Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bokura ga Ita


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Bokuraga Ita, We were there
Japanese: 僕等がいた

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2006 to Dec 26, 2006
Premiered: Summer 2006
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Artland
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.561 (scored by 55,706 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #416
Members: 116,444
Favorites: 1,828

Reviews

FauxAzn
Nov 6, 2010
My review will be different. I might save you some time:

The first half of the show (up through episode 12) was simply wonderful, hovering between 8/10 and 9/10 for me. I don't even mind what happened on episode 12 — I thought they were both right and both acted right.

But.

Between episode 13 and the end, it kept drawing out, and out... and out. It became a true shoujo soap drama where one character picks on the tiniest little things and makes the relationship unnecessarily difficult, while the other character can't get away from the past. It was slow and tiresome. read more
I found this review Helpful
Hiromi
Jan 10, 2007
Bokura ga Ita is an anime for romance and drama lovers. I, personally love the genre so I enjoyed BgI to its fullest (mind you, not as much as something like Kanon), however, BgI really leaves you with overwhelming emotions.

The story revolves around Takahashi Nanami and Motoharu Yano, two high schoolers who unexpectedly fall in love. As the series moves on, we get to see the ups and downs of their relationship that eventually climaxes when both of them must truly mature or move on - the choice being particularly difficult for Takahashi. Throughout the story, the viewer is introduced to various problems every read more
I found this review Helpful
Xinil
Mar 20, 2007
Let me try my best to make this review short and to the point.

First, Bokura ga Ita is drama. Drama, drama, drama. If you don't want to watch a couple go over countless drama scenarios over and over and over, then don't bother with this show.

Second, and this might be a slight spoiler, but if you like one of the male leads more than the other, this will make or break the series for you. The male lead that I liked a lot didn't win out in the end, so naturally, I'm a little bitter (okay, more than a little).

Third, don't expect real read more
I found this review Helpful
Two-Hands
Nov 1, 2007
Story:
A girl falls in love with a popular guy through which the guy falls in love with her as well and then they started going out. Then things start to take a turn for the worse as the girl begins to question the guy's past which shakes their relationship. A story of love, heartaches, sercrets, dreams, etc. This is a show which couples can relate..or even those who still couldn't find love...you'll know the hardships of being in a relationship as well as the things that make it so wonderful. The series also has a bit of slapstick comedy to lighten up the mood. read more
I found this review Helpful
Ranivus
Jun 24, 2009
Quick Review:
Story: 9 (Manages to suck me in to this story from the very beginning and somehow forces me to find out whats next)

Art: 4 (its just damn awkward staring at characters for long periods of time without eyes.)

Sound: 5 (Not every scene when the on screen characters, gasp, gulp, groan, or preforming an act of moe, needs to buzzed in.)

Character: 6 (The fantasy slowly and effortlessly turned into reality.)

Enjoyment: 6 (No matter if you're a drama buff or feeling nostalgic of that love lost, this is indeed a drama roller coaster.)

Overall: 30/50 = 6.0 (...What is happiness to YOU?)


Full Review:
___Story___
This read more
I found this review Helpful
Anime-Zet
May 9, 2010
"I always begin to inspect the anime, even if I did not like" this proposal is
anime Bokura ga ita
In other words a waste of time on useless characters - children and their inclinations emovskih
(All bad, he does not love me, etc.)

Start honestly intrigued me, because I have always liked romance, do not know if the creators
confused her, instead of romantic melodrama, they have done "a la Santa Barbara", whether it is anime constructed
only for girls who love this genre and from that strange and appreciation of the anime ...

Story: 1 (boy, girl meet, then parted, then again there are - for mneya is quiet
horror read more
I found this review Helpful
kittystarburst
Dec 2, 2014
I found this anime through Ao Haru Ride "recommendations." It was the 4th one on the list and I had seen all the previous 3 anime recommendations above it (Kimi ni Todoke, Wolf Girl and Black Prince, Say I love you), so I thought, "Hey, why not? I'll give it a shot and watch it." I'm a sucker for romance/shoujo. So let me give you a break down of this anime. Maybe I will help you not waste your time on it.... *note: screw you those that recommended this anime on Ao Haru Ride*

[no spoilers]

Story: Scored 6 - Fair
Maybe I should give this anime read more
I found this review Helpful
KatelynKaraway
May 18, 2010
Beginning off with the horrid graphics, Bokura Ga Ita makes for one of the worst animes I have ever seen. True, this might be because I have very high standards and judge from the quality of art and sound. Honestly, I only forced myself to watch a couple of episodes until I finally dropped it for good. Basically, it's a story about a girl who falls in love with this controlling guy who sees his dead girlfriend in the girl. The main guy's best friend also falls in love with the new girl, and it's all screwed up, but not in an interesting way.

The storyline, read more
I found this review Helpful
DellaDellsies
Apr 26, 2015
Okay so let me explain you a thing here.

I'm very close to dropping this show. VERY close. And there's a lot of reason's.

Story: 7

At first it seems like your typical high school romance, until they drop a bombshell on you. And I love that, it makes things interesting and entertaining. BUT. BUUUUUT. There are a few things that urked me. I can't spoil anything so I can't exactly tell you what but trust me if you're sane you will understand what I mean. Around episode 16 things just kinda get grueling and unless you're team Yano you're going to be so very angry read more
I found this review Helpful
HelloImUnique
Jul 2, 2010
Alrighty, for each anime I do the 3 episode testing before I judge it. For this anime it was especially hard just to watch one episode but I sat through two out of the supposed 3 I was planning to watch no matter how painful it was. By golly was it ever so painful.

Let's start with the problem of the plot itself. Why is it that it's always a popular boy with a problem who is admired by some timid girl? Yes I understand that the popular boys are the ones with the traits us girls like but it's not like we strive to read more
I found this review Helpful
ChibiStarChan
Jun 17, 2014
Characters in any good story make mistakes and learn from them. That is a fair statement, in my opinion; however in "Bokura ga Ita" I felt like I was watching the characters make the same mistakes countless times. In the beginning (let's say about 5-6 episodes) the story seemed fine, but as the story went on, the characters kept arguing and fighting over the same things: distrust, past relationships, lack of ability to convey feelings correctly. I kept going to the next episode in hopes that they would finally learn from their mistakes, yet it never happened.

After each fight, they would make read more
I found this review Helpful
acceleratum
Oct 14, 2007
Bokura Ga Ita is pretty much your regular high school romance show, the clichés are there, the characters don't vary much either, A boy and a girl meet each other and fall in love, being young and inexperienced their relation has many flaws and they keep running into troubles affecting their daily life. Being an average show who doesn't stand out from the others who really shine in this genre although it has enough to create a little corner for itself. There's plenty of happiness and sadness, way too balanced actually not favoring each despite the sad scenes show a bit more of read more
I found this review Helpful
Pyrrhic
Aug 5, 2014
SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Despite the technical flaws with the show, Bokura ga Ita is a very enjoyable series. It has a lot of the cute, "aww" worthy moments that fans of the genre know and love. It answers the question of "how to keep a relationship alive". However, if you are expecting high quality animation or intense character development and plot, then don't waste your time. If you accept the issues and see the show for what it is, you will find that it is a great romance series. Bokura ga Ita is a must watch for fans of romance/drama and here is why:

What I like read more
I found this review Helpful
mizu22
Mar 22, 2016
Okay, this might be more of a rant than a review since my feelings are fresh and raw.
Let’s begin with the horrid artwork/animation. The characters had one eye missing throughout the show. I tried overlooking it but it was extremely distracting. I don’t know whether that was an artistic signature or pure laziness. Artwork team, maybe get your shit together?
But what made the entire anime more hard to watch was *drum roll*: the characters. One of the most important elements of the show was the biggest downfall here. The main protagonists were plain dumb and annoying. I tried overlooking the fact that read more
I found this review Helpful
GenesisCore93
Apr 19, 2015
I actually wanted to give this anime a complete 10, just because of the feelings i have for this anime series now, in my heart i already gave it a 10, and that's all i need, and here is why i like this anime so much now:

Story: 10/10

First of all I have to say that this is a bit of a cliche story, but it's hard to find a drama/romance anime that isn't about love, breaking up, sadness and happiness, so i can't judge the story for that.
In this story is so much there, so many things you can see, so many things you can read more
I found this review Helpful
BadAssPanda98
Dec 16, 2015
If you are going to watch this anime because you think you are going to travel the romantic roller coaster of anime love, think again. This is probably the worst romance anime series I have ever seen. Now the question is, were to begin with this atrocity?
Let's start with shitty character development. You know how when you are watching this genre of anime, it is common to root for the main character while they go through the obstacles keeping them from their love. Good luck rooting for the main character in this story because she is such a whiny read more
I found this review Helpful
Foxygirl05
Oct 28, 2008
Bokura ga Ita is one of my favorite animes in the direction of romance.

The story was really good, very interesting and it was realistic. This story in Bokura ga Ita can really happen, so I found the anime really great. It was really well imagine how you would act itself.

The character was really great. There were what you did not like, but otherwise it was great. About some people have much to learn about some not, but it was good.
Especially the two main people liked it, the two are really sweet.

The drawing style is perhaps a bit of getting used to, but if you look read more
I found this review Helpful
ethann
Jun 5, 2008
I guess i may be quite lenient in my grading of this anime,but i really think it deserves it.The anime is a high school romance focusing on the ups and downs of a relationship between the two main characters.

The story may be a bit cliche, but i think it was portrayed quite well. and if you are a romance-drama fan like myself then you would not mind. I think that the story is quite realistic and this is something i look at because then you can empathize with the character, even if you don't it grips you because you cannot really tell what will happen read more
I found this review Helpful
Moon_Light
Nov 24, 2010
"...timing in love, is everything..."

We Were There, what can I say. It made me happy, sad, angry, laugh(a bit) and at the end it made me feel...a little empty. I know it sounds bad but it isn't not really. Read on>

Short Summary:
Nanami is starting her high school life. Her first day there isn't going as smoothly as she would want; she forgot a classmates name and was given the wrong name by a guy she met, she also happens to start liking the same boy who caused trouble for her. She knows it's a bad idea. Can she win the heart of Yano and read more
I found this review Helpful
pillock
Mar 9, 2010
I really regret watching this anime. But for good reasons. If you get easily affected by a little drama (like me) this anime will haunt you for a long time after. The anime left me dumbstruck. And increadibly bitter becasue Yano and Nana just never seem to get what they want. I think this is one of the saddest anime's I've watched, and I actually cried once. Ahem, yes.
The story is pretty good (9), its very entrancing and you just need to know what happens next. Overall it was really depressing at times, but there was comedy used at the exactly right time so read more
I found this review Helpful