MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #4
Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: HxH (2011)
Japanese: HUNTERxHUNTER (2011)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 148
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to Sep 24, 2014
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 9.151 (scored by 102563 users)
Ranked: #42
Popularity: #93
Members: 195,559
Favorites: 18,813
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

Popular Tags

No tags found
Oct 2, 2014
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young boy read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2014
julyachan
“You should enjoy the little detours. To the fullest. Because that’s where you’ll find the things more important than what you want”. (Hunter Election Arc).

I don’t have words enough to describe what was this 148 episodes for me.
I'll not spend this review talking about the Synopsis, because It’s right here on MAL.
I need to tell you, why you must watch this masterpiece, and what it represents to me.

First of all I’m gonna talk about the final episode. I felt Joy, sadness, angry (Togashi hurry up with the manga! hahah), and of course, satisfaction. Satisfaction because I heard my friends (you NEED to watch it), read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 28, 2014
KyoumaZ
"I see now... Yes... I see... You had me in checkmate from the start." - Meruem

Hunter x Hunter 2011 is incredibly well appreciated within the myanimelist community, however it never managed to grow a fanbase as large as the ones from other popular Shounen Series like Fairy Tail, Naruto, Bleach... Maybe it's because the series is much younger and I sincerely hope that one time HxH will be as popular as Naruto, because it just deserves it so much. I’ve never seen a better Shounen Series, no a better Anime series before. Hunter x Hunter deserves every single praise it gets. It takes Shounen read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 30, 2014
NiqAngel
Heed my warning and heed it well: If you so choose to watch the gracious series that is Hunter x Hunter (2011), watch it well past the first few episodes. Though the first few episodes make the entire series as a whole seem bland, if you think this way, you're wrong and you should feel bad. Really really bad. Think of it this way: the series is a marathon runner. A good runner prepares himself and warms up for the long arduous journey ahead (ie. HxH). The bad runner carelessly takes off from the start with no preparation and eventually dying down halfway through because read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 16, 2015
Nero_Natsume
Well, let me tell you, that I'm not usually easily impressed nor do I usually write reviews; however, there are always exceptions and this anime is one of them.

I loved this anime; the plot, characters and overall anime was amazing; which left me confused when I learned that a lot of my fellow anime watchers didn't like it; and one of the main reason was that 'it looked childish,' and can I just confirm that, this anime is far from it!

Story:
I don't want to spoil anyone, so this bit may come across a little vague; but I'll try my best! Anyway, the story line was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 4, 2014
melodisz
I came to know the original version of HxH since years ago. At first, the only thing I cared about in the series was the Hunter exam. I just wanted to know what kind of test it was so I tried watching it and surprisingly, I loved both the story and the characters after a few episodes. Years later, I was delighted when I heard about the reboot and from start to finish, Hunter x Hunter (2011) doesn't disappoint.

The story starts with Gon, a 12-year-old boy who sets out for a journey to find his father and his first step is to become a Hunter. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 10, 2015
Digital_Fuzion
“You should enjoy the little detours. To the fullest. Because that’s where you’ll find the things more important than what you want." - Ging Freecs

Over the past few months, the popularity for Hunter X Hunter (2011) has become increasingly large, with depictions of it being the best Shounen anime in years, and what can I say, that might just be true. This review may contain spoilers, so please beware!

Story

On numerous occasions, I have come across people who have looked at the cover and synopsis of Hunter x Hunter, and said, "looks pretty generic and boring to me." This is then made them not watch the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2014
ReckoningHero
Story: 9.6/10
Art/Animation: 9.2/10
Sound/Music: 9/10
Character: 9.6/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Overall: 9.7/10

Note: This is to any newcomers to the series. No spoilers in this review.

It has been a long time that I watched an anime that evaluates and explores many aspects of the genre, especially coming from a Shonen demographic anime. While I started watching this series, I was skeptical from the anime by watching the first five episodes, considering that it brings a light-hearted, child-like feel. I stopped watching it for a while because it didn't bring any interesting I found captivating. As time passed by, I doubted myself for not even continuing this series. Many older fans read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 17, 2014
Zeroskye
I'm not a big fan of anime that are 24 episodes or longer as I feel at some point, it will become repetitive, but HxH is one of many exceptions. Every episode left me more interested than before, which is pretty hard for an anime with over 100 episodes.

Plot: 10
The premise may not sound entirely enticing, but what you have to realize is that the quest to find his father is simply the basis of a magnificent adventure. This journey is filled with twists and turns with each being more surprising than the last.

Early on, the show already gets pretty dark, so do read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2014
MadScientist001
What makes a show great? Is it the engaging story? Is it the interesting characters? Is it the immersion the show creates? I find myself always asking these questions whenever I start a series. Hunter x Hunter was no exception. I hadn't heard much when I first started it, but I had heard comparisons to Fullmetal Alchemist and Attack on Titan, both of which are some of my favorite shounens. Still, I had my doubts. "148 episodes? How could there possibly be that much interesting plot without fillers?" I asked. I was a fool.

Let me tell you right now, 148 episodes is not enough. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2014
Talmhaidh_Mathan
"You should enjoy the little detours in life to the fullest, because that's where you'll find things more important than what you want." - Ging Freecss

Hunter x Hunter 2011 is a unique beast of a show. It sits in a strange limbo between genres in a space all its own, like some kind of odd Chimera of shounen and seinen. At first glance it appears to be a rather childish show, with an art style composed entirely of cartoonish proportions, large eyes and bright colors, which stems initially from Togashi's manga style. In fact, without any outside input, one would not be wrong to assume read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 7, 2014
min1230
Hunter x Hunter is one of the best anime I've seen. It's my first time writing a review, so it probably will be super disjointed.

To be honest, the art style put me off from watching it, because it's not what I usually like. But, every other aspect of the anime made up for it. After watching a few episodes, I got used to the art and started to like it.

Story: 10
Even though it's a super long anime with 148 episodes, the storyline was always full of surprises. There is a mixture of action, emotion and romance. One moment I was crying, and then the next read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 29, 2014
Lostpuppies
I don't know why this anime isn't more popular. i really enjoyed watching this anime and i usually don't like shounen. the characters are all very diverse and aren't the same boring characters you see in every other shounen. it was hilarious and action packed. i feel this anime could of kept going for as long as naruto, or one piece. i honestly wish it continued and followed Gon for longer to see what he did after reached his goal. the only thing i regret about watching this anime is that now i will compare every other shounen to it, and i feel i will read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2015
akimuta
First review here!

I was skeptical about starting this series at first, and the fact that the first few episodes were a bit dry didn't help. But I can now say that I am glad that I saw it through to the end.

Story - 10/10
Beginning of the series was a little slow, but once it kicked off, the story started to unravel, revealing all sorts of twists and turns along the way. It was lighthearted one moment and had me on the verge of tears in the next. There was a good mix of action, comedy, romance, and all other sorts of good read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2015
SmurfingKid
-Spoiler Alert, Read at own risk-
"If you want to get to know someone, find out what makes them angry."
-Gon Freecss

I'm angry because of the hiatus of this anime, and that makes me an otaku. xD
but I wish Togashi could get better so he can continue writing hxh, and plus he can't write 100% if he force himself to write while sick, I want at it 100% reading the manga and anime. I think he is one of the best writers out there, his other masterpiece yuyu hakusho. This is one hell of an anime it is consistent of every aspect. What's great about this anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 12, 2015
ZephSilver
I often see people complain about a lack of originality when talking about anime titles without giving it proper thought. The very idea of "being original" is within itself a fallacy, especially when referring to any form of storytelling. Everything in one way or another draws inspiration from something else and seeking out "original" content shouldn't be an end goal for viewers. What one should look for is how the content itself is presented. A typical story setup is only hindered by the writer and execution of said story. Proper execution and presentation can often be what makes or breaks a show. And even a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 30, 2015
sabconth
This is the best anime I've ever seen and it's not even close, this is in a whole other galaxy of greatness compared to it's peers.

Hunter x Hunter is 148 episodes long (so far) and I devoured it in well under a month, a stunning feat personally for someone who can take months to finish a mere 12 episode series.

Each part of this show was so enjoyable that it felt as if only a few minutes had passed before the next installment was ready to be wolfed down.

What makes it so good? "Takes a huge breath"

The art is modern yet attractive, there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 2, 2014
Saymana11
This guide will contain NO spoilers, and I would say this is one of the safer reads for someone still asking themselves "Should I watch this?"

Pior to watching Hunter x Hunter, Shonen genre held a stigma for me. Anything that took 100+ episodes to tell a story was either not telling a story very well, or not telling a very good story. This assumption still holds true for many of the genre, in my opinion. Fairy Tail, Naruto, and Bleach, all series that hold a large fanbase, with many, many dedicated fans that love the genre. Not HXH.

Hunter x Hunter has the unique quality read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
3 hours ago
PicklePackle
(This is my first review!)

I don't understand why Hunter x Hunter doesn't get the attention like many other animes do. It is possibly the best shounen, or even the best anime, of all time.
The show is much different from any other Battle Shounen I've seen, and it doesn't have all of the cliches that I so despise.

Story (10/10)
The story revolves around Gon Freecss, a young boy who wants to become a Hunter so he can meet his father, who is already one. So he sets off to complete the Hunter's Exam.

The idea of a Hunter, who is pretty much a mercenary, is amazing, because read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 15, 2015
Silvertide
I remember the days when I would scroll through my Crunchyroll app, looking for good animes to watch, and I would come upon HunterXHunter. I remember examining the cover, disliking the way the show looked, and moving on without even reading the anime summary. I was missing out on so much. The only reason I'm grateful for my ignorance is because I was able to watch the whole anime all the way through without having to wait for the next episode.

HunterXHunter is sorely underrated. Unless I activiely searched it up, or I became lucky, I'd never see anyone recommending it or even commenting about read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful