MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #760
Blood+

Blood+

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blood Plus
Japanese: ブラッドプラス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2005 to Sep 23, 2006
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.831 (scored by 79510 users)
Ranked: #7602
Popularity: #138
Members: 166,264
Favorites: 3,272
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

TheLlama
Mar 14, 2008 3:39 PM
A show about a girl who fights monsters... sounds kind of unoriginal, no? Well, whatever it sounds like to you, this is one helluva awesome show :D

The story is dark, sad and action-packed. I like how they present everything with a sad setting; it's not like it's just one big brawl after another; it is emotions and resolve-strengthening, it's battles which have a reason other than just being yet another battle. The story keeps complex but simple enough to follow without too much thinking "what's happening?"

The animation style in Blood+ is really cool. It's got good shading details, and the characters looks good too; they've read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
NotenSMSK
Dec 4, 2014 10:47 AM
Blood+ was truly an interesting anime - it requires patience but once one starts to get accustomed with the pace and characters, it is an amazing anime.

Story wise Blood+ starts slow. It takes time to develop, to let the elements of the story, for the characters to interact naturally rather than forcing them into a swirling bog to just push the story ahead. And it starts with the basic anime form: The basic elements are put forth - Chiropteran and Saya. One can assume that with the progression of stronger foes and conflicting feelings, there is nothing more to the anime than the main character read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Okazaki-Fragment
Apr 20, 1:10 PM
A girl on to fight against monsters, a secret organisation and powerful enemies! If you want to enjoy an anime with a dark tune, complex story and really great charakter development, Blood+ would be a good choice! But beware if you get too close to certain charakters, your heart might get broken!

If you are looking for a fun and happy anime series, don't watch it. As I said before the anime is rather dark and as the name says bloody. There are some scenes that can be considered cruel (not only in a physical way).

And one more warning, before the praise: If you're expecting tons read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
showandAG
Jul 5, 1:49 PM
If you watched Blood C and you didn't think it was very good, don't let that keep you away from Blood+.

Story 10/10

I thought that Blood+ was really well done. If I had to pick a favorite part of Blood+ I think it would be the story. I love when a show has a story that takes a lot of episodes to play out, but doesn't ever loose focus. This is what Blood+ does best. The concept is fairly simple but there are many complexities that you discover as the show progresses.

Art 8/10

For an anime made in 2006 this show is on par read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Wyko
Jan 12, 2007 3:11 PM
This anime is one of the best ones that I have ever seen before in my life. The plot somehow manages to stay incredibly strong throughout all of the 50 episodes, showcasing many different types of characters, from the most comical to the most radically serious. The animation has a very unique style, which somewhat surprised me early on, but then I realized that it simply made the show more unique.

What every viewer must realize first off is that this is NOT just an anime about vampires. The fact that the characters often require blood to survive is used as an effective plot device, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Pontax
Jul 13, 7:51 PM
Was a nice action, dramatic thriller. Enjoyed the character development a lot. I would recommend if you want to watch an anime that continues past 12 episode cap. Very amusing, will definitely watch again.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
ggultra2764
Oct 29, 2011 2:41 PM
Blood+ offers up an alternate take of the events from Blood: The Last Vampire featuring Saya's hunt of the Chiropteran creature threat. Being at 50 episodes of length, this gives the series plenty of time to build up on events with its plot and explore the causes that led to the Chiropteran threat being as serious as it did. It also expands on Saya's character and the mysterious organization (Red Shield) aiding her in thwarting the Chiropteran threat.

In terms of characterization, the series does enough to flesh out prominent characters that influence Saya's decisions from those who serve to allow her to retain the normalcy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
AkatsukigirlTy
Oct 6, 2009 11:34 PM
Blood+ was recommended to me by a friend about five months ago. After being briefed on the basic plotline by her I was less than impressed to say the least, after all, one girl fighting the forces of evil (Or in this case Chiroptera) with her band of merry men, it was an idea done many a time before (Just look at Buffy the Vampire Slayer!) Yet I decided to give it a go regardless. I was delighted to find myself proved wrong however after finishing the anime just a few weeks later. I’ve since re-watched it twice and would definitely recommend it to anyone read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sohei
Jul 28, 2009 10:54 AM
Note: If you found this review helpful (or not), leave me a PM or comment, and give me some constructive criticism!

Post-note: All scores are compared to titles I have watched personally and represent the verbal "score" of that number, with a 7 meaning " Good". It is unrelated to the 1-10 grading that a lot of people seem to solely apply, without thinking of what it means.

So. Blood+

Originally an offshoot of an earlier movie, Blood+ combines both existing elements present in anime and new ones, to create a somewhat unique shonen (yes, shonen, because that's what this is, don't be fooled by the R+ rating) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
patco23
Sep 6, 2007 2:40 AM
I used to watch a fair amount of anime, but over the past few years, my interest in it had been gradually waning, partly because of the decreasing number of good shows being produced, and partly because of lack of time due to my heavy workload.

However, this trend was reversed when I had the good fortune of coming across Blood+. I had never heard of it before, but the premise seemed interesting enough, though not particularly original or unique. I decided to give it a shot, expecting at least a decent and entertaining show but not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
SammyUnwin
Jan 6, 10:55 AM
A horror anime that does adventure, better than most other adventure anime. The anime is set throughout different locations and time periods in history, that are based on real world events. The core of the show is about vampires, but with an evolutionary twist to it. It follows a young girl called Saya (a protagonist that is actually likable) that soon discovers she's not who she thinks she is and what she is. It's definitely an anime I'd recommend to anyone and has a GREAT soundtrack too. Oh and I highly recommend that you get some tissues prepared, it has it's Romeo and Juliet moments read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
moseslionheart
Apr 8, 2012 6:54 PM
Can't be denied, the anime produced by Aniplex is always interesting and inspiring like Gintama or Fate / Zero.

Blood + is also the production of flavors and Aniplex has its own story where the anime is the theme of vampires in a different package, generally described the figure of handsome vampire or a mysterious figure, but Blood + presents a different case in which the vampire portrayed beautiful women and strong

The story that took place in various countries presents a different atmosphere where spectators are invited adventure with Blood +.
Basically this anime is a story about a protagonist Otonashi memory loss in the past and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Tsugan
Nov 14, 2014 11:27 PM
This was one of the very first anime that I watched; along with Higurashi and Elfen Lied. So obviously I didn't have much experience in what made anime good or bad. However, by now I've watched dozens of anime and I feel that I've allowed it enough time to settle in my mind.

Story & Character:
The plot itself is compelling and interesting; there wasn't anything cheesy or drastically overblown as you sometimes run into with anime. No chaff or filler episodes to my recollection; all ~50 episodes stay on track.

I like all of the characters, for the most part: the main character has an annoying read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
stonnyfor
Oct 13, 2010 7:28 AM
You might think Blood + is just another anime where a girl slashes away at monsters or vampires (which it does also have alot of if your into that) if you haven't watched it, but it is way more than that.

Story: 9
The plot is about a young girl who is adopted into a family with other adobpted children whom she really gets close to. This young girl whose name is Saya is no ordinary girl because she is the only person in the world who can fight against Chiropterans, which are monsters that feed on blood of living humans and can look like humans read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
GoodEnoughForMe
Mar 1, 2011 9:38 AM
When Blood+ came out back in 2005, it was one of the seasons most anticipated releases. The original work, Blood: The Last Vampire, screamed for a longer storyline that showed some development. And while Blood+ was to take place in a separate universe, if it managed to construct a decent story around the beautiful aesthetics of the film, then we would have had a definite winner. Sadly, Blood+ is, to put it bluntly, a bit of a mess.

Blood+ starts off decent enough. Saya, our protagonist, is revealed to be the only one capable of killing the human killing, blood sucking chiropterans. Early on, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
nyanlika
Aug 14, 2014 12:23 PM
At first glance it seems like a typical gore anime with vampires in it and plenty of blood just as the title suggest, but its not all there is to it. At the start of the series I didn't know where this was going; I mean the typical high school girl everyday life thing did not much match with the title. But I digress, as the series progresses the main protagonist Saya and Haji, and her family are thrust in a torrent of tragedies one after the other. And this was one of the best things that this series have to offer, the character development. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
itaeon
Jan 18, 2009 5:38 PM
An excellent anime that holds a captivating and suspenseful story plot. Blood+ is definitely a must watch anime and one that should be re-watched over and over. It is one anime that has supernatural features, slight parts of romance, and even some historical event correlation intertwined in this fictional world that has the inhabitants called chiropterans; bat-like creatures that feast on human blood. I, myself am not one who favors all gore and blood soaked scenes, but the story in Blood+ really captivates me. The bloody fight scenes all connect to the main plot and is not one excessive blood fest. Plus, this anime is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
ChrisVarick
Jan 8, 2008 9:54 AM
When I saw about 15 episodes of Blood+, a friend asked me how was it. I said it was boring and dull, with some nice fighting scenes once in a while. After another 10-15 episodes, another friend asked me for my opinion on Blood+. I said it was one of the best anime series I saw this year. How do I feel after finishing the whole 50 chapters? Lets start from the beginning.

Blood+ revolves around a story of a "young" girl who is the only person on the planet able to fight vampire-like monsters, called Chiropterans, and wants to find out about her troubled read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Fareplay
Feb 23, 2009 7:30 PM
Got some time? didnt care much for blood the last vampire? well come on in~

like most of you guys, i first saw this on adult swim while waiting for my weekly dose of shounen; i landed on an unpolished gem. story starts slow ill admit.. real slow. however if you can get past that, you will be rewarded with an adventure. story revolves around a girl named saya and her adventures to kill off the vampire kind;generic enough for you yet? well saya is one of the two "pure bred" vampire queens in the story, other being her twin sister diva. In the end, with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Torchic23
Jul 24, 2008 1:13 PM
I'm very happy to have found this anime because after I watched it, it was clear to me that it was the best anime I had ever watched. And to this day, I'm still very obessessed and excited about it. I don't think I'll ever find a better anime.
The plot is incredible! I always find myself a little disappointed at those synopsis because they only tell what happens in the first episode and Blood+ is so much more than that. Very amazing story they've created in this anime, it keeps you hooked!
The animation is also very nice, unique, but still lovable. The character designs are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful