Ranked #399

Kamisama Hajimemashita

Alternative Titles

English: Kamisama Kiss
Synonyms: Kami-sama Hajimemashita
Japanese: 神様はじめました


Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2012 to Dec 25, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.101 (scored by 66,588 users)
Ranked: #3992
Popularity: #255
Members: 123,703
Favorites: 2,629
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 14, 2012
Positively surprised by the pleasant opening and ending music, I must admit the anime has really charmed me. Right from the start you get drawn into it and sing along :) a… a a a… kamisama…

The plot has it all: beautiful animation, interesting story, spiritual world of youkai, deities, shrines, current world and school life as well as different handsome male characters. Everything is perfectly combined and thus great romance and comedy has been created.

Nanami may call herself super lucky considering her life before meeting Mikage. Now, treated like a goddess (which she became), her familiar cooks, cleans, makes appointments, has great manners, takes read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 8, 2012
Ah kamisama, why doesn't money grow on trees especially when I'm in debt?

Ah kamisama, where are you when I need you the most?

Ah kamisama, why can't the world be perfect?

In a nutshell, Kamisama Hajimemashita (also known as Kamisama Kiss) is based on the manga of the same name written by Julietta Suzuki. She is known for several other lighthearted shoujo manga that involves supernatural elements such as Karakuri Odette. The series debuted in Fall of 2012 along with many other shuojo titles.

The series tells the story of a young girl named Nanami Momozono, who is alone..abandoned, and helpless. The innocent little lamp makes an read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 13, 2014
A young girl is abandoned by her father who owes money and is left to fend for herself. This sounds like it’s an excuse for the parents to not care what happens to their child while strange things are around them. It’s cliché but I can’t think of any other way they could have walked around this. The fact of the matter is that they had to get rid of the parents one way or another and they picked one of the two ways they could have done it. That or make them dead and have her an orphan but that one is used even read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 12, 2014
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

When you think about it, one's home is a very precious thing. It's a safe haven. It's private. It contains the parts of one's life he or she loves the most, including family or that newly imported figure. When someone says that the atmosphere feels "homely," it's because at that moment, it is reminding him or her of that one place where he or she can truly be at peace. Sadly, some people don't have such a location. Others still are forced to change it. Within Kamisama Hajimemashita is a story depicting finding one's home with the help read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2015
With the new season upon us, I thought I'd take the time to re-write a review I once deleted.

There may be very minor spoilers, so please, be aware.

Ah, Kamisama Kiss. My one and eternal anime-enemy. I didn't think much when starting it, and just thought of it as another one of those shoujo girl-meets-supernatural guy and falls in love. Well, I wasn't necessarily wrong on that aspect. However, diving into it as the episodes moved along, I noticed disturbingly nostalgic details that I've seen before.

Story (60/100)—Nothing too exciting. A regular high school girl gets thrust into a world she is unfamiliar with, and read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 27, 2012
-this is my first time writing a review so sorry it's kinda long-

As a HUGE fan of the manga this anime has to be one of the BIGGEST things I've been looking forward to. I always hoped it would be animated and freaked out the day I found out about it (two days before it aired)

The story is awesome I recently got into watching/reading anime/manga about youkai/ayakashi/akuma, whatever you want to call them, and when I first read the manga I fell in love with it.

As for the anime.....one word. AFRIKINAMAZING!!! (yes that counts as one word Xp)
read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 21, 2013
Lighthearted, sweet with a dash of supernatural occurrences. It's the perfect recipe for a wonderful romantic comedy. The anime has a decent story, sadly shortened by the amount of episodes. However this does not spoil the story nor the character development.

The anime has lovely artwork and a pleasant soundtrack (including the opening and ending theme which are gorgeous!) I find the characters appealing and engaging, also the comedy is rather light hearted and bearable in comparison to many slap-stick alternatives.

I find it hard to not get into this anime considering that it combines comedy, a bit of action, supernatural and romance all read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 31, 2015
Lion Tamers, Lion Tamers; gather round!

We take a look at "Kamisama Hajimemashita"

As some of you, who've been reading my reviews know; I have for a long time, been attempting to understand the teenage mind. After all, I was one once, ummm ... around the late 1960's. That was another time. Those were the days when a college graduate could find the United States on a colored World Globe. These days, 48% of college grads can't; actual statistic. In a very real sense, most people of that stripe today; can't find their own butt with both hands. Which explains why some can't properly analyze anime very read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 13, 2012
Just a warning that I have only watched the first couple of episodes and that this review is only based on what I've seen.

While watching the first episode of the anime, I was left with goosebumps. Not because of excitement, but of how embarassed I was with how it all turned out. It was sheer horror that such a brilliant manga was reduced to some fleeting anime that was probably made to attract viewers.

When comparing it to its manga, I am not impressed with the anime. It seems as if it was made out of the whim with simplistic graphic designs. I mean c'mon, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 10, 2013
Some spoilers...

Story: [8/10]

Interesting plot, a girl loses her house but is given a new house by a mysterious man and becomes the new Earth God of a shrine. Needless t say it doesn't start perfectly but things turn out alright in the end!

Art: [8/10]

Not much to say, the art was nice and well animated, with nice backgrounds and textures.

Sound: [7/10]

The OP theme was really catchy, after a couple episodes I found myself humming along! The ED theme was not so catchy but still was pretty good.

SE, some of them were fairly generic. BGM, nothing really stood out as bad, but nothing stood out as extremely read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 4, 2015
This is review of both season 1 and 2 of Kamisama Hajimemashita, since they were pretty much the same in terms of quality.

Overall Enjoyment- 7/10 Good - The best aspect of Kamisama Hajimemashita is definitely the two main characters and how they overcome obstacles and grow closer to each other. The other elements (plot, music, and animation) were enjoyable as well.

Plot overall- 7/10 Good - Nanami suddenly becomes a deity who learns her responsibilities to her worshipers and shrine, fend off attacks from dark beings, overcome the stigma of being a mortal deity, meanwhile managing school, and having fun with friends along read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 16, 2013
I'm normally not a fan of your typical comedy/romance/shoujo anime, but I must admit I really loved this one.
Now, the plot may not be that original, but who cares? It's an enjoyable anime, that's more than enough to satisfy the regular viewer.

Story 9/10:A quick synopsis of the anime would be a girl becomes a deity, and get's a familiar. As she starts to train to become a better deity her relationship grows with her familiar. The story is basically set up for a romance theme, and it's quite interesting. There are some cool fight scenes and very good plot lines. It's definitely not read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 1, 2014
I didn't have much expectation for this anime to begin with but from what I saw, it was actually decent and cute; something you would expect from anything involving a female high school student and a kitsune-type character. Throw in a few extra men just to make the love interest realize his feelings, and the formula of a good romantic comedy is complete.

The story isn't complicated whatsoever. In fact, it's incredibly basic and easy to understand. Even with the few snippets of backstory that was shown, you can piece together a few things. The animation was nice and somehow suited the love interests character read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 12, 2014
Kamisama Hajimemashita is one of the cutest series I've ever seen!

It's about a girl who's father is a complete idiot ending up with a huge debt that leaves our heroine Nanami homeless with no friends, no family, nothing to turn to, things relating to a dog, a mysterious man and little magic Nanami ends up being a deity at a abandoned shrine!

we meet our male protagonist, Tomoe, a demon fox who is the shrine deity's unconditional servant and ends up being Nanami's servant, much to his dismay.

both out protagonists are complete opposites; Nanami being kind and warm-hearted and Tomoe being distant and cold, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 16, 2014
Words cannot describe how much I love this anime. First of all, I'd been plenty away from the usual shoujo, slice of life, romance that it hit me hard how much I'd missed it watching Kamisama Hajimemashita. It's simply a perfect anime to watch during free time because you can't really take it seriously and just fangirl at the otp, which I have the urge to state, but must resist. I hadn't shipped so hard in months, but in this anime, I was screaming inside (cause I'd watch at night) hoping the otp would just admit their undying love for each other. I'd be screaming read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 27, 2014
Okay so to start off this anime is my top anime, so I may be slightly biased.

Story: 9/10
The story kinda started off as a main occurrence then expanded into some side stories. The manga's storyline is better of course, but the anime has an enjoyable storyline as well. You will not be lacking a lovely dose of gods or traditional clothing mixed in with some mythology.
Art: 9/10
I guess the art could have been better, but overall the art was very cute and pleasing to watch. It was done in a shoujo-like style, with the females possessing large eyes and the males having smaller, read more
I found this review Helpful
May 2, 2014
I absolutely loved Kamisama Hajimemashita! I loved that the characters all had very different personalities instead of the usual boring main character who falls for someone cool. The story was well done and I highly recommend reading the manga, it continues much further and it's just really awesome. It has a good amount of comedy and I'm a sucker for romance so this was a perfect anime for me. I really hope they make another season of this.
I found this review Helpful
Jan 26, 2013
I currently follow this anime's manga and to see it being brought and made into an anime was just flipping amazing.
I'd say my love level for this was on Par with Skip Beat...and that's high.
I love strong female leads, who aren't Mary Sue's.
She's good but she isn't afraid to say she hates you. HAHA
The fox man had to grow on me..I will not lie but now I am willing to allow him to hang out with Youko Kurama, InuYasha and Sesshomaru...poor Sessho..the only one without ears.

Anyways, I loved the story it was very unique to me and the characters show amazing development. I doubt a read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 9, 2013
I have never actually written a review but this anime made me want to review it.

I was a bit apprehensive about watching this anime to begin with. I thought it would be very cliche` and boring but I was pleasantly surprised and completely wrong.
If you are looking for a romance/comedy then this is one is probably a must watch. There were moments where I anticipated what was going to happen but instead I was left in tears of laughter from the comedy side of this anime.

I don't really think there is any real flaw in Kami-sama Hajimemashita. The only thing that I dislike read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 28, 2014
Kamisama Hajimemashita, this anime reminds me why I was drawn to anime in the first place. The cutesy romance, beautiful boys and strong female heroines! I can't really name something I love more then romance that not only gives you the Bishōnen hero saving the pretty heroine but a heroine that is still strong and kicks ass! It lays on the cute boys like chocolate on a sundae and you don't get sick of it! The writers were tactful with how thick they laid on the boys so that it reaches a perfect consistence. You aren't left feeling like “Ugh this girl is useless” or read more
I found this review Helpful