MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1157
Bokura ga Ita

Bokura ga Ita

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Bokuraga Ita, We were there
Japanese: 僕等がいた

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2006 to Dec 26, 2006
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.631 (scored by 46313 users)
Ranked: #11572
Popularity: #350
Members: 92,267
Favorites: 1,676
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please not that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Popular Tags

drama romance school shoujo
Nov 6, 2010 5:27 AM
FauxAzn
My review will be different. I might save you some time:

The first half of the show (up through episode 12) was simply wonderful, hovering between 8/10 and 9/10 for me. I don't even mind what happened on episode 12 — I thought they were both right and both acted right.

But.

Between episode 13 and the end, it kept drawing out, and out... and out. It became a true shoujo soap drama where one character picks on the tiniest little things and makes the relationship unnecessarily difficult, while the other character can't get away from the past. It was slow and tiresome. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2007 5:48 PM
Hiromi
Bokura ga Ita is an anime for romance and drama lovers. I, personally love the genre so I enjoyed BgI to its fullest (mind you, not as much as something like Kanon), however, BgI really leaves you with overwhelming emotions.

The story revolves around Takahashi Nanami and Motoharu Yano, two high schoolers who unexpectedly fall in love. As the series moves on, we get to see the ups and downs of their relationship that eventually climaxes when both of them must truly mature or move on - the choice being particularly difficult for Takahashi. Throughout the story, the viewer is introduced to various problems every read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 20, 2007 2:41 PM
Xinil
Let me try my best to make this review short and to the point.

First, Bokura ga Ita is drama. Drama, drama, drama. If you don't want to watch a couple go over countless drama scenarios over and over and over, then don't bother with this show.

Second, and this might be a slight spoiler, but if you like one of the male leads more than the other, this will make or break the series for you. The male lead that I liked a lot didn't win out in the end, so naturally, I'm a little bitter (okay, more than a little).

Third, don't expect real read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 1, 2007 6:17 PM
Two-Hands
Story:
A girl falls in love with a popular guy through which the guy falls in love with her as well and then they started going out. Then things start to take a turn for the worse as the girl begins to question the guy's past which shakes their relationship. A story of love, heartaches, sercrets, dreams, etc. This is a show which couples can relate..or even those who still couldn't find love...you'll know the hardships of being in a relationship as well as the things that make it so wonderful. The series also has a bit of slapstick comedy to lighten up the mood. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 26, 5:37 PM
DellaDellsies
Okay so let me explain you a thing here.

I'm very close to dropping this show. VERY close. And there's a lot of reason's.

Story: 7

At first it seems like your typical high school romance, until they drop a bombshell on you. And I love that, it makes things interesting and entertaining. BUT. BUUUUUT. There are a few things that urked me. I can't spoil anything so I can't exactly tell you what but trust me if you're sane you will understand what I mean. Around episode 16 things just kinda get grueling and unless you're team Yano you're going to be so very angry read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2014 10:13 PM
kittystarburst
I found this anime through Ao Haru Ride "recommendations." It was the 4th one on the list and I had seen all the previous 3 anime recommendations above it (Kimi ni Todoke, Wolf Girl and Black Prince, Say I love you), so I thought, "Hey, why not? I'll give it a shot and watch it." I'm a sucker for romance/shoujo. So let me give you a break down of this anime. Maybe I will help you not waste your time on it.... *note: screw you those that recommended this anime on Ao Haru Ride*

[no spoilers]

Story: Scored 6 - Fair
Maybe I should give this anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 24, 2009 8:27 PM
disthymya
I am usually a real sucker for high school drama animes. This one was the first not to make me shed a tear though..

First off, the story. At some point, the constant break-ups and inner controversy of the main characters start confusing the watcher. Even though some real-life problems and issues are included, the storyline develops somewhat inadequately compared to what would happen in reality. 6/10

The art... When it comes to diversity and awkwardness, I'm usually in. But I got tired of the characters only having one eye most of the time, of the faint colors and lack of details.. Some watchers may not like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2009 3:38 AM
Ranivus
Quick Review:
Story: 9 (Manages to suck me in to this story from the very beginning and somehow forces me to find out whats next)

Art: 4 (its just damn awkward staring at characters for long periods of time without eyes.)

Sound: 5 (Not every scene when the on screen characters, gasp, gulp, groan, or preforming an act of moe, needs to buzzed in.)

Character: 6 (The fantasy slowly and effortlessly turned into reality.)

Enjoyment: 6 (No matter if you're a drama buff or feeling nostalgic of that love lost, this is indeed a drama roller coaster.)

Overall: 30/50 = 6.0 (...What is happiness to YOU?)


Full Review:
___Story___
This read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2014 4:24 PM
Pyrrhic
SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Despite the technical flaws with the show, Bokura ga Ita is a very enjoyable series. It has a lot of the cute, "aww" worthy moments that fans of the genre know and love. It answers the question of "how to keep a relationship alive". However, if you are expecting high quality animation or intense character development and plot, then don't waste your time. If you accept the issues and see the show for what it is, you will find that it is a great romance series. Bokura ga Ita is a must watch for fans of romance/drama and here is why:

What I like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 1, 2013 1:03 PM
Raicheul
This anime somehow expresses romance/drama in a cute and subtle way. Bokura Ga Ita portrays the common obstacles in relationships and the process of overcoming them. It takes place in high school, where a girl named Takahashi Nanami and Yano Motoharu unexpectedy fall in love. The two lovers are often on the verge of breaking and learn to understand each other .

Story (8): The beginning of BgI has a good pace and draws you into the story. It's pretty straight to the point and focuses on important events. The middle to around the end drags a bit and might frustrate you, but it didn't keep read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2010 11:28 PM
KatelynKaraway
Beginning off with the horrid graphics, Bokura Ga Ita makes for one of the worst animes I have ever seen. True, this might be because I have very high standards and judge from the quality of art and sound. Honestly, I only forced myself to watch a couple of episodes until I finally dropped it for good. Basically, it's a story about a girl who falls in love with this controlling guy who sees his dead girlfriend in the girl. The main guy's best friend also falls in love with the new girl, and it's all screwed up, but not in an interesting way.

The storyline, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 2, 2010 12:21 PM
HelloImUnique
Alrighty, for each anime I do the 3 episode testing before I judge it. For this anime it was especially hard just to watch one episode but I sat through two out of the supposed 3 I was planning to watch no matter how painful it was. By golly was it ever so painful.

Let's start with the problem of the plot itself. Why is it that it's always a popular boy with a problem who is admired by some timid girl? Yes I understand that the popular boys are the ones with the traits us girls like but it's not like we strive to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 24, 2010 3:09 PM
Moon_Light
"...timing in love, is everything..."

We Were There, what can I say. It made me happy, sad, angry, laugh(a bit) and at the end it made me feel...a little empty. I know it sounds bad but it isn't not really. Read on>

Short Summary:
Nanami is starting her high school life. Her first day there isn't going as smoothly as she would want; she forgot a classmates name and was given the wrong name by a guy she met, she also happens to start liking the same boy who caused trouble for her. She knows it's a bad idea. Can she win the heart of Yano and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 9, 2010 10:14 AM
pillock
I really regret watching this anime. But for good reasons. If you get easily affected by a little drama (like me) this anime will haunt you for a long time after. The anime left me dumbstruck. And increadibly bitter becasue Yano and Nana just never seem to get what they want. I think this is one of the saddest anime's I've watched, and I actually cried once. Ahem, yes.
The story is pretty good (9), its very entrancing and you just need to know what happens next. Overall it was really depressing at times, but there was comedy used at the exactly right time so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2014 3:48 PM
ChibiStarChan
Characters in any good story make mistakes and learn from them. That is a fair statement, in my opinion; however in "Bokura ga Ita" I felt like I was watching the characters make the same mistakes countless times. In the beginning (let's say about 5-6 episodes) the story seemed fine, but as the story went on, the characters kept arguing and fighting over the same things: distrust, past relationships, lack of ability to convey feelings correctly. I kept going to the next episode in hopes that they would finally learn from their mistakes, yet it never happened.

After each fight, they would make read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 19, 2:16 PM
codegeassxoxo
Bokura ga ita was a story about a high school romance between a popular guy and a cute girl. Blah, so boring right? Well, this anime actually exceeded my expectations and showed me a story I will never forget. Yup, I have to admit, there was nothing super exceptional about Bokura Ga Ita, and yet there was. It was a drama that kept me spinning through a million emotions. There were happy scenes and sad ones and some were so cute that I re watched them over and over again. There was also suspense that made my heart beat in anticipation.
To top it off, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 14, 2007 6:31 PM
acceleratum
Bokura Ga Ita is pretty much your regular high school romance show, the clichés are there, the characters don't vary much either, A boy and a girl meet each other and fall in love, being young and inexperienced their relation has many flaws and they keep running into troubles affecting their daily life. Being an average show who doesn't stand out from the others who really shine in this genre although it has enough to create a little corner for itself. There's plenty of happiness and sadness, way too balanced actually not favoring each despite the sad scenes show a bit more of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 9, 2010 11:44 AM
Anime-Zet
"I always begin to inspect the anime, even if I did not like" this proposal is
anime Bokura ga ita
In other words a waste of time on useless characters - children and their inclinations emovskih
(All bad, he does not love me, etc.)

Start honestly intrigued me, because I have always liked romance, do not know if the creators
confused her, instead of romantic melodrama, they have done "a la Santa Barbara", whether it is anime constructed
only for girls who love this genre and from that strange and appreciation of the anime ...

Story: 1 (boy, girl meet, then parted, then again there are - for mneya is quiet
horror read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 19, 10:56 AM
GenesisCore93
I actually wanted to give this anime a complete 10, just because of the feelings i have for this anime series now, in my heart i already gave it a 10, and that's all i need, and here is why i like this anime so much now:

Story: 10/10

First of all I have to say that this is a bit of a cliche story, but it's hard to find a drama/romance anime that isn't about love, breaking up, sadness and happiness, so i can't judge the story for that.
In this story is so much there, so many things you can see, so many things you can read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 5, 2008 5:15 AM
ethann
I guess i may be quite lenient in my grading of this anime,but i really think it deserves it.The anime is a high school romance focusing on the ups and downs of a relationship between the two main characters.

The story may be a bit cliche, but i think it was portrayed quite well. and if you are a romance-drama fan like myself then you would not mind. I think that the story is quite realistic and this is something i look at because then you can empathize with the character, even if you don't it grips you because you cannot really tell what will happen read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful