MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #667
Fruits Basket

Fruits Basket

Alternative Titles

English: Fruits Basket
Synonyms: Furuba
Japanese: フルーツバスケット

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2001 to Dec 27, 2001
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 102280 users)
Ranked: #6672
Popularity: #81
Members: 162,419
Favorites: 5,462
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy drama romance shoujo slice of life
Jan 20, 2009
ColdBeans
Story & Characters
10/10
At first glance Furuba is just another Shoujo manga with nothing different to it; the average, beautiful, kind girl getting all the pretty boys. Okay so it really is that, however there's a special touch to the way the series develops itself and how you watch each character grow and interact with each other as the story progresses.

The story starts with Tohru Honda, your as average-as-you-can-get japanese girl who has lost her mother in an accident and was living alone in a tent in the Sohma's property. Of course she wasn't aware of that until they told her, to her surpirse they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 28, 2014
YukiUzumaki
[Disclaimer: I am Reviewing the English Dub. Also, there may be Some spoilers along the way. You have been Warned!!!]

“I don’t think anyone is born knowing the reason why they’re here its just something you have to find as you go along”- Honda Tohru (Fruits Basket)

At first glance, Fruits Basket may appear to be an anime catered specifically to girls, but when looked closely, it is obvious that it can be enjoyed by a much wider audience. Since Fruits Basket is a reverse-harem series with elements of fantasy thrown in, it is only natural to bracket it in the realm of shoujo anime. However, that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 7, 2013
RhodusDux
I first came into contact with this anime months ago when I was browsing through netflix, saw something that remotely interested me, and decided to throw it into my queue. It wasn't until almost four months later that I finally watched the first episode, on a recommendation from a friend. At first I was unsatisfied, and I did enjoy the show, but not as thoroughly as I have enjoyed many others.

Story (6)- the story is perhaps the weakest part of the anime, starting out with a strong emotional beginning, only to let that pathos base disintegrate under the weight of the increasingly quirky Sohma family. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 16, 2007
Sandgolem
Fruits Basket is a wonderful and moving story which I consider myself fortunate enough to have been shown by a very close friend. This anime is so amazing it touch upon the strings of my heart. I laughed, I cried, and I truely felt for each of the characters.

The anime is centered around a young girl by the name of Tohru Honda, an amazing high school girl who is kind and honest. At the start of the anime she is still struggling to survive after her mothers tragic death. She is taken into the house hold of the cursed family, the Sohma's.

Animation

Is decently done, it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 5, 2014
Keremianime
Fruits Basket, my first anime, the beginning of my anime journey. This anime is equally dramatic, funny, and romantic! The concept of the show is very creative and fresh. The story and it's pacing is magnificent! The art is great for how old this show is. The sound and music were hilariously outstanding, with catchy background tunes, and laughable sound effects! The character development and cast of characters in general are awesome! I enjoyed this anime with my brother very much! Overall: 9 This one will always be dear and special to my heart! A must see for all anime newcomers and drama/comedy/romance/slice of life read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 10, 2010
AstuteOtaku
Story: 7
The plot was simple and plain, mostly giving a moral a episode involving friendship, hilarious classic lines, mostly from Shigure, and emotional backstories that make you want to cuddle the poor little puppies. It's not that the story was at all bad, it just wasn't very good. But the story and writing was fluff, not just a little fluff, I mean so fluffy that it's like falling into a vat of cotton candy with rose petals. This show is that fluffy. Then again I'm a guy so I may not get the whole point since this show is the physical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2007
Ceray
When it first came out as manga I picked up Fruits Basket and fell in love with it instantly. A few weeks later, I insisted my mother buy a DVD from the anime series, sadly I only watched the last six episodes, and then a few months ago Hakoot let me borrow the series from her, and how happy I was.

Anyway, Fruits Basket is about the orphan Torhu Honda who starts the story out by living in a tent in the woods. A sequence of events leads to her staying in the house of her handsome classmate Yuki Sohma and his cousin Shigure. On read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 13, 2009
Solivonyx
Fruits Basket is an anime that sets a mood at the start and follows that mood til the end.

Story - 7

Definately dialogue driven rather then plot driven, Fruits Basket doesn't start you in one place and end in another, it simply delivers a message. With a mildly unrealistic female main character, helping a slew of male characters to overcome problems based on social interaction, the material seems almost redundant by the time you finish the show. True the message delivered is quite potent and subtly monumental, but the presentation and delivery of it would have been much better if it were more raw (less overworked). read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 19, 2009
Sii_Kei
Fruits Basket is a show that might certainly sound interesting the moment you check the synopsis. People turning into the Chinese zodiac animals, dark and mysterious secrets surrounding them, cute, clueless main heroine – isn't that a great premise for a shoujo series? But only as long as it's executed accordingly.

I decided to watch Fruits Basket after seeing how high it is rated. I wouldn't normally watch a shoujo series, since I find most of them exaggerated and unrealistic – that's why, I expected Furuba to really change my opinion regarding them. Instead, I found Furuba to be exactly what I mostly disliked read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 20, 2007
DragonsWhip
Another review of FB? Yes, another one, but this one is one worth reading if you want to know if you'll want to watch it or not.

First of all, the story. Honda Tohru, a girl whose mom has passed away recently, lives on her own in a tent. Untill she suddenly discovers the house of Sohma, where one of her classmates lives! The house is quite normal, but the members of the house aren't... This gives very funny situations and this is not something that you so often in anime, so this is the part that makes the story not too typical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2013
ThatDubbedGuy
There comes a time for every generation of Otaku or general anime viewer, when they are done taking their baby steps into anime i.e. when they’ve stopped/watched enough of the most popular Shōnen or Mecha show/s and they become confident enough walking on their own that they start to go off and explore what’s around that big bad internet to see what other animes are out there, that, they stumble, or rather are introduced to (like myself) their first Shōjo/Harem/Moé/Yaoi show; You know, the K-On!’s, the Ouran’s, the Clannad’s, the Chobits, the Free!’s (for all you newbies) or hell, even Sailor Moon from back in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2009
animegurl09
I can't believe I haven't written a review about my favorite anime of all time. Well here it is. Fruits basket is a great anime to watch if you are into romance/comedy/drama. Not only does it have a nice storyline but it has great characters. I am sure that you will have a favorite character in this series because each one is special in there own way. Here are three main reasons Fruits basket is my favorite anime.

1. The main character (Tohru Honda) is so likable. She is caring, puts others people's feelings before her own, works hard, and doesn't judge by appearances (you will read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 13, 2007
lchoister
Fruits Basket was so cute to watch. It really took me back...one of those really old school super mangas that I used to read. The anime tells the story of Tohru Honda after the death of her mom. She somehow ends up living with some members of the Sohma clan - a most beautiful lineage if I might add despite some major personality flaws.

It is so engaging and definitely fun to watch. The anime only covers up to Volume 8 of the Fruits Basket manga so if you want to know how the story concludes, you need to read the manga read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 1, 2009
phereia
Watched as a young teen: Loved it
Rewatch as an older teen: Hated it
(somewhat harsh review? please don't be offended)

Sure, when I first watched it I was caught up in the love story, and the humour of the series. I admit it, I was originally a fan! But recently I went back to rewatch what I had once found so brilliant, and I noticed something... I found it 'dreadful'.

It's a shoujo anime. Yes, it has a twist (or perhaps twists?), and a calming sort of mood to it, but almost everything is predictable, and there is certainly nothing appealing (to me) about most of the characters. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 17, 2014
kizunalu
HAS COMPLETED ANIME IN DUB | HAS COMPLETED MANGA

Fruits Basket is a timeless story, revolving around high school girl Tohru Honda, who was living in a tent until she was invited to live with the Prince of her school, Yuki Sohma. She quickly learns that the Sohma family has been living with a curse for many generations that turns them into the zodiac animals when they are hugged by a member of the opposite sex!

For those considering to watch this anime in the modern day, this review is for you!

STORY: 8

As a slice of life, Fruits Basket mainly revolves around the life of Tohru Honda, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 9, 2013
RoyalSmile
Many people praise Fruits Basket and I just can’t get myself to understand why. (Sorry FB lovers) FB is what got me back into anime (and I’m now questioning how). Before that, I haven’t seen any other anime besides Pokémon and Hamtaro so I loved it a lot and was upset when it finished. Now that I’ve seen over 40 anime’s I REALLY don’t understand. I will give the show credit for the comedy because it was funny at times. Plus the characters were either hilarious (to some extent) or adorable or just plain awesome (still not as awesome in comparison to other anime’s though). read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 1, 2011
mylovelyfate
My friend recently told me that she started watching Fruits Basket and she liked it so far. She was only two episodes in, so I didn't expect anything but. It got me to thinking about when I first watched Fruits Basket two or so years ago when I first started watching anime. I didn't know what to watch once I was finished Special A, and so many people online recommended Fruits Basket, so I gave it a try.

At first I thought that Fruits Basket was interesting, and had potential to be good, but they spent so long introducing new characters and not really giving read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 29, 2008
wesley96
My Fruits Basket review (I watched Fruits Basket dubbed, not subbed)

Story: The story is brilliant. It's pretty much about a yong girl named Tohru, who lives in the woods in a tent after her mother's death. One day while walking to school, she finds a house and she decides to check it out. Apparently, a boy, Yuki Sohma, is known by Tohru, and walks to school with her and back. Yuki and his other family member that lives with him, Shigure, walk through the woods and find Tohru by the tent. She tells them that she's been living by herself in the tnt because of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2014
lesbianusagi
Fruits Basket was one of the first animes I was lucky enough to watch, and it has stayed with me for a long time.

It begins quite averagely, with a cute and clumsy school girl who seems to find herself surrounded by guys, yet as you progress through the series, relationships are formed between characters as they mature and develop that are sweet, comforting, and not soon to be forgotten.

I don't give Fruits Basket a 10/10 as there are certain episodes that drag out and seem unnecessary for the main plotline yet there is never a dull moment in the characters' stories, with countless comedic moments read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 19, 2010
Cuttery
If you read description, you'll think "Ok, what do we have? A girl and lots of pretty boys around her who are obviously in love with her. She'll be in love over ears with the sexiest of them. Happy end."
Now, I advise you to look carefully. Of course, at first you'll have fun, watching clumsy and very cheerful Tohru getting involved with the strange mysterious members of the Sohma family. But if you watch it for the second time you'll find how incredible Tohru is because she still has ability to smile, having a bunch of troubles and sad memories behind her back. You'll find read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices