MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #277
Hyouka

Hyouka

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hyou-ka, Hyouka: You can't escape, Hyou-ka: You can't escape, Hyoka
Japanese: 氷菓

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2012 to Sep 17, 2012
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 95879 users)
Ranked: #2772
Popularity: #67
Members: 195,354
Favorites: 4,366
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Sep 16, 2012
Veronin
"I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

For most people, the short years spent in highschool are often the turning point and highlight of their lives; a time filled with introspection and change, where some dreams end and others are born to take their place. On the other hand, there are some who reject this notion and choose to spend their days as uneventfully and routinely as possible, never straying too far from their comfort zone and established lifestyle. After all, why waste the energy on trivial matters?

Oreki Houtarou is one of these individuals.

Set during the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2013
lonelyintrovert
"I'm curious; I can't stop thinking about it!"

Are you looking for an adrenaline pumping mystery anime about murders,deception, and crime? Are you looking for a mystery anime that has a badass detective? Are you looking for a mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat? Well look somewhere else. Because Hyouka isn't that kind of anime.

Story-Hyouka revolves around a boy called Oreki Houtarou. An apathetic guy who has little interest in anything or anyone. His life motto is "I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly." But when her older sister who lives in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 10, 2014
FadeFrost
-The following is a spoiler-free review-

"I'm curious, I can't stop thinking about it!"

These words best described how I felt as I swept through the Hyouka series. Though initially slow, as I watched more and more episodes, I began to feel myself pulled into the curiosity of Chitanda Eru and the mundane school life of our protagonists, Eru and Oreki. By the end, I found myself personally enjoying the Hyouka series greatly and wishing for much much more. But here's a disclaimer; If you're looking for a thoroughbred Mystery or Romantic slice of life, you won't find it here. In the words of one of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2014
kyonJIE
During the time I watched it, I was still generally new to anime, like I was introduced to this show through an amv. (because it looked nice so I watched it). I didn't really have any expectations for the show which I think helped, I watched it liked it and move on. Still two years later after countless amount of anime watching my opinion of this show didn't change and it was still damn good.

First of can I start with the obvious, can I just gush at just, wow the art and animation, my god this has got to be the best that kyoto animation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2014
Monjoex
Hyouka, a show which blends mystery with an
interesting slice of life story, and manages to do it
really, really well. Coming from Kyoto Animation you
could argue that it was always headed towards big
things, but this is different from what we normally see
from Kyoto, this is more interesting and holds more
depth, and makes for a far more interesting and
intriguing series.
The plot focuses around Hotaro Oreki who lives by
the motto of "If I don't have to do something, I
won't, but if I have to I'll do it quickly." This motto
goes for every aspect of his life, leaving him with very
little drive or interest in actually doing anything with
his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 23, 2014
BroilerTM
I had a certain set of expectations for this show.
Not gonna be revealing what they are, all you need to know is that I had expectations.

Were they met?
Not exactly...

Before going into this show, I asked around a few people who have watched the show, asked them if it was any good.
Most of them said yes, except for one guy, who called it uninteresting.

With that in mind - I went on to watch the show.
And like I said - set expectations weren't met.

To avoid spoilers in this review, I am not gonna write a brief explanation of each category, I'm just instantly gonna dump my thoughts. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Stark700
Alright folks, let's talk some Hyouka. Time to exercise your brains and turn that curiosity light bulb ON.

Hyouka (also the same name of the first volume of the Classic Literature Club that's also a implied term of “Ice Cream”) is an anime series adapted from the mystery novel written by Honobu Yonezawa. The story? Well, if you're curious like a certain purple eyed girl in the series, Hyouka details the Kamiyama High School's Classic Literature Club and its members having fun while solving mysteries and enjoying the time of their boring lives.

It all begins with the unenthusiastic young boy by the name of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2015
Stevebt123
"I don’t do anything I don’t have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

These are the words spoken by Oreki Houtarou and embodies his outlook upon life. This is an anime about the small things in life. It's slow paced, often meaningless but ultimately is an anime that blossoms over its duration.

Story:

Hyouka is a simple story where the main focal area is meant to be mystery with a tinge of slice-of life romance. However the mysteries are often simplistic and more often than not over dramatized and often leads to a somewhat uneventful and dare I say boring climax . On the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 8, 2014
Haviezh
My Hyouka's Opinion
Story : 8/10

Hyouka is in the mystery genre, and as such, it uses these familiar settings in order to set up its stories. By this I mean, not only is there a new, peculiar mystery to be solved each time, but viewers are given more and more insight into the main characters, their motivations, and their relationships to one another—hidden bits and pieces of the characters’ personalities are revealed, and prior events and twists, which viewers were not aware of, arise to wreak havoc on their perception of what they thought they had previously understood. Hyouka is thus a show that actively reciprocates read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2013
TheLlama
"I'm curious," says Chitanda Eru, and Oreki Houtarou, unable to resist the sparkle in her eyes, knows that once more he has to give up on his lazy ways to help her solve a new everyday mystery.

Hyouka is a series that takes elements of both the mystery and school life genres, mixes them together, and churns out a product that is a very interesting blend of the two. At heart it is very much what you'd expect from a school comedy, from the cast to the plot. The cynical, dry male lead with a sarcastc streak to his inner thoughts and narrating, the airheaded somehow-top-of-her-class read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 3, 2014
Edward_Low
In retrospect, Hyouka only becomes a greater anime. My initial score was a 9. Now it's probably the most solid 10 I'll ever give.

The series is completely unpretentious and brilliantly executed. I know there are people out there who hate on slice-of-life anime because it's full of manipulative nonsense meant to make the viewer go 'aww'. Hyouka does none of that. Hyouka shows you why, ironically enough, considering the main character, ordinary life can be exciting and energising. That ordinary life, ordinary pleasures, ordinary amounts of logic, thinking, and effort can indeed result in something extraordinary.

The genius in Hyouka lies in its subtlety. The main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 15, 2013
fluxuscapacitor
Ah, Hyouka - a series from KyoAni with a committed fanbase and a committed group of detractors. Both definitely have points, and hopefully I can help those curious about the show to figure out if it's worth their time. I can say I'm definitely glad I watched it now that it's all over, but I can't say that I felt that way the entire time I was watching (enduring at points?) the series. Let me explain: the first few episodes are dull. Just completely and utterly pointless and boring. Some will say that this is to the show's benefit, and I would say these people read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2014
Urquiza
I usually get involved with series when i like the music, and even when the big part of it is not original, it still fits perfectly. You can read a synopsis and think "this is just another school's day anime", and even when that's true, it is not.

Why is true? Because it's the story of four young japanese with big colorful eyes, the clubs, the festival, and every etcetera you want to add. But it is also your own story. I think is the development of the characters during the serie what makes Hyouka what it is. The lazy but ridiculously smart guy who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 19, 2012
Lindle
Well, it tried, I'll give it that.

Hyouka, also known as "Hyou-ka: You Can't Escape" is the latest series by acclaimed studio Kyoto Animation, who, despite their huge fanbase, generally produce work of more style than substance. Hyouka unfortunately follows this trend, though superficially it doesn't fit in with the rest of KyoAni's back catalogue very much, as Hyouka is generally very dry in tone.

Hyouka is a mystery series, revolving around four high school students in the Classic Literature Club (an aimless club that happens to end up solving mysteries a lot). The students in question are main character Oreki Houtaro, whom I am about 99% read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 15, 2014
LostPerson
if Sherlock and Kyon had sex. the person that will be born will be the main protagonist of this show.

Story and Character

Meet Oreki. A weak slow guy that wants a normal boring life who isn't interested in romance or what you so called "spring time" when you get in high school.Oreki believes and lives with a code that everything he does should be done as little effort and time as he can. but this guy has something on his sleeves. when he's doing something, rest assured that it is close to perfect.

And that was tapped by a girl name Chitanda. A girl who's curiosity read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 5, 2013
WickedMind
The title Hyouka is the classified works of the Classics Club that is hinted to be filled with mystery that has filled a ruckus in the school's history and past. Is the main plot worth it? If you have to ask me, I don't even know if this really "is" the main genre as the anime's pace was just "too" early that the upcoming episodes turned into some random mysteries and really had nothing to do with the title "Hyouka".

An anime that is entitled under the main genre "Mystery" -- with a tang of romance and character development. The anime just didn't mixed well.

The series read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2015
alfphaa
Do not be put off by its slice of life, high school tag. In my opinion, it is a hidden gem in a rather overused genre of anime. It has mysteries without horror. Mysteries without deaths, yet are no doubt as intricate as those in Detective Conan.

Story: 9
The story revolves the Classics Club, that consists of the 4 main characters. On the surface, it is a typical non-competitive high school club who plays only a small role in the yearly cultural festival. Nothing will be interesting for our characters according to the club's agenda. However, mysteries are always finding them, regardless of our male lead's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 4, 2014
Sonic0
Hyouka involves an "energy-conserving" protagonist in Oreki Houtarou. Put bluntly, he is lazy. He will not do anything unless he has to, and if he has a task to do, he will complete it in a swift, efficient fashion. That is his motto. "If I don't have to do it, I won't. If I have to do it, I'll make it quick" This all changes in his joining of the Classics Club.

The story of Hyouka revolves around the Classics Club and its members--mainly focused around Oreki Houtarou and Chitanda Eru. Chitanda's endless curiosity leads to the demise of his lifestyle, as he is coveted into read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 18, 2014
Ryuu_sama
At a first glance, Hyouka seems like an ordinary "slice of life" school anime with romance. In reality, Hyouka transcends the typical cookie cutter archetypes of school-slice of life stories with a great mix of mystery. While this anime can't necessarily be called "mystery" because it does not deal with thefts and murders like the Detective Conan series, it deals much more with "everyday mysteries" - small questions that sometimes need good answers.

I'll save you the summary, but let me say this: Hyouka's story is not only strong and enjoyable but also touching. This anime is a mixture of many emotions: happiness, curiosity, fun, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 23, 2013
KennyTheAwesome
Well, I guess I'm about to write an essay, but for an anime that hit my taste nearly perfectly, it's worth it.

Charachters:

When you first get into this series, you get introduced into an kind of unsympathic main character. Houtarou Oreki is a typical lazy student who seems quite pathetic in the beginning. During the series you slowly see him evolving into somebody completely different due to his friend (if you can call her that), Eru Chitanda. She is his obvious opposite: She is a happy, optimistic and most importantly curious person. The character development is pretty good. There is a small romance between to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices