Ranked #778


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Blood Plus
Japanese: ブラッドプラス


Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2005 to Sep 23, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.821 (scored by 82,831 users)
Ranked: #7782
Popularity: #149
Members: 175,223
Favorites: 3,388
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 21, 2015
Blood+ follows Saya Otonashi, an average Japanese schoolgirl who finds out she's a millenia-old Vampire and must do battle with her sister, Diva. Unfortunately, what should have been a simple "find x, fight, tropes, repeat" is a weird mix of drawn-out subplots and some slippery sliding. What should have been a decent shounen/shoujo series accomplishes that, but finds it difficult to do much else.

The director for the series is Junichi Fujisaku, whom wrote a for xxxHolic, Tsubasa, and even tried his hand at a Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex episode. That last one is especially notable being that 1) it was the read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 10, 2015
I watched this some years ago and rewatched recently because I didn't remember the story very well. I guess this show is not worth rewatching if you're not as forgetful as me.

The series' enviroment is good and the soundtrack is also good. I loved almost all the openings and endings (there are 4 each). But the plot... oh boy, that could have been great. The plotline is: the main character has to kill all the chiropteans (vampires) and Diva, the main antagonist (also a chiroptean). Sounds really stupid but at some points this is very well played and really entertaining. Also, there's a little discussion read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 14, 2008
A show about a girl who fights monsters... sounds kind of unoriginal, no? Well, whatever it sounds like to you, this is one helluva awesome show :D

The story is dark, sad and action-packed. I like how they present everything with a sad setting; it's not like it's just one big brawl after another; it is emotions and resolve-strengthening, it's battles which have a reason other than just being yet another battle. The story keeps complex but simple enough to follow without too much thinking "what's happening?"

The animation style in Blood+ is really cool. It's got good shading details, and the characters looks good too; they've read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 5, 2015
If you watched Blood C and you didn't think it was very good, don't let that keep you away from Blood+.

Story 10/10

I thought that Blood+ was really well done. If I had to pick a favorite part of Blood+ I think it would be the story. I love when a show has a story that takes a lot of episodes to play out, but doesn't ever loose focus. This is what Blood+ does best. The concept is fairly simple but there are many complexities that you discover as the show progresses.

Art 8/10

For an anime made in 2006 this show is on par read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 8, 2015
At first this anime seems like it might be just another long drawn out story about some high school girl who learns how to fight monsters but that is only the beginning. Throughout the anime different background stories begin to unravel in a way that just pulls you in. I absolutely love the way the characters interact with one another and how emotions are portrayed. I personally have a short attention span for animes which have more than maybe 20 or 25 episodes but at the time that I watched this I was so drawn in by everything within it that I didn't even read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 20, 2015
A girl on to fight against monsters, a secret organisation and powerful enemies! If you want to enjoy an anime with a dark tune, complex story and really great charakter development, Blood+ would be a good choice! But beware if you get too close to certain charakters, your heart might get broken!

If you are looking for a fun and happy anime series, don't watch it. As I said before the anime is rather dark and as the name says bloody. There are some scenes that can be considered cruel (not only in a physical way).

And one more warning, before the praise: If you're expecting tons read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 4, 2014
Blood+ was truly an interesting anime - it requires patience but once one starts to get accustomed with the pace and characters, it is an amazing anime.

Story wise Blood+ starts slow. It takes time to develop, to let the elements of the story, for the characters to interact naturally rather than forcing them into a swirling bog to just push the story ahead. And it starts with the basic anime form: The basic elements are put forth - Chiropteran and Saya. One can assume that with the progression of stronger foes and conflicting feelings, there is nothing more to the anime than the main character read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 13, 2015
Was a nice action, dramatic thriller. Enjoyed the character development a lot. I would recommend if you want to watch an anime that continues past 12 episode cap. Very amusing, will definitely watch again.
I found this review Helpful
Jan 12, 2007
This anime is one of the best ones that I have ever seen before in my life. The plot somehow manages to stay incredibly strong throughout all of the 50 episodes, showcasing many different types of characters, from the most comical to the most radically serious. The animation has a very unique style, which somewhat surprised me early on, but then I realized that it simply made the show more unique.

What every viewer must realize first off is that this is NOT just an anime about vampires. The fact that the characters often require blood to survive is used as an effective plot device, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 28, 2009
Note: If you found this review helpful (or not), leave me a PM or comment, and give me some constructive criticism!

Post-note: All scores are compared to titles I have watched personally and represent the verbal "score" of that number, with a 7 meaning " Good". It is unrelated to the 1-10 grading that a lot of people seem to solely apply, without thinking of what it means.

So. Blood+

Originally an offshoot of an earlier movie, Blood+ combines both existing elements present in anime and new ones, to create a somewhat unique shonen (yes, shonen, because that's what this is, don't be fooled by the R+ rating) read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2011
Blood+ offers up an alternate take of the events from Blood: The Last Vampire featuring Saya's hunt of the Chiropteran creature threat. Being at 50 episodes of length, this gives the series plenty of time to build up on events with its plot and explore the causes that led to the Chiropteran threat being as serious as it did. It also expands on Saya's character and the mysterious organization (Red Shield) aiding her in thwarting the Chiropteran threat.

In terms of characterization, the series does enough to flesh out prominent characters that influence Saya's decisions from those who serve to allow her to retain the normalcy read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 6, 2015
A horror anime that does adventure, better than most other adventure anime. The anime is set throughout different locations and time periods in history, that are based on real world events. The core of the show is about vampires, but with an evolutionary twist to it. It follows a young girl called Saya (a protagonist that is actually likable) that soon discovers she's not who she thinks she is and what she is. It's definitely an anime I'd recommend to anyone and has a GREAT soundtrack too. Oh and I highly recommend that you get some tissues prepared, it has it's Romeo and Juliet moments read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 20, 2015
I thought this anime was going to be about mass murder and a dark girl who can't stop killing. Well, that's the impression the trailer I found on YouTube gave me, at least. That was my first impression.

My second impression was the fact that the series would drag on and on and on (because FIFTY EPISODES??? HOLY). Both my impressions have been proven wrong.

The pacing is nice, and (some) of the characters have made me very emotional at times. The art is nice, although I felt the main to be lacking power at times. The relationships formed, be it friend, romantic, or family bonds, have read more
I found this review Helpful
May 4, 2009
Blood+ is a cool vampire series that's not so cool because it went on far longer than it should.

The anime this was based off of was so much more interesting, but to appeal for fans, they made Saya younger, hotter, more man-hungry than her previous incarnation. Ah, accessibility...

Art was average. Sound was cool. I like the ED theme song where it sounds like an old lady is being strangled.

Characters were balls. The brother was freaking annoying. I hated him, ruined the damn series. However, most other people were fine.

I didn't enjoy this series so much as I enjoy getting an enema.

You read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 1, 2015
It's been a few years now, and I still think of Blood+ almost daily. All I can say is, if you haven't watched this anime, you haven't lived. To be fully honest... I don't even know what to say. I guess I'll just tell my story...

A few years back, before I even heard of the word "anime" my family was hosting a Christmas party. At my Christmas party, me and my cousin were in my room, being the socially-awkward people we are, instead of socializing with my other family members. He mentioned how he is obsessed with this "anime" called "Air Gear" or something along read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 6, 2007
I used to watch a fair amount of anime, but over the past few years, my interest in it had been gradually waning, partly because of the decreasing number of good shows being produced, and partly because of lack of time due to my heavy workload.

However, this trend was reversed when I had the good fortune of coming across Blood+. I had never heard of it before, but the premise seemed interesting enough, though not particularly original or unique. I decided to give it a shot, expecting at least a decent and entertaining show but not read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 14, 2014
This was one of the very first anime that I watched; along with Higurashi and Elfen Lied. So obviously I didn't have much experience in what made anime good or bad. However, by now I've watched dozens of anime and I feel that I've allowed it enough time to settle in my mind.

Story & Character:
The plot itself is compelling and interesting; there wasn't anything cheesy or drastically overblown as you sometimes run into with anime. No chaff or filler episodes to my recollection; all ~50 episodes stay on track.

I like all of the characters, for the most part: the main character has an annoying read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 1, 2011
When Blood+ came out back in 2005, it was one of the seasons most anticipated releases. The original work, Blood: The Last Vampire, screamed for a longer storyline that showed some development. And while Blood+ was to take place in a separate universe, if it managed to construct a decent story around the beautiful aesthetics of the film, then we would have had a definite winner. Sadly, Blood+ is, to put it bluntly, a bit of a mess.

Blood+ starts off decent enough. Saya, our protagonist, is revealed to be the only one capable of killing the human killing, blood sucking chiropterans. Early on, a read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 6, 2009
Blood+ was recommended to me by a friend about five months ago. After being briefed on the basic plotline by her I was less than impressed to say the least, after all, one girl fighting the forces of evil (Or in this case Chiroptera) with her band of merry men, it was an idea done many a time before (Just look at Buffy the Vampire Slayer!) Yet I decided to give it a go regardless. I was delighted to find myself proved wrong however after finishing the anime just a few weeks later. I’ve since re-watched it twice and would definitely recommend it to anyone read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 30, 2013
The plot had great potential but for many reasons the anime just couldn't keep me hooked for more than a few episodes.

Never had I encountered such awkward voice acting. Equally awkward was the music throughout-lackluster, dry, and often inserted at the wrong moments.

And the characters frustrated me(this is just a personal pet peeve.) They were dimensionless, although I can't say much about the main character, Saya, since I never finished the series.

The biggest con for me is that the anime is incredibly SLOW. Again, this is just me, but I like my anime to have unrealistic timelines that doesn't bore me into multitasking while read more
I found this review Helpful