MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #448
Oda Nobuna no Yabou

Oda Nobuna no Yabou

Alternative Titles

English: The Ambition of Oda Nobuna
Japanese: 織田信奈の野望

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2012 to Sep 24, 2012
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 38464 users)
Ranked: #4482
Popularity: #348
Members: 69,381
Favorites: 504
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Aug 5, 2012
ZeroKamikaze
When you look at the cover Oda Nobuna no Yabou, you would immediately think "oh, its just another cliche harem series", I wouldn't blame you if you did as it does look like one and I myself thought of it as one, but when you actually watch it you realize that there is simply more to it than that, its definitely not a tasteless cliche and although it has many female characters, it doesn't present itself as a stereotypical harem where they are all attracted to the male lead.

I won't bother with the introductions because I know you are smart enough to have read the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 12, 2013
Savepoints
As many have already said, at first glance this show appears to be just mostly your standard harem rom-com, however I was quite surprised when it turned out to be more of a reverse-harem, especially since most of the cast consist of females.

Story: (7 / 10)
While the story itself isn’t really anything amazing, it well managed to keep me interested enough to finish watching the series. Throughout the show we basically deal with the different tasks Oda Nobuna has to do, or rather what tasks she has for the main character, Yoshiharu. It is an “historical” anime, but since I don’t know much at all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 22, 2014
HaXXspetten
The life story of Oda Nobunaga is definitely one for the history books, and has been used as source material for countless works of literature for centuries, some of which are historically accurate and some of which are not. Oda Nobuna no Yabou would fall into the latter category, but actually not as far into it as first impressions might lead you to believe.

The premise of having a high-school kid *somehow* travel back in time to the Sengoku era as a replacement for Toyotomi Hideyoshi (a.k.a. Kinoshita Tōkichirō) and then having all the famous Samurai lords be cute girls instead makes it seem like nothing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 11, 2013
DammitAgain
Just a little note before I start, this is my first review and I was compelled to write this because I truly enjoyed this anime.

So, Oda Nobuna no Yabou, first glance, you'd think "Oh usual guy meets girl after girl until a harem is made", well sorry to burst your bubble, but there's more to this anime than it looks.

Story: 8/10
Okay, so maybe some people don't enjoy this, but personally I like the concept. Time travelling guys arrives at an alternate past where all the "Leaders" are girls, could have been better, but it's not overused. Usual progression for the story, girl meets read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 25, 2013
AKAxTOMO
I really, REALLY, enjoyed this series and I am hoping ever so strongly for a second season!!!

It has been a long while since I ever felt like this about an anime series because recently, I have been watching so many 12 episode anime's I started losing that sense of getting attached to the characters, and the wanting of seeing more of them, but thanks to 織田信奈の野望(Oda Nobuna no Yabou), I have come to gain those senses again! Well, at least until I finished watching it... It doesn't matter! When my heart gets broken again from watching more 12 episode anime's I will come back to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 1, 2013
Sora760
First of all if you are the type of person that likes action, sword fighting, beautiful girls, comedy and some ecchi this is for you.

Genres: Comedy, Historical, Romance

Story: Where a 17- year old boy named Sagara Yoshiharu who travels back in time to Sengoku period where all the major Samurai lords are cute girls. There he meets a princess named Nobuna Oda. He saves her life and for that she tell him that she'll let him work for her and that's were the adventure begins. They face so many obstacles on the way to reach her dream and conquer japan and make it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 30, 2014
Bilgamesh
In a nutshell, Sagara Yoshiharu, is a typical Japanese teenager who loves the Sengoku Era as well as everything in the same franchise. Out of the blue, he suddenly takes Kinoshita Tokichiro’s place and starts serving under the Oda Clan’s leader. However, all of the generals in that time are girls! How will Sagara Yoshiharu take this and will he be able to help Oda Nobuna to achieve her dream of uniting the whole Japan and making it a free country?

-Story(8/10)-

This anime is about Sagara Yoshiharu, who travels back into the Sengoku era where feudal lords fight among each other in order to expand their read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
Growler
After viewing first episode I had an unusual sensation of deja vu still I didn't drop it and went on watching only to be pleasantly surprised by the comedy content and romance scenes developing. Also you cannot help but acknowledge the way the oda military makes every battle as strategic as possible. It is a typical history set series that is changed completely by one element: a time traveler. All this makes you ask yourself... What happens if?
The anime has done great about Artwork, characters are drawn very well, unlike some other drawings that make you go sick.
Also the OST are very well made from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2013
shintai88
Simply to put it alot more enjoyable then I fought.

The art and animation is well done, Voice acting is cute at times and can be serious. A fan of Nobunaga since he reminds me of Cao Cao, but a Japanese Version.

Nobuna is a interesting Character, but the interesting part is the story, as a fan of the Nobunaga games, I enjoyed reading and playing the battles, Kessen was definately fun.

But anyways, Guy who loves the games ends up in a paralell world, where Nobunaga is a girl, and he helps her conquer Japan, While using his knowledge to ensure the Demon Legend never occurs, while read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2012
Andyis
If you've ever played Civilization Revolution or Sengoku Rance or some conquer the world game in hard/ expert mode you know how hard it is to conquer the world. Of course the main character would need a lead to be able to be the chosen one and the helpful monkey which is from the future helps nobuna conquer japan.
Story-9/10
Not exactly original. You gain allies and keep on conquering and make mistakes. The only twists are the fact that there is a "monkey" trying to win women ( his harem of friends haha), the fact that all the key historic figures and cute little girls and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 20, 2014
joelislol
The ambition of Oda Nobuna would have been better left off as merely an ambition.

The ambition of Oda Nobuna ( Oda Nobuna no yabou , depending on which name you prefer) is an adaptation of a series of light novels set in the Sengoku period of Japan. It is animated by the glorious studio Madhouse with a soundtrack made by Takanashi Yasuharu who is famous for composing the music for shows like shiki, towards the terra, mononoke, log horizon and many others. Now if i just happened to get your hopes up by naming such a great roster I will have to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 21, 2013
KynoBlight
"So much loli girls in this anime!" thats my first impression when watching this, ok, lets forget it.


"What will you do if heroes that you know is different from what are you thinking and studying?" Like Oda Nobunaga is a blonde girl?
WHAT? ok, since its anime i think thats fine.

First of all, some event that occur in this anime is based the REAL history of oda nobuna (except the gender of course), well, Oda Nobuna replicates many Oda Nobunaga event, or we can said its same as the three kingdoms was replicate by Dynasty warrior. You will enjoy the anime and studying about japanese history, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 24, 2012
Paulwillson26
When I saw Oda Nobuna no Yabou I really wasn't expecting much. It looked like a typical harem anime set in a historical time frame. Which it is. Most of the characters are typical harem type characters and the anime is laced with comedy and romance.

So there you have it.

Not quite. Its the historical time frame that separates it from your usual harem comedy. The story is very loosely based on the life of Oda Nobunga, the hero of Japan's Sengoku period, through the eyes of Sagara Yoshiharu a 17 year old boy from the future who replaces Toyatomi Hideyoshi, and includes most of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 22, 2012
ryanxwonbin
There is something that needs to be said about this show before this review proceeds. This is that this show can be a beautiful and interesting/different presentation with exciting fan service (No, not just tits and panty shots) of the Sengoku world to another typical harem/hijinks show. The first will probably be the opinion of people who have studied the Warring States period of Japan, played related video games of them such as Nobunaga's Ambition and Samurai Warriors, and is generally a fan of the numerous Sengoku shows out there. The latter will of course be someone who has no knowledge in this area. While read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 3, 2012
darkj25
The story was great. It is that simple. The plot has some twist and turn. Some are unexpected, some are new and fresh. The plot is that good. I like most characters. Some fanservice is okay since the characters are pretty good looking. Well, at least they don't affect the story. The ending was awesome. As I'm writing this review, I'm listening to it. I enjoyed this anime. It's entertaining, it's epic and I like how the characters behave. So overall, I'm giving a 10. I don't think it's unreasonable, the plot is good; the music is good; the art is good; the characters are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2013
beast_regards
"Once upon the time, there was a boy who somehow time-traveled back to medieval Japan (Warring States Era or Sengoku period) just to find out somehow history somehow changes and all major lords of that era turned to a cute girls ..."

I can guess what most of the people thought when they read the synopsis...

"Is it a harem / ecchi show with crappy story?"

No, it is not.
Whole plot is build around what sounds to be a generic harem cliché with a little bit of a history thrown it for a good measure. Well, ok, it is technically still a harem show, but not entirely a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 23, 2013
princejan7
Among the hordes of harem comedy anime, reviews on here suggest that this is one of the more exceptional titles that's actually good. Let me just get one thing out of the way: This is NOT one of them (at least imo.)The historical setting does little to mask the flaws of this anime.

STORY 6/10
-This isn't a strong point of the series, as many would claim.
- Linear and boring plot
- Uninteresting developments. Battles are vague and don't make sense. How on Earth is Nobuna a Samurai Lord?!


ART 8/10
- Character designs are very good.
- Scenery and backgrounds are nice to look at.

SOUND 7/10
- Fairly nice read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 30, 2012
Shaja
Oda Nobuna No Yabou is a rather exciting new anime for me.

What i like about it so far is they took a old idea and gave it a fresh twist. Standard time shift backwards but the twist is when you meet all the greatest male figures in Japanese history, they are girls. The whole concept seems somewhat cheesy but they actually do this well.

They keep the strong character types while somehow making them a little cute. Character designs a i found interesting, when i look at Nobunas standard clothing it just seems so unique for anime. The colors of Gold/Black as always compliment each read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2012
os4_
I like the anime when it has good plot, OSTs and Art.
Oda Nobuna is just Amazing in all of them .. the OSTs are Amazing and Epic and fits the Anime very well .. The Art is so awesome.. the plot is the best since there's no unnecessary talking.. Less talking More Action !! that how the anime should be.. I won't say any word other than this // IF YOU LIKE EPICNESS ODA NOBUNA IS THE BEST !! //

the only thing i disliked and i HATE about this anime is.. IT'S JUST 12 EPISODES !! THIS MUST LAST FOR EVER !! TToTT
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 13, 2013
Heirin
Story (6/10): The story, a boy who magically flies through time and lands in the Sengoku period where every male historical character is turned into a girl, pretty solid, and had a good follow up. The story was introduced well, and I found it to be interesting, with the history added with the fact that every general/soldier was girl. However, the story as a whole, pretty much is like every other harem "plot" just that it is in a different setting with different characters.

Art (8/10): Splendid very good, not many flaws I can think of at all. Just spectacular :D!

Sound (6/10): Soundtrack was amazing, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices