Ranked #60
Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199

Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199

Alternative Titles

English: Star Blazers 2199
Synonyms: Space Battleship Yamato 2199
Japanese: 宇宙戦艦ヤマト2199

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2012 to Sep 29, 2013
Producers: Xebec, AIC
Duration: 25 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 9910 users)
Ranked: #602
Popularity: #1312
Members: 28,004
Favorites: 503
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

rtil
Nov 23, 2013 11:14 PM
Most of you may know that Space Battleship Yamato 2199 is a remake of the 1970's space opera by the same name (bar the 2199). If one were to make a comparison of its significance to its importance of the genre, it is basically the Star Wars of Japan - the series that one would point to as a culturally significant moment in entertainment and the rise of the genre itself.

In recent times, one becomes wary when they hear the word 'remake' or 'reboot'. Audiences have reluctantly witnessed so many beloved series, stories and characters get butchered in misguided and unnecessary attempts to be recreated.

Thankfully, read more
I found this review Helpful
ThatAnimeSnob
Feb 10, 2013 6:56 AM
Review up to OVA 10.

This is the remake of the first anime space opera, made back in 1974. Since I have already made a review for the original version, I will only mention the differences and how they compare.

PROPER MINDSET
First of all, I am not against remakes if they are at least two decades apart and if they have something new to offer without taking out the magic of the original. In this case there were four decades since the first version but this anime was made at the same time the live action movie was out. Why did they make two versions so read more
I found this review Helpful
RedgraveGilver
Nov 19, 2013 4:16 AM
Note: This is a remake of the classic Battle Ship Yamato by Leiji Matsumoto which is one of the most revolutionary anime.

Space Operas are very rare now a days in the anime industry. Just as the quality of mecha anime and it's audience has been downgrading and declining in favor of slice-of-life, ecchi and harem genres, space operas were always being overlooked at. After almost at least 40 years, one of the space opera classic during the 70's was given a chance to have a remake in order to introduce the series and gain a wider audience in today's anime community. But does the show read more
I found this review Helpful
5camp
Sep 18, 2013 4:17 PM
::Note:: This is a co-written review with myself, Scamp, and fellow blogger and MAL user Shinmaru

Scamp: Space Battleship Yamato is a TV series from 1974 by Leiji Matsumoto (well, mostly by Leiji Matsumoto, although it’s complicated) about a spaceship travelling across the universe captained by a man with a very impressive beard. It’s one of the most influential anime ever made, considered the point from which anime started to turn towards more serious and complex stories. I shall now ask you to completely forget all of that because instead we’re going to talk about Yamato 2199.

Yamato 2199 had a bit of a strange airing run. read more
I found this review Helpful
Raptor1221
Dec 7, 2013 8:28 AM
To be called “The Star Wars of Japan” you must be doing something oh so right. “Space Battleship Yamato (1974- 1975) was labeled as such. It’s a show so imbedded in popular culture that I had even heard of it. This was long before even watching my very first anime (To me known as “Star Blazers” for US). It was truly the show of an age. Now fast forward to April, 7th, 2012, an OVA remake of the beloved classic begins its air time. The final question of fans was. Will it live up to the original? Or disappoint us read more
I found this review Helpful
Tenyasha
Apr 3, 11:33 PM
Space Battleship Yamato was an anime that defined the 70s, attaining the status of “The Star Wars of Japan”. However, the fact that it was from the 70s also means a lot of people wouldn’t have the chance to watch it, as many would put it aside because of its aged artwork and animation. This is why Space Battleship Yamato 2199 was extremely hyped by both new fans and old fans, as it’d remake the first season of the series with good animation, giving the new generations a chance to watch it. In the end, how did it hold up? I haven’t watched the original read more
I found this review Helpful
Kmyatsuhashi
Nov 19, 2013 8:23 AM

Remaking a classic is a pretty dicey proposition. Remaking a benchmark title is madness. Thankfully, the creators of Spaceship Battleship Yamato 2199 threw caution to the wind and faced the challenge head on. The result is a loving tribute to the 1974 anime that’s faithful without slavishly rehashing it.

Story

Story wise, things are identical. An alien race, known as the Garmillans, have pummeled the Earth with radioactive bombs. The effects appear irreversible until a second alien race arrives from the planet Iscandar with a miracle cure. The catch? The cure is only available on Isacandar. To get it, the Earth needs to send a ship across read more
I found this review Helpful
skarabox
Dec 27, 2014 10:06 PM
THIS COULD BE AN EPIC ANIME... but it falls short. Therefore only 7/10. You will enjoy it at first and then you will get disappointed, wishing it could be perfect. I hate anime like that.

The story and characters have an epic potential but I don't know whether it is because it is an old anime or what, but the story has many holes, characters behave really shallowly a lot of times and the anime create really artificial moments in order to evoke a certain emotional reaction in the viewer. All of this makes you feel like the authors treat you as a dumb, not read more
I found this review Helpful
rookieanimedude
Aug 9, 10:51 AM
About two years ago, I watched through the original Star Blazers/Yamato series, as well as the sequel and inter-quel movies that accompanied them. While they each had significant flaws (under-developed characters, lack of world building, and short-changed arcs in the case of season 3), I enjoyed following the adventures of the Space Battleship Yamato from series to series thanks to its well-animated fight scenes for the time, thought-provoking (if heavy-handed), exploration of moral grey areas, and the inspirational message that no matter what happens, good will triumph over evil.

I was ecstatic when I discovered the series was being re-made in the form of Space Battleship read more
I found this review Helpful
tagbadger
Jul 12, 2014 11:44 PM
Wow! This show absolutely blew me away! I haven't enjoyed a series so much in a long time. I've been going through movies and shows, from all sorts of genres and eras and styles, and rarely does anything have everything I want to see in an anime, and this is one of those! I'll admit, I put off looking into any of the Space Battleship Yamato series or movies simply because the surface concept seemed so outrageous - a World War 2 style battleship...IN SPACE? That's CRAZY! I could not have been more wrong.


There's drama, space battleship combat, intrigue, read more
I found this review Helpful
dustinator1991
Jan 22, 5:22 PM
For those that wonder about this anime, you might not partially like space-related anime. But I warn you, give this anime an chance. I wasn't too keen on watching this show but I gave it an chance. And guess what? I was surprised that I actually liked it.

People praise this anime saying that this remake was made from an classic of an old anime. Now I see what they were talking about. I agree with them. This anime is awesome!

When many people, hear remake or "reboot," they get turned away but I assure you that this anime will meet your expectations and then leave you read more
I found this review Helpful
thepatrickwan
Jul 31, 2013 3:23 AM
This remake of Space Battleship Yamato is a masterpiece.With new new CG and 3D modeling the Yamato looks better than it ever did before.The added in new characters are a nice edition.The new characters add more emotion and conflict which is a plus. They also develop very well. The story has the same concept as the original, but there are many points that have been added to the plot.It's noticeable that many things have changed in the anime due to technological advances in the real world. I've seen all of the original series and this remake is not a disappointment. This review is also read more
I found this review Helpful