MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #366
Ghost Hunt

Ghost Hunt

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Hunt
Japanese: ゴーストハント

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 36164 users)
Ranked: #3662
Popularity: #275
Members: 71,485
Favorites: 1,614
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy horror mystery supernatural
Feb 20, 2007
Chelle
Ghost Hunt is one of those rare gems that I accidentally stumbled across, and I'm so thankful that I did.

The greatest asset of this series is the characters. Their personalities are rich and engaging, and their memorable interactions with one another is one of the greatest selling points of this series. It is one of the main aspects that makes you want to keep watching episode to episode.

Yes, the storyline is superb, and the arcs are usually kept to 3 to 4 episodes. This keeps the series watchable without frustrating the viewer, waiting for an arc or storyline to end.

This series is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 19, 2008
Feena-c
Story:
The story for Ghost Hunt is a very fun and interesting one. And at least for me, unique. It takes on an unusual way of telling about ghost hunting, giving you a look into the more scientific and realistic ways ghost hunting actually works.(Ar rather would work if it was real)
It is also told well, the episodes, or cases, are all full of twists that keep you guessing and wondering what's going to happen next. And it never fails to give you a complete and satisfying ending. Not to mention that each case is very different from the others, so there is a lot read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2013
docalion
I love Ghost Hunt, have loved it and always will!

This is my second time watching the series. The first was around 5 or 6 years ago and back then, I've already decided that it's ONE OF THE MOST ENTERTAINING ANIME that I've watched in my entire life.

I don't usually watch anime series of supernatural genre (although Supernatural is my favorite US TV show) so I only pick those which are really worth my time. Ghost Hunt along with XXXholic remain to be the shows that can give me GENUINE SCARES all the time. I love to watch these shows at night but THEY read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2009
k0k0
Ghost hunt.
Pretty attractive name for those looking for some horror anime. Well, you might not completely be in the blood/gore/heart attacks section but you'll definitely regret if you choose to leave it.
It is quite a unique anime. The series is not a typical fantasy/thriller horror. It infact, shows 'ghost hunting' by means of technology and modern day equipment and ofcourse, the old purification and chanting ways are included too.

The series does not have a main plot. There are small arcs which usually don't last for more than 3-4 episodes thus not dragging the anime and neither taking away the viewer's attention. Every arc is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 8, 2010
Wilio
Ghost Hunt is another anime that I randomly picked just for the sake of it. Ghost Hunt is a 2006 anime adapted from a series of novels that started back in 1989. Unlike most adaptations, Ghost Hunt is not a direct one. While both of them keep the same characters and the same background, the novels were actually oriented towards young girl (shoujo) while the anime tends itself toward young male audience or perhaps a mix audience. Ghost Hunt was actually a nice find at first. The anime started fluidly and was very interesting at first. However, almost everything that made it enjoyable was lost read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2008
alk
An anime mixed with two Hs, horror and humour.

When i started watching this anime, my first impression was "it doesnt look as promising as the title", as i didnt find it scary at all. With that, I was quite tempted to hold it. But anyway, i cont'ed and much thanks to that, the stories behind just grow on me. Though it is abit draggy at the front, but as the anime progresses, each hunt is more dangerous than the others, with increasing suspense and scary factor.Characters wise, it is quite funny to see them attacking each other verbally, and how they bond togther, not forgetting read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 12, 2009
FNatt
=-= Story =-=

When I started watching Ghost Hunt, I really didn't know what to expect. Up until then, I hadn't seen a series that could literally "scare" me. Other so-called horror series like Elfen Lied or Hellsing never even made me budge. I'm not saying those aren't good series ( Elfen is one of my favorites), but they didn't really live up to the horror part.
The characters very pretty good. John was really funny at times, Monk was the cool guy, and Mai was kind of annoying; but they did their job at keeping the show really entertaining.
Favorite character is Monk. I remember the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 30, 2012
judojon
Ghost Hunt is a supernatural mystery series from Fuyumi Ono, the creator of Twelve Kingdoms and Shiki. Like most of its genre, show that plays on people's fascination with the eerie and unknown: haunted houses, poltergeists, possessions, etc. to draw its audience in and spook them. What sets it apart as better than a lot of its kin is mostly in its execution, but also Ono's knack of using myths and superstitions to build strong mythos in her stories.

The show consists of loosely connected supernatural cases follows Mai Taniyama, a high school girl who works part time for paranormal investigator Kazuya Shibuya, better known as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2010
tytheisen12
There was a time, when i thought the only way for an anime to spook me, was to make my skin crawl from watching grotesque scenes, like in When They Cry; or see gruteous amounts of blood and body parts sent flying like in Elfen Lied. However this series, when you get down to it, can make you stand on the edge of your seat. This is probaly one of the few series i have seen where after watching a few couple of episodes, i wanted to turn some lights on.

Story: The story is rather simplitic enough, focusing on a group of rather diverse people read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 1, 2007
09io78ty
I love this anime, reasons:

1) Each episode is full of mystery, i have no idea whats going to happen next, and it's fun to try and unravel the mystery.

2) Some of the scenes are really tense, my heart was pounding so fast- some of it was really scary.

3) I liked how Mai's powers grew throughout the series.

4) Hmmmm...I liked Naru-chan although he was annoying in some episodes.

5) If ya like supernatural, mystery, horror, etc...u will love this.

6) Some parts in episodes are super scary ( well thats what i think) i actually screamed and nearly fell off my chair, but then after the fright i read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2008
fr0z3nshad3
Story (8.3) - Shibuya is a ghost hunter.He and a group of people are responsible to solve the cases that people think are created by spirits. It starts when a girl, taniyama mai, decides to look at an old building near her school. She is stopped by Lin, shibuya assistant, who got injured while stopping her from damage some equipment.Then, Mai is called to replace the assistant and gets involved with the group, learning more from the spirits in the process.
In fact, the story is not sequenced from the first to the last episode...but is organized in groups, i mean, each case has its own read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 24, 2008
zeru02
If you wanna get scared, entertained and learn at the same time, this anime is definitely a must-see! Ghost Hunt lives up to its name, delivering an effective plot that will leave you glued to your seat. It has that perfect mix of scariness and humor, with characters that makes the story come alive. Some parts where they explain psychic phenomenons are interesting, as well as an insight on japanese occult. There are several humorous situations as well, the episodes are well-written, making you scream at one time and laugh at the next. The opening theme is pretty cool too, kinda reminds you of that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 18, 2012
genma-kai
I was recommended this anime by a friend but had only recently gotten around to watching the series myself within the last couple of days of writing this review. I managed to watch all 25 episodes within this time frame and so they are all very fresh in my mind.

The series is split into a series of story arcs, or "case files", which makes it interesting in itself. Each of these files is between 1 and 4 episodes long, which alows plenty of time to develop the plot of that story, the charactrers involved and the atmosphere. This means that by the final episode the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 20, 2008
Minamino_K
Okay, everyone has seen that T.V Series called Ghoster Hunter right??

Well, let's just say that "Ghost Hunt" is just about the same thing, but 10X's cooler and freakier. I'm so wrapped up just from watching it. >< I wished I didn't see it at night. FRIKIN DOLLS!!! Argh, this is a great series filled with suspense and drama and just watching the first episode you have to now what will happen next. The cast of characters are all so colorful and I enjoy them very much. MOSTLY NARU THE NARCISSIST!!! <3 I love that nickname Mai gave him. ^^ You got to watch this,and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 23, 2009
tentacle_raep
This is one of those rare anime you've never heard of, and wish you had.

What it is on the surface: school kids and random weirdos fighting and hunting ghosts. What it really is: interesting, creepy, charming character driven work that slowly builds up tension to the last few episodes.

Mai is a girl who accidentally breaks the camera equipment of Kazuya--a ghost hunting mystic. Kazuya uses this as an opportunity to hire her as a gopher for his paranormal research agency who consults various mystics and spiritual mediums (from a monk who's hardly ascetic to a priestess who seems a total fraud).

The story takes an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 23, 2013
mjjfan10
Without further ado, I;ll just jump right into my review~

Art: 8/10
The art was consistent, although in later episodes, there became a larger focus on overstated emotions (chibis) then there was in the earlier episodes. Character designs were simple, but worked well for the setting. Environments were very nice with lots of detail.

Story: 8/10
The series is split into several pieces; each piece being a case that they have to solve. Keeping this from a perfect score is the bit of filler that laces the series from episode to episode and the lack of explanation of central plot points (people not using powers they had until read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2013
MDDuggan
GHOST HUNT was actually a difficult anime series to watch. It is a series of ghost hunts broken down into chapters. Typically, four episodes make up each chapter. The first chapter had a slow predictable plot and unremarkable characters, so I stopped watching. Later, on a whim, I went back and started watching again. The second chapter's writing was so much better, and the stories kept providing great jump scares! Plus, through developments, the characters started to come to life, making me care more about their plight. So, all in all, I was glad I gave GHOST HUNT a second chance.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 14, 2009
MoMo-Da-Gr8
Story - 10/10
Taniyama Mai is your everyday high school student, who has the pastime of telling ghost stories with her friends. Much to her surprise, she meets a mysterious ghost hunter, Shibuya Kazuya, the 17 year old head of Shibuya Psychic Research, sent out to investigate strange phenomenon occurring in Mai's school. Accidentally interfering with their investigations, Mai unintentionally causes the injury of Shibuya's assistant, resulting in Shibuya demanding Mai herself to aid him in his investigations. Based on the novel by Fuyumi Ono and Shiho Inada

I love horror anime. Love them. I really wasn't expecting this one to be that scary, not spine tingling read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 13, 2009
Missheru
First off what annoyed me of the series. Really it wasn't much other than with how the mini arc were set up it just didn't feel like you really knew any of the characters much better at the end of the series compared to when you first had them all dropped in your lap. I craved to know more so badly while watching and perhaps that was the hook that keeps you watching. It seemed like in each arc you got one more tid bit about a character. For example in this arc you learn the monk is also in a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 25, 2012
SleepingDNA
Anime has fictional characters soo in anime i find one emotion hard to come by... FEAR. I highly recommend you watch GHOST HUNT! in one investigation i truly felt fear, not because i was scared something was gonna pop up and get me and not because something sick, twisted, and or disturbing happened, its because everyone thinks this at least once in there life and when someone says these taboo words aloud with frantic, needy eyes, you too will remember how you felt or feel now. it leaves you with a cold chill. that is why read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices