Ranked #594

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Alternative Titles

English: Dusk Maiden of Amnesia
Japanese: 黄昏乙女×アムネジア


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2012 to Jun 25, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.951 (scored by 68,681 users)
Ranked: #5942
Popularity: #249
Members: 131,291
Favorites: 1,597
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


May 7, 2012
Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. Even that title alone may convince some viewers to watch this series. But what you may least expect would be a ghost troll (a hot ghost troll if I may add) hanging out with the main protagonist on a daily basis doing cute little things here and there.

The story covers the Paranormal Investigation Club, a club that deals with the supernatural. From there, we have the other members starting with Teiichi Niiya, probably the only normal member of the group. He maintains an unusual relationship with our ghost troll Yuuko in which despite her flirtatious and mischievous attempts at him, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 29, 2014
Mixing very different themes together can sometimes produce surprising results, but there's a big risk involved with this approach to storytelling and original concepts that are formed using this process often fall at the first hurdle. There are always exceptions to this guideline, but in anime these are usually adaptations of some other media that are often the result of hopeful popularity forecasts and a severe lack of common sense.

Thankfully, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia), manages to steer its way through the conversion rapids - but not without taking some damage along the way.

Based on the manga by Maybe, the story revolves read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 7, 2015
Ever so rarely do I get drawn to this type of story (anime/manga or otherwise). My encounter with Tasogare Otome x Amnesia was the result of pointless web searches on a sleepless melancholic night. The encounter began and ended on that same long night. And I enjoyed it thoroughly.

This is a very biased review - from the viewpoint of someone who enjoyed the show so much, they are more or less blind to its flaws; be it pointless fanservice/ecchi moments or major plot flaws. Every story and every piece of artwork has a number of those; and no piece of art is ever judged by read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 17, 2015
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia)

The first episode was very interesting, it explained the context of the anime visually really well. The overall idea of mystery was not amazing; but the execution of the explanation was. I just wish they involved more side characters like they did in the manga, but I'm guessing budget and reception affected the anime in that aspect.

Nevertheless its an amazing anime for RomCom lovers with a side for the Thrill seekers.

8/10 Great Watch!!

Note: Only Watch the end of episode 12 if you really want a positively emotional ending. That said i recommend reading the manga before read more
I found this review Helpful
May 30, 2015
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Niiya Teiichi (Yonaga, Tsubasa), a student at Seikyou Academy, loses his way when exploring one of the older school buildings when he encounters a girl named Kanoe Yuuko (Hara, Yumi). It turns out that she is the ghost who has haunted the school for 60 long years and the source of the many horror stories and recounts of paranormal activity that circulate among the students. As she does not remember how she died, she and Teiichi along with Okonogi Momoe (Fukuen, Misato) and Kanoe Kirie (Kitamura, Eri) form the Paranormal Investigations club in order to discover read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2014
Hmmm I rarely consider any anime as 10's, but Dusk Maiden of Amnesia truly was an impressive piece of work. It's saddening to see so many negative reviews of it.

Story: 10/10

There is one tiny flaw in the story: it's slightly hard to follow. If you don't really pay attention to what the characters tell you, it can be easy to fall behind and get confused. Nonetheless, if you can follow the explanations, the story will be awesome. Story wise, it's really as the synopsis says: the school ghost Yuuko can't remember her past whatsoever, and the main protagonist along with some others form a club read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 27, 2015
I had been looking for nice romance anime(not manga, because there are plenty there) after I had watched most of the common ones. I found this on my kissanme bookmark and remembered somebody had recommended this to me before but since I was not a fan of horror genre I didnt watch it immediately. But somehow from the first episode of this anime I was hooked and it turned out pretty good too.

The artwork and animation was beautiful. They used the artwork brilliantly to differentiate between the “main characters” and the “other people” at a level even superior to Durarara!! The “ghosts” were also drawn read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 19, 2015
I can't say I have that much of experience with these kinds of anime, but to be the first, it was surprisingly good! Horror and romance, how could you possibly pull that off? My answer, they succeeded. I actually enjoyed this one to be honest. I'll keep it short but also informative!

Yes, oh god yes, I really enjoyed the story. The opening was definitely not boring, also something I would like to point out with this genre (horror). They did not make the mistake of making characters dying left to right, I mean some horror genre can have a very high death count, this read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 28, 2015

Tasogare Otome X Amnesia

I first heard of it from a YouTube playlist that I chose for studying. One of the songs caught my ear so I looked it up. Its genres include Horror, among other things, so I did not dare watch it.

After a few months of occasionally thinking of it, I thought about searching "Is [copypasted title] scary?" All the replies said 'no' except one, making me think twice. Around two weeks later, I started watching.

It was good and here's why

Its story started out introducing the characters and set up expectations of the type of anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 25, 2012
Excellent storytellers always have a way to weave suspense and doubt throughout their works so subtly that you can feel somethings wrong but not think it. Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is an adaptation from the similarly named manga following Teiichi and Yuuko as they expand their relationship and face the chaotic horrors born from the catacombs of fear deep within each students mind. Providing a brilliant mix of horror, romance, and drama, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia makes you feel genuine fear, contentment and sadness.

Story - 7

One can never expect a deep and compelling plot from shows focusing on romance, the show usually depends on read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 14, 2015
Judging from the name of this anime, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia or Dusk Maiden of Amnesia seems to have a dark and mysterious vibe with a lot of drama. However, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is actually a horror, mystery, drama, supernatural, romance, and school based anime that is aimed towards the Shounen audience. I had no idea how this was going to work out, but it did exceptionally well.

Story: (9/10)

Throughout the story, you’ll experience a wide variety of emotions such as happiness, sadness, anxiousness, and eeriness. The story of Dusk Maiden of Amnesia takes place at Seikyou Private Academy. A school known to have paranormal read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 6, 2015
Now, as most viewers of this show have stated, this show is a complete mess at trying to be a comedy. The major selling point in this show that truly makes is shine is the vast contrast that we see in small moments that are made to seem depressingly tragic. This show is so comedic at times that, when the hard stuff hits u, u get beat down by waves of emotion.
Unlike shows like clannad, where the show's drama and emotion comes from its metaphorical nonstop baseball bat of emotion, this is the "Nyaruko" type of show, where the individual moments have u looking read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 8, 2013
story 8/10

the "base" story is not original, it is a heavily used idea that most people manage to mess up. however this is not a story line that does that, the overall story is very well made and it changes the idea of the the ghost human romance idea. it will keep you watching with anticipation as the story gets more and more interesting and "intimate".

art 10/10

the art work for this fits perfectly with what it was trying to achieve in the show. it has the feeling of both a serious anime and something that you could laugh at as if it were just a read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 29, 2015
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia an incredible anime is the best animes I've seen lately.
10/10 History:
The story is great I loved this part all school-related mysteries, as well as the female lead Yuuko is to recall their memories through the help of Teiichi the male lead, plus other aspect is that in addition to these two protagonist just need the other characters who appear there is no need of more characters. The tine anime fan service that is not an exaggeration but it is very good which is appreciated, plus the way death is linked with Teiichi Yuuko is all a surprise, and good final is read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 16, 2013
Seikyou Academy is a school whose history is steeped in myth and folktales, so much so that it even has a club dedicated to the investigation of the paranormal. Its members include Teiichi, a humble and unassuming boy; Kirie, a curt tomboy; Momoe, a ditsy and childish girl; and Yuuko, a flirtatious young woman. Oh, and Yuuko is actually a ghost who died in the basement of the school fifty years ago and the entire club is just a front put in place by Teiichi so that he can investigate the circumstances surrounding Yuuko's mysterious death. Yep. Anime.

In pure technicalities, Dusk Maiden is a pretty read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 17, 2015
This is a spoiler free(?) after thought. Apologies if my review offends any lovers of this show. That being said, I was kind of disappointed with the show.

For me, this show is analagous to SAO (hear me out first...) in that I came in with certain expectations of what the show was about (SAO: action, world exploration, Tasagore: mystery/horror) and the first episode confirmed my expectations. But as the show progressed it became very apparent that this was really an anime centered around romance with harem vibes. I guess this divergence from my expectations was a huge reason why I could't enjoy the show. read more
I found this review Helpful
May 8, 2012
“Tasogare Otome x Amnesia” tells the story of Kanoe Yuuko, a beautiful ghost girl who mysteriously died a gruesome death many years ago. When I first heard of this anime, I thought immediately that it would be a very interesting anime to watch, since I was really into horror stories and such. However, when I think about it, I believe I overestimated the anime a bit. You may hate me when I say this which may automatically make you press that “Not Helpful” button, but either way I will say it. While watching the first five episodes of “Tasogare Otome x Amenisia,” I find read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 18, 2015
I feel like this series managed to deliver a nice blend of paranormal mysteries and romance. The school setting was fairly interesting in the way it was done, since it was a mish-mash of buildings laid onto each other, resulting in a frankenstein school full of dead ends and abandoned areas where ghost stories thrive.

While the protagonist is the only male character and the show does lean on some one-note fanservice for his relationship with the girl’s ghost, the series also features two female club mates, although their presence is a lot less noticeable than that of the main couple. The aloof girl felt very read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 24, 2015
The following review is written fresh from completing this anime in under 24 hours.

However, before we get into it I'd like to make a note about fan service, because some people, including professional reviewers on places like Amazon seem to be slightly confused about what fanservice is. Fan service is nudity, near nudity and other titillation for titillation's sake, simply to give the audience a treat. If any form of sexuality or nudity in the show serves the plot and/or character development then it's not fanservice. So, does Yuuko strip down? Yes. However her lack of concern for her own nudity changes as the read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2014
Tasogare otome x Amnesia is a complex and unusual anime that doesn't really fit the well-known pattern of ghost stories. But still... Ghost of a girl [checked], haunted school [checked], scary moments [checked]...Then why is this anime different?

Story: 9
The story is about Yuuko, a girl who died 60 years ago but whose ghost still haunts the hallways of Seikyou Academy. The only uncommon thing about this ghost is that it's not an ugly faceless bleeding monster, but a sexy and funny girl who takes mackery to a whole new level. Teiichi, Kirie and Momoe are the three members of the Paranormal Investigation Club who try read more
I found this review Helpful