Ranked #5

Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Alternative Titles

English: Hunter x Hunter (2011)
Synonyms: HxH (2011)
Japanese: HUNTERxHUNTER (2011)


Type: TV
Episodes: 148
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to Sep 24, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 9.151 (scored by 139,369 users)
Ranked: #52
Popularity: #63
Members: 255,034
Favorites: 26,124
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Nov 25, 2015
There is a reason for why this anime is ranked as #5 in the Top Anime Page.

Can you watch this if you're new to anime? Yes.
What you need to know, is that long type of anime series tend to have a slow start. Don't let that scare you off! Even without super intense fighting in the beginning, the series will catch you offguard and make you want to watch always one more episode.

As a typical shounen anime, the MC's power up throughout the series. The beautiful excecution of that is what makes HxH (2011) so much better than your average shounen/action. This series contains read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 25, 2015
This anime is a masterpiece! The Story and the arc are all fantastic, the plot is so good it will draw anyone in. The characters are all good, i dont hate a single character in this anime, exept some small ones. Gon and Killua are great main characters along with Kurapika and Leorio, they are always so fun to watch and always shine when they are on the screen, the animation is really good, but its madhouse so its expected lol. The music is also very good and adds tention and emotion. The fighting scenes are some of the best i have seen in read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 2, 2014
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

HxH is about a young boy read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 22, 2015
i will start with the negative ones, because the rest of it is me saying how epic this anime is. PLUS, before you watch this anime, you really need to watch the 1st episode of the original HXH, because it will be needed later on.

NEGATIVES: slow and kinda childish beginning. every arc is above "good" but if you compare the 2 best arcs with the 2 worst youll see the difference. even tho it ended in a satisfying way, its still bothersome that we know the manga is ongoing but it will never finish. one scene in the beginning wasnt added, which made some plot read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2015
HxH 2011 is truly a top-tier anime. So far, out of any other anime, it is literally the best one I've watched. Period.

Story: 10/10

It may be tough for newcomers to get interested in HxH starting from episode one, simply because it begins somewhat childish. The anime starts off very "happy happy" and takes quite a bit for it to get dark and violent, which is what most anime fans wanna see. If you're patient enough, you'll begin to see things change. From Killua killing people left and right and Gon getting his ass kicked left and right, that's when the story picks up. HxH produces read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 23, 2014
“You should enjoy the little detours. To the fullest. Because that’s where you’ll find the things more important than what you want”. (Hunter Election Arc).

I don’t have words enough to describe what was this 148 episodes for me.
I'll not spend this review talking about the Synopsis, because It’s right here on MAL.
I need to tell you, why you must watch this masterpiece, and what it represents to me.

First of all I’m gonna talk about the final episode. I felt Joy, sadness, angry (Togashi hurry up with the manga! hahah), and of course, satisfaction. Satisfaction because I heard my friends (you NEED to watch it), read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 7, 2015
At first, when I read the synopsis of hunter x hunter (2011) (for the rest of this review will be called hxh as abbreviation) I could not quite deduce the rationality of this show being scored and reviewed with such praise as it receives on a daily basis. I am sure many of you ,who are planning to pick up this show sometime soon, are thinking the same as I did before watching this show and I will do my best to change any contravening opinions towards this series.

Story: 9

As you all have likely read the synopsis of hxh, it certainly stands out from most read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 15, 2015
Hunter x Hunter is one of the few long-running shonen series with a large amount of brains. It was one of the few of its kind to get a re-adaptation, which was for the best. Madhouse did a fantastic job in handling this series and for that alone I am thoroughly impressed.


One of Togashi's strengths in writing is his ability to make fantastic situations. He can set up rules and play out an intense game with many twists and turns that can never be anticipated. This arc is just the pinnacle of him beginning to show his abilities. It is casual entertainment mixed read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 29, 2015
“Qualification isn't something we have to talk about. The ones who are not okay with their success can go through training until they are.” - Gon Freecss

To me, Hunter x Hunter (2011) is one of the most enjoying animes I've watched in quite a while. For an anime that essentially has it all, the lack of popularity surrounding it leaves me quite wistful. Though this may be the case, those who've had the opportunity to watch it, like me, have most certainly been able to enjoy it to its utmost extent. Hunter x Hunter (2011) is most definitely one of the greatest Shounens to ever read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 28, 2014
"I see now... Yes... I see... You had me in checkmate from the start." - Meruem

Hunter x Hunter 2011 is incredibly well appreciated within the myanimelist community, however it never managed to grow a fanbase as large as the ones from other popular Shounen Series like Fairy Tail, Naruto, Bleach... Maybe it's because the series is much younger and I sincerely hope that one time HxH will be as popular as Naruto, because it just deserves it so much. I’ve never seen a better Shounen Series, no a better Anime series before. Hunter x Hunter deserves every single praise it gets. It takes Shounen read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 13, 2015
This was the most amazing adventure I have ever had the pleasure to watch, thank you hunter x hunter you will always remain one of the BEST anime there ever was, I couldn't ask for more of an epic story and the only thing that I wish there was more episodes.

Overall I think this anime was amazing and I'd give anything just to re-watch it and then I'd do it all over again, words can't describe how much I love this and I wish it would get more attention.

This is an over all 10/10 and if you're thinking about watching it then I can't begin read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 2, 2015
First of all, please apologize me for my English, I’m Spanish and this isn’t my first Language.

Hunter x Hunter 2011 was one of the best shonens ever made in the history of anime. But the main question is... why? Can an anime whose main character is a kid wearing green clothes with childish aspect be a masterpiece? Oh yes.

The best point about Hunter x Hunter is the fact that this anime avoids all the typical shonen cliches. In this anime you’ll find unexpected deaths, realistic fights, an amazing character development and, the best of all: it never gets boring.

I’m not even joking, one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
May 12, 2015
I often see people complain about a lack of originality when talking about anime titles without giving it proper thought. The very idea of "being original" is within itself a fallacy, especially when referring to any form of storytelling. Everything in one way or another draws inspiration from something else and seeking out "original" content shouldn't be an end goal for viewers. What one should look for is how the content itself is presented. A typical story setup is only hindered by the writer and execution of said story. Proper execution and presentation can often be what makes or breaks a show. And even a read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 14, 2015
One of those gems which are really HARD to find, that is Hunter x Hunter by Yoshihiro Togashi.

The starting point is that of a typical shounen: a boy who wants to meets his father who, instead of taking care of his son, went to a never-ending adventure. But how the story was executed compensated for that clichè. I'm pretty sure that everyone who didn't watch the 1999 series and still hasn't got baited by this shounen type synopsis like me, immagined how this anime would be very wrong. There's much more to it.
Unpredictability and development are some of the greatest point of hxh. read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 30, 2014
Heed my warning and heed it well: If you so choose to watch the gracious series that is Hunter x Hunter (2011), watch it well past the first few episodes. Though the first few episodes make the entire series as a whole seem bland, if you think this way, you're wrong and you should feel bad. Really really bad. Think of it this way: the series is a marathon runner. A good runner prepares himself and warms up for the long arduous journey ahead (ie. HxH). The bad runner carelessly takes off from the start with no preparation and eventually dying down halfway through because read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 7, 2015
so many amazing things in it, it's hard to describe! But I will say to begin with, don't judge it on how it looks to begin with!

The anime overall is incredible! The art style is fun and attractive, but also does very well portraying dark scenes and gloomy settings. It really made me want to imagine the larger parts of what you don't get to see from the characters perspective! :D

The music and sound are great! I loved the Japanese voice actors, I can't say anything for the English version as there is none, but I'd highly recommend the Japanese version even if there was read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 15, 2015
How to be happy: watch Hunter x Hunter
How to be sad: finish Hunter x Hunter
This is one of those animes that leave you craving for more. (Yes, even after 148 episodes.) **Spoiler Free**

Story: 9
This is about a 12-year-old boy who sets out on a journey to find his father and become a Hunter like him. He's an unpolished diamond, but his character develops and refines as you continue to watch the series. There are many arcs in the story. And while my favourite is the Hunter Exam arc, the rest of the arcs still make you want to click, "Next Episode" repeatedly until it's 1am. read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 19, 2015
alright, first review!! i might be a little biased because this series is honestly my favorite anime of all time, but i'll try to be fair. also this is going to be really long because i have a lot to say about this series.

hunter x hunter starts out like a typical shounen anime. with our main hero, gon freecss, departing on a journey with a straight-forward goal, meets his friends (kurapika, leorio, and killua zoldyck) and overcome the challenges of the hunter exam to become hunters. on the outside, this seems like nothing out of the ordinary, but after a short amount read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 25, 2015
Many people take a look at the childish exterior of this show and without second thought don't even give HxH a chance, but a show that managed to climb in the top lists of many sites and become the favorite anime of many users, certainly does something right that it deserves your minimum attention if nothing more.Every review more or less is a subjective experience of a series, so give me the chance to tell you why I loved this show as much as I did, and what I consider as pros, and what may be seem as cons.

First of all I love read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 7, 2015
I'm going to try to be objective for a series that firmly places itself in the hearts of many, so I will keep it simple. HxH is great, although some of the parts bored me. Overarching themes were present, but I wonder if the art correctly presented them. The art was okay, but it didn't elicit any strong emotions, and contrasts with the serious tones for most of the show. The music helped bring drama to some of the otherwise boring scenes. Arc length and pacing was inconsistent, as is seen when you compare the length of all other arcs to the Chimera arc. The read more
I found this review Helpful