Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Full Moon wo Sagashite


Alternative Titles

English: Searching for the Full Moon
Synonyms: Full Moon o Sagashite
Japanese: 満月をさがして

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2002 to Mar 29, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2002
Broadcast: Saturdays at 07:30 (JST)
Producers: Nihon Ad Systems
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.081 (scored by 25,612 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #901
Members: 54,838
Favorites: 1,293

Reviews

Ria
Jul 17, 2007
Full Moon wo Sagashite was one of those animes I started on a whim. I had already read the manga, and decided to give the anime a try to see how much I liked it in comparison. To my surprise, I <i>loved</i> it, possibly even more than the manga version. The changes it makes from the manga were actually ones I (for the most part) preferred.

---Story---

While Full Moon wo Sagashite may not see like much on the surface -- little girl has a life-threatening disease, wants to sing, and becomes sixteen years old with the help of two friendly shinigami -- it read more
I found this review Helpful
algelic
Apr 4, 2007
Suitable for all audiences, young and new. Contains some bloodless violence.


Story - 10/10

At first, this looks like the typical shoujo series directed at young girls, thanks to all the bright colours and cute characters. From the synopsis, it looks like a sad and depressing anime about death. But it's so much more than that.

We meet the main character, Mitsuki, who is a young girl with throat cancer and whose biggest dream is to become a great singer and maybe one day meet the boy she loves, but who left for America two years ago. One day she is visited by two death gods (the Shinigami) read more
I found this review Helpful
DreamingLily
Aug 24, 2014
Full Moon wo Sagashite: Searching for a full moon

I guess most people who are anime fans just constantly look for those anime that really leave a deep impact on you, lift you up, and help you gain a further appreciation for anime. Sometimes we wonder if that special one will ever come, that one that is so special to us on a personal level that we will forever remember it as long as we continue to watch anime or even think about it. This time for me, I think I found one of those in full moon wo sagashite.

On the surface full moon wo sagashite read more
I found this review Helpful
Robin6128
Feb 17, 2014
To pursue one's dream with unrelenting dedication with little of even a sliver of hope is a not-so-easy pursuit for anyone, and even less so, when a fatal condition shackles that diminutive hope to the realms of the harshest realities. Twelve-year old Mitsuki, diagnosed with sarcoma (a rare cancer) in the throat, strives to fulfill her promise made with Eichi (to become a professional singer), despite the harsh restraints and limitations set by her illness, doctor and grandma. One fateful day, she is confronted by two shinigami, bearing an unembellished "truth", that death will befall her, in just one years time. Her ambitions now challenge read more
I found this review Helpful
kajia
May 27, 2010
I watched "Full Moon wo Sagashite" because it had one of the highest average user ratings at one point on this other anime site that I visit. So it probably comes as no surprise that I was sorely disappointed to find that it's only good, but nothing special. So the main purpose of this review is to provide a different viewpoint from all those other rave reviews that can be found for this series.

"Full Moon wo Sagashite" is quite a heart warming anime about a little girl who wants to become a singer, but only has one year to live because of the read more
I found this review Helpful
FoundedEighths
May 14, 2015
Sometimes in life you stumble across things, and they surprise you in multiple ways. This was Full Moon wo Sagashite (Searching for the Full Moon) for me. The more I watched this anime and the farther I got in, the more I became invested in the characters and their struggles. This anime is nothing like you would think it to be. Beneath the exterior of a cutesy shoujo aesthetic, there is struggle of trying to find out what one's purpose in life is on this world and finding true joy and happiness. Full Moon wo Sagashite is one of the saddest anime I have ever read more
I found this review Helpful
Suppi
Aug 4, 2015
I discovered this anime via the song "Eternal Snow" (I wouldn't recommend listening to it before watching thoug). It directly catched my attention. And I wasn't dissapointed.
Full Moon wo Sagashite is a must watch if you like the shoujo style. A more well know anime in the same style is Card Captor Sakura (CCS). If you liked CCS then you should watch Full Moon wo sagashite. As you could imagine from the synopsis, the story has a serious and sad note although the characters can be funny.

I liked the song of the anime a lot. Characters were awesome and likeable.
Once I read more
I found this review Helpful
srsng
Aug 8, 2009
Let’s sing a song…

Studio Deen pulled off another heartwarming and emotional anime that will tug at the strings of your heart.

The story of Full Moon O Sagashite is very unique. Sure that it falls under the magical shoujo, typical idol-singer genre, but there existed an aura, an unmistakable atmosphere that persisted throughout the show—There’s a build up of emotions waiting to explode, and it felt like a time bomb the entire time. This definitely cannot be considered the normal stereotypical anime, regardless of what it may seem initially. It also has its own share of drama and slice of life theme – exploring life and read more
I found this review Helpful
_Poochyena_
Mar 10, 2016
The story begins with an interesting concept I've never seen used before. That immediately pulled me in and kept my attention for the duration of the series. Throughout the story, many complex and diverse issues pop up that challenge the characters. Watching their approach to the problems and their interactions with each other strained and strengthened was a treasure to observe.

The artwork is not flashy or especially memorable during any moments, but this shortcoming is easily overlooked thanks to the story and character depth in the series.

The background tracks didn't have a staple sound that resonated with me or even caught my attention but the read more
I found this review Helpful
vampirebf
Feb 9, 2016
This was my very first anime, so it holds a special place in my heart, thus the higher rating even though I'm quite critical of it.

As I was rewatching this, I realized it's many flaws. I guess it's a matter of opinion if these are true flaws, but I'll list them anyway, since, you know, a review is your opinion.

I thought this was way too long. It could have easily only been about 25-30 episodes, but there were lots of unnecessary subplots and fillers that it was 52 episodes long.

I didn't like a lot of the characters. Not even Mitsuki, the main read more
I found this review Helpful
Liddo-kun
Feb 10, 2009
One of my most favourite shoujo anime of all time, Full Moon shows us the importance of wanting to hang on to what we hold dear in life, to regain what has been lost and hold on to it no matter the price. Human love and compassion portrayed on a realistic level, Full Moon is simply a classic anime that will never be outdated.

I found this review Helpful
easternjohnny
Nov 17, 2015
i'm going make this review short and sweet

this anime is about a young girl name Miriko searching for her destiny to somehow become a singer after finding out she has cancer in the throat, with out of the blue two death gods show up and that she somehow can see she finds it by magically becoming a full moon out of a promise she made..

this anime is heartwarming and puts a lot of emotional feelings to a test from death to wanting to have Miriko to live on with both her altered-ego called Full Moon to herself, and searching for her great friend which read more
I found this review Helpful
NyaNatsuki
Jul 17, 2014
It was only in March 2013 that I started watching this Anime after finishing a few other Animes on Youtube. I was on Youtube and I clicked on it. At first, I didn't really like Full Moon, but I gave it another chance and I'm glad I did.

Story: 10/10

This is just my opinion, but I believe this story is amazing. No story is completely flawless but this was close to it. Twelve year old Mitsuki has lung cancer and two shinigami show up granting her one life to live. If I was Mitsuki I would be crying and upset, but she wasn't upset she read more
I found this review Helpful
Sugarstorm
Mar 17, 2008
This anime is personally one of my favorites. Although, the story strays away from the original plot of the manga a little more than half way though the series. Because they made the anime when the manga was still being written.

But, overall. the story is VERY much tear jerking, because you can't help but cry with the story. You get to know the characters very well. I watched the anime first then the manga, which was kind of a big mistake because they are so different, and end completely different. They changed a lot in the story.

The only downside to having it released in America read more
I found this review Helpful
angelsreview
Mar 29, 2013
The story line is pretty flushed out but unfortunately, it falls into the magical girl story line. I say unfortunately because it was something I was hoping this would keep out. It didn’t need her turning into a 16-year-old to have the plot moving, just make her look somewhat 16 at the start of it! Another problem I had with the whole 12 to 16 aspect is that, how will her love actually know that its her when she is much older and her songs are pretty much generic to any girl in that age? It doesn’t magically work… like… *facepalm* you know what, all read more
I found this review Helpful
ethann
Jun 12, 2008
Full moon wo sagashite is about a 12 year old girl who has throat cancer but wants to become a singer. One day she is visited by two shinigami or death gods who tell her she has one year left to live, so instead of being depressed she is determind to acheive her dream and meet the one she loves before time runs out, which is made possible with the help of the two shinigami, however, feelings soon develop and this becomes a problem for the shinigami.

The story is very intersting involving several different elements, namely, Fantasy, Romance, Drama, Comedy and music. The story has read more
I found this review Helpful
sailorstar
Aug 19, 2010
Either you are reading this because:
1# You want to know what the anime is about or basic scores
OR
2# You want to see if anyone else loved this anime as much as you did.

Whichever one of the two reasons, I hope you enjoy my review ^_^

I finished Full Moon Wo Sagashite [Searching for a full moon] a few months back and only realised recently I had not recommended it.
SO here is my long overdue review-

[STORY]

10/10

At a first glance this may seem to be a girly, shoujo anime that is about as deep as a paddling pool, but the story revolves around trust, forgotten read more
I found this review Helpful
MyChiPham1
Feb 14, 2014
This anime can be deceiving, a girly shoujo anime turns into a gripping ending. The beginning is quite slow and people loose interest before they even finish the anime, but the best is till last. At a first glance, it mainly shows a girl and her dream to become a singer, a very simple story line which gets very edgy near the end.

It has cute characters, full of fluffy pink stuff, but as you discover that her unfortunate fate is sealed, there is nothing else for her to do but to fight for her dream to the very end.

It has 52 episodes, a read more
I found this review Helpful
ProperPrincess
Apr 15, 2011
full moon wo sagashite, is a heartwarming series.
about a girl who has throat cancer. she is visited by 2 shinigamis, they tell her that she only has 1 year left to live in. Both shinigamis becomes surprised when she tells them that she is not afraid to die and to lose her voice is much worse. she has a dream of becoming a singer, so she runs away from Shinigami to take an audition, but is then captured by the 2 shinigamier. she gets frustrated and tells them, If she only has 1 year left to do, so she could just as well carry out read more
I found this review Helpful
Bishounen_Hunter
Sep 13, 2009
~Main | Overall
Full Moon wo Sagashite, for me, is the quintessential shoujo anime. It has all the elements a shoujo addict like myself craves; it's funny, dramatic, emotional, has nice looking characters and great music. There is not much to be said about this series that has not been said already, I would truly love to give this series all PERFECT 10s because it does deserve it, but there are some minor stuff I gotta take points off for. Still hands down Full Moon excels as a shoujo series as most reviews you come across have demonstrated by giving this show nothing but 9s read more
I found this review Helpful