MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #300
Hyouka

Hyouka

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hyou-ka, Hyouka: You can't escape, Hyou-ka: You can't escape, Hyoka
Japanese: 氷菓

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2012 to Sep 17, 2012
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 108553 users)
Ranked: #3002
Popularity: #61
Members: 223,338
Favorites: 4,886
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
May 28, 2015
Kirik0h
High school – It is probably not incorrect to suggest that this is the most ubiquitous setting for anime nowadays. Yet even amongst the endless swathes of high school anime that inevitably centre around cute high school girls, there are always exceptions and Hyouka is one of them.

We find ourselves in the Classic Literature Club of which Oreki Houtarou, our energy-conserving protagonist is reluctantly a member and is soon joined by his friends, thus completing the groundwork for this “mystery” anime. When one considers what constitutes a “mystery” show, it is often associated with preconceptions of crime, horror and eerie suspense but Hyouka is not read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Veronin
"I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

For most people, the short years spent in highschool are often the turning point and highlight of their lives; a time filled with introspection and change, where some dreams end and others are born to take their place. On the other hand, there are some who reject this notion and choose to spend their days as uneventfully and routinely as possible, never straying too far from their comfort zone and established lifestyle. After all, why waste the energy on trivial matters?

Oreki Houtarou is one of these individuals.

Set during the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2013
lonelyintrovert
"I'm curious; I can't stop thinking about it!"

Are you looking for an adrenaline pumping mystery anime about murders,deception, and crime? Are you looking for a mystery anime that has a badass detective? Are you looking for a mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat? Well look somewhere else. Because Hyouka isn't that kind of anime.

Story-Hyouka revolves around a boy called Oreki Houtarou. An apathetic guy who has little interest in anything or anyone. His life motto is "I don't do anything I don't have to. What I have to do, I do quickly." But when her older sister who lives in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 2, 2015
Grimrr
Anime are known to usually be over-the-top no matter what genre they are. When I think of what makes anime great, I think of epic action, intense mind battles, heart-wrenching emotions, exciting drama, unrealistically awesome characters, and crazy plot twists.

Hyouka is none of that. It’s nowhere near “over-the-top” in any way. Hyouka is the definition of subtlety. It’s serene, relaxing, beautiful, funny, and smartly written. But the best thing about Hyouka is that it makes you think—and not just about the mysteries.

The mysteries are small-scale cases that manage to be incredibly intriguing, causing you to become “curious”. No, the writers don’t try to instill in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 10, 2014
FadeFrost
-The following is a spoiler-free review-

"I'm curious, I can't stop thinking about it!"

These words best described how I felt as I swept through the Hyouka series. Though initially slow, as I watched more and more episodes, I began to feel myself pulled into the curiosity of Chitanda Eru and the mundane school life of our protagonists, Eru and Oreki. By the end, I found myself personally enjoying the Hyouka series greatly and wishing for much much more. But here's a disclaimer; If you're looking for a thoroughbred Mystery or Romantic slice of life, you won't find it here. In the words of one of the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Stark700
Alright folks, let's talk some Hyouka. Time to exercise your brains and turn that curiosity light bulb ON.

Hyouka (also the same name of the first volume of the Classic Literature Club that's also a implied term of “Ice Cream”) is an anime series adapted from the mystery novel written by Honobu Yonezawa. The story? Well, if you're curious like a certain purple eyed girl in the series, Hyouka details the Kamiyama High School's Classic Literature Club and its members having fun while solving mysteries and enjoying the time of their boring lives.

It all begins with the unenthusiastic young boy by the name of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 5, 2015
Flawfinder
It’s retro-review time again, and today I’m going to be talking about an anime I was afraid to go back to because I was sure it wasn’t going to hold up over time. And really, can you blame me? After sitting through so many coming-of-age/character-based anime that most people consider to be good, but I consider to be shit, Hyouka looked like a prime candidate for “don’t believe the fans. It’s nowhere near that good unless you’re under that fanboy delusion that character interactions/development is good enough to entertain on its own”. And you know what? I am not.

In fact, I’ve come to really despise read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 2, 2015
Shinkaism
"I don’t do anything I don’t have to. What I have to do, I do quickly."

These are the words spoken by Oreki Houtarou and embodies his outlook upon life. This is an anime about the small things in life. It's slow paced, often meaningless but ultimately is an anime that blossoms over its duration.

Story:

Hyouka is a simple story where the main focal area is meant to be mystery with a tinge of slice-of life romance. However the mysteries are often simplistic and more often than not over dramatized and often leads to a somewhat uneventful and dare I say boring climax . On the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2014
kyonJIE
During the time I watched it, I was still generally new to anime, like I was introduced to this show through an amv. (because it looked nice so I watched it). I didn't really have any expectations for the show which I think helped, I watched it liked it and move on. Still two years later after countless amount of anime watching my opinion of this show didn't change and it was still damn good.

First of can I start with the obvious, can I just gush at just, wow the art and animation, my god this has got to be the best that kyoto animation read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 3, 2014
Edward_Low
In retrospect, Hyouka only becomes a greater anime. My initial score was a 9. Now it's probably the most solid 10 I'll ever give.

The series is completely unpretentious and brilliantly executed. I know there are people out there who hate on slice-of-life anime because it's full of manipulative nonsense meant to make the viewer go 'aww'. Hyouka does none of that. Hyouka shows you why, ironically enough, considering the main character, ordinary life can be exciting and energising. That ordinary life, ordinary pleasures, ordinary amounts of logic, thinking, and effort can indeed result in something extraordinary.

The genius in Hyouka lies in its subtlety. The main read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2013
TheLlama
"I'm curious," says Chitanda Eru, and Oreki Houtarou, unable to resist the sparkle in her eyes, knows that once more he has to give up on his lazy ways to help her solve a new everyday mystery.

Hyouka is a series that takes elements of both the mystery and school life genres, mixes them together, and churns out a product that is a very interesting blend of the two. At heart it is very much what you'd expect from a school comedy, from the cast to the plot. The cynical, dry male lead with a sarcastc streak to his inner thoughts and narrating, the airheaded somehow-top-of-her-class read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 19, 2012
Lindle
Well, it tried, I'll give it that.

Hyouka, also known as "Hyou-ka: You Can't Escape" is the latest series by acclaimed studio Kyoto Animation, who, despite their huge fanbase, generally produce work of more style than substance. Hyouka unfortunately follows this trend, though superficially it doesn't fit in with the rest of KyoAni's back catalogue very much, as Hyouka is generally very dry in tone.

Hyouka is a mystery series, revolving around four high school students in the Classic Literature Club (an aimless club that happens to end up solving mysteries a lot). The students in question are main character Oreki Houtaro, whom I am about 99% read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 8, 2015
bloodgods
Hyouka has been sitting in my "Plan to Watch" list for some time, and I can report that I'm very glad to have gotten around to watching it. I was originally allured by the beautiful animation and reputable ratings, and I was definitely not disappointed.

Story: 8/10
Art: 9/10
Sound: 8/10
Character: 7/10
Enjoyment: 8/10
Overall: 8/10

Story (8):
Hyouka is centered around four charming students in the Classics Club and their desire to dive into the subtle mysteries of the world around them. The main character Oreki has committed to his "energy conserving" lifestyle, as he does not want to stand out, waste energy, or do things that aren't required of him. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2015
alfphaa
Do not be put off by its slice of life, high school tag. In my opinion, it is a hidden gem in a rather overused genre of anime. It has mysteries without horror. Mysteries without deaths, yet are no doubt as intricate as those in Detective Conan.

Story: 9
The story revolves the Classics Club, that consists of the 4 main characters. On the surface, it is a typical non-competitive high school club who plays only a small role in the yearly cultural festival. Nothing will be interesting for our characters according to the club's agenda. However, mysteries are always finding them, regardless of our male lead's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 13, 2014
Monjoex
Hyouka, a show which blends mystery with an
interesting slice of life story, and manages to do it
really, really well. Coming from Kyoto Animation you
could argue that it was always headed towards big
things, but this is different from what we normally see
from Kyoto, this is more interesting and holds more
depth, and makes for a far more interesting and
intriguing series.
The plot focuses around Hotaro Oreki who lives by
the motto of "If I don't have to do something, I
won't, but if I have to I'll do it quickly." This motto
goes for every aspect of his life, leaving him with very
little drive or interest in actually doing anything with
his read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2012
iCab
Ah Hyouka, an anime done by the ever so famous Kyoto Animation. Needless to say, I was excited for this, I really was. Kyoani has generally brought me nothing but enjoyment. Their shows are never anything close to a modern day masterpiece, but they tend to make typical, yet above average anime.

Well, tend to.

First and foremost I am going to say that as far as music, art, and direction go, this anime is top notch. The story and characters are where this falls flat.

This show is plagued with a specific character named Chitanda, a girl who wouldn't know what a real personality read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 18, 2015
highpriest2500
"I'm curious"

There are some anime that when you see some sequence from the show, it immediately catches your attention. Indeed, when I looked up Hyouka, I was curious. Having seen it's catchy OP sequence, I was determined that this was an anime that I had to see. I was definitely not disappointed.

When making a live action film, the director can tell a story through many mediums: the dialogue, the actors, and the cinematography. While the director can create visual effects, he/she is bound by the physical world. What makes anime so fascinating and appealing is a director has one additional tool at his/her disposal: read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 18, 2014
Ryuu_sama
At a first glance, Hyouka seems like an ordinary "slice of life" school anime with romance. In reality, Hyouka transcends the typical cookie cutter archetypes of school-slice of life stories with a great mix of mystery. While this anime can't necessarily be called "mystery" because it does not deal with thefts and murders like the Detective Conan series, it deals much more with "everyday mysteries" - small questions that sometimes need good answers.

I'll save you the summary, but let me say this: Hyouka's story is not only strong and enjoyable but also touching. This anime is a mixture of many emotions: happiness, curiosity, fun, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 13, 2012
movoning
At first, I really wasnt impressed. The characters, especially the two guys, talk as if they are hinting the deeper theme to each episode. That was a little unnecessary. I didn't mind the plot though. The trivialized version of mysteries interested me more than the big mysteries that are either too fake or too unreal. I understand that this might be disappointing for mystery fans, but I feel like hyouka is a breeze that can change the stagnant mystery genre.
I honestly look forward to this a lot each week. I got used to the talkative characters and the lack of character development. There are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 24, 2015
Shir0Zephyr
If you'd rather listen to this review over reading it, theres a video version here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGXZuZBC7fc

Hyouka is a 2012 anime by Kyoto animation, it's a school slice of life (WHAT OMG SO ORIGINAL KYOANI HOW U DO DIS MIND=BLOWN) but in all seriousness this show is actually fairly fresh and has a rather unique feel, unlike some of the other SoL Kyoto animation are known for, notably, Kyoukai No Kanata and Haruhi Suzumiya, which both actually have story's where stuff ACTUALLY HAPPENS, this... Doesn't. Literally nothing happens, like, at all. Hell even K-ON had a more serious plot than this show, and that's not a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful