MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #587
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Alternative Titles

English: Dusk Maiden of Amnesia
Japanese: 黄昏乙女×アムネジア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2012 to Jun 25, 2012
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 42298 users)
Ranked: #5872
Popularity: #244
Members: 77,796
Favorites: 846
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
May 7, 2012
Stark700
Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. Even that title alone may convince some viewers to watch this series. But what you may least expect would be a ghost troll (a hot ghost troll if I may add) hanging out with the main protagonist on a daily basis doing cute little things here and there.

The story covers the Paranormal Investigation Club, a club that deals with the supernatural. From there, we have the other members starting with Teiichi Niiya, probably the only normal member of the group. He maintains an unusual relationship with our ghost troll Yuuko in which despite her flirtatious and mischievous attempts at him, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2013
jackfat87
story 8/10

the "base" story is not original, it is a heavily used idea that most people manage to mess up. however this is not a story line that does that, the overall story is very well made and it changes the idea of the the ghost human romance idea. it will keep you watching with anticipation as the story gets more and more interesting and "intimate".

art 10/10

the art work for this fits perfectly with what it was trying to achieve in the show. it has the feeling of both a serious anime and something that you could laugh at as if it were just a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Selsica
Excellent storytellers always have a way to weave suspense and doubt throughout their works so subtly that you can feel somethings wrong but not think it. Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is an adaptation from the similarly named manga following Teiichi and Yuuko as they expand their relationship and face the chaotic horrors born from the catacombs of fear deep within each students mind. Providing a brilliant mix of horror, romance, and drama, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia makes you feel genuine fear, contentment and sadness.

Story - 7

One can never expect a deep and compelling plot from shows focusing on romance, the show usually depends on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 16, 2013
mahoganycow
Seikyou Academy is a school whose history is steeped in myth and folktales, so much so that it even has a club dedicated to the investigation of the paranormal. Its members include Teiichi, a humble and unassuming boy; Kirie, a curt tomboy; Momoe, a ditsy and childish girl; and Yuuko, a flirtatious young woman. Oh, and Yuuko is actually a ghost who died in the basement of the school fifty years ago and the entire club is just a front put in place by Teiichi so that he can investigate the circumstances surrounding Yuuko's mysterious death. Yep. Anime.

In pure technicalities, Dusk Maiden is a pretty read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Pokeylope
I feel that this is an anime that really does not know what it wants to be. Half the time it is a semi-dark romance that is wonderfully complemented by the heavily orange artstyle, and the rest of the time is a happy-go-lucky comedy. It switches between these two styles so erratically that it is impossible to say if there was really a theme to the show.

The plot follows Teiichi as he finds himself wandering in the deserted old section of his school. He vaguely recalls a story in which a ghost haunts whoever looks in a certain mirror. Needless to say, he finds read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 3, 2013
dabagonsmith
Every once in a while I decide to watch something at random, most of the time I end up dropping the anime or end up watching it, but not liking it. There are times though that I end up watching something fantastic and thank god I picked this one for today. It sounded interesting, the idea of a romantic horror isn't something you hear about everyday and that was mainly the deciding factor for me to watch it. It accomplishes what it sets out to do, it's just a bit slow to actually do it, but it was definitely worth it.

Story- The story is a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2012
kagepro
So you're looking for a good horror anime to watch and you come across Tasogare Otome x Amnesia. You read the summary and think it sounds pretty good so you watch the first episode. It starts out perfect, giving you a feeling that something creepy is going to happen then BAM!..they add in some corny comic relief. Most of the anime is like this, it'll give you a creepy feeling, then it'll ruin it by trying to add in some comedy.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (also known as Dusk Maiden of Amnesia) is about a boy named Niiya Teiichi who is part of the Paranormal Investigations read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 16, 2013
Growler
I was surprised at first since the page said it was Horror but the first episodes revealed a true comedy,which is a sign that they don't take it just too seriously,but then I have been impressed by the sheer amount of feelings that came from Yuuko and Kage Yuuko. I must say, no human being should bear so much pain and suffering. It is truly inspiring seeing such an interesting story about ghosts and how they evolve around feelings.
Artwork isn't very successful but I overlooked it as I was wrapped in the shroud of the mystery.
Characters are quite stereotypical with the exception of the female read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 5, 2013
ar4can7he
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, or Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. A tale about a maiden who lost the memories of her past and keep wandering in her school in order to retrieve them.

The story focuses on a young boy, Niiya Teiichi, and his adventures with the ghost of the maiden, and the Paranormal Investigation Club, which main objective is to retrieve her lost fragments of memories from her past. In this club we have Okonogi Momoe, a complete airhead, but always enthusiastic and ready to act.
Then we have Kanoe Kirie, who seems to look at the growing relationship between Niiya Teiichi and the ghost with a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2012
baseball3b
After reading several reviews of Tasogare Otome X Amnesia and seeing them all pass it off as "fair" or "ok", I feel I have to defend it.

Story: 8/10

While getting lost inside his school, the main lead, Teiichi, is approached by a beautiful girl wearing an old school uniform. As he later finds out, she is the school's infamous ghost, Yuuko. The pair eventually fall in love and with the help of several friends, uncover the truth behind Yuuko's tragic past. While it is somewhat clinched and you can see some of the twists coming, it's hard not to get engrossed in the story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 8, 2012
Rayla
“Tasogare Otome x Amnesia” tells the story of Kanoe Yuuko, a beautiful ghost girl who mysteriously died a gruesome death many years ago. When I first heard of this anime, I thought immediately that it would be a very interesting anime to watch, since I was really into horror stories and such. However, when I think about it, I believe I overestimated the anime a bit. You may hate me when I say this which may automatically make you press that “Not Helpful” button, but either way I will say it. While watching the first five episodes of “Tasogare Otome x Amenisia,” I find read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2013
roriconfan
Another example of a show that gives anime a bad name and is hardly an indicator of how good the medium can be. Other than that it is once again proven how low the quality of anime has been the past 5 years if something shitty like that is considered by the fandom as one of the most entertaining shows of the year it came out.
- Animated by Silver Link, a minor studio whose only full works so far have been the equally shitty Baka to Test and C3. These guys pour a lot of cash into making their animations bizarre and vivid but otherwise read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Miharu-Kun
I went into Dusk Maiden of Amnesia expecting a dark dramatic horror-style thrill ride with a hint of mystery, Instead I got all that and a light hearted rom-com as-well. Now you're probably thinking how is that even possible and wouldn't that formula equate to a pretty messed-up anime? well the answer is no, It actually creates a very enjoyable unique viewing experience which the anime industry needs more of.

Despite saying that, the story isn't very appealing or great by itself, It is when the spectacular art direction comes in, the story's full potential is realized.

= Story (8) =
As mentioned earlier, the story features read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 11, 2013
finalchance531
Forgive me if this "is how the show was meant to be" and I'm just lost. I can get that way sometimes and it seems to have caught me on this particular show. I figured this was right up my ally while I kept an open mind. There is solid truth to that. Regardless, it may have been worth watching at the least.

I try my best to not reveal any secrets and give my personal opinion. No spoilers.

Story: 5
Basically, using the summary, there's a ghost that enjoys a certain male and his attention. Instantly you should know where these kind of things go. Let's look read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2012
Jeffrey-sama
Upon reading the synopsis for Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, I expected the atmosphere of the series to be more on the darker side with little bits of suspense or horror thrown in. While this was true for the later episodes, it was definitely not the case for the earlier ones, which gave me the impression that this was yet another romantic comedy except with a small twist, in the form of having a human and a ghost being the main couple. Looking at it as a whole, this series has been a slightly weird one. Although it strayed from my expectations, it managed to provide read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2012
basementfire
The first couple episodes make you think that this series is a semi-ecchi, light hearted mystery series, where a ghost and some other people go around solving weird minor happenings around the school. There's a few hints that the series is alluding to something much darker, but this sense gets mostly swept away by the overall flirtiness that is Yuuko and her antics. Overall it's kinda interesting to watch, but nothing really hooks you to continue to watch the series besides the humor.

Until about episode 7. Oh episode 7. This series legitimately starts getting good here, and the plot gets kicked up by about 20 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2012
Leborn
*MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS* / *YOU BEEN WARNED*


"Tasogare Otome x Amnesia or Dusk Maiden of Amenesia, is a anime to remember by when coming across the genre of horror, suspence, mystery and pure supernatural thrill ride."

This is what I said to a friend after I watched the series.


Here why:


Tasorgare Otome x Amnesia starts off by presenting these mixtures of different characters which shows off straight away in what they are like and how they respond to their surroundings. We are first shown the 'Seikyou Academy' where we see Teiichi, Momoe, Kirie and later on a mysterious character known as Yuuko which endeavor to find out read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2012
Heta-rashi1
Now it's very rare that I give straight 10s across the board- but this anime deserves it. First of all it made me cry- and again it takes alot for me to do so.

Story-10:Reason:Within all the 12/13 episode long anime this series hit the nail on the head balancing time management and plot. The story began in an interesting way- no one would honestly see it coming and it seemed like the story would be focused around this one character first shown- not the case. When weird things start to happen...you get confused-and wonder if this is another Ghost Hunt series- it's not. It starts read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2012
FireFly1
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia has a good take on the Romance genre, with the coupling between that of Teiichi, the average high school student, and Kanoe Yuuko, a ghost. Not only does the show have an interesting take on romance but it also shows how easy it is for people to trick themselves into being scared of what is not really there, which has to be what will overall separate this anime from the others.

Story: The story is what I said before, that of a romance between a normal high school boy and a ghost with the addition of human fear. The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2012
miss_saku
When I began Tasogare Otome x Amnesia I didn't espected a great anime. I love horror stories, but the argument wasn't very good. Anyway, I didn't wait that this could be better than Another, from the Winter Season.
At the last chapter, my opinion is that Tasogare Otome x Amnesia is good anime that could be so much better.

Story: 7
In the first part of the anime, the story isn't so serius: It is made of short stories with lots (lots) of fanservice. I was a little bit disapointed, but at the middle of the series the story turns more dramatic and it's more centred on Yuuko's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices