Ranked #412

Nekomonogatari: Kuro

Alternative Titles

English: Nekomonogatari Black: Tsubasa Family
Japanese: 猫物語(黒)


Type: TV
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 31, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.101 (scored by 78,025 users)
Ranked: #4122
Popularity: #274
Members: 123,749
Favorites: 365
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 17, 2015
Just by looking at the cover of Nekomonogatari: Kuro, I thought there were going to be more fanservice than Nise and I also thought the show was going to be worse than Nise. Since Neko is canon, I decided to watch it. After finishing this little arc, I'm not entirely disappointed.

[Story]: (7/10)
Nekomonogatari: Kuro is an adaptation of the 6th book in the Monogatari series, containing the Tsubasa Family Arc and featuring Hanekawa Tsubasa. Nekomonogatari was made after Nisemonogatari but chronologically, it takes place a month before the events of Bakemonogatari.

I could have skipped this anime and went straight to Monogatari Series: Second read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 3, 2014
Nekomonogatari: Kuro is the third adapted installment of the Monogatari series, an array of light novels written by Nisio Isin. It serves as a precursor to Bakemonogatari and features Tsubasa Hanekawa during the events of Golden Week, in which she becomes possessed by a neko (translated as "cat") and indiscriminately attacks people on the street to relieve her built-up stress. Viewers of Bakemonogatari may recall references and flashbacks to this incident particularly in the Tsubasa Cat arc, and here we finally see it divulged in detail.

Now coming from the markedly huge success of both Bakemonogatari and the controversial Nisemonogatari, fans may likely enter this third read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 2, 2015
~ Let's have a discussion about love. ~

As a chronological prequel to the events of "Bakemonogatari": Nekomogatari (as I will slightly abbreviate), is the first short, fast-paced, single arc installation of the "Monogatari" series. Some may be skeptical at first about the franchise's storytelling prowess, following the fanservice ridden antics of "Nisemonogatari" (that tilted many heads to say the least). But fans following the series up until now will be pleased to know that Nekomonogatari very much reverts back to its highly praised, "Bakemonogatari" inspired roots.

Taking on the task of presenting the "Curse Cat" arc alone, Nekomonogatari brandishes a relatively simplistic, and more so romance-oriented read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 2, 2013
Nekomonogatari: Kuro.

What does those two words reminds you of? A cat perhaps? Well, neko (in Japanese) does translate to cat, an ordinary theme in many anime series we see today. Oh but Nekomonogatari is anything but ordinary. In fact, for Shaft fans and those who have experience already with the monogatarai series, you will know the way these type of works go. Once again, the franchise brings forth the latest installation from the monogatari series. So, if you're curious just like a cat/neko, then this series is definitely worth some time to invest on.

Nekomonogatari: Kuro is the prequel of Bakemonogatari, an anime series adapted read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 6, 2015
Nekomonogatari: Kuro (Nekomonogatari Black: Tsubasa Family) is a very interesting anime to watch, with its good use of comedy, romance and supernatural elements.

Nekomonogatari: Kuro is a romance, comedy, supernatural anime based on the novel; Monogatari Series: First Season, which was created by Isin Nisio and Vofan. Shaft produced the anime. The anime has four episodes and aired on December 31th, 2012.

Storyline (9/10)
Nekomonogatari: Kuro’s story follows Koyomi Araragi, a student who recently survived the attack of a vampire together with his friend Tsubasa Hanekawa. Koyomi finds out about the Oddity phenomenon, which unities all creatures such as: gods, ghosts, myths, and spirits. The cursed read more
I found this review Helpful
May 22, 2015
Nekomonogatari is a four episode arc focusing on the events leading up to Bakemonogatari. It follows Araragi’s search for the meaning of love and his quest to save his “love” interest, Hanekawa, from a cat spirit. This isn’t a particularly necessary arc to enjoy the first two seasons and I’m assuming that Monogatari: Season Two doesn’t reference the events of this arc too often, but it is still an entertaining piece that develops Hanekawa a little more and explains the weird relationship between Araragi and the class rep.

Neko is, of course, chock full of dialogue and comedy, though the focus on an inclusive few means read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 17, 2014
Being a huge monogatari series fan, I decided to write my first review about it and I chose Nekomonogatari: Kuro. Even before it was subbed, I already watched it out of excitement and it did not disappointment.

The story is great. It is one of the main strength of the series. This part is before the start of the first series and we learned the past of Hanekawa and how she met oddity. The story is great because it made us realize that Hanekawa is not perfect and also susceptible to emotions.

The art is the other main strength. I watched this series because of the way read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 20, 2013
And now for another review about an anime involving cat girls.
Ah, the Monogatari Series. After seeing Bakemonogatari and what a masterpiece it was, Nisemonogatari was a big disapointment. It was still great, but it paled in comparison to Bakemonogatari. Because of this, I can understand why a great many would be unsure of this series, Nekomonogatari. Well, you can put your fears to rest. Nekomonogatari brought the series back to its brilliance. It's just as good as Bakemonogatari, in my opinion.

First, the art:
Being a SHAFT series, and even more being in the Monogatari series, as always one can expect brilliant artwork and extremely smooth animation, read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 28, 2015
Nekomonogotari (Kuro) - 6/10
Considering this is a special, It's done incredibly good.
There's blood, gore, cute girls, weird mythology things, lewd comedy and more. Just what you'd expect from Monogatari.
If put in contrast with Bakemonogatari this uses the art direction, the "slides" with text and the animation thing a lot less spountaneosly which also leads on to the whole mood and tone of the episodes looking a lot more structured. There is also a heavier lean towards the "lewd comedy" part of the show rather than the mythological aspects. The character relations are brought to a whole new level with Araragi finding out what are read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
Meow, meow......Rawr! Grrrrrrrooooooooooooowwwwwl, I'm screeching like a cat. Ok, I've just finished watching this 4 episode anime and I must say that studio SHAFT did an amazing one. So, this 4 episode prequel is all about Koyomi Araragi and a Tsubasa Hanekawa arc, only this time it dwells on detail before Hitagi Senjōgahara came into the picture, Rawr!!!!! It is safe to say that this part is the Tsubasa Cat part of the Bakemonogatari franchise. Thought this anime's genre is comedy and supernatural, I would probably drop the comedy part, since only the supernatural part is what best describe this anime, let's face read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 1, 2013
Reading almost all Monogatari series that is done to this point, I was really anxious to watch Nekomonogatari - kuro. And I wasn't disappointed by all means. If you watched at least Bakemonogatari and liked it I think you won't be disappointed too.

Nekomonogatari - kuro is the last installment in the 'first' Monogatari series 'season' as Nisio Isin calls it. And with shiro part they are about development Hanekawa Tsubasa as a character. Stories of books are paired - first one marks Hanekawa's problems and second makes an attempt to fix them in some ways. In my opinion, Bakemonogatari - kuro is not as good read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 4, 2014
This show. I had my fair share doubts after finishing bakemonogatari that this show would not live up to the original since it was very good, and though some of doubts were unfortunately true Nekmonogatari delivers.

The story is the prequel to the original, telling us what happened during the spring brake or "Golden Week",as the students there refer it to, of the year before the events of the original series. It is presented rather well and worked out through a lot of dialog something i enjoyed in the original, and you should make sure to pay attention to what the characters say since almost none read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 9, 2013
HIIIIIIISSSSSSSSSSS! Meow, sorry about that my pet cat was just trying to mess with me, so this is another one of studio SHAFT's monogatari series, only this one is a prequel of "Bakemonogatari." Set in what is called the "Golden Week"- why do them Japs call it that way instead calling it a "School Holiday?" Eeeeh, who cares, ok so we don't get to see how the chico Koyomi became a vampire and that's probably reserve for "Kizumonogatari," so here is probably where the so called sub plot "Tsubasa Cat" begins and it tells the story of Hanekawa Tsubasa being posses by a cat spirit, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 9, 2013
"Golden Week."

"The golden glittering nine days that I will forever remember with lingering affection"

The light novel series of Monogatari has always been unique in the sense of narrating a deep and serious story in a rather light mood. Nekomonogatari, the 6th volume of the novel and 4th season of the animated series, in this case was no different. This 4 episodes describe the events that led to Araragi Koyomi's first encounter with the oddity that became a part of Hanekawa Tsubasa. If you have already seen Bakemonogatari, then you would be familiar with the event.

Monogatari series has always been a series with more non-story content read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 9, 2013
For anyone who enjoys the monogatari series, including myself, will enjoy Nekomonogatari: Kuro.

The story is a prequel to the Hanekawa arc of Bakemonogatari describing how Hanekawa becomes possessed by a cat demon.

As always the script and characters, the best parts of the Monogatari series, are sharp and witty and there is a sense the voice actors have really got into the characters. The story itself is well paced and enjoyable. Once again the anime manages to justify the fan service for which as always is plenty mostly involving Hanewara who spends most of her time looking like a schoolboy's dream.

Sadly the artwork read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 14, 2013
This is a review out of 100. 35/100 for Story, 35/100 for Characters, 15/100 for Sound, 15/100 for Animation.

Story - 27/35 - This series is less like Nisemono and more like Bakemono, which is a good thing. There is even less fanservice in this series, and the pace is pretty fast, feeling like a movie (which it pretty much is). Because of time constraints, they couldn't add in any useless fanservice, unlike Nisemono which had too much time. I want to give the story a higher score, but I can't because it's a prequel where too much of the story was told to us read more
I found this review Helpful