime to watch just for the heck of it,and I can say that I will never regret choosing to watch it ^_^

I personally loved the anime,because the music was amazing and set the stage for the exciting/mysterious mood the anime has.

The characters are very memorable and are one of the main things that kept me watching.
The anime develops the characters really well and made me care more when something happened to them during an investigation.

The plot is probably my favorite thing about the show besides the characters,because it took a read more
I found this review Helpful
FNatt
Oct 12, 2009
=-= Story =-=

When I started watching Ghost Hunt, I really didn't know what to expect. Up until then, I hadn't seen a series that could literally "scare" me. Other so-called horror series like Elfen Lied or Hellsing never even made me budge. I'm not saying those aren't good series ( Elfen is one of my favorites), but they didn't really live up to the horror part.
The characters very pretty good. John was really funny at times, Monk was the cool guy, and Mai was kind of annoying; but they did their job at keeping the show really entertaining.
Favorite character is Monk. I remember the read more
I found this review Helpful
Fear_the_Reefer
Oct 8, 2014
16 year old Mai Taniyama is a happy-go-lucky orphan who loves to hang out with her friends in creepy places and trade ghost stories with them. One evening, as they’re doing this in an empty classroom, they’re interrupted by Kazuya Shibuya, a paranormal researcher who’s been hired to investigate the old, abandoned school house next door. Well, prompted by this, Mai decides to explore the building herself, upon which she accidentily damages both Kazuya’s camera as well as his camera-man. In lieu of a proper monetary compensation, Mai agrees to work with Kazuya as his assistant, and after one case, she gets read more
I found this review Helpful