MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #10
Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: HxH (2011)
Japanese: HUNTERxHUNTER (2011)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 148
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to Sep 24, 2014
Producers: Madhouse, VAP
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.971 (scored by 64635 users)
Ranked: #102
Popularity: #147
Members: 118,613
Favorites: 10,595
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Oct 10, 2013
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2014
AdamantiumX
I wont spend a lot of time going over the premise of Hunter x Hunter. The summary on MAL already covers what I could probably say about it (without spoiling much) Thus, I'm going to cut some corners a bit to talk about why I feel you should be watching Hunter X Hunter.

So, I initially heard about Hunter x Hunter when I was looking for more works by Yoshihiro Togashi. I had just finished watching Yu Yu Hakusho (back when they showed it on Cartoon Network at 5 in the morning) and I loved that series so much that I wanted more of it. When read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 29, 2014
MrLief
"You understand nothing of humanity's infinite potential for evolution" - Netero

When I started watching this show last year it was because my friend forced me to. Being your typical teenager I wasn't actually looking forward to watching an anime who's main character is some little kid with green short shorts on to match his green jacket. Actually I was plain out avoiding it calling it such immature things as "gay" and "stupid" when I hadn't even seen the first episode. Honestly after the first two episodes my opinion on this anime hadn't changed at all. My mind was thinking things like "How could my read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 6, 2014
Redache
Before you even attempt to watch this pinnacle of shounen anime you need to have two things ready. The first thing is a roll of duck tape and the second thing is a portable toilet. Tape the toilet against your ass, because when you start watching it, you won't be able to leave your seat any time soon!

Hunter x Hunter, the show that pulled me into the world of anime, is a unique show in it's own way. Without relying too much on brute force and long, uninteresting fights, it will give you a different and satisfying look on the so called generic shounen genre. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2014
Courthead
Hunter x Hunter is an absolute masterpiece. It's the gold standard that all other shonen should aspire to, and I can't imagine giving it anything other than a 10. Hell, I wish I could give it an 11.

If you're wondering why it deserves such lofty praise, fear not, because I plan to spend the rest of this review defending my words.

I'll start by saying that to fully appreciate everything this series does well, you have to be someone who appreciates detail. Personally, I get excited by powerups and epic battles no less than anyone else, but that alone is never enough for me. I want read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 26, 2014
Rukuroance
This Anime is simply outstanding. The concept is played faithfully and gives off a better presence than anything i have ever watched or read. I don't want to spoil anything but later on it gets really dark and is absolutely stunning and has offered two of the best episodes known to man(ep 85 and ep 126)which is the arc which turns its whole concept upside down. trust me, you are in for a ride once you get to that arc(Its easily spottable once you get there). It plays with almost every one of your emotions and the story is very meaningfull and the characters are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2012
Crook
Well, half a year later, I am here to revisit this review. I've now passed the 52 episodes like the other ongoing viewers, and with that I watched the Phantom Troupe Arc.

Story:
(Revisited)
The beginning arc of the series offers some character introductions and a whole lot of explanation about the world of HxH. The in-depth story lines are less visible, but are already being treated in the background. At this time in the story, it's in the form of remarks and interactions between characters. The further this Hunter Exam arc progresses, however, the more individual stories are being fleshed out. Whether these are grudges, family read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 21, 2014
jdbe
When it comes to an anime based on finding a lost parent, i give a usual thought of "meh". This storyline has been used and beaten so much it's dating Chris Brown. And to my surprise Hunter x Hunter was highly rated on MAL, so I thought heck, YOLO. Now I love the lost parent storyline with all my heart and issue a sincere apology.

Hunter x Hunter (2011) is a remake of the same anime of the 90s, it follows the story of Gon Freecs, an aspiring Hunter who wants to find his father, who too is a hunter. Gon teams up with Killua, and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 10, 2014
teitocchi
Have you ever heard -or believed- that shounen anime are repetitive and garbage stories watched only by excited fanboys who want pointless fights that last for 10 episodes? Well, personally, this is true, for the most part. However, once in a while we see some exceptions, that either shine bright or stay forever in the shadows unrecognised and underrated.

Hunter x Hunter belongs in this category. It truly shines bright, a shounen that does everything well.

If you haven't watched it yet, I assume that you found the premise really cliché, completely unoriginal. Maybe even looking at the artwork/animation made you think that this is truly another read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 9, 2014
ShadowofUchiha
Initially, I was reluctant to watch hxh and I delayed watching it for about a year, primarily due to three main reasons
1)The protagonist is a 12 yr old boy,(too childish)
2)His aim is to find his father(too simplistic)
3)There isn't any female lead(most others have like Sakura in naruto, inoue, rukia in bleach, nami in one piece) to spice things up.
But I was gravely mistaken, this show is an absolute masterpiece probably unparalleled. Though I am happy I deferred watching it, else I might have dropped some other animes, which weren't close enough to hxh.
A small note Hxh(2011) is the new adaptation of the hxh(1999), so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2014
Withers
To me, anime has become a medium of discovery. It's about finding a world that speaks to you, one that you can get lost in. At times, it may be the characters that you may get lost in -- their situation, their actions, and their reactions. Other times, it may be the story -- how the world develops, how the world is affected by the characters' actions, how fast each plot advances. Even other times, it may be the art that you get lost in -- the animation may stimulate your visual nerves in a way that makes you focus on the screen and nothing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 23, 2014
ElDorito
Hunter x Hunter is Adventure, It is a journey, It is that feeling where you honest to god cant wait to see the next episode and it is an absolute Masterpiece.

Hunter x Hunter, at first glance, looks like the average typical shounen anime/manga, yet, as you start to watch episode after episode you became absolutely captivated and compiled to continue watching. Hunter x Hunter (2011) is the first anime I've watched in about 10 or so years that has more then 100+ episodes and so far every moment, every episode has brought me nothing but a big fat ugly grin on my face. I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 25, 2014
Chibi_Ubu
Having seen more than 200+ anime series, OAVs, & movies, after watching HxH 2011 ep.135 last night, I was as emotionally charged as I could be.

This show finds itself in my top 5 of all '10' rated series I have seen. Spend the time. You will not be disappointed. This one deserves a '10+++" rating.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2011
Thatguy31
ITS FREAKING GOOD!!

I'm pretty tired of these reviews saying "Oh it doesn't like up to the 1999 version" and crap. Before I begin let me note that I have seen SOME of the 1999 version and ALL of the manga. I won't really be doing a comparison cause its not only unfair as I haven't seen all of it(and don't really plan to) but because people before me have done so already.

Story: Its a remake, I.E. the same thing. Gon sets out to become a Hunter in order to find his dad and to find out whats so great about the job that he'd abandon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2014
zergsbane
This is my first review so bear with me.

Let me start by saying this show is a masterpiece, ive seen a lot of anime and this along with FMA Brotherhood have to be the best adventure shows out there. Possibly the greatest anime ever.

There is never a dull moment in this anime, every show keeps you wanting to watch the next. There is a lit bit of everything. Even the art varies to cater to certain tastes.

Next the characters. Ever character is amazingly developed. From the protagonist to the antagonist to even the smaller roles. No one acts out of character and its amazing.

The story, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 12, 2014
Celestrial2
Time to review one of the best anime ever. First off, I have to say, I liked the old HxH so much. It was a great show in many aspects. However, I think it is safe to say the 2011 version has surpassed the previous one by all means. This anime is one hell of a rollercoaster that you just can't stop watching. You will start, click next episode over and over and over again without a break. This show is just pure amazingness that anyone and everyone can enjoy. This reboot of the show is phenomenal In every sense and is a must watch read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 9, 2014
Manni-kun95
Hunter x Hunter (2011) is simply put the best anime i`ve ever seen and
I´ve wached series like FMAB, Cold Geass (+ R2) or Death Note, which all of them could easily claim the title "masterpiece". Story: At first, the story seems pretty generic: the young protagonist Gon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 24, 2014
Blacksalt
Keeping it short and sweet. I've been with Hunter x Hunter now for a while and I decided I will finally make a review. Although the show is not complete, it has aired 126 episodes, which is enough to talk about. I am a big fan of this show, and I find it very sad that this anime does not deserve the popularity it should.

STORY: 9/10

Personally I think this anime has a great story. It follows a 12 year old boy, named Gon, on a huge quest to find his father who left him at birth to become a "Hunter". Gon is amazed by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2014
x3Rampage
Hunter X Hunter. Is. Fantastic. There's no other word for it, it is FANTASTIC.
Before I start, I'd like to point out that the points I'm writing are in addition to another review from someone called Cresherhsm. His/her review is most "Helpful" for this anime so it's really not difficult to find.

Story (10/10)
The start of the story is very simple. A young main character ,Gon goes on a journey to find his father, Ging, while having many adventures on the way, making new friends and becoming stronger along the way so the basic setting is extremely simple. But it's the unexpectedness that comes out of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2014
FreakyTy
OMG some swear words and possibly minor spoilers, you've been warned.

Have you ever seen something so surprisingly good on a level so much higher than what you were expecting that your whole view of an entire genre changes in a few episodes? I have, and the show that did it for me was the "Quote" Shounen Battle Anime "Un-quote" Hunter x Hunter (2011). In this case the year of the show doesn't matter as far as story goes bother versions are superb on that front, but for the purpose of this review I will be speaking only of the newer 2011 release.

Take everything you have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices