MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #767
Blood+

Blood+

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blood Plus
Japanese: ブラッドプラス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2005 to Sep 23, 2006
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 76633 users)
Ranked: #7672
Popularity: #123
Members: 158,606
Favorites: 3,203
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

action adventure drama horror mystery supernatural vampire
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama
A show about a girl who fights monsters... sounds kind of unoriginal, no? Well, whatever it sounds like to you, this is one helluva awesome show :D

The story is dark, sad and action-packed. I like how they present everything with a sad setting; it's not like it's just one big brawl after another; it is emotions and resolve-strengthening, it's battles which have a reason other than just being yet another battle. The story keeps complex but simple enough to follow without too much thinking "what's happening?"

The animation style in Blood+ is really cool. It's got good shading details, and the characters looks good too; they've read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 4, 2014
NotenSMSK
Blood+ was truly an interesting anime - it requires patience but once one starts to get accustomed with the pace and characters, it is an amazing anime.

Story wise Blood+ starts slow. It takes time to develop, to let the elements of the story, for the characters to interact naturally rather than forcing them into a swirling bog to just push the story ahead. And it starts with the basic anime form: The basic elements are put forth - Chiropteran and Saya. One can assume that with the progression of stronger foes and conflicting feelings, there is nothing more to the anime than the main character read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2015
Okazaki-Fragment
A girl on to fight against monsters, a secret organisation and powerful enemies! If you want to enjoy an anime with a dark tune, complex story and really great charakter development, Blood+ would be a good choice! But beware if you get too close to certain charakters, your heart might get broken!

If you are looking for a fun and happy anime series, don't watch it. As I said before the anime is rather dark and as the name says bloody. There are some scenes that can be considered cruel (not only in a physical way).

And one more warning, before the praise: If you're expecting tons read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 29, 2011
ggultra2764
Blood+ offers up an alternate take of the events from Blood: The Last Vampire featuring Saya's hunt of the Chiropteran creature threat. Being at 50 episodes of length, this gives the series plenty of time to build up on events with its plot and explore the causes that led to the Chiropteran threat being as serious as it did. It also expands on Saya's character and the mysterious organization (Red Shield) aiding her in thwarting the Chiropteran threat.

In terms of characterization, the series does enough to flesh out prominent characters that influence Saya's decisions from those who serve to allow her to retain the normalcy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2007
Wyko
This anime is one of the best ones that I have ever seen before in my life. The plot somehow manages to stay incredibly strong throughout all of the 50 episodes, showcasing many different types of characters, from the most comical to the most radically serious. The animation has a very unique style, which somewhat surprised me early on, but then I realized that it simply made the show more unique.

What every viewer must realize first off is that this is NOT just an anime about vampires. The fact that the characters often require blood to survive is used as an effective plot device, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2009
AkatsukigirlTy
Blood+ was recommended to me by a friend about five months ago. After being briefed on the basic plotline by her I was less than impressed to say the least, after all, one girl fighting the forces of evil (Or in this case Chiroptera) with her band of merry men, it was an idea done many a time before (Just look at Buffy the Vampire Slayer!) Yet I decided to give it a go regardless. I was delighted to find myself proved wrong however after finishing the anime just a few weeks later. I’ve since re-watched it twice and would definitely recommend it to anyone read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2015
SammyUnwin
A horror anime that does adventure, better than most other adventure anime. The anime is set throughout different locations and time periods in history, that are based on real world events. The core of the show is about vampires, but with an evolutionary twist to it. It follows a young girl called Saya (a protagonist that is actually likable) that soon discovers she's not who she thinks she is and what she is. It's definitely an anime I'd recommend to anyone and has a GREAT soundtrack too. Oh and I highly recommend that you get some tissues prepared, it has it's Romeo and Juliet moments read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2009
Sohei
Note: If you found this review helpful (or not), leave me a PM or comment, and give me some constructive criticism!

Post-note: All scores are compared to titles I have watched personally and represent the verbal "score" of that number, with a 7 meaning " Good". It is unrelated to the 1-10 grading that a lot of people seem to solely apply, without thinking of what it means.

So. Blood+

Originally an offshoot of an earlier movie, Blood+ combines both existing elements present in anime and new ones, to create a somewhat unique shonen (yes, shonen, because that's what this is, don't be fooled by the R+ rating) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 6, 2007
patco23
I used to watch a fair amount of anime, but over the past few years, my interest in it had been gradually waning, partly because of the decreasing number of good shows being produced, and partly because of lack of time due to my heavy workload.

However, this trend was reversed when I had the good fortune of coming across Blood+. I had never heard of it before, but the premise seemed interesting enough, though not particularly original or unique. I decided to give it a shot, expecting at least a decent and entertaining show but not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 14, 2014
nyanlika
At first glance it seems like a typical gore anime with vampires in it and plenty of blood just as the title suggest, but its not all there is to it. At the start of the series I didn't know where this was going; I mean the typical high school girl everyday life thing did not much match with the title. But I digress, as the series progresses the main protagonist Saya and Haji, and her family are thrust in a torrent of tragedies one after the other. And this was one of the best things that this series have to offer, the character development. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 14, 2014
Tsugan
This was one of the very first anime that I watched; along with Higurashi and Elfen Lied. So obviously I didn't have much experience in what made anime good or bad. However, by now I've watched dozens of anime and I feel that I've allowed it enough time to settle in my mind.

Story & Character:
The plot itself is compelling and interesting; there wasn't anything cheesy or drastically overblown as you sometimes run into with anime. No chaff or filler episodes to my recollection; all ~50 episodes stay on track.

I like all of the characters, for the most part: the main character has an annoying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2012
moseslionheart
Can't be denied, the anime produced by Aniplex is always interesting and inspiring like Gintama or Fate / Zero.

Blood + is also the production of flavors and Aniplex has its own story where the anime is the theme of vampires in a different package, generally described the figure of handsome vampire or a mysterious figure, but Blood + presents a different case in which the vampire portrayed beautiful women and strong

The story that took place in various countries presents a different atmosphere where spectators are invited adventure with Blood +.
Basically this anime is a story about a protagonist Otonashi memory loss in the past and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 13, 2010
stonnyfor
You might think Blood + is just another anime where a girl slashes away at monsters or vampires (which it does also have alot of if your into that) if you haven't watched it, but it is way more than that.

Story: 9
The plot is about a young girl who is adopted into a family with other adobpted children whom she really gets close to. This young girl whose name is Saya is no ordinary girl because she is the only person in the world who can fight against Chiropterans, which are monsters that feed on blood of living humans and can look like humans read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2009
itaeon
An excellent anime that holds a captivating and suspenseful story plot. Blood+ is definitely a must watch anime and one that should be re-watched over and over. It is one anime that has supernatural features, slight parts of romance, and even some historical event correlation intertwined in this fictional world that has the inhabitants called chiropterans; bat-like creatures that feast on human blood. I, myself am not one who favors all gore and blood soaked scenes, but the story in Blood+ really captivates me. The bloody fight scenes all connect to the main plot and is not one excessive blood fest. Plus, this anime is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2011
GoodEnoughForMe
When Blood+ came out back in 2005, it was one of the seasons most anticipated releases. The original work, Blood: The Last Vampire, screamed for a longer storyline that showed some development. And while Blood+ was to take place in a separate universe, if it managed to construct a decent story around the beautiful aesthetics of the film, then we would have had a definite winner. Sadly, Blood+ is, to put it bluntly, a bit of a mess.

Blood+ starts off decent enough. Saya, our protagonist, is revealed to be the only one capable of killing the human killing, blood sucking chiropterans. Early on, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2010
Mari_Evans
It is interesting. At first, it seems that it’s a typical anime about vampires but then you realize that there is not typical. The plot is quite original. This anime keeps many mysteries and doesn’t disclose all the cards until the end. Even in the end we have place for the imagination.. For example, (how can I do no spoiler?! =.=) what will be with Haji and Saya, Kai and girls. Their future remains a mystery. Some say that 50 episodes it's too long but I would have looked more 50! After all, it would be interesting to see history from Diva’s eyes, to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2009
Fareplay
Got some time? didnt care much for blood the last vampire? well come on in~

like most of you guys, i first saw this on adult swim while waiting for my weekly dose of shounen; i landed on an unpolished gem. story starts slow ill admit.. real slow. however if you can get past that, you will be rewarded with an adventure. story revolves around a girl named saya and her adventures to kill off the vampire kind;generic enough for you yet? well saya is one of the two "pure bred" vampire queens in the story, other being her twin sister diva. In the end, with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 4, 2008
Bissen
Very good story! Once I got started, I could hardly stop.
It is interesting to see the change the main character goes through, and it is a very interesting relationship she had to people around her.

At first, the story may seem confusing, but of course it all comes together as you get more and more into the story. You don't know more than Saya, which makes it easy to get as frustarated as her, making you want to find out which again makes you hang on to it.

I wasn't too impressed with the artwork, but it can be nice not to always look at the shiny, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2008
Pyrefly
Story: Any vampire fans would appreciate the story; the ever-reusable (and reused) vampire legend gets a new spin here. From the very first episode, the main character Saya is unwittingly thrown into a fight for humanity that only she can put an end to. Accompanied by her (sexy) cellist guardian who has some link to her, she sets out to rid the world of the vampire-like chiropterans plaguing the earth. Fortunately for us, the story is quite a bit more complex than that. Very soon into the series, the story becomes deeper, with many twists revealed about Saya and her dark past.

Art: From what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 8, 2008
ChrisVarick
When I saw about 15 episodes of Blood+, a friend asked me how was it. I said it was boring and dull, with some nice fighting scenes once in a while. After another 10-15 episodes, another friend asked me for my opinion on Blood+. I said it was one of the best anime series I saw this year. How do I feel after finishing the whole 50 chapters? Lets start from the beginning.

Blood+ revolves around a story of a "young" girl who is the only person on the planet able to fight vampire-like monsters, called Chiropterans, and wants to find out about her troubled read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful