Ranked #6
Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Alternative Titles

English: Hunter x Hunter (2011)
Synonyms: HxH (2011)
Japanese: HUNTERxHUNTER (2011)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 148
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to Sep 24, 2014
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 9.151 (scored by 122918 users)
Ranked: #62
Popularity: #75
Members: 228,316
Favorites: 22,569
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.

Reviews

Cresherhsm
Oct 2, 2014 5:27 PM
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young boy read more
I found this review Helpful
julyachan
Sep 23, 2014 12:33 PM
“You should enjoy the little detours. To the fullest. Because that’s where you’ll find the things more important than what you want”. (Hunter Election Arc).

I don’t have words enough to describe what was this 148 episodes for me.
I'll not spend this review talking about the Synopsis, because It’s right here on MAL.
I need to tell you, why you must watch this masterpiece, and what it represents to me.

First of all I’m gonna talk about the final episode. I felt Joy, sadness, angry (Togashi hurry up with the manga! hahah), and of course, satisfaction. Satisfaction because I heard my friends (you NEED to watch it), read more
I found this review Helpful
KyoumaZ
Sep 28, 2014 10:56 AM
"I see now... Yes... I see... You had me in checkmate from the start." - Meruem

Hunter x Hunter 2011 is incredibly well appreciated within the myanimelist community, however it never managed to grow a fanbase as large as the ones from other popular Shounen Series like Fairy Tail, Naruto, Bleach... Maybe it's because the series is much younger and I sincerely hope that one time HxH will be as popular as Naruto, because it just deserves it so much. I’ve never seen a better Shounen Series, no a better Anime series before. Hunter x Hunter deserves every single praise it gets. It takes Shounen read more
I found this review Helpful
RedInfinity
Jun 7, 12:15 PM
At first, when I read the synopsis of hunter x hunter (2011) (for the rest of this review will be called hxh as abbreviation) I could not quite deduce the rationality of this show being scored and reviewed with such praise as it receives on a daily basis. I am sure many of you ,who are planning to pick up this show sometime soon, are thinking the same as I did before watching this show and I will do my best to change any contravening opinions towards this series.

Story: 9

As you all have likely read the synopsis of hxh, it certainly stands out from most read more
I found this review Helpful
NiqAngel
Dec 30, 2014 7:59 PM
Heed my warning and heed it well: If you so choose to watch the gracious series that is Hunter x Hunter (2011), watch it well past the first few episodes. Though the first few episodes make the entire series as a whole seem bland, if you think this way, you're wrong and you should feel bad. Really really bad. Think of it this way: the series is a marathon runner. A good runner prepares himself and warms up for the long arduous journey ahead (ie. HxH). The bad runner carelessly takes off from the start with no preparation and eventually dying down halfway through because read more
I found this review Helpful
ReckoningHero
Sep 23, 2014 11:32 AM
Story: 9.6/10
Art/Animation: 9.2/10
Sound/Music: 9/10
Character: 9.6/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Overall: 9.7/10

Note: This is to any newcomers to the series. No spoilers in this review.

It has been a long time that I watched an anime that evaluates and explores many aspects of the genre, especially coming from a Shonen demographic anime. While I started watching this series, I was skeptical from the anime by watching the first five episodes, considering that it brings a light-hearted, child-like feel. I stopped watching it for a while because it didn't bring any interesting I found captivating. As time passed by, I doubted myself for not even continuing this series. Many older fans read more
I found this review Helpful
ZephSilver
May 12, 8:12 AM
I often see people complain about a lack of originality when talking about anime titles without giving it proper thought. The very idea of "being original" is within itself a fallacy, especially when referring to any form of storytelling. Everything in one way or another draws inspiration from something else and seeking out "original" content shouldn't be an end goal for viewers. What one should look for is how the content itself is presented. A typical story setup is only hindered by the writer and execution of said story. Proper execution and presentation can often be what makes or breaks a show. And even a read more
I found this review Helpful
Fulbring
Sep 23, 2014 12:35 PM
Whenever Shonen Jump releases anime based on a popular manga they are usually for the fighting and story enthusiasts. Hunter X Hunter is a show that balances the two perfectly in the form of a Yin-Yang. Although this story is fiction, it’s still based on some part of the truth of the real world we reside in. The story is brutal, deep, emotional, breathtaking and much more! A story that is different, but yet has the same basic elements you would expect from a Shonen anime. I won’t go into details of the story or the arc because I can’t mention that without spoiling read more
I found this review Helpful
zoropp
Sep 23, 2014 11:52 AM
Hunter x Hunter is an anime that made me both laugh and cry many times as I was watching it. The fact that it isn’t as popular as other shounen anime always made me wandered. It doesn’t have anything to be envious of the big three or other popular shows.

Story 9/10

I won’t elaborate in the story of the show. I think that the synopsis gives away what needs to be said without spoiling much. I’ll just add up that it’s solid and that it progresses really well.

Art 10/10

Now, about the art style of Hunter x Hunter. As far as I’m concerned, it’s amazing and I read more
I found this review Helpful
Stark700
Sep 23, 2014 11:06 AM
Hunter x Hunter has always been one of those anime that looks amateur or goofy at first hand. Yet, behind those innocent faces is a classic tale of an adventure. Hunter x Hunter is more just about becoming hunters and being the best at what they do. Rather, it’s a show about development with a cleverly written story wrapped with a colorful cast of diverse characters. For starters, Hunter x Hunter is a series that invites attention when it comes to storytelling. There are various arcs with characters that can easily be attached for their personalities, abilities, and most importantly…class. As Hunter x Hunter is read more
I found this review Helpful
DarkDawn
Aug 15, 2014 4:51 AM
After reading the many overwhelmingly positive reviews about this show, I've decided to write a more realistic, honest and unbiased opinion-driven review about this show.
Many people have said how amazing this show is, and that it's incredibly unique and special. Did I? Well yes......and no.
I am probably one of the very few people that didn't consider this series a masterpiece
Story:

Hunters are people who hunt. Whether it is criminals, treasures, rare creatures or even food, they will hunt it.
We have the story of Gon, a young boy living on Whale island, aspiring to become a hunter like his father, Ging, a legendary hunter who abondoned read more
I found this review Helpful
keragamming
Sep 23, 2014 2:34 PM
Ok, before you click on the not helpful button just because I rated this series a 7. Which from what I'm seeing the majority of reviews are dashing out 10/10 left and right. Time to have some variety in these hxh reviews. ;)

First thing I'll have to admit is that when I first watch this series it was so goofy, Gon fighting with a fishing rod was such a turn off, I thought this series would be another fairy tale with no dark element in it, oh boy was I wrong.

Story 7/10. The story starts off with Gon and his soon to be read more
I found this review Helpful
Talmhaidh_Mathan
Sep 23, 2014 4:19 PM
"You should enjoy the little detours in life to the fullest, because that's where you'll find things more important than what you want." - Ging Freecss

Hunter x Hunter 2011 is a unique beast of a show. It sits in a strange limbo between genres in a space all its own, like some kind of odd Chimera of shounen and seinen. At first glance it appears to be a rather childish show, with an art style composed entirely of cartoonish proportions, large eyes and bright colors, which stems initially from Togashi's manga style. In fact, without any outside input, one would not be wrong to assume read more
I found this review Helpful
MadScientist001
Nov 20, 2014 7:40 PM
What makes a show great? Is it the engaging story? Is it the interesting characters? Is it the immersion the show creates? I find myself always asking these questions whenever I start a series. Hunter x Hunter was no exception. I hadn't heard much when I first started it, but I had heard comparisons to Fullmetal Alchemist and Attack on Titan, both of which are some of my favorite shounens. Still, I had my doubts. "148 episodes? How could there possibly be that much interesting plot without fillers?" I asked. I was a fool.

Let me tell you right now, 148 episodes is not enough. I read more
I found this review Helpful
melodisz
Oct 4, 2014 7:38 AM
I came to know the original version of HxH since years ago. At first, the only thing I cared about in the series was the Hunter exam. I just wanted to know what kind of test it was so I tried watching it and surprisingly, I loved both the story and the characters after a few episodes. Years later, I was delighted when I heard about the reboot and from start to finish, Hunter x Hunter (2011) doesn't disappoint.

The story starts with Gon, a 12-year-old boy who sets out for a journey to find his father and his first step is to become a Hunter. read more
I found this review Helpful
mr_chang
Mar 1, 11:38 AM
1) Good guy vs bad guy
2) Bad guy too OP for good guy
3) Good guy gets his ass kicked by bad guy
4) Flash back of his friends gives good guy miraculous powers
5) With the power of sheer will, good guy beats the shit out of bad guy
6) Bad guy remembers one of his momma's sayings telling him to be a good boy
7) Bad guy turns good and decides to repent for his wrong doings
8) Rejoice and Repeat.

YOU: What is this senpai?

SENPAI (me): This is the basic plot progression of all shounen series

YOU: Doesn’t it look too generic

SENPAI: If you look up shounen in the otaku read more
I found this review Helpful
quukii
Oct 30, 2014 5:09 PM
I never gave Hunter x Hunter more than a passing glance previously. The large episode count, uninteresting story description, and silly looking character designs put me off from watching the show. However, after finally taking the plunge into this series after being given a recommendation, I’m so glad that I watched it. I would have missed out on a true gem of an anime otherwise.

The anime follows the story of Gon Freecs, a twelve year old boy who decides to take the challenging and highly dangerous Hunter Exam in order to become a Hunter. Those who pass the exam receive a Hunter License which read more
I found this review Helpful
SylakentH
Jan 13, 10:09 AM
This review should help people who don’t know yet if they should watch this series or not. It shall give you a small insight to the series and shouldn’t spoil you in any way.

What is Hunter x Hunter(2011)?
So Hunter x Hunter is a series which is not really new. In fact the anime series had its debut already in 1999. The HunterxHunter(2011) anime series is simply a restart/remake of the 1999 series by MadHouse and is being extended by three arcs.
Since both series adapt the same manga they have somewhat the same content.
But let me tell you, HxH is not your average read more
I found this review Helpful
years100
Sep 25, 2014 11:10 AM
"Gon, you are light... sometimes, you shine so brightly I must look away. But even so, is it still okay if I stay by your side?"
--- Killua


This is my second review, so I'm still figuring out the ropes - if you haven't seen Hunter X Hunter 2011, I hope this helps push you toward watching it! And if you have seen it, I hope this helps fill in the void left by the series' ending. As many know, HxH 2011 ended two days ago, and even now, I still kinda tear up when thinking about it. I chose the above quote because I very much read more
I found this review Helpful
Lostpuppies
Oct 29, 2014 12:49 AM
I don't know why this anime isn't more popular. i really enjoyed watching this anime and i usually don't like shounen. the characters are all very diverse and aren't the same boring characters you see in every other shounen. it was hilarious and action packed. i feel this anime could of kept going for as long as naruto, or one piece. i honestly wish it continued and followed Gon for longer to see what he did after reached his goal. the only thing i regret about watching this anime is that now i will compare every other shounen to it, and i feel i will read more
I found this review Helpful