MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #583
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Alternative Titles

English: Dusk Maiden of Amnesia
Japanese: 黄昏乙女×アムネジア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2012 to Jun 25, 2012
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 49332 users)
Ranked: #5832
Popularity: #241
Members: 91,400
Favorites: 1,014
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jun 29, 2014
Archaeon
Mixing very different themes together can sometimes produce surprising results, but there's a big risk involved with this approach to storytelling and original concepts that are formed using this process often fall at the first hurdle. There are always exceptions to this guideline, but in anime these are usually adaptations of some other media that are often the result of hopeful popularity forecasts and a severe lack of common sense.

Thankfully, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia), manages to steer its way through the conversion rapids - but not without taking some damage along the way.

Based on the manga by Maybe, the story revolves read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 7, 2012
Stark700
Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. Even that title alone may convince some viewers to watch this series. But what you may least expect would be a ghost troll (a hot ghost troll if I may add) hanging out with the main protagonist on a daily basis doing cute little things here and there.

The story covers the Paranormal Investigation Club, a club that deals with the supernatural. From there, we have the other members starting with Teiichi Niiya, probably the only normal member of the group. He maintains an unusual relationship with our ghost troll Yuuko in which despite her flirtatious and mischievous attempts at him, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 12, 2014
Rawrzz03
Tasogare otome x Amnesia is a complex and unusual anime that doesn't really fit the well-known pattern of ghost stories. But still... Ghost of a girl [checked], haunted school [checked], scary moments [checked]...Then why is this anime different?

Story: 9
The story is about Yuuko, a girl who died 60 years ago but whose ghost still haunts the hallways of Seikyou Academy. The only uncommon thing about this ghost is that it's not an ugly faceless bleeding monster, but a sexy and funny girl who takes mackery to a whole new level. Teiichi, Kirie and Momoe are the three members of the Paranormal Investigation Club who try read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Selsica
Excellent storytellers always have a way to weave suspense and doubt throughout their works so subtly that you can feel somethings wrong but not think it. Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is an adaptation from the similarly named manga following Teiichi and Yuuko as they expand their relationship and face the chaotic horrors born from the catacombs of fear deep within each students mind. Providing a brilliant mix of horror, romance, and drama, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia makes you feel genuine fear, contentment and sadness.

Story - 7

One can never expect a deep and compelling plot from shows focusing on romance, the show usually depends on read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 16, 2013
mahoganycow
Seikyou Academy is a school whose history is steeped in myth and folktales, so much so that it even has a club dedicated to the investigation of the paranormal. Its members include Teiichi, a humble and unassuming boy; Kirie, a curt tomboy; Momoe, a ditsy and childish girl; and Yuuko, a flirtatious young woman. Oh, and Yuuko is actually a ghost who died in the basement of the school fifty years ago and the entire club is just a front put in place by Teiichi so that he can investigate the circumstances surrounding Yuuko's mysterious death. Yep. Anime.

In pure technicalities, Dusk Maiden is a pretty read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2013
jackfat87
story 8/10

the "base" story is not original, it is a heavily used idea that most people manage to mess up. however this is not a story line that does that, the overall story is very well made and it changes the idea of the the ghost human romance idea. it will keep you watching with anticipation as the story gets more and more interesting and "intimate".

art 10/10

the art work for this fits perfectly with what it was trying to achieve in the show. it has the feeling of both a serious anime and something that you could laugh at as if it were just a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Pokeylope
I feel that this is an anime that really does not know what it wants to be. Half the time it is a semi-dark romance that is wonderfully complemented by the heavily orange artstyle, and the rest of the time is a happy-go-lucky comedy. It switches between these two styles so erratically that it is impossible to say if there was really a theme to the show.

The plot follows Teiichi as he finds himself wandering in the deserted old section of his school. He vaguely recalls a story in which a ghost haunts whoever looks in a certain mirror. Needless to say, he finds read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 12, 2014
Kevstuf
Hmmm I rarely consider any anime as 10's, but Dusk Maiden of Amnesia truly was an impressive piece of work. It's saddening to see so many negative reviews of it.

Story: 10/10

There is one tiny flaw in the story: it's slightly hard to follow. If you don't really pay attention to what the characters tell you, it can be easy to fall behind and get confused. Nonetheless, if you can follow the explanations, the story will be awesome. Story wise, it's really as the synopsis says: the school ghost Yuuko can't remember her past whatsoever, and the main protagonist along with some others form a club read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 19, 2012
kagepro
So you're looking for a good horror anime to watch and you come across Tasogare Otome x Amnesia. You read the summary and think it sounds pretty good so you watch the first episode. It starts out perfect, giving you a feeling that something creepy is going to happen then BAM!..they add in some corny comic relief. Most of the anime is like this, it'll give you a creepy feeling, then it'll ruin it by trying to add in some comedy.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (also known as Dusk Maiden of Amnesia) is about a boy named Niiya Teiichi who is part of the Paranormal Investigations read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 3, 2013
dabagonsmith
Every once in a while I decide to watch something at random, most of the time I end up dropping the anime or end up watching it, but not liking it. There are times though that I end up watching something fantastic and thank god I picked this one for today. It sounded interesting, the idea of a romantic horror isn't something you hear about everyday and that was mainly the deciding factor for me to watch it. It accomplishes what it sets out to do, it's just a bit slow to actually do it, but it was definitely worth it.

Story- The story is a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 16, 2013
Growler
I was surprised at first since the page said it was Horror but the first episodes revealed a true comedy,which is a sign that they don't take it just too seriously,but then I have been impressed by the sheer amount of feelings that came from Yuuko and Kage Yuuko. I must say, no human being should bear so much pain and suffering. It is truly inspiring seeing such an interesting story about ghosts and how they evolve around feelings.
Artwork isn't very successful but I overlooked it as I was wrapped in the shroud of the mystery.
Characters are quite stereotypical with the exception of the female read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 8, 2012
Rayla
“Tasogare Otome x Amnesia” tells the story of Kanoe Yuuko, a beautiful ghost girl who mysteriously died a gruesome death many years ago. When I first heard of this anime, I thought immediately that it would be a very interesting anime to watch, since I was really into horror stories and such. However, when I think about it, I believe I overestimated the anime a bit. You may hate me when I say this which may automatically make you press that “Not Helpful” button, but either way I will say it. While watching the first five episodes of “Tasogare Otome x Amenisia,” I find read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2014
lilteahouse
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia overall was well done and dishes satisfaction. It's pacing was simple and at a constant speed, slowly introducing plot that would come together at a certain point. Stick to it and it'll bring the surprise and satisfaction.

I will admit, the anime plot is slightly different from the manga's. I was surprised at this. However, I was indulged in the art style and the component of its coloring scheme. Eventually, the plot ended up working out in a way I still respected.

Character development was simple in my opinion; you can find many of these characters elsewhere in other various anime. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2013
bonauwi96
Here's the story:
The story revolves around a first-year middle school student, Teiichi Niiya who had just enrolled at Seikyou Private Academy. When he gets lost in one of the school's old buildings, he meets a girl named Yuko Kanoe who reveals herself as a ghost with no memories. Teiichi then decides to investigate her death by looking through the school's seven mysteries revolving around her. Throughout the story, Teiichi and Yuko discover the truth about these ghost stories and help those who are troubled.

Gonna keep this short.
There's drama, there's a lot of comedy really funny moments and the romance was great love the romance.
Best scene read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2012
baseball3b
After reading several reviews of Tasogare Otome X Amnesia and seeing them all pass it off as "fair" or "ok", I feel I have to defend it.

Story: 8/10

While getting lost inside his school, the main lead, Teiichi, is approached by a beautiful girl wearing an old school uniform. As he later finds out, she is the school's infamous ghost, Yuuko. The pair eventually fall in love and with the help of several friends, uncover the truth behind Yuuko's tragic past. While it is somewhat clinched and you can see some of the twists coming, it's hard not to get engrossed in the story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 26, 2012
Jeffrey-sama
Upon reading the synopsis for Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, I expected the atmosphere of the series to be more on the darker side with little bits of suspense or horror thrown in. While this was true for the later episodes, it was definitely not the case for the earlier ones, which gave me the impression that this was yet another romantic comedy except with a small twist, in the form of having a human and a ghost being the main couple. Looking at it as a whole, this series has been a slightly weird one. Although it strayed from my expectations, it managed to provide read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Miharu-Kun
I went into Dusk Maiden of Amnesia expecting a dark dramatic horror-style thrill ride with a hint of mystery, Instead I got all that and a light hearted rom-com as-well. Now you're probably thinking how is that even possible and wouldn't that formula equate to a pretty messed-up anime? well the answer is no, It actually creates a very enjoyable unique viewing experience which the anime industry needs more of.

Despite saying that, the story isn't very appealing or great by itself, It is when the spectacular art direction comes in, the story's full potential is realized.

= Story (8) =
As mentioned earlier, the story features read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 5, 2013
ar4can7he
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, or Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. A tale about a maiden who lost the memories of her past and keep wandering in her school in order to retrieve them.

The story focuses on a young boy, Niiya Teiichi, and his adventures with the ghost of the maiden, and the Paranormal Investigation Club, which main objective is to retrieve her lost fragments of memories from her past. In this club we have Okonogi Momoe, a complete airhead, but always enthusiastic and ready to act.
Then we have Kanoe Kirie, who seems to look at the growing relationship between Niiya Teiichi and the ghost with a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 21, 2012
basementfire
The first couple episodes make you think that this series is a semi-ecchi, light hearted mystery series, where a ghost and some other people go around solving weird minor happenings around the school. There's a few hints that the series is alluding to something much darker, but this sense gets mostly swept away by the overall flirtiness that is Yuuko and her antics. Overall it's kinda interesting to watch, but nothing really hooks you to continue to watch the series besides the humor.

Until about episode 7. Oh episode 7. This series legitimately starts getting good here, and the plot gets kicked up by about 20 read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
martver
When i watched the first episode of Dusk maiden x amnesia, i was confused of the beginning... i mean first they all know eachother but later during first episode he meets the club members, it's confusing in like 2 hours but then you get it.

The characters are really interesting, and it's most aroun Teiichi and Yuuko but that's good, i just wished the others were more on the screen, the first episodes are most introductions of the characters like most animes. It's plenty of ecchi moments in it and also humor at some moments, and some episoes may cause confusions or something like that but read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices