Ranked #409

Full Moon wo Sagashite

Alternative Titles

English: Searching for the Full Moon
Synonyms: Full Moon o Sagashite
Japanese: 満月をさがして


Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2002 to Mar 29, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Studio Deen, Viz MediaL, NAS
Source: Unknown
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.091 (scored by 23,852 users)
Ranked: #4092
Popularity: #840
Members: 50,455
Favorites: 1,184
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 17, 2015
i'm going make this review short and sweet

this anime is about a young girl name Miriko searching for her destiny to somehow become a singer after finding out she has cancer in the throat, with out of the blue two death gods show up and that she somehow can see she finds it by magically becoming a full moon out of a promise she made..

this anime is heartwarming and puts a lot of emotional feelings to a test from death to wanting to have Miriko to live on with both her altered-ego called Full Moon to herself, and searching for her great friend which read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2015
FMwS follows a young girl with throat cancer and her struggle to find a boy she knew while at her orphanage. She meets two Shinigami who eventually help her by changing her into a perfectly healthy sixteen-year-old and allowing her to sing as Full Moon.

I watched this show after a large number of female acquaintances recommended it. Being a guy, I didn't expect much from this childish sounding anime (especially after Fruits Basket) but it definitely surprised me, and then some. This anime is a lot deeper than it initially appears and the message it gives is a very positive and uplifting one. If you're read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 4, 2015
I discovered this anime via the song "Eternal Snow" (I wouldn't recommend listening to it before watching thoug). It directly catched my attention. And I wasn't dissapointed.
Full Moon wo Sagashite is a must watch if you like the shoujo style. A more well know anime in the same style is Card Captor Sakura (CCS). If you liked CCS then you should watch Full Moon wo sagashite. As you could imagine from the synopsis, the story has a serious and sad note although the characters can be funny.

I liked the song of the anime a lot. Characters were awesome and likeable.
Once I read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 17, 2007
Full Moon wo Sagashite was one of those animes I started on a whim. I had already read the manga, and decided to give the anime a try to see how much I liked it in comparison. To my surprise, I <i>loved</i> it, possibly even more than the manga version. The changes it makes from the manga were actually ones I (for the most part) preferred.


While Full Moon wo Sagashite may not see like much on the surface -- little girl has a life-threatening disease, wants to sing, and becomes sixteen years old with the help of two friendly shinigami -- it read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 4, 2007
Suitable for all audiences, young and new. Contains some bloodless violence.

Story - 10/10

At first, this looks like the typical shoujo series directed at young girls, thanks to all the bright colours and cute characters. From the synopsis, it looks like a sad and depressing anime about death. But it's so much more than that.

We meet the main character, Mitsuki, who is a young girl with throat cancer and whose biggest dream is to become a great singer and maybe one day meet the boy she loves, but who left for America two years ago. One day she is visited by two death gods (the Shinigami) read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2015
This was the second anime I watched after Sailor Moon back in grade 10 and loved it. Near the end, I got addicted and would watch six episodes a night. It is an amazing anime.

*For people who watch dubs, this show only went up to episode 20 I think in English. If you want to see the rest, you'll need to watch the Japanese one.*

Mitsuki has cancer and wants to be a singer but because of her tumor, she can't sing in a loud voice. Two shinigami (Gods of Death) come to take her life but they promise to achieve her dream before her time read more
I found this review Helpful
May 14, 2015
Sometimes in life you stumble across things, and they surprise you in multiple ways. This was Full Moon wo Sagashite (Searching for the Full Moon) for me. The more I watched this anime and the farther I got in, the more I became invested in the characters and their struggles. This anime is nothing like you would think it to be. Beneath the exterior of a cutesy shoujo aesthetic, there is struggle of trying to find out what one's purpose in life is on this world and finding true joy and happiness. Full Moon wo Sagashite is one of the saddest anime I have ever read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 24, 2014
Full Moon wo Sagashite: Searching for a full moon

I guess most people who are anime fans just constantly look for those anime that really leave a deep impact on you, lift you up, and help you gain a further appreciation for anime. Sometimes we wonder if that special one will ever come, that one that is so special to us on a personal level that we will forever remember it as long as we continue to watch anime or even think about it. This time for me, I think I found one of those in full moon wo sagashite.

On the surface full moon wo sagashite read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 17, 2014
To pursue one's dream with unrelenting dedication with little of even a sliver of hope is a not-so-easy pursuit for anyone, and even less so, when a fatal condition shackles that diminutive hope to the realms of the harshest realities. Twelve-year old Mitsuki, diagnosed with sarcoma (a rare cancer) in the throat, strives to fulfill her promise made with Eichi (to become a professional singer), despite the harsh restraints and limitations set by her illness, doctor and grandma. One fateful day, she is confronted by two shinigami, bearing an unembellished "truth", that death will befall her, in just one years time. Her ambitions now challenge read more
I found this review Helpful
May 27, 2010
I watched "Full Moon wo Sagashite" because it had one of the highest average user ratings at one point on this other anime site that I visit. So it probably comes as no surprise that I was sorely disappointed to find that it's only good, but nothing special. So the main purpose of this review is to provide a different viewpoint from all those other rave reviews that can be found for this series.

"Full Moon wo Sagashite" is quite a heart warming anime about a little girl who wants to become a singer, but only has one year to live because of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 17, 2014
It was only in March 2013 that I started watching this Anime after finishing a few other Animes on Youtube. I was on Youtube and I clicked on it. At first, I didn't really like Full Moon, but I gave it another chance and I'm glad I did.

Story: 10/10

This is just my opinion, but I believe this story is amazing. No story is completely flawless but this was close to it. Twelve year old Mitsuki has lung cancer and two shinigami show up granting her one life to live. If I was Mitsuki I would be crying and upset, but she wasn't upset she read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
The story line is pretty flushed out but unfortunately, it falls into the magical girl story line. I say unfortunately because it was something I was hoping this would keep out. It didn’t need her turning into a 16-year-old to have the plot moving, just make her look somewhat 16 at the start of it! Another problem I had with the whole 12 to 16 aspect is that, how will her love actually know that its her when she is much older and her songs are pretty much generic to any girl in that age? It doesn’t magically work… like… *facepalm* you know what, all read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 8, 2009
Let’s sing a song…

Studio Deen pulled off another heartwarming and emotional anime that will tug at the strings of your heart.

The story of Full Moon O Sagashite is very unique. Sure that it falls under the magical shoujo, typical idol-singer genre, but there existed an aura, an unmistakable atmosphere that persisted throughout the show—There’s a build up of emotions waiting to explode, and it felt like a time bomb the entire time. This definitely cannot be considered the normal stereotypical anime, regardless of what it may seem initially. It also has its own share of drama and slice of life theme – exploring life and read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 10, 2009
One of my most favourite shoujo anime of all time, Full Moon shows us the importance of wanting to hang on to what we hold dear in life, to regain what has been lost and hold on to it no matter the price. Human love and compassion portrayed on a realistic level, Full Moon is simply a classic anime that will never be outdated.

I found this review Helpful
Feb 14, 2014
This anime can be deceiving, a girly shoujo anime turns into a gripping ending. The beginning is quite slow and people loose interest before they even finish the anime, but the best is till last. At a first glance, it mainly shows a girl and her dream to become a singer, a very simple story line which gets very edgy near the end.

It has cute characters, full of fluffy pink stuff, but as you discover that her unfortunate fate is sealed, there is nothing else for her to do but to fight for her dream to the very end.

It has 52 episodes, a read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 19, 2010
Either you are reading this because:
1# You want to know what the anime is about or basic scores
2# You want to see if anyone else loved this anime as much as you did.

Whichever one of the two reasons, I hope you enjoy my review ^_^

I finished Full Moon Wo Sagashite [Searching for a full moon] a few months back and only realised recently I had not recommended it.
SO here is my long overdue review-



At a first glance this may seem to be a girly, shoujo anime that is about as deep as a paddling pool, but the story revolves around trust, forgotten read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 23, 2013

Story: 9/10

I gave Full Moon wo Sagashite a nine due to its heart melting plot about a girl who wishes to be reunited with the boy she loved through a singing career, but isn't allowed to, because of her throat cancer. Two shimigami come and tell her that she only has a year left to live. With the help of the shimigami, she is able to become a famous idol and begins to pursue her career before she dies. A lot of the anime I felt wasn't necessary. Example: things like jobs, trips, etc. This anime starts off pretty...."boring", but the ending was so amazing read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 17, 2008
This anime is personally one of my favorites. Although, the story strays away from the original plot of the manga a little more than half way though the series. Because they made the anime when the manga was still being written.

But, overall. the story is VERY much tear jerking, because you can't help but cry with the story. You get to know the characters very well. I watched the anime first then the manga, which was kind of a big mistake because they are so different, and end completely different. They changed a lot in the story.

The only downside to having it released in America read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 15, 2011
full moon wo sagashite, is a heartwarming series.
about a girl who has throat cancer. she is visited by 2 shinigamis, they tell her that she only has 1 year left to live in. Both shinigamis becomes surprised when she tells them that she is not afraid to die and to lose her voice is much worse. she has a dream of becoming a singer, so she runs away from Shinigami to take an audition, but is then captured by the 2 shinigamier. she gets frustrated and tells them, If she only has 1 year left to do, so she could just as well carry out read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 20, 2014
So I'm writing this review because I really loved this anime, and when I recommended it to my friends they were not very convinced with it even if they hadn't even read a synopsis about it. Personally I had a hard time with it myself because this anime was recommended by a friend too and (like my friends now) wasn't convinced if it was really worth it. Well i watched it and let me tell you, it is worth it.

At first I thought it was a little bit sad to have a story of a hopeless romantic girl that had the dream of being famous read more
I found this review Helpful