Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia


Alternative Titles

English: Dusk Maiden of Amnesia
Synonyms: Tasogare Otome x Amnesia
Japanese: 黄昏乙女×アムネジア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2012 to Jun 25, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 79,912 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #268
Members: 154,726
Favorites: 2,051

Reviews

Stark700
May 7, 2012
Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. Even that title alone may convince some viewers to watch this series. But what you may least expect would be a ghost troll (a hot ghost troll if I may add) hanging out with the main protagonist on a daily basis doing cute little things here and there.

The story covers the Paranormal Investigation Club, a club that deals with the supernatural. From there, we have the other members starting with Teiichi Niiya, probably the only normal member of the group. He maintains an unusual relationship with our ghost troll Yuuko in which despite her flirtatious and mischievous attempts at him, read more
I found this review Helpful
Archaeon
Jun 29, 2014
Mixing very different themes together can sometimes produce surprising results, but there's a big risk involved with this approach to storytelling and original concepts that are formed using this process often fall at the first hurdle. There are always exceptions to this guideline, but in anime these are usually adaptations of some other media that are often the result of hopeful popularity forecasts and a severe lack of common sense.

Thankfully, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia), manages to steer its way through the conversion rapids - but not without taking some damage along the way.

Based on the manga by Maybe, the story revolves read more
I found this review Helpful
Kevstuf
May 12, 2014
Hmmm I rarely consider any anime as 10's, but Dusk Maiden of Amnesia truly was an impressive piece of work. It's saddening to see so many negative reviews of it.

Story: 10/10

There is one tiny flaw in the story: it's slightly hard to follow. If you don't really pay attention to what the characters tell you, it can be easy to fall behind and get confused. Nonetheless, if you can follow the explanations, the story will be awesome. Story wise, it's really as the synopsis says: the school ghost Yuuko can't remember her past whatsoever, and the main protagonist along with some others form a club read more
I found this review Helpful
Selsica
Jun 25, 2012
Excellent storytellers always have a way to weave suspense and doubt throughout their works so subtly that you can feel somethings wrong but not think it. Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is an adaptation from the similarly named manga following Teiichi and Yuuko as they expand their relationship and face the chaotic horrors born from the catacombs of fear deep within each students mind. Providing a brilliant mix of horror, romance, and drama, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia makes you feel genuine fear, contentment and sadness.

Story - 7

One can never expect a deep and compelling plot from shows focusing on romance, the show usually depends on read more
I found this review Helpful
Axel_Blaze
Feb 27, 2015
I had been looking for nice romance anime(not manga, because there are plenty there) after I had watched most of the common ones. I found this on my kissanme bookmark and remembered somebody had recommended this to me before but since I was not a fan of horror genre I didnt watch it immediately. But somehow from the first episode of this anime I was hooked and it turned out pretty good too.

The artwork and animation was beautiful. They used the artwork brilliantly to differentiate between the “main characters” and the “other people” at a level even superior to Durarara!! The “ghosts” were also drawn read more
I found this review Helpful
Cauthan
May 30, 2015
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Niiya Teiichi (Yonaga, Tsubasa), a student at Seikyou Academy, loses his way when exploring one of the older school buildings when he encounters a girl named Kanoe Yuuko (Hara, Yumi). It turns out that she is the ghost who has haunted the school for 60 long years and the source of the many horror stories and recounts of paranormal activity that circulate among the students. As she does not remember how she died, she and Teiichi along with Okonogi Momoe (Fukuen, Misato) and Kanoe Kirie (Kitamura, Eri) form the Paranormal Investigations club in order to discover read more
I found this review Helpful
Rayla
May 8, 2012
“Tasogare Otome x Amnesia” tells the story of Kanoe Yuuko, a beautiful ghost girl who mysteriously died a gruesome death many years ago. When I first heard of this anime, I thought immediately that it would be a very interesting anime to watch, since I was really into horror stories and such. However, when I think about it, I believe I overestimated the anime a bit. You may hate me when I say this which may automatically make you press that “Not Helpful” button, but either way I will say it. While watching the first five episodes of “Tasogare Otome x Amenisia,” I find read more
I found this review Helpful
jackfat87
Aug 8, 2013
story 8/10

the "base" story is not original, it is a heavily used idea that most people manage to mess up. however this is not a story line that does that, the overall story is very well made and it changes the idea of the the ghost human romance idea. it will keep you watching with anticipation as the story gets more and more interesting and "intimate".

art 10/10

the art work for this fits perfectly with what it was trying to achieve in the show. it has the feeling of both a serious anime and something that you could laugh at as if it were just a read more
I found this review Helpful
Eureka
Mar 14, 2016
Is love a supernatural phenomenon? Can love surpass the boundaries between the realm of the dead and the living? Do ghosts exist? And if they do...
WHY ARE THEY SUCH DAMN TROLLS???

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, aka Trolololol: The Animation, aka Undead Fan Service, is a surprisingly heartwarming, surprisingly horrifying, and surprisingly hilarious love story between the living and the dead. The cover of this show may look absolutely terrifying. It's a creepy ghost girl, after all! However, the first half of this show is basically a huge parody on horror stories!

The second half then turns into a highly dramatic and feels heavy love story, a story read more
I found this review Helpful
mahoganycow
Oct 16, 2013
Seikyou Academy is a school whose history is steeped in myth and folktales, so much so that it even has a club dedicated to the investigation of the paranormal. Its members include Teiichi, a humble and unassuming boy; Kirie, a curt tomboy; Momoe, a ditsy and childish girl; and Yuuko, a flirtatious young woman. Oh, and Yuuko is actually a ghost who died in the basement of the school fifty years ago and the entire club is just a front put in place by Teiichi so that he can investigate the circumstances surrounding Yuuko's mysterious death. Yep. Anime.

In pure technicalities, Dusk Maiden is a pretty read more
I found this review Helpful
kagepro
Jul 19, 2012
So you're looking for a good horror anime to watch and you come across Tasogare Otome x Amnesia. You read the summary and think it sounds pretty good so you watch the first episode. It starts out perfect, giving you a feeling that something creepy is going to happen then BAM!..they add in some corny comic relief. Most of the anime is like this, it'll give you a creepy feeling, then it'll ruin it by trying to add in some comedy.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (also known as Dusk Maiden of Amnesia) is about a boy named Niiya Teiichi who is part of the Paranormal Investigations read more
I found this review Helpful
Rawrzz03
May 12, 2014
Tasogare otome x Amnesia is a complex and unusual anime that doesn't really fit the well-known pattern of ghost stories. But still... Ghost of a girl [checked], haunted school [checked], scary moments [checked]...Then why is this anime different?

Story: 9
The story is about Yuuko, a girl who died 60 years ago but whose ghost still haunts the hallways of Seikyou Academy. The only uncommon thing about this ghost is that it's not an ugly faceless bleeding monster, but a sexy and funny girl who takes mackery to a whole new level. Teiichi, Kirie and Momoe are the three members of the Paranormal Investigation Club who try read more
I found this review Helpful
OtakuJKP
Jul 14, 2015
Judging from the name of this anime, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia or Dusk Maiden of Amnesia seems to have a dark and mysterious vibe with a lot of drama. However, Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is actually a horror, mystery, drama, supernatural, romance, and school based anime that is aimed towards the Shounen audience. I had no idea how this was going to work out, but it did exceptionally well.

Story: (9/10)

Throughout the story, you’ll experience a wide variety of emotions such as happiness, sadness, anxiousness, and eeriness. The story of Dusk Maiden of Amnesia takes place at Seikyou Private Academy. A school known to have paranormal read more
I found this review Helpful
KittyToeKkuunnn
Oct 29, 2014
Psychological, funny and horrific (in the good way) Dusk Maiden of Amnesia was to me a psychological problem solving romance anime that was on the verge of masterpiece. But they decided to bring the heroin back and that to me was their downfall.

A few untied loose ends but not enough to hate the ending. Extreme sadness then overjoyed happiness flowed throughout the last few moments of the show, even a few tears swelled up in this 14 year old dork. Clint Bickham, Emily Neves, Brittney Karbowski and Jessica Boone did an outstanding job I highly recommend the English Dubbed version. The show overall was read more
I found this review Helpful
xxwattcherxx
Jun 17, 2015
This is a spoiler free(?) after thought. Apologies if my review offends any lovers of this show. That being said, I was kind of disappointed with the show.

For me, this show is analagous to SAO (hear me out first...) in that I came in with certain expectations of what the show was about (SAO: action, world exploration, Tasagore: mystery/horror) and the first episode confirmed my expectations. But as the show progressed it became very apparent that this was really an anime centered around romance with harem vibes. I guess this divergence from my expectations was a huge reason why I could't enjoy the show. read more
I found this review Helpful
JulianImp
Apr 18, 2015
I feel like this series managed to deliver a nice blend of paranormal mysteries and romance. The school setting was fairly interesting in the way it was done, since it was a mish-mash of buildings laid onto each other, resulting in a frankenstein school full of dead ends and abandoned areas where ghost stories thrive.

While the protagonist is the only male character and the show does lean on some one-note fanservice for his relationship with the girl’s ghost, the series also features two female club mates, although their presence is a lot less noticeable than that of the main couple. The aloof girl felt very read more
I found this review Helpful
Inferno792
Dec 4, 2015
Let me start off by saying that twenty minutes into the last episode, the score that I had decided to give Dusk Maiden of Amnesia was a solid 8. But little did I know that something so ridiculous would happen in the last 3 minutes that would make me lower the score for the anime.

Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is basically a love story of a ghost and a middle school student. It revolves around Yuuko Kanoe, the ghost of a 15 year old girl who died in Seikyou Academy and Teiichi Niiya, the student who begins to see her after he wanders into the basement read more
I found this review Helpful
lovelydeath
Apr 26, 2012
I typically try to wait until an anime is finished to review it, recommend it, or at least a few episodes in. I will have to say that this anime so far is promising. It's based in a school setting where a boy wanders off into an area that is no longer used and is able to see a ghost. At first he doesn't believe her, but as the day goes on he starts to realize that she may in fact be a ghost. This anime looks to be a good one. I am excited it made me laugh, and read more
I found this review Helpful
Mr_Wayne
Oct 17, 2015
Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia)

The first episode was very interesting, it explained the context of the anime visually really well. The overall idea of mystery was not amazing; but the execution of the explanation was. I just wish they involved more side characters like they did in the manga, but I'm guessing budget and reception affected the anime in that aspect.

Nevertheless its an amazing anime for RomCom lovers with a side for the Thrill seekers.

8/10 Great Watch!!

Note: Only Watch the end of episode 12 if you really want a positively emotional ending. That said i recommend reading the manga before read more
I found this review Helpful
ShamelessCritics
Jun 11, 2016

Where should i start. . . art and sounds,YEa !!
The art is magnificent and fitting the show , it also has quiet the symbolism and it really helps awaking the emotions this show wants to awake. Just brilliant work on that part! The colors were beautiful and there were no faults here.
Also the sounds were distinguished! The OP,ED and OST were captivating and inspirational. Not forgetting ofc, fitting the moment and overall enhanced the shows in many ways! 10/10 for me.
The characters are well introduced and well fleshed out but don't expect something extraordinary or captivating. It has its development and its reasonable and read more
I found this review Helpful