MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #387
Kamisama Hajimemashita

Kamisama Hajimemashita

Alternative Titles

English: Kamisama Kiss
Synonyms: Kami-sama Hajimemashita, Kami-sama Kiss
Japanese: 神様はじめました

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2012 to Dec 25, 2012
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 33150 users)
Ranked: #3872
Popularity: #344
Members: 61,611
Favorites: 1,300
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Nov 14, 2012
norka
Positively surprised by the pleasant opening and ending music, I must admit the anime has really charmed me. Right from the start you get drawn into it and sing along :) a… a a a… kamisama…

The plot has it all: beautiful animation, interesting story, spiritual world of youkai, deities, shrines, current world and school life as well as different handsome male characters. Everything is perfectly combined and thus great romance and comedy has been created.

Nanami may call herself super lucky considering her life before meeting Mikage. Now, treated like a goddess (which she became), her familiar cooks, cleans, makes appointments, has great manners, takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2013
DeathByFloss
Lighthearted, sweet with a dash of supernatural occurrences. It's the perfect recipe for a wonderful romantic comedy. The anime has a decent story, sadly shortened by the amount of episodes. However this does not spoil the story nor the character development.

The anime has lovely artwork and a pleasant soundtrack (including the opening and ending theme which are gorgeous!) I find the characters appealing and engaging, also the comedy is rather light hearted and bearable in comparison to many slap-stick alternatives.

I find it hard to not get into this anime considering that it combines comedy, a bit of action, supernatural and romance all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2012
Stark700
Ah kamisama, why doesn't money grow on trees especially when I'm in debt?

Ah kamisama, where are you when I need you the most?

Ah kamisama, why can't the world be perfect?

In a nutshell, Kamisama Hajimemashita (also known as Kamisama Kiss) is based on the manga of the same name written by Julietta Suzuki. She is known for several other lighthearted shoujo manga that involves supernatural elements such as Karakuri Odette. The series debuted in Fall of 2012 along with many other shuojo titles.

The series tells the story of a young girl named Nanami Momozono, who is alone..abandoned, and helpless. The innocent little lamp makes an read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 12, 2014
megaan
Kamisama Hajimemashita is one of the cutest series I've ever seen!

It's about a girl who's father is a complete idiot ending up with a huge debt that leaves our heroine Nanami homeless with no friends, no family, nothing to turn to, things relating to a dog, a mysterious man and little magic Nanami ends up being a deity at a abandoned shrine!

we meet our male protagonist, Tomoe, a demon fox who is the shrine deity's unconditional servant and ends up being Nanami's servant, much to his dismay.

both out protagonists are complete opposites; Nanami being kind and warm-hearted and Tomoe being distant and cold, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2012
KeiPyon
-this is my first time writing a review so sorry it's kinda long-

As a HUGE fan of the manga this anime has to be one of the BIGGEST things I've been looking forward to. I always hoped it would be animated and freaked out the day I found out about it (two days before it aired)

The story is awesome I recently got into watching/reading anime/manga about youkai/ayakashi/akuma, whatever you want to call them, and when I first read the manga I fell in love with it.

As for the anime.....one word. AFRIKINAMAZING!!! (yes that counts as one word Xp)
read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 16, 2013
NostalgicDPT
I'm normally not a fan of your typical comdedy/romance/shoujo anime, but I must admit I really loved this one.
Now, the plot may not be that original, but who cares? It's an enjoyable anime, that's more than enough to satisfy the regular viewer.

Story 9/10:A quick synopsis of the anime would be a girl becomes a deity, and get's a familiar. As she starts to train to become a better deity her relationship grows with her familiar. The story is basically set up for a romance theme, and it's quite interesting. There are some cool fight scenes and very good plot lines. It's definitely not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 13, 2014
jkalyana
You can read the basic outline of story from synopsis itself. I need not write it. Now coming to how the story felt, its light and very nice. There is nothing complicated to think about how someone did it or anything, no great super fights with action, don't expect that. There are but nothing too serious. The lead characters Nanami and Tomoe, and their of life and obstacles after Nanami becomes a God, very nice and very well shown. Very nice, light and hearty story. The music, the ending was too too too good. Once you hear it, its like you go into a trance read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 26, 2013
qichiro
I currently follow this anime's manga and to see it being brought and made into an anime was just flipping amazing.
I'd say my love level for this was on Par with Skip Beat...and that's high.
I love strong female leads, who aren't Mary Sue's.
She's good but she isn't afraid to say she hates you. HAHA
The fox man had to grow on me..I will not lie but now I am willing to allow him to hang out with Youko Kurama, InuYasha and Sesshomaru...poor Sessho..the only one without ears.

Anyways, I loved the story it was very unique to me and the characters show amazing development. I doubt a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2013
Bexxii_171611
I have never actually written a review but this anime made me want to review it.

I was a bit apprehensive about watching this anime to begin with. I thought it would be very cliche` and boring but I was pleasantly surprised and completely wrong.
If you are looking for a romance/comedy then this is one is probably a must watch. There were moments where I anticipated what was going to happen but instead I was left in tears of laughter from the comedy side of this anime.

I don't really think there is any real flaw in Kami-sama Hajimemashita. The only thing that I dislike read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
DontPanicToktok
Kamisama Hajimemashita is one of my favorite animes so far.the story was very unique and outstanding,I enjoyed every bit of it.it was also really funny.the art was also outstanding,all the characters and whatnot looked amazing.which leads me to the characters themselves,I loved all the characters,none of them were annoying at all,they were all very fun and "kawaii".the music was also amazing,I was (and still am) in love with the opening and ending theme songs.same goes for the sound in general.overall,it was a very fun anime to watch,everything about it was just perfect.I totally recommend it.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 30, 2014
LeaMichaelis
The anime is a bit similar to Fruit Baskets,but is still wonderful.This anime made em watch 13 episodes a day.After I finished it,I read 70 chapters of the manga in one day!This anime made me go cray-cray(in a good way)
Good things:
-Amazing Art
-Cute
-Good story
-Funny
-Lovely
-Hot guys
-Comedy

Things to improve:
-I wish it followed the manga plot a little more,then it would be a lot more interesting.
-MORE EPISODES



I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2013
mikayla-chan
My overall score was an 9. I'm sorry but it just had some missing things that I really wanted covered. I'm a huge fan of the manga, but the anime ended so early missing a whole plot line. *sigh* I might have been expecting too much, but it is one of my favorite manga of all time. The story is just overall lighthearted and romantic I adore this story line so much. The opening and closing song are both enjoyable. I usually am one to get annoyed with some opening songs but with Kamisama Hajimemashita's opening theme song I found myself listening to it after read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2013
quercifolia
Some spoilers...

Story: [8/10]

Interesting plot, a girl loses her house but is given a new house by a mysterious man and becomes the new Earth God of a shrine. Needless t say it doesn't start perfectly but things turn out alright in the end!

Art: [8/10]

Not much to say, the art was nice and well animated, with nice backgrounds and textures.

Sound: [7/10]

The OP theme was really catchy, after a couple episodes I found myself humming along! The ED theme was not so catchy but still was pretty good.

SE, some of them were fairly generic. BGM, nothing really stood out as bad, but nothing stood out as extremely read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 31, 2012
darkmeder
kamisama hajimemashita also known as kamisama kiss is nothing particularly new; a young high school girl, magical happenings, falling in love. heard that before? i have. nevertheless, i found kamisama hajimemashita to be a something i truly enjoyed.

Character is the first topic i want to touch on. The difference between Kamisama Hajimemashita and other animes in terms of character was that the lead, nanami, was LIKEABLE. All of the characters were done very well but Nanami really caught my attention. yes she had some of THOSE traits (bossy, clumsy etc.) but she was also funny, hardworking and persistent.Tomoe another main is the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2012
Momo33
Just a warning that I have only watched the first couple of episodes and that this review is only based on what I've seen.

While watching the first episode of the anime, I was left with goosebumps. Not because of excitement, but of how embarassed I was with how it all turned out. It was sheer horror that such a brilliant manga was reduced to some fleeting anime that was probably made to attract viewers.

When comparing it to its manga, I am not impressed with the anime. It seems as if it was made out of the whim with simplistic graphic designs. I mean c'mon, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 26, 2012
Issakusakuya
Everyone in this anime is hot, hot, HOT!! This anime is a masterpiece in the sense of hotness. Right from the opening, if you stop at Nanami holding some cherries; WOW, is she hot. Just look at the way the two cherries are held by the tip of the stem, and the way she's winking and looking at you, and the way her shoulders and cheeks are flustered....HOT!!

(Watching this anime is like being kissed by god!)

Besides Nanami, there's Tomoe who is a super fox-xy guy. He is always acting cool and has sexual tension at almost all times. He also has the power to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2014
fiarose12
I was really surprised by how much I liked this one. It's a great companion to the manga.
I love this style of art, first of all. The music, too, was pleasant. The overall sound and scenery was very well done.
The story is fun. There's no main arc besides Nanami becoming a land god, but I liked that. The episodes were enjoyable and lighter than the manga. The characters were funny and had their own unique personalities. I would say that they were very memorable. I enjoyed the story too, because I could sympathize with Nanami as well read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2013
jennerz34
Like the previous review written before this one, i was also pleasantly surprised by how much i liked the music throughout the anime.

The story was good. Half the time I drop anime out of boredom, but this on pulled me in from the beginning. And I fell in love with the characters in this anime, especially Tomoe (fox demon).

The art in this anime is very simple but very good. I really liked the character animation.

Overall, i will just say that i thoroughly enjoyed this anime and will add it to my recommendation list.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 20, 2013
ouj-i
I'd just like to say that I really did enjoy this anime. I was laughing so much through out the series because the comedic timing is great. The music was also, in my opinion great, the op and ending song were pleasant, but the background music was outstanding. It fit Kamisama Hajimemashita like a glove.

I also really liked the art. The characters were nicely done, and it was nice to see their personalities come through their appearance. AND DAMN, TOMOE IS A FINE PIECE OF EYE CANDY. I also felt that the voice actors were chosen well.^^

I do have a few complaints though. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
xmelonhippo
LOL I really enjoyed this anime! :D

Because it's the same director as Fruits Basket, it has the same humor going on (if you know what I mean).
The story is pretty interesting and if you're an uber shoujo manga/anime fan like me, don't worry about it xD This anime isn't cliche like any other shojo manga/anime. They do things that you would least expect!

All in all: really good, funny, and randon anime!
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices