MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #716
Blood+

Blood+

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blood Plus
Japanese: ブラッドプラス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2005 to Sep 23, 2006
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 70396 users)
Ranked: #7162
Popularity: #99
Members: 142,497
Favorites: 3,067
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

action adventure drama horror mystery supernatural vampire
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama
A show about a girl who fights monsters... sounds kind of unoriginal, no? Well, whatever it sounds like to you, this is one helluva awesome show :D

The story is dark, sad and action-packed. I like how they present everything with a sad setting; it's not like it's just one big brawl after another; it is emotions and resolve-strengthening, it's battles which have a reason other than just being yet another battle. The story keeps complex but simple enough to follow without too much thinking "what's happening?"

The animation style in Blood+ is really cool. It's got good shading details, and the characters looks good too; they've read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2007
Wyko
This anime is one of the best ones that I have ever seen before in my life. The plot somehow manages to stay incredibly strong throughout all of the 50 episodes, showcasing many different types of characters, from the most comical to the most radically serious. The animation has a very unique style, which somewhat surprised me early on, but then I realized that it simply made the show more unique.

What every viewer must realize first off is that this is NOT just an anime about vampires. The fact that the characters often require blood to survive is used as an effective plot device, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 29, 2011
ggultra2764
Blood+ offers up an alternate take of the events from Blood: The Last Vampire featuring Saya's hunt of the Chiropteran creature threat. Being at 50 episodes of length, this gives the series plenty of time to build up on events with its plot and explore the causes that led to the Chiropteran threat being as serious as it did. It also expands on Saya's character and the mysterious organization (Red Shield) aiding her in thwarting the Chiropteran threat.

In terms of characterization, the series does enough to flesh out prominent characters that influence Saya's decisions from those who serve to allow her to retain the normalcy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 6, 2009
AkatsukigirlTy
Blood+ was recommended to me by a friend about five months ago. After being briefed on the basic plotline by her I was less than impressed to say the least, after all, one girl fighting the forces of evil (Or in this case Chiroptera) with her band of merry men, it was an idea done many a time before (Just look at Buffy the Vampire Slayer!) Yet I decided to give it a go regardless. I was delighted to find myself proved wrong however after finishing the anime just a few weeks later. I’ve since re-watched it twice and would definitely recommend it to anyone read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2009
Sohei
Note: If you found this review helpful (or not), leave me a PM or comment, and give me some constructive criticism!

Post-note: All scores are compared to titles I have watched personally and represent the verbal "score" of that number, with a 7 meaning " Good". It is unrelated to the 1-10 grading that a lot of people seem to solely apply, without thinking of what it means.

So. Blood+

Originally an offshoot of an earlier movie, Blood+ combines both existing elements present in anime and new ones, to create a somewhat unique shonen (yes, shonen, because that's what this is, don't be fooled by the R+ rating) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 6, 2007
patco23
I used to watch a fair amount of anime, but over the past few years, my interest in it had been gradually waning, partly because of the decreasing number of good shows being produced, and partly because of lack of time due to my heavy workload.

However, this trend was reversed when I had the good fortune of coming across Blood+. I had never heard of it before, but the premise seemed interesting enough, though not particularly original or unique. I decided to give it a shot, expecting at least a decent and entertaining show but not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 18, 2009
itaeon
An excellent anime that holds a captivating and suspenseful story plot. Blood+ is definitely a must watch anime and one that should be re-watched over and over. It is one anime that has supernatural features, slight parts of romance, and even some historical event correlation intertwined in this fictional world that has the inhabitants called chiropterans; bat-like creatures that feast on human blood. I, myself am not one who favors all gore and blood soaked scenes, but the story in Blood+ really captivates me. The bloody fight scenes all connect to the main plot and is not one excessive blood fest. Plus, this anime is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2012
moseslionheart
Can't be denied, the anime produced by Aniplex is always interesting and inspiring like Gintama or Fate / Zero.

Blood + is also the production of flavors and Aniplex has its own story where the anime is the theme of vampires in a different package, generally described the figure of handsome vampire or a mysterious figure, but Blood + presents a different case in which the vampire portrayed beautiful women and strong

The story that took place in various countries presents a different atmosphere where spectators are invited adventure with Blood +.
Basically this anime is a story about a protagonist Otonashi memory loss in the past and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 13, 2010
stonnyfor
You might think Blood + is just another anime where a girl slashes away at monsters or vampires (which it does also have alot of if your into that) if you haven't watched it, but it is way more than that.

Story: 9
The plot is about a young girl who is adopted into a family with other adobpted children whom she really gets close to. This young girl whose name is Saya is no ordinary girl because she is the only person in the world who can fight against Chiropterans, which are monsters that feed on blood of living humans and can look like humans read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2010
Mari_Evans
It is interesting. At first, it seems that it’s a typical anime about vampires but then you realize that there is not typical. The plot is quite original. This anime keeps many mysteries and doesn’t disclose all the cards until the end. Even in the end we have place for the imagination.. For example, (how can I do no spoiler?! =.=) what will be with Haji and Saya, Kai and girls. Their future remains a mystery. Some say that 50 episodes it's too long but I would have looked more 50! After all, it would be interesting to see history from Diva’s eyes, to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2009
Fareplay
Got some time? didnt care much for blood the last vampire? well come on in~

like most of you guys, i first saw this on adult swim while waiting for my weekly dose of shounen; i landed on an unpolished gem. story starts slow ill admit.. real slow. however if you can get past that, you will be rewarded with an adventure. story revolves around a girl named saya and her adventures to kill off the vampire kind;generic enough for you yet? well saya is one of the two "pure bred" vampire queens in the story, other being her twin sister diva. In the end, with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2008
Pyrefly
Story: Any vampire fans would appreciate the story; the ever-reusable (and reused) vampire legend gets a new spin here. From the very first episode, the main character Saya is unwittingly thrown into a fight for humanity that only she can put an end to. Accompanied by her (sexy) cellist guardian who has some link to her, she sets out to rid the world of the vampire-like chiropterans plaguing the earth. Fortunately for us, the story is quite a bit more complex than that. Very soon into the series, the story becomes deeper, with many twists revealed about Saya and her dark past.

Art: From what read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 4, 2008
Bissen
Very good story! Once I got started, I could hardly stop.
It is interesting to see the change the main character goes through, and it is a very interesting relationship she had to people around her.

At first, the story may seem confusing, but of course it all comes together as you get more and more into the story. You don't know more than Saya, which makes it easy to get as frustarated as her, making you want to find out which again makes you hang on to it.

I wasn't too impressed with the artwork, but it can be nice not to always look at the shiny, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 24, 2008
Torchic23
I'm very happy to have found this anime because after I watched it, it was clear to me that it was the best anime I had ever watched. And to this day, I'm still very obessessed and excited about it. I don't think I'll ever find a better anime.
The plot is incredible! I always find myself a little disappointed at those synopsis because they only tell what happens in the first episode and Blood+ is so much more than that. Very amazing story they've created in this anime, it keeps you hooked!
The animation is also very nice, unique, but still lovable. The character designs are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2011
GoodEnoughForMe
When Blood+ came out back in 2005, it was one of the seasons most anticipated releases. The original work, Blood: The Last Vampire, screamed for a longer storyline that showed some development. And while Blood+ was to take place in a separate universe, if it managed to construct a decent story around the beautiful aesthetics of the film, then we would have had a definite winner. Sadly, Blood+ is, to put it bluntly, a bit of a mess.

Blood+ starts off decent enough. Saya, our protagonist, is revealed to be the only one capable of killing the human killing, blood sucking chiropterans. Early on, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 8, 2008
ChrisVarick
When I saw about 15 episodes of Blood+, a friend asked me how was it. I said it was boring and dull, with some nice fighting scenes once in a while. After another 10-15 episodes, another friend asked me for my opinion on Blood+. I said it was one of the best anime series I saw this year. How do I feel after finishing the whole 50 chapters? Lets start from the beginning.

Blood+ revolves around a story of a "young" girl who is the only person on the planet able to fight vampire-like monsters, called Chiropterans, and wants to find out about her troubled read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2008
monstrepetite
This is probably my favorite anime of all time. There was a nice blend of humor mixed in with plenty of supernatural drama and action. The story only gets better as the anime goes on, and the characters are all entrancing. It is not your normal vampire anime, but has a very unique view and intriguing plot that is believable. The only problem may be the English version of the anime. I find the voice actors completely off par with the Japanese voice actors, though I feel this way about most : ) The music is also read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 23, 2008
JeremyC
Blood+. It has been a while since I saw it but now, after all this time, I feel I can really reflect on it. It's your typical vampire story with a twist. The beginning was extremely interesting, but after a while, it just got kinda boring, and in the end, I felt as if I had wasted a lot of my time. It could have ended a lot earlier instead of making it 50 episodes.

The emphasis is more on the characters than the action, and all the fights are pretty much the same. Nothing that would really amaze me. This would have been alright if read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 11, 2010
Horinde
Blood+ is a very touching and dark story. The story is about a young girl, (Saya) who has a very unfair destiny to complete. Maybe, the first image you get when you read the summary of this anime, is a boring story about some violence, vampires and lots of blood. That's absolutely not the point here! The reason I gave the story a high score (Rate: 9) is because of the thrilling scenes and very tense moments. You can not stop watching. The first episode begins peaceful, but you discover after ten minutes the opposite; another reason why the story is very good. "You never read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 4, 2009
iamjoe
Blood+ is a cool vampire series that's not so cool because it went on far longer than it should.

The anime this was based off of was so much more interesting, but to appeal for fans, they made Saya younger, hotter, more man-hungry than her previous incarnation. Ah, accessibility...

Art was average. Sound was cool. I like the ED theme song where it sounds like an old lady is being strangled.

Characters were balls. The brother was freaking annoying. I hated him, ruined the damn series. However, most other people were fine.

I didn't enjoy this series so much as I enjoy getting an enema.

You read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices