Ranked #437

Hetalia: The Beautiful World

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ヘタリア The Beautiful World


Type: ONA
Episodes: 20
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 25, 2013 to Jun 21, 2013
Source: Web manga
Duration: 5 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.071 (scored by 11,202 users)
Ranked: #4372
Popularity: #1419
Members: 25,965
Favorites: 491
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Mar 5, 2013
First of all, I LOVE the new changes the anime went through!! Although the opening is a bit of a drag.... It doesn't get in the way... (that much)...

I LOVE the new animations! It is very refreshing but not so much that we don't know who the character is! Like France, he went through a HUGE transformation yet we still know it is France.

I also love that they are starting to add more characters like Romania, Mongolia, and General Winter! I also hope to see more countries (like read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 14, 2015
The Beautiful World is the fifth season of Hetalia which was aired in 2013. Major changes in the artwork as well as the episode format were implemented along with the new ending song. It really lived to its title aesthetically, but does it have what it takes to entertain its fandom for the last four seasons?

Story: 6/10

The Beautiful world still does not have a major plot but it benefited from the changes in the episode format. A whole story (as against to spreading the strip for two or three episodes) is told every episode which gives it an anime with slice of life theme feel. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 6, 2013
Compared to the other Hetalia series The Beautiful World is a step up, and you can see why they named it beautiful because now the animation actually is. (In comparison to the below-average art of the past Hetalia anime.)

Art: 9

The art has improved drastically to the point where some characters are hard to recognize because of how much better they look. The only problem with the art is the backgrounds which are much less detailed than the characters themselves but this is only noticeable sometimes and isn't overall a detrimental flaw.

Story: 7

As always the story in the Hetalia series isn't really that great read more
I found this review Helpful
May 31, 2015
*This review is archived from Anime-Planet*

Critic’s Log - Earthdate: December 2, 2014. Review #91 - Hetalia: The Beautiful World

There are a lot of things that go on in this world and it can be complicating sometimes. There are some assholes in the world but there are several nations that have come together to co-operate as part of the United Nat….

Screw it, I’m aborting the intro… Here’s Hetalia: The Beautiful World!

Italy was once home of the strongest empire in the world. Now it has changed. Italy is now a cowardly pasta loving fool, and his friends also go through strange moments in World History. This is read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 13, 2013
Hetalia: The Beautiful World is the fifth season to the series Hetalia. The style has changed, and it was very good in my taste. This time, the director of the Hetalia series is new, but he did a very good job of the series.

The story to Hetalia isn't exactly a plot as well as the previous seasons, each episode is different from the rest, and random. The series is a comedy, but the comedy is to make you enjoy yourself and have a good time. I do say that the historical facts are lessened a bit, some episodes are just random, others reflect on the read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
First of all, I would like to make clear why I'm reviewing this season of hetalia and not the previous seasons. The reason for that is quite simple: this is the only season I managed to watch till the end.

Story: 6 - fair

Let's get this straight: hetalia is the most plotless anime I've ever seen. If you're looking for an anime with a plot; turn back now, hetalia is nothing for you
The idea behind hetalia is that every country is represented by a person (most of them are male). You could go all ways around and make a brilliant plot for the series, but read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 19, 2013
Hetalia: The Beautiful World is the fifth season of Himaruya Hidekaz's Hetalia, a webcomic turned Anime which features anthromorphised countries as the characters and historical trivia and cultural comparisons as it's main presentation.

Story: Rating- Not Applicable

- Since Hetalia doesn't really follow any plot or have a presentation that has a purpose of following a sequential narrative, it will be only fair to put the story rating into "not applicable".

Art: 8

- The character illustrations and animation are crisper, more detailed and had a lot more differentiation than they got in the past seasons. The background is still a bit dull. However, it's good that it does read more
I found this review Helpful