MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1772
Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge

Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gekijouban Hunter x Hunter: Hiiro no Genei, HxH Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 HUNTER×HUNTER 緋色の幻影(ファントム・ルージュ)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2013
Producers: Madhouse
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 11144 users)
Ranked: #17722
Popularity: #1349
Members: 18,425
Favorites: 31
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jan 19, 2014
stream_eon
This movie made me excited the first time I've heard of it. I expected too much especially I faithfully followed Hunter X Hunter 2011. I kind of got disappointed because I gained ONLY 2 THINGS out of watching this. I decided to score it 7.

NOTES:
1. Even though the movie is out of the scrapped chapter made by the mangaka Togashi, the movie has successfully made it seem connected to the show.
2. The setting and plot starts after Yorkshin Arc but before Greed Island Arc.
3. IF YOU JUST WANT TO WATCH IT TO KNOW ABOUT THE BENEFITS I WILL MENTION LATER, you better just read read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 15, 2013
RedgraveGilver
Hunter X Hunter is a series known to many people especially to shonen fans. It's one of those shonen anime that proved that the mainstream shonen genre can also be intelligent yet exciting. Hunter X Hunter has been serialized for a decade now and spawned two anime adaptations, one being a remake. As the popularity of the series rises again because of the remake, the series finally now have a film that many hunter x hunter fans would be excited about. Is this movie worth the hype for us fans? Let's check it out.

Hunter X Hunter phantom rouge is about Kurapika one of the main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 27, 2013
xmaikokoro
Anime movies can usually never hold a candle to their series counterpart. Phantom Rouge, the first movie of the Hunter x Hunter franchise, is no exception. Chronologically, this film takes place immediately after the Yorknew/Phantom Troupe Arc. So before watching this film, be sure to have finished the Yorknew/Phantom Troupe Arc of Hunter x Hunter as this movie pulls from the fact that the viewer has an idea of the characters in that arc and the events that had happened.

With Phantom Rouge's premise of Kurapika's eyes being "stolen" and the involvement of the Phantom Troupe, Phantom Rouge had a lot of potential to create read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 2, 2013
Stark700
First of all, I am under the assumption that viewers interested to watch this movie have at least a little knowledge or background of the Hunter x Hunter franchise before watching. If not, it might be a little hard to completely get the best experience out of this. But at any rate, enough talk about interest and let's talk about the movie itself. For fans of the ongoing remake series as well as the original Hunter x Hunter, this should be a gift delivered early from Santa.

The movie itself is called Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge. It is a side story rather than read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 28, 2014
Otakucakes
This will be a short review, since it's all this movie deserves anyways.

When I found out there was a Hunter x Hunter movie, (you see, I only recently started the series) I was overjoyed! However, looking back, I almost regret my feelings of excitement, because this movie was an utter disappointment.

Be warned- I will compare the film to the anime A LOT.

STORY- (7/10)

Apparently this movie was made from a scrapped chapter of Hunter x Hunter, written by Yoshihiro Togashi. Surprisingly enough, it seems to fit well, taking place between the Yorkshin City Arc and the Greed Island Arc. (when in reality, there was no read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 9, 2013
Karhu
This review will be short and shitty, just like the movie.

Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge is about everything which Hunter x Hunter isn't. The story is about this puppeteer who makes puppets based to real people, copying their appearance. Ironically, our main characters Kurapika, Kil, Gon and Leorio also feel like puppets, empty shells, in this movie. All of their personalities have been changed, and all former character development seen in the anime has been turned back to zero + little extra taken away. Not only are they completely different characters, they have been turned into a bunch of weak idiots as well. I don't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 9, 2013
Allice84
Hunter x Hunter, one of the most famous shonen series out there, written by Yoshihiro Togashi, the writer of Yu Yu Hakushou, is finally made into a movie.

For those of you who are huge Kurapika fans and expected this film to be all about him, I'm sorry to disappoint you, but this is Killua's movie. And for those of you who have high expectations for the first film in the Hunter x Hunter series, get ready for one of the biggest let downs of you life. Anyone expecting and wanting cool fights and a lot of dark drama, this is probably not for you. And read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2013
kchorrex2012
As a die-hard Hunter x Hunter fan, I expected this movie for months. Personally, I would say it is an enjoyable mixed bag, in the sense that it might feel like a long gaiden episode that has enough elements to be canon. This is the first in the likely inevitable series of movies (a second one has already been announced). The film follows Gon and Killua in a quest to recover Kurapika's stolen eyes. There are a few new characters but a lot of known faces show up along the way. You might be confused as to where this movie fits in the HXH canon, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices