MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #432
Ghost Hunt

Ghost Hunt

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Hunt
Japanese: ゴーストハント

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 42612 users)
Ranked: #4322
Popularity: #300
Members: 85,970
Favorites: 1,808
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy horror mystery supernatural
Feb 20, 2007
Chelle
Ghost Hunt is one of those rare gems that I accidentally stumbled across, and I'm so thankful that I did.

The greatest asset of this series is the characters. Their personalities are rich and engaging, and their memorable interactions with one another is one of the greatest selling points of this series. It is one of the main aspects that makes you want to keep watching episode to episode.

Yes, the storyline is superb, and the arcs are usually kept to 3 to 4 episodes. This keeps the series watchable without frustrating the viewer, waiting for an arc or storyline to end.

This series is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 20, 2014
SDman
Ghost Hunt's backstory and setups of how the various supernatural forces operate are well done, as well as the actual mysteries they are involved in. However, what distracted its best qualities are the forced relationships and relying on predictable tropes to advance plot elements. My impression is that Ghost Hunter may have been altered to cater to target audiences by dumbing down the plot and dialog at some points, but when the actual investigation storyline calls for complex explanations and logic, the characters inexplicably gains 200 points in IQ to figure everything out.

Case in point: after almost a year working for ghost hunter experts, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2010
Wilio
Ghost Hunt is another anime that I randomly picked just for the sake of it. Ghost Hunt is a 2006 anime adapted from a series of novels that started back in 1989. Unlike most adaptations, Ghost Hunt is not a direct one. While both of them keep the same characters and the same background, the novels were actually oriented towards young girl (shoujo) while the anime tends itself toward young male audience or perhaps a mix audience. Ghost Hunt was actually a nice find at first. The anime started fluidly and was very interesting at first. However, almost everything that made it enjoyable was lost read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 20, 2014
nisinator
When looking at the different genres Ghost Hunt takes on I could only think it was doomed on arrival, taking on the supernatural horror mystery genre as well as the Shoujo Romance genre? How can it possibly present both of those properly and simultaneously? The answer is it couldn't.


Story (3): The premise revolves around a group of paranormal investigators who investigate reports of spiritual activity and as such the series is divided into 7 cases as opposed to having one overarching story. Sounds like it could be interesting however what lets the plot-lines down for pretty much all of these cases are the poorly written read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2013
MDDuggan
GHOST HUNT was actually a difficult anime series to watch. It is a series of ghost hunts broken down into chapters. Typically, four episodes make up each chapter. The first chapter had a slow predictable plot and unremarkable characters, so I stopped watching. Later, on a whim, I went back and started watching again. The second chapter's writing was so much better, and the stories kept providing great jump scares! Plus, through developments, the characters started to come to life, making me care more about their plight. So, all in all, I was glad I gave GHOST HUNT a second chance.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2008
Feena-c
Story:
The story for Ghost Hunt is a very fun and interesting one. And at least for me, unique. It takes on an unusual way of telling about ghost hunting, giving you a look into the more scientific and realistic ways ghost hunting actually works.(Ar rather would work if it was real)
It is also told well, the episodes, or cases, are all full of twists that keep you guessing and wondering what's going to happen next. And it never fails to give you a complete and satisfying ending. Not to mention that each case is very different from the others, so there is a lot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2009
k0k0
Ghost hunt.
Pretty attractive name for those looking for some horror anime. Well, you might not completely be in the blood/gore/heart attacks section but you'll definitely regret if you choose to leave it.
It is quite a unique anime. The series is not a typical fantasy/thriller horror. It infact, shows 'ghost hunting' by means of technology and modern day equipment and ofcourse, the old purification and chanting ways are included too.

The series does not have a main plot. There are small arcs which usually don't last for more than 3-4 episodes thus not dragging the anime and neither taking away the viewer's attention. Every arc is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 29, 2008
snivek101
The story started out well for me, but to be honest it wasn't good enough to keep me interested for long. The problem with an anime like this is that there are hardly any common threads throughout each episode block. Every 3 or so episodes features its own storyline and while that may work for a title such as Jigoku Shoujo there is no balance between character development and plot to really engage the viewer. We hardly learn anything about the characters besides there occupation outside "ghost busting". And the female lead seemed too naive, which is pretty ironic seeing as that was the only read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
shouj0panda
Ghost Hunt is, in my opinion, a little under-appreciated. In fact, I never knew or heard anything about it before watching, but when I saw it, it caught my attention. And I am glad that it did!

Story 8/10: I will admit, the story is a little slow in the beginning but it definitely gets better as you go along. It is a really intriguing and different show, kind of like a better version of those ghost hunting shows on TV, hence the name Ghost Hunt. The story is divided into case files with each case file having a total of two to three episodes. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 30, 2012
judojon
Ghost Hunt is a supernatural mystery series from Fuyumi Ono, the creator of Twelve Kingdoms and Shiki. Like most of its genre, show that plays on people's fascination with the eerie and unknown: haunted houses, poltergeists, possessions, etc. to draw its audience in and spook them. What sets it apart as better than a lot of its kin is mostly in its execution, but also Ono's knack of using myths and superstitions to build strong mythos in her stories.

The show consists of loosely connected supernatural cases follows Mai Taniyama, a high school girl who works part time for paranormal investigator Kazuya Shibuya, better known as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2013
mjjfan10
Without further ado, I;ll just jump right into my review~

Art: 8/10
The art was consistent, although in later episodes, there became a larger focus on overstated emotions (chibis) then there was in the earlier episodes. Character designs were simple, but worked well for the setting. Environments were very nice with lots of detail.

Story: 8/10
The series is split into several pieces; each piece being a case that they have to solve. Keeping this from a perfect score is the bit of filler that laces the series from episode to episode and the lack of explanation of central plot points (people not using powers they had until read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2008
alk
An anime mixed with two Hs, horror and humour.

When i started watching this anime, my first impression was "it doesnt look as promising as the title", as i didnt find it scary at all. With that, I was quite tempted to hold it. But anyway, i cont'ed and much thanks to that, the stories behind just grow on me. Though it is abit draggy at the front, but as the anime progresses, each hunt is more dangerous than the others, with increasing suspense and scary factor.Characters wise, it is quite funny to see them attacking each other verbally, and how they bond togther, not forgetting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 8, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer
16 year old Mai Taniyama is a happy-go-lucky orphan who loves to hang out with her friends in creepy places and trade ghost stories with them. One evening, as they’re doing this in an empty classroom, they’re interrupted by Kazuya Shibuya, a paranormal researcher who’s been hired to investigate the old, abandoned school house next door. Well, prompted by this, Mai decides to explore the building herself, upon which she accidentily damages both Kazuya’s camera as well as his camera-man. In lieu of a proper monetary compensation, Mai agrees to work with Kazuya as his assistant, and after one case, she gets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2010
bri_bri101
Ghost Hunt overall is a decent anime. It isn't anything that you really need to truly prioritize unless you have some unnatural obsession with spirits.



First off the story isn't really that great. At first its actually really good and nothing realy drags on and its not predictable enough to be boring, but the second half of the series is predictable and it moves pretty slowly. Also since the series is short it isn't supposed to have as much character development as something like Naruto but in this case I personally thought it needed more. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 12, 2009
FNatt
=-= Story =-=

When I started watching Ghost Hunt, I really didn't know what to expect. Up until then, I hadn't seen a series that could literally "scare" me. Other so-called horror series like Elfen Lied or Hellsing never even made me budge. I'm not saying those aren't good series ( Elfen is one of my favorites), but they didn't really live up to the horror part.
The characters very pretty good. John was really funny at times, Monk was the cool guy, and Mai was kind of annoying; but they did their job at keeping the show really entertaining.
Favorite character is Monk. I remember the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 13, 2009
Missheru
First off what annoyed me of the series. Really it wasn't much other than with how the mini arc were set up it just didn't feel like you really knew any of the characters much better at the end of the series compared to when you first had them all dropped in your lap. I craved to know more so badly while watching and perhaps that was the hook that keeps you watching. It seemed like in each arc you got one more tid bit about a character. For example in this arc you learn the monk is also in a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2009
tentacle_raep
This is one of those rare anime you've never heard of, and wish you had.

What it is on the surface: school kids and random weirdos fighting and hunting ghosts. What it really is: interesting, creepy, charming character driven work that slowly builds up tension to the last few episodes.

Mai is a girl who accidentally breaks the camera equipment of Kazuya--a ghost hunting mystic. Kazuya uses this as an opportunity to hire her as a gopher for his paranormal research agency who consults various mystics and spiritual mediums (from a monk who's hardly ascetic to a priestess who seems a total fraud).

The story takes an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2013
docalion
I love Ghost Hunt, have loved it and always will!

This is my second time watching the series. The first was around 5 or 6 years ago and back then, I've already decided that it's ONE OF THE MOST ENTERTAINING ANIME that I've watched in my entire life.

I don't usually watch anime series of supernatural genre (although Supernatural is my favorite US TV show) so I only pick those which are really worth my time. Ghost Hunt along with XXXholic remain to be the shows that can give me GENUINE SCARES all the time. I love to watch these shows at night but THEY read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 28, 2013
Mookyloo
Ghost Hunt was kind of a blind purchase. I was it just sitting there and it had a cool looking guy on the cover. I was like HELL YEAH A GUY, so i bought it. Around a week later after looking it up and finding out it was kind of a horror comedy romance thing i was like hey let me watch this now. By the FIRST MINUTE of the first episode I was hooked. i finished the series remarkably quickly....X'[
I have never seen an anime quit like Ghost hunt. It had a strange feel to it. First thing was the music, it wasn't typical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2012
moseslionheart
Do you like ghost stories or you've experienced ghost terror ? I suggest you watch this anime because you'll be chill and add your experience about ghost stories.

When you see this anime will be reminded by the Ghost Buster movie but the packaging is different in this anime where the story is more sinister and more interesting ways to eradicate ghost

Story:
Unique story like a detective story, confusing, and you will continue to be curious that in the end you have to keep watching this series. Not only is it also strong elements of comedy. A great increase of this anime is the completion of each read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices