MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #928
Bokura ga Ita

Bokura ga Ita

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Bokuraga Ita, We were there
Japanese: 僕等がいた

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2006 to Dec 26, 2006
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 37111 users)
Ranked: #9282
Popularity: #281
Members: 71,026
Favorites: 1,566
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

drama romance school shoujo
Nov 6, 2010
FauxAzn
My review will be different. I might save you some time:

The first half of the show (up through episode 12) was simply wonderful, hovering between 8/10 and 9/10 for me. I don't even mind what happened on episode 12 — I thought they were both right and both acted right.

But.

Between episode 13 and the end, it kept drawing out, and out... and out. It became a true shoujo soap drama where one character picks on the tiniest little things and makes the relationship unnecessarily difficult, while the other character can't get away from the past. It was slow and tiresome. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2007
Hiromi
Bokura ga Ita is an anime for romance and drama lovers. I, personally love the genre so I enjoyed BgI to its fullest (mind you, not as much as something like Kanon), however, BgI really leaves you with overwhelming emotions.

The story revolves around Takahashi Nanami and Motoharu Yano, two high schoolers who unexpectedly fall in love. As the series moves on, we get to see the ups and downs of their relationship that eventually climaxes when both of them must truly mature or move on - the choice being particularly difficult for Takahashi. Throughout the story, the viewer is introduced to various problems every read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 1, 2013
ChelliCandi
This anime somehow expresses romance/drama in a cute and subtle way. Bokura Ga Ita portrays the common obstacles in relationships and the process of overcoming them. It takes place in high school, where a girl named Takahashi Nanami and Yano Motoharu unexpectedy fall in love. The two lovers are often on the verge of breaking and learn to understand each other .

Story (8): The beginning of BgI has a good pace and draws you into the story. It's pretty straight to the point and focuses on important events. The middle to around the end drags a bit and might frustrate you, but it didn't keep read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 24, 2009
disthymya
I am usually a real sucker for high school drama animes. This one was the first not to make me shed a tear though..

First off, the story. At some point, the constant break-ups and inner controversy of the main characters start confusing the watcher. Even though some real-life problems and issues are included, the storyline develops somewhat inadequately compared to what would happen in reality. 6/10

The art... When it comes to diversity and awkwardness, I'm usually in. But I got tired of the characters only having one eye most of the time, of the faint colors and lack of details.. Some watchers may not like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2009
Ranivus
Quick Review:
Story: 9 (Manages to suck me in to this story from the very beginning and somehow forces me to find out whats next)

Art: 4 (its just damn awkward staring at characters for long periods of time without eyes.)

Sound: 5 (Not every scene when the on screen characters, gasp, gulp, groan, or preforming an act of moe, needs to buzzed in.)

Character: 6 (The fantasy slowly and effortlessly turned into reality.)

Enjoyment: 6 (No matter if you're a drama buff or feeling nostalgic of that love lost, this is indeed a drama roller coaster.)

Overall: 30/50 = 6.0 (...What is happiness to YOU?)


Full Review:
___Story___
This read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 20, 2007
Xinil
Let me try my best to make this review short and to the point.

First, Bokura ga Ita is drama. Drama, drama, drama. If you don't want to watch a couple go over countless drama scenarios over and over and over, then don't bother with this show.

Second, and this might be a slight spoiler, but if you like one of the male leads more than the other, this will make or break the series for you. The male lead that I liked a lot didn't win out in the end, so naturally, I'm a little bitter (okay, more than a little).

Third, don't expect real read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 1, 2007
Two-Hands
Story:
A girl falls in love with a popular guy through which the guy falls in love with her as well and then they started going out. Then things start to take a turn for the worse as the girl begins to question the guy's past which shakes their relationship. A story of love, heartaches, sercrets, dreams, etc. This is a show which couples can relate..or even those who still couldn't find love...you'll know the hardships of being in a relationship as well as the things that make it so wonderful. The series also has a bit of slapstick comedy to lighten up the mood. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2010
KatelynKaraway
Beginning off with the horrid graphics, Bokura Ga Ita makes for one of the worst animes I have ever seen. True, this might be because I have very high standards and judge from the quality of art and sound. Honestly, I only forced myself to watch a couple of episodes until I finally dropped it for good. Basically, it's a story about a girl who falls in love with this controlling guy who sees his dead girlfriend in the girl. The main guy's best friend also falls in love with the new girl, and it's all screwed up, but not in an interesting way.

The storyline, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 9, 2010
intrnt
I really regret watching this anime. But for good reasons. If you get easily affected by a little drama (like me) this anime will haunt you for a long time after. The anime left me dumbstruck. And increadibly bitter becasue Yano and Nana just never seem to get what they want. I think this is one of the saddest anime's I've watched, and I actually cried once. Ahem, yes.
The story is pretty good (9), its very entrancing and you just need to know what happens next. Overall it was really depressing at times, but there was comedy used at the exactly right time so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 24, 2010
Moon_Light
"...timing in love, is everything..."

We Were There, what can I say. It made me happy, sad, angry, laugh(a bit) and at the end it made me feel...a little empty. I know it sounds bad but it isn't not really. Read on>

Short Summary:
Nanami is starting her high school life. Her first day there isn't going as smoothly as she would want; she forgot a classmates name and was given the wrong name by a guy she met, she also happens to start liking the same boy who caused trouble for her. She knows it's a bad idea. Can she win the heart of Yano and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2010
HelloImUnique
Alrighty, for each anime I do the 3 episode testing before I judge it. For this anime it was especially hard just to watch one episode but I sat through two out of the supposed 3 I was planning to watch no matter how painful it was. By golly was it ever so painful.

Let's start with the problem of the plot itself. Why is it that it's always a popular boy with a problem who is admired by some timid girl? Yes I understand that the popular boys are the ones with the traits us girls like but it's not like we strive to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 9, 2010
Anime-Zet
"I always begin to inspect the anime, even if I did not like" this proposal is
anime Bokura ga ita
In other words a waste of time on useless characters - children and their inclinations emovskih
(All bad, he does not love me, etc.)

Start honestly intrigued me, because I have always liked romance, do not know if the creators
confused her, instead of romantic melodrama, they have done "a la Santa Barbara", whether it is anime constructed
only for girls who love this genre and from that strange and appreciation of the anime ...

Story: 1 (boy, girl meet, then parted, then again there are - for mneya is quiet
horror read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 14, 2007
acceleratum
Bokura Ga Ita is pretty much your regular high school romance show, the clichés are there, the characters don't vary much either, A boy and a girl meet each other and fall in love, being young and inexperienced their relation has many flaws and they keep running into troubles affecting their daily life. Being an average show who doesn't stand out from the others who really shine in this genre although it has enough to create a little corner for itself. There's plenty of happiness and sadness, way too balanced actually not favoring each despite the sad scenes show a bit more of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 5, 2008
ethann
I guess i may be quite lenient in my grading of this anime,but i really think it deserves it.The anime is a high school romance focusing on the ups and downs of a relationship between the two main characters.

The story may be a bit cliche, but i think it was portrayed quite well. and if you are a romance-drama fan like myself then you would not mind. I think that the story is quite realistic and this is something i look at because then you can empathize with the character, even if you don't it grips you because you cannot really tell what will happen read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 28, 2008
Foxygirl05
Bokura ga Ita is one of my favorite animes in the direction of romance.

The story was really good, very interesting and it was realistic. This story in Bokura ga Ita can really happen, so I found the anime really great. It was really well imagine how you would act itself.

The character was really great. There were what you did not like, but otherwise it was great. About some people have much to learn about some not, but it was good.
Especially the two main people liked it, the two are really sweet.

The drawing style is perhaps a bit of getting used to, but if you look read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2009
Vaknyk
(polish version)

Bokura ga Ita to całkiem niezła historia romantyczna opowiadająca o związku szkolnego idola i przeciętnej dziewczyny. Wbrew pozorom ten ograny schemat wyszedł twórcom naprawdę dobrze i na pewno pod względem fabularnym jest innowacyjny. Otóż bowiem anime nie skupia się na męczącym zdobywaniu swojej upragnionej miłości przez dwadzieścia parę odcinków, ale pokazuje co się dzieje później i jak ciężko wśród niedomówień i przypadku utrzymać prawdziwe uczucie. Obserwujemy więc 3 lata wspólnego życia bohaterów, bardzo ładnie zamknięte przez twórców.

Z powodu niskiego budżetu, grafika nie stoi na wysokim poziomie, jednak mi przypadła do gustu. Zwłaszcza ciekawy efekt "ucinania" połowy twarzy. Na początku irytuje, potem nawet znośne. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 11, 2009
lovelier
Bokura Ga Ita is a series with a simple plot. However, it’s simplicity is what makes it so attractive. It got me hooked immediately with the slightest essences of fate and love and obvious heartbreak that is shown in the first few minutes of the series.

It is about the relationship of Yano and Takahashi, the two main characters, and that may sound a little plain and possibly predictable. But the characters are so loveable that you can’t help but get even a little attached and that alone will blind you from any predictability in the series. It is relatable to everyone who has been read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2013
aninceto
Before I start my review, please, pay attention to the fact I'm not from an English-speaking country, so I'm very sorry for my mistakes.
Also, this is my first review, so please check it out.

Story: 6/10
The story is really interesting, but there are some main problems : In this anime everything is about a girl's crush and his past girlfriends. They see neither the present, nor the past and the only thing that happens is that the girl is hurted. There aren't any other couples' stories. Also, The first series of the anime are dinamic - especially the 1st one - then, untill the middle read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 19, 2012
dai-iane-otaku
For me, this Anime was really dramatic as you watch all the episodes or read the manga by yourself. The story was not limited for what we called “Love” but it shows all the learning’s you can get from it being “in a relationship” or not.

It was really impressive at all, as you realize what each episodes/chapters really mean in reality as you compare. Yeah, there’s something in this Anime that actually gave me an impact as I discovered deeply about loving someone while you protect and fight for him/her.

The two main characters, Motoharu "Moto" Yano & Nanami "Nana" Takahashi was really great how the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 29, 2008
angelofutopia
The story itself was moving and amazing. There was a lot of drama in it but the humor in the story helped when the mood got to dark every once in awhle. It wasn't perfect though. The humor helped, but when I got near the end I had to put the anime to the side for a week because I couldn't take the drama anymore. Partly my fault because I was watching the whole thing all at once I guess. The anime was good but if you're looking for something to make you crack up this isn't it. If you want something thats going to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices