MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #368
Full Moon wo Sagashite

Full Moon wo Sagashite

Alternative Titles

English: Searching for the Full Moon
Synonyms: Full Moon o Sagashite
Japanese: 満月をさがして

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2002 to Mar 29, 2003
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.131 (scored by 20240 users)
Ranked: #3682
Popularity: #650
Members: 41,615
Favorites: 1,102
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama music romance shoujo
Jul 17, 2007
Ria
Full Moon wo Sagashite was one of those animes I started on a whim. I had already read the manga, and decided to give the anime a try to see how much I liked it in comparison. To my surprise, I <i>loved</i> it, possibly even more than the manga version. The changes it makes from the manga were actually ones I (for the most part) preferred.

---Story---

While Full Moon wo Sagashite may not see like much on the surface -- little girl has a life-threatening disease, wants to sing, and becomes sixteen years old with the help of two friendly shinigami -- it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 4, 2007
algelic
Suitable for all audiences, young and new. Contains some bloodless violence.


Story - 10/10

At first, this looks like the typical shoujo series directed at young girls, thanks to all the bright colours and cute characters. From the synopsis, it looks like a sad and depressing anime about death. But it's so much more than that.

We meet the main character, Mitsuki, who is a young girl with throat cancer and whose biggest dream is to become a great singer and maybe one day meet the boy she loves, but who left for America two years ago. One day she is visited by two death gods (the Shinigami) read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 17, 2014
Robin6128
To pursue one's dream in impervious dedication is no walk in the park. And even less so, when a fatal condition stands between you and your aspirations. Twelve-year old Mitsuki, diagnosed with sarcoma (a rare cancer) in the throat, strives to fulfill her promise made with Eichi (to become a professional singer), despite the harsh restraints and limitations set by her illness, doctor and grandma. One fateful day, she is confronted by two shinigami, bearing an unembellished "truth", that death will befall her, in just one years time. Her ambitions now challenge the race, of time. Though determination alone, is NEVER enough to ensure success. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2010
kajia
I watched "Full Moon wo Sagashite" because it had one of the highest average user ratings at one point on this other anime site that I visit. So it probably comes as no surprise that I was sorely disappointed to find that it's only good, but nothing special. So the main purpose of this review is to provide a different viewpoint from all those other rave reviews that can be found for this series.

"Full Moon wo Sagashite" is quite a heart warming anime about a little girl who wants to become a singer, but only has one year to live because of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2009
srsng
Let’s sing a song…

Studio Deen pulled off another heartwarming and emotional anime that will tug at the strings of your heart.

The story of Full Moon O Sagashite is very unique. Sure that it falls under the magical shoujo, typical idol-singer genre, but there existed an aura, an unmistakable atmosphere that persisted throughout the show—There’s a build up of emotions waiting to explode, and it felt like a time bomb the entire time. This definitely cannot be considered the normal stereotypical anime, regardless of what it may seem initially. It also has its own share of drama and slice of life theme – exploring life and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2014
NyaNatsuki
It was only in March 2013 that I started watching this Anime after finishing a few other Animes on Youtube. I was on Youtube and I clicked on it. At first, I didn't really like Full Moon, but I gave it another chance and I'm glad I did.

Story: 10/10

This is just my opinion, but I believe this story is amazing. No story is completely flawless but this was close to it. Twelve year old Mitsuki has lung cancer and two shinigami show up granting her one life to live. If I was Mitsuki I would be crying and upset, but she wasn't upset she read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 10, 2009
Liddo-kun
One of my most favourite shoujo anime of all time, Full Moon shows us the importance of wanting to hang on to what we hold dear in life, to regain what has been lost and hold on to it no matter the price. Human love and compassion portrayed on a realistic level, Full Moon is simply a classic anime that will never be outdated.

I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 12, 2008
ethann
Full moon wo sagashite is about a 12 year old girl who has throat cancer but wants to become a singer. One day she is visited by two shinigami or death gods who tell her she has one year left to live, so instead of being depressed she is determind to acheive her dream and meet the one she loves before time runs out, which is made possible with the help of the two shinigami, however, feelings soon develop and this becomes a problem for the shinigami.

The story is very intersting involving several different elements, namely, Fantasy, Romance, Drama, Comedy and music. The story has read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 5, 2010
roriconfan
ANIME NOSTALGIA SERIES
Full lit of the review series can be found on this page, 3rd post from bottom:
http://anidb.net/perl-bin/animedb.pl?uid=251338&show=userpage&do=blog&blogid=29009&page=0

TEASER: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQyr5rMipQE

Most people reading my reviews would think that I hate anime and that I review just to trash them no matter how good they may be. Which is not true as I occasionally make positive reviews too… like this one.

What is going here? Why is an adult brute like myself giving a good score to an anime that is aimed at little girls while burying a ton of more male-oriented works. I clearly said many times I prefer action and gore over cute girls and fuzzy animals. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 29, 2013
angelsreview
The story line is pretty flushed out but unfortunately, it falls into the magical girl story line. I say unfortunately because it was something I was hoping this would keep out. It didn’t need her turning into a 16-year-old to have the plot moving, just make her look somewhat 16 at the start of it! Another problem I had with the whole 12 to 16 aspect is that, how will her love actually know that its her when she is much older and her songs are pretty much generic to any girl in that age? It doesn’t magically work… like… *facepalm* you know what, all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 19, 2010
sailorstar
Either you are reading this because:
1# You want to know what the anime is about or basic scores
OR
2# You want to see if anyone else loved this anime as much as you did.

Whichever one of the two reasons, I hope you enjoy my review ^_^

I finished Full Moon Wo Sagashite [Searching for a full moon] a few months back and only realised recently I had not recommended it.
SO here is my long overdue review-

[STORY]

10/10

At a first glance this may seem to be a girly, shoujo anime that is about as deep as a paddling pool, but the story revolves around trust, forgotten read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 23, 2013
SakuraHeart
I had put Full Moon wo Sagashite on hold for a while after watching the first episode. Once you really get into the series, you realize it has a lot more depth than it first appears. Like many shoujo, it has a main female character who is likeable though a bit flaky, a love interest or two, and some theme it revolves around (in this case, music, life, and death). However, Mitsuki is very mature for a 12-year-old dealing with life and death situations, and the surrounding characters all have interesting backgrounds and likeable personalities. There is a good balance of romance, humor, supernatural, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2011
ProperPrincess
full moon wo sagashite, is a heartwarming series.
about a girl who has throat cancer. she is visited by 2 shinigamis, they tell her that she only has 1 year left to live in. Both shinigamis becomes surprised when she tells them that she is not afraid to die and to lose her voice is much worse. she has a dream of becoming a singer, so she runs away from Shinigami to take an audition, but is then captured by the 2 shinigamier. she gets frustrated and tells them, If she only has 1 year left to do, so she could just as well carry out read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 14, 2014
MyChiPham1
This anime can be deceiving, a girly shoujo anime turns into a gripping ending. The beginning is quite slow and people loose interest before they even finish the anime, but the best is till last. At a first glance, it mainly shows a girl and her dream to become a singer, a very simple story line which gets very edgy near the end.

It has cute characters, full of fluffy pink stuff, but as you discover that her unfortunate fate is sealed, there is nothing else for her to do but to fight for her dream to the very end.

It has 52 episodes, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2013
Animelover820


Story: 9/10

I gave Full Moon wo Sagashite a nine due to its heart melting plot about a girl who wishes to be reunited with the boy she loved through a singing career, but isn't allowed to, because of her throat cancer. Two shimigami come and tell her that she only has a year left to live. With the help of the shimigami, she is able to become a famous idol and begins to pursue her career before she dies. A lot of the anime I felt wasn't necessary. Example: things like jobs, trips, etc. This anime starts off pretty...."boring", but the ending was so amazing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 18, 2009
pseudonym
I began this anime with an almost indifferent mindset - okay! maybe i had slight feelings of having begun a sailormoon-inspired anime.

However, I was deeply surprised by the truly emotional story line and depth of the characters in the series, after having watching a few episodes.

Story

The storyline was fairly unique; thumbs up for the director -and each episode develops the story and characters whilsts they are faced with differing events and placed in alternative situatons. Basically, the story revolves around a young girl - Misuki - Burdened by such tragedy, she was coerced to abondon her dreams of becoming a vocalist, until one day read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 17, 2008
Sugarstorm
This anime is personally one of my favorites. Although, the story strays away from the original plot of the manga a little more than half way though the series. Because they made the anime when the manga was still being written.

But, overall. the story is VERY much tear jerking, because you can't help but cry with the story. You get to know the characters very well. I watched the anime first then the manga, which was kind of a big mistake because they are so different, and end completely different. They changed a lot in the story.

The only downside to having it released in America read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2012
xMintyPie
Oh... where to start. This anime is a little bit of dark romance genuis, I will admit that... but... there was something about it that didn't please me. I'll dig deeper into this anime and my personal opinions to give more light on the subject.


Story~
I have a friend who loves dark, gory, horror anime. Although I am a fan of mystery/horror stuff, I don't like mindless gore (where gore happens for no reason except to show guts flying everywhere. It doesn't contribute to the plot in any way). However, my friend does-- if it's blood, she likes it somehow. And then she told me that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 13, 2009
Bishounen_Hunter
~Main | Overall
Full Moon wo Sagashite, for me, is the quintessential shoujo anime. It has all the elements a shoujo addict like myself craves; it's funny, dramatic, emotional, has nice looking characters and great music. There is not much to be said about this series that has not been said already, I would truly love to give this series all PERFECT 10s because it does deserve it, but there are some minor stuff I gotta take points off for. Still hands down Full Moon excels as a shoujo series as most reviews you come across have demonstrated by giving this show nothing but 9s read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 3, 2009
Chinshimokkou
The first time I watched this anime, one simple thing happened. It stole my heart.

This anime is at the top of my favourites. The character development is strong, the plot line, while being fairly standard, contains enough surprises and comedic moments to keep one on the edge of one's seat, even re-watching one cannot help but seek the next episode smiling.

I would classify this as a fantasy musical.

My rating 5/5 stars.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices