MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #300
Hyouka

Hyouka

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hyou-ka, Hyouka: You can't escape, Hyou-ka: You can't escape, Hyoka
Japanese: 氷菓

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2012 to Sep 17, 2012
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 105089 users)
Ranked: #3002
Popularity: #62
Members: 215,525
Favorites: 4,738
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
Sep 16, 2012
Veronin
"I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

For most people, the short years spent in highschool are often the turning point and highlight of their lives; a time filled with introspection and change, where some dreams end and others are born to take their place. On the other hand, there are some who reject this notion and choose to spend their days as uneventfully and routinely as possible, never straying too far from their comfort zone and established lifestyle. After all, why waste the energy on trivial matters?

Oreki Houtarou is one of these individuals.

Set during the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
Grimrr
Anime are known to usually be over-the-top no matter what genre they are. When I think of what makes anime great, I think of epic action, intense mind battles, heart-wrenching emotions, exciting drama, unrealistically awesome characters, and crazy plot twists.

Hyouka is none of that. It’s nowhere near “over-the-top” in any way. Hyouka is the definition of subtlety. It’s serene, relaxing, beautiful, funny, and smartly written. But the best thing about Hyouka is that it makes you think—and not just about the mysteries.

The mysteries are small-scale cases that manage to be incredibly intriguing, causing you to become “curious”. No, the writers don’t try to instill in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2013
lonelyintrovert
"I'm curious; I can't stop thinking about it!"

Are you looking for an adrenaline pumping mystery anime about murders,deception, and crime? Are you looking for a mystery anime that has a badass detective? Are you looking for a mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat? Well look somewhere else. Because Hyouka isn't that kind of anime.

Story-Hyouka revolves around a boy called Oreki Houtarou. An apathetic guy who has little interest in anything or anyone. His life motto is "I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly." But when her older sister who lives in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2015
Flawfinder
It’s retro-review time again, and today I’m going to be talking about an anime I was afraid to go back to because I was sure it wasn’t going to hold up over time. And really, can you blame me? After sitting through so many coming-of-age/character-based anime that most people consider to be good, but I consider to be shit, Hyouka looked like a prime candidate for “don’t believe the fans. It’s nowhere near that good unless you’re under that fanboy delusion that character interactions/development is good enough to entertain on its own”. And you know what? I am not.

In fact, I’ve come to really despise read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2014
Monjoex
Hyouka, a show which blends mystery with an
interesting slice of life story, and manages to do it
really, really well. Coming from Kyoto Animation you
could argue that it was always headed towards big
things, but this is different from what we normally see
from Kyoto, this is more interesting and holds more
depth, and makes for a far more interesting and
intriguing series.
The plot focuses around Hotaro Oreki who lives by
the motto of "If I don't have to do something, I
won't, but if I have to I'll do it quickly." This motto
goes for every aspect of his life, leaving him with very
little drive or interest in actually doing anything with
his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 10, 2014
FadeFrost
-The following is a spoiler-free review-

"I'm curious, I can't stop thinking about it!"

These words best described how I felt as I swept through the Hyouka series. Though initially slow, as I watched more and more episodes, I began to feel myself pulled into the curiosity of Chitanda Eru and the mundane school life of our protagonists, Eru and Oreki. By the end, I found myself personally enjoying the Hyouka series greatly and wishing for much much more. But here's a disclaimer; If you're looking for a thoroughbred Mystery or Romantic slice of life, you won't find it here. In the words of one of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2015
Shinkaism
"I don’t do anything I don’t have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

These are the words spoken by Oreki Houtarou and embodies his outlook upon life. This is an anime about the small things in life. It's slow paced, often meaningless but ultimately is an anime that blossoms over its duration.

Story:

Hyouka is a simple story where the main focal area is meant to be mystery with a tinge of slice-of life romance. However the mysteries are often simplistic and more often than not over dramatized and often leads to a somewhat uneventful and dare I say boring climax . On the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2014
kyonJIE
During the time I watched it, I was still generally new to anime, like I was introduced to this show through an amv. (because it looked nice so I watched it). I didn't really have any expectations for the show which I think helped, I watched it liked it and move on. Still two years later after countless amount of anime watching my opinion of this show didn't change and it was still damn good.

First of can I start with the obvious, can I just gush at just, wow the art and animation, my god this has got to be the best that kyoto animation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Stark700
Alright folks, let's talk some Hyouka. Time to exercise your brains and turn that curiosity light bulb ON.

Hyouka (also the same name of the first volume of the Classic Literature Club that's also a implied term of “Ice Cream”) is an anime series adapted from the mystery novel written by Honobu Yonezawa. The story? Well, if you're curious like a certain purple eyed girl in the series, Hyouka details the Kamiyama High School's Classic Literature Club and its members having fun while solving mysteries and enjoying the time of their boring lives.

It all begins with the unenthusiastic young boy by the name of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2015
bloodgods
Hyouka has been sitting in my "Plan to Watch" list for some time, and I can report that I'm very glad to have gotten around to watching it. I was originally allured by the beautiful animation and reputable ratings, and I was definitely not disappointed.

Story: 8/10
Art: 9/10
Sound: 8/10
Character: 7/10
Enjoyment: 8/10
Overall: 8/10

Story (8):
Hyouka is centered around four charming students in the Classics Club and their desire to dive into the subtle mysteries of the world around them. The main character Oreki has committed to his "energy conserving" lifestyle, as he does not want to stand out, waste energy, or do things that aren't required of him. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 8, 2014
Haviezh
My Hyouka's Opinion
Story : 8/10

Hyouka is in the mystery genre, and as such, it uses these familiar settings in order to set up its stories. By this I mean, not only is there a new, peculiar mystery to be solved each time, but viewers are given more and more insight into the main characters, their motivations, and their relationships to one another—hidden bits and pieces of the characters’ personalities are revealed, and prior events and twists, which viewers were not aware of, arise to wreak havoc on their perception of what they thought they had previously understood. Hyouka is thus a show that actively reciprocates read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 3, 2014
Edward_Low
In retrospect, Hyouka only becomes a greater anime. My initial score was a 9. Now it's probably the most solid 10 I'll ever give.

The series is completely unpretentious and brilliantly executed. I know there are people out there who hate on slice-of-life anime because it's full of manipulative nonsense meant to make the viewer go 'aww'. Hyouka does none of that. Hyouka shows you why, ironically enough, considering the main character, ordinary life can be exciting and energising. That ordinary life, ordinary pleasures, ordinary amounts of logic, thinking, and effort can indeed result in something extraordinary.

The genius in Hyouka lies in its subtlety. The main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2013
TheLlama
"I'm curious," says Chitanda Eru, and Oreki Houtarou, unable to resist the sparkle in her eyes, knows that once more he has to give up on his lazy ways to help her solve a new everyday mystery.

Hyouka is a series that takes elements of both the mystery and school life genres, mixes them together, and churns out a product that is a very interesting blend of the two. At heart it is very much what you'd expect from a school comedy, from the cast to the plot. The cynical, dry male lead with a sarcastc streak to his inner thoughts and narrating, the airheaded somehow-top-of-her-class read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 15, 2014
LostPerson
if Sherlock and Kyon had sex. the person that will be born will be the main protagonist of this show.

Story and Character

Meet Oreki. A weak slow guy that wants a normal boring life who isn't interested in romance or what you so called "spring time" when you get in high school.Oreki believes and lives with a code that everything he does should be done as little effort and time as he can. but this guy has something on his sleeves. when he's doing something, rest assured that it is close to perfect.

And that was tapped by a girl name Chitanda. A girl who's curiosity read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 24, 2015
Minechi
If I have to summarize it in one line then it would be "If I don't have to do it, I won't. If I have to do it, I'll make it quick." or "I am not lazy. I'm just too tired to show you how smart I am".

A tasteful blend of comedy, mystery, and clever play of words that leaves you wishing if only if it was an anime that was based on your life. The story is not by any means far fetched...(maybe jusssssssttttt a little, but its okay). It makes you feel a bit witty even though you already are :D

The anime revolves read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 19, 2012
Lindle
Well, it tried, I'll give it that.

Hyouka, also known as "Hyou-ka: You Can't Escape" is the latest series by acclaimed studio Kyoto Animation, who, despite their huge fanbase, generally produce work of more style than substance. Hyouka unfortunately follows this trend, though superficially it doesn't fit in with the rest of KyoAni's back catalogue very much, as Hyouka is generally very dry in tone.

Hyouka is a mystery series, revolving around four high school students in the Classic Literature Club (an aimless club that happens to end up solving mysteries a lot). The students in question are main character Oreki Houtaro, whom I am about 99% read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 16, 2015
HalfMoons
Hyouka is a mistery anime made by KyoAni and consequently being the best show they ever made.
Now dont get me wrong when I say its the best show of KyoAni it doesnt mean its a good show, however KyoAni is so full of crap that even a show like Hyouka manages to mark their place as the best one.. And yes I consider
it to be better than CLANNAD the first season and its probably on the same level has the 2nd one

Story:

Based of a very famous light novel by Yonezawa,Honobu called Koten-bu stories, Hyouka is basically a spin off with the same characters and story, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2015
alfphaa
Do not be put off by its slice of life, high school tag. In my opinion, it is a hidden gem in a rather overused genre of anime. It has mysteries without horror. Mysteries without deaths, yet are no doubt as intricate as those in Detective Conan.

Story: 9
The story revolves the Classics Club, that consists of the 4 main characters. On the surface, it is a typical non-competitive high school club who plays only a small role in the yearly cultural festival. Nothing will be interesting for our characters according to the club's agenda. However, mysteries are always finding them, regardless of our male lead's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 4, 2014
Sonic0
Hyouka involves an "energy-conserving" protagonist in Oreki Houtarou. Put bluntly, he is lazy. He will not do anything unless he has to, and if he has a task to do, he will complete it in a swift, efficient fashion. That is his motto. "If I don't have to do it, I won't. If I have to do it, I'll make it quick" This all changes in his joining of the Classics Club.

The story of Hyouka revolves around the Classics Club and its members--mainly focused around Oreki Houtarou and Chitanda Eru. Chitanda's endless curiosity leads to the demise of his lifestyle, as he is coveted into read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 23, 2013
KennyTheAwesome
Well, I guess I'm about to write an essay, but for an anime that hit my taste nearly perfectly, it's worth it.

Charachters:

When you first get into this series, you get introduced into an kind of unsympathic main character. Houtarou Oreki is a typical lazy student who seems quite pathetic in the beginning. During the series you slowly see him evolving into somebody completely different due to his friend (if you can call her that), Eru Chitanda. She is his obvious opposite: She is a happy, optimistic and most importantly curious person. The character development is pretty good. There is a small romance between to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful