Ranked #299


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hyou-ka, Hyouka: You can't escape, Hyou-ka: You can't escape, Hyoka
Japanese: 氷菓


Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2012 to Sep 17, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.201 (scored by 128,826 users)
Ranked: #2992
Popularity: #57
Members: 267,489
Favorites: 6,120
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Sep 16, 2012
"I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

For most people, the short years spent in highschool are often the turning point and highlight of their lives; a time filled with introspection and change, where some dreams end and others are born to take their place. On the other hand, there are some who reject this notion and choose to spend their days as uneventfully and routinely as possible, never straying too far from their comfort zone and established lifestyle. After all, why waste the energy on trivial matters?

Oreki Houtarou is one of these individuals.

Set during the read more
I found this review Helpful
May 28, 2015
High school – It is probably not incorrect to suggest that this is the most ubiquitous setting for anime nowadays. Yet even amongst the endless swathes of high school anime that inevitably centre around cute high school girls, there are always exceptions and Hyouka is one of them.

We find ourselves in the Classic Literature Club of which Oreki Houtarou, our energy-conserving protagonist is reluctantly a member and is soon joined by his eclectic group of friends, thus completing the groundwork for this “mystery” anime. When one considers what constitutes a “mystery” show, it is often associated with preconceptions of crime, horror and eerie suspense read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2015
Kyoto animation has produced some very popular series in the past majority of which are slice of life. Now, after watching the famous Haruhi series and the movie, I was like no way can they come up with anything slightly better or in the same level as that in terms of being a slice of life anime. Well, that was until I came across a certain high school anime that altered my perspective on slice of life and school anime. So, without further ado I am gonna start my review of Hyouka

After seeing clips of this anime in basically every single AMV out there, read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 11, 2015
[Feel free to read. This review does not contain spoilers]
Hyouka. A very delightfull anime which reminds me of the years where i was a carefree
and crazy teenager. Also, the friendship between the main characters was something that all people would like to have. At first i found Hyouka just ok. But i the end, i loved it. An awesome work from Kyoto Animation.

Story: 8
The story focuses on Oreki and his friends, who try to solve different mysteries. The series have a good pacing with no filler episodes and it has a unique story, but it is still missing this wow factor that other anime have.

Art: read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2015
I’d like to open this review by saying that my rating of the show doesn’t really reflect my opinion of the show’s elements, giving an objective value to something that’s really subjective can be quite tricky so take my ratings at face value. I split my review into 3 main categories and I go about what I enjoyed about them the most, overall I don’t have many negative things to say about this show and this review mostly comprises of positive criticism.

A coming of age story thinly veiled as a mystery, Hyouka is just another hit show by Kyoto Animation (or KyoAni) about a group read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 8, 2015
A fictional, supernatural mystery can be exciting and thrilling, but what about the ones that may occur in our daily lives? Hyouka decides to take a spin on the general mystery anime by having our main cast go through more minor mysteries, that sprout from simple questions. This creates a completely different feel and atmosphere that the anime portrays. How does this impact the quality of the anime?

Story: 7.4/10
Although this take on the genre of mystery was fresh and exciting, eventually, the charm of the mundane mysteries wore off a bit. A small portion of the problems presented became slightly read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 30, 2013
"I'm curious; I can't stop thinking about it!"

Are you looking for an adrenaline pumping mystery anime about murders,deception, and crime? Are you looking for a mystery anime that has a badass detective? Are you looking for a mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat? Well look somewhere else. Because Hyouka isn't that kind of anime.

Story-Hyouka revolves around a boy called Oreki Houtarou. An apathetic guy who has little interest in anything or anyone. His life motto is "I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly." But when her older sister who lives in read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 3, 2015
Ahh Hyouka.. I don't even know what the mystery tag doing on this anime. It was perfect all the way up until the last few episodes. I have a couple of reasons to why I am giving this a 8/10, and here they are :

Story : 8/10

The story can me resumed to "Pink eyed girl gets curious and makes Houtarou do stuff." The story is simple, but very well executed. Instead of a being a "badass anime with MC being the most clever being on earth", the anime is centered around 4 1st year highschool kids. Now there are a couple of problems with read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Alright folks, let's talk some Hyouka. Time to exercise your brains and turn that curiosity light bulb ON.

Hyouka (also the same name of the first volume of the Classic Literature Club that's also a implied term of “Ice Cream”) is an anime series adapted from the mystery novel written by Honobu Yonezawa. The story? Well, if you're curious like a certain purple eyed girl in the series, Hyouka details the Kamiyama High School's Classic Literature Club and its members having fun while solving mysteries and enjoying the time of their boring lives.

It all begins with the unenthusiastic young boy by the name of read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 5, 2015
It’s retro-review time again, and today I’m going to be talking about an anime I was afraid to go back to because I was sure it wasn’t going to hold up over time. And really, can you blame me? After sitting through so many coming-of-age/character-based anime that most people consider to be good, but I consider to be shit, Hyouka looked like a prime candidate for “don’t believe the fans. It’s nowhere near that good unless you’re under that fanboy delusion that character interactions/development is good enough to entertain on its own”. And you know what? I am not.

In fact, I’ve come to really despise read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 18, 2015
Reviewing another KyoAni series....*sigh* This better be good. What am I talking about?! This is a great KyoAni series. One of their best series to date. This anime is basically "Sherlock Homes: High School Version".

[Story]: (9/10)
Oreki Hotaro is a high school boy, who always acts passively. One day, he enters a "Classic Literature Club" as recommended by his older sister. There he meets Eru Chitanda, Satoshi Fukube and Mayaka Ibara. They begin to investigate a case that occurred 33 years ago. Hints of the mystery are buried in an old collection of works of the former members of the club. The collection is titled read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 14, 2015
This anime is not just enjoyable but it also makes you think about the depth and angle of every mystery they attempt to uncover. It shows a different perspective of everyday life (like things that you overlook due to it simplicity but as deeper meaning to it) which in some way, can be just as mysterious and spectacular as any murder mystery. This anime also has amazing animation and beautiful background music that matches the whole mystery and deduction vibe.
This show is pretty damn under-rated, definitely enjoyable, worth a watch for those who have been pickling your own head trying to choose something decent to read more
I found this review Helpful
May 1, 2015
Hyouka is a slice of life anime that does a very good job of referencing famous mystery novel authors, yet fails to be a good mystery itself. Hyouka is a Kyoto Animation show with a generic high school setting (of course) and features trade mark, cute, moe, animation. I am not a huge fan at all of slice of life shows as they offer little to no substance plot wise but, I was oddly excited to watch this series because I am a huge mystery fan. On top of this, I heard Houtarou was a very cool and laid-back character that resembled read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
Anime are known to usually be over-the-top no matter what genre they are. When I think of what makes anime great, I think of epic action, intense mind battles, heart-wrenching emotions, exciting drama, unrealistically awesome characters, and crazy plot twists.

Hyouka is none of that. It’s nowhere near “over-the-top” in any way. Hyouka is the definition of subtlety. It’s serene, relaxing, beautiful, funny, and smartly written. But the best thing about Hyouka is that it makes you think—and not just about the mysteries.

The mysteries are small-scale cases that manage to be incredibly intriguing, causing you to become “curious”. No, the writers don’t try to instill in read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 1, 2015
I accidentally came upon this anime and the description I read (and a spoiler-y review) convinced me to watch it.

After the first episode I was instantly charmed by the artwork which reminded me strongly of K-ON, animation, soundtrack and the story line. It's a slow paced anime so I hoped that the exposition will take time and it will end in a bang. My theory of course was incorrect because the anime was segmented into three main story-lines that were not of equal footing. Personally I thought that if the anime ended after the first ten episodes it would have still remained a good anime. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 13, 2012
At first, I really wasnt impressed. The characters, especially the two guys, talk as if they are hinting the deeper theme to each episode. That was a little unnecessary. I didn't mind the plot though. The trivialized version of mysteries interested me more than the big mysteries that are either too fake or too unreal. I understand that this might be disappointing for mystery fans, but I feel like hyouka is a breeze that can change the stagnant mystery genre.
I honestly look forward to this a lot each week. I got used to the talkative characters and the lack of character development. There are read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 19, 2012
Well, it tried, I'll give it that.

Hyouka, also known as "Hyou-ka: You Can't Escape" is the latest series by acclaimed studio Kyoto Animation, who, despite their huge fanbase, generally produce work of more style than substance. Hyouka unfortunately follows this trend, though superficially it doesn't fit in with the rest of KyoAni's back catalogue very much, as Hyouka is generally very dry in tone.

Hyouka is a mystery series, revolving around four high school students in the Classic Literature Club (an aimless club that happens to end up solving mysteries a lot). The students in question are main character Oreki Houtaro, whom I am about 99% read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 3, 2015
Recommended by one of my friend and I have to say that I enjoyed it :).

The Highlights:
Animation: Fluid KyoAni-quality. Bonus points for attention to detail.
Atmosphere: Surprisingly lighthearted—uses mystery as a means to a thematic end.
Characters: Unoriginal at first but grow over time.

Hyouka is a surprising addition to KyoAni’s repertoire if you only look at its genre. It’s an offbeat show if you view it as a mystery, given its focus on mundane, everyday puzzles. The anime comes across as a “light mystery” in that sense, similarly to K-On!’s light music setting that rarely involves playing music. Hyouka’s mysteries are not mere plot devices, however. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 10, 2015
Before reading, please take a moment to read about my review structure on my page.

OVERALL: 80/100

Setting: 6/10
Plot: 8.5/10
Art: 9.5/10
Animation: 7/10
OST: 8/10
Voicing: 8/10
Character Set: 8/10
Character Development: 6/10
Directing: 9/10
Enjoyment: 10/10

Setting 6/10
Hyouka is set in a modern day Japanese high school, your typical slice of life setting. Nothing too special to comment on.

Plot 8.5/10
The overall story is very slow-moving and not much really changes from beginning to end.
The story begins when the main character, Oreki Houtarou, is requested by his elder sister to join the "Classics Club". Throughout the story, Oreki is constantly dragged into solving mysteries by the club president, Chitanda Eru. Although there is not read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 19, 2015
''Watashi kininarimasu!''
Oh Hyouka... One of the best mystery animes... Here is my opinions about it:

Story: 9.5/10

(+) The story is very well edited that when mysteries be solved you always be shocked.
(+) The characters solve the mysteries from clues so that it feels more logical.
(+) The story usually got u interested.
(-) First 2 or 3 episodes, the mysteries were ridiculous but still it wasn't bad.

Art: 10/10

(+) The art is so good that it makes you captivated.
(+) When Chitanda says ''Watashi kininarimasu'' and her eyes shining and become kind of purple... I was really impressed when I saw that scene

Sound: 10/10

(+) Nice openings.
(+) The OSTs are read more
I found this review Helpful