MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #14
Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Hunter x Hunter (2011)

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: HxH (2011)
Japanese: HUNTERxHUNTER (2011)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to ?
Producers: Madhouse, VAP
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.881 (scored by 45485 users)
Ranked: #142
Popularity: #215
Members: 84,387
Favorites: 6,463
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Oct 10, 2013
Cresherhsm
The lack of popularity surrounding Hunter x Hunter (2011) has always confused me, especially after catching up to it six months ago. For an anime that seems to do everything right, it isn't talked about a lot at a popular level. Neither has it been successful in garnering a fan base similar to that of SNK or SAO. I decided to write this review to do the show justice. If a show this good is still flying under your radar or if you are discouraged from watching this because of its "childish appearance" then reading this review is a must.

Story:
HxH is about a young read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 15, 2014
Courthead
Hunter x Hunter is an absolute masterpiece. It's the gold standard that all other shonen should aspire to, and I can't imagine giving it anything other than a 10. Hell, I wish I could give it an 11.

If you're wondering why it deserves such lofty praise, fear not, because I plan to spend the rest of this review defending my words.

I'll start by saying that to fully appreciate everything this series does well, you have to be someone who appreciates detail. Personally, I get excited by powerups and epic battles no less than anyone else, but that alone is never enough for me. I want read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 9, 2012
Crook
Well, half a year later, I am here to revisit this review. I've now passed the 52 episodes like the other ongoing viewers, and with that I watched the Phantom Troupe Arc.

Story:
(Revisited)
The beginning arc of the series offers some character introductions and a whole lot of explanation about the world of HxH. The in-depth story lines are less visible, but are already being treated in the background. At this time in the story, it's in the form of remarks and interactions between characters. The further this Hunter Exam arc progresses, however, the more individual stories are being fleshed out. Whether these are grudges, family read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 12, 2013
greatsailorman
When I first laid my eyes on Hunter X Hunter six years ago, it surprised me. This remake is equally surprising- and for all of the right reasons. I'd like to begin by stating that though I am a fan of the original animated work, I will evaluate the show based off of its own merits. Towards the end of the review, I will draw a few comparisons to the original animated work.

To begin, the story is pretty simple. A twelve year old boy by the name of Gon wishes to meet his father. To do so, he decides to become a hunter- in read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 9, 2014
ShadowofUchiha
Initially, I was reluctant to watch hxh and I delayed watching it for about a year, primarily due to three main reasons
1)The protagonist is a 12 yr old boy,(too childish)
2)His aim is to find his father(too simplistic)
3)There isn't any female lead(most others have like Sakura in naruto, inoue, rukia in bleach, nami in one piece) to spice things up.
But I was gravely mistaken, this show is an absolute masterpiece probably unparalleled. Though I am happy I deferred watching it, else I might have dropped some other animes, which weren't close enough to hxh.
A small note Hxh(2011) is the new adaptation of the hxh(1999), so read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 8, 2011
Thatguy31
ITS FREAKING GOOD!!

I'm pretty tired of these reviews saying "Oh it doesn't like up to the 1999 version" and crap. Before I begin let me note that I have seen SOME of the 1999 version and ALL of the manga. I won't really be doing a comparison cause its not only unfair as I haven't seen all of it(and don't really plan to) but because people before me have done so already.

Story: Its a remake, I.E. the same thing. Gon sets out to become a Hunter in order to find his dad and to find out whats so great about the job that he'd abandon read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 12, 2014
Celestrial2
Time to review one of the best anime ever. First off, I have to say, I liked the old HxH so much. It was a great show in many aspects. However, I think it is safe to say the 2011 version has surpassed the previous one by all means. This anime is one hell of a rollercoaster that you just can't stop watching. You will start, click next episode over and over and over again without a break. This show is just pure amazingness that anyone and everyone can enjoy. This reboot of the show is phenomenal In every sense and is a must watch read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 17, 2014
FreakyTy
OMG some swear words and possibly minor spoilers, you've been warned.

Have you ever seen something so surprisingly good on a level so much higher than what you were expecting that your whole view of an entire genre changes in a few episodes? I have, and the show that did it for me was the "Quote" Shounen Battle Anime "Un-quote" Hunter x Hunter (2011). In this case the year of the show doesn't matter as far as story goes bother versions are superb on that front, but for the purpose of this review I will be speaking only of the newer 2011 release.

Take everything you have read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 27, 2013
Mortsyn
This preview will mostly be a comparison between the original Hunter x Hunter and the currently airing remake. A proper review will probably come once the show is over, and this entry will be changed to most likely a blog entry (though it will of course be linked in the review.)

Well then, since the new Hunter x Hunter (which I will from here on forth call 2011) is now done adapting everything that the original Anime (which I will call 1999) adapted, I thought it would be nice to do a comparison between this version's first 75 episodes and 1999's entire TV series and its read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 25, 2014
x3Rampage
Hunter X Hunter. Is. Fantastic. There's no other word for it, it is FANTASTIC.
Before I start, I'd like to point out that the points I'm writing are in addition to another review from someone called Cresherhsm. His/her review is most "Helpful" for this anime so it's really not difficult to find.

Story (10/10)
The start of the story is very simple. A young main character ,Gon goes on a journey to find his father, Ging, while having many adventures on the way, making new friends and becoming stronger along the way so the basic setting is extremely simple. But it's the unexpectedness that comes out of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 3, 2014
MrShammyWow
Hunter x Hunter, a series that has been brought down by its own art style, when some people see the art style on this series they would think that it a series made for kids, but what lies within is something so great and amazing that missing it would be a sin

Story 10/10

One of the main strong points of this series is its amazing story, I don't want to say any spoilers so what I will say is each arc is this series is extremely well done and fantastic, the difference is the first arc and current arc make you feel as if you are read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 16, 2013
sushiisawesome
At this period of time, the shonen demographic has become a difficult demographic to recommend to experienced anime fans, due to increasingly unoriginal stories and recycled concepts being rampant among the shonen demographic, leading for many people to dismiss it as an overly repetitive, stagnant demographic with a few gems in between.

Classics within the demographic suffer from another core problem; while an excellent portion of the classic shonen demographic are truly fantastic series within their own right, the demographic suffers from those classics not holding up in the current time among modern yet experienced anime fans.


Why is all of the above relevant?
With all these conditions read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 11, 2013
ladyhaman
For those who troll saying the original is better, I haven't seen the original, but not having watched the original has no effect on how much I enjoyed the anime for what it was, and it's awesome so far. I don't like writing reviews, especially lengthy ones, because seriously who reads all?

Story: Finishing the Phantom Troupe arc (ep58), I feel as I have watched enough to criticize the anime. For a shonen, this anime's story gets pretty deep, it's actually enjoyable and it isn't riddled with nonsense super powers or melodrama that every shonen has. EVERYTHING is explained and it makes sense 9/10

Art: Art read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 4, 2013
Mkayyy
I'm going to try keep this as short as I can.

First of all I'm gonna compare it with other shounens, the reason I like this a lot more or why I rate it higher than other shounens is mainly because there's less bullshit. By bullshit I mean the MCs (main characters) always winning no matter what kind of situation they are put in. If you watch other shounens you should understand what I mean by that. If you hate the fact that the MCs always win without reason then this might be a show that you should give a try, obviously the MCs in this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2012
d_2_HxH
NOTE: This review has been edited! I've decided to aim for a more general review of the anime so that I can try to persuade anyone into watching this wonderful anime! (Sorry if this review is too long though, I wanna give it justice unlike my previous attempt)


Ah, where to begin? Well I guess I should begin by mentioning that I have seen all of the original anime except for the last two episodes of the final OVA (I couldn't bear to see it end!), read some of the manga, and have watched and will continue to watch each and every episode of the this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 4, 2014
MAV97
Easily the best battle shounen anime/manga of all time. I know there are a lot of eps, but it isn't full of ridiculous filler and non canon nonsense that requires you to look up what eps to avoid before watching. Not only the best battle shounen, but one of the best anime ever. Period.

Story: 10
I won't bother you with a long description of storyline bc that doesn't really say much about what each arc really entails (and I don't want to post spoilers). The premise is Gon Freecs is a young boy who's father is a Hunter (not like real life hunters). read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 4, 2013
hypertower
First I'd like to clarify: I have not read the manga nor watched the original anime series from 1999. This review applies only to the remake of 2011.

Story: I'll spare you the summary and cut right to the chase. The story is very character-based and fast-paced. Judging from some of the other reviews I've read, it sticks pretty closely to the original manga story. It is true that there are practically no fillers! The story moves very quickly, one arc after another. One thing I would like to point out though - the different mood/tone between each arc is very obvious. Perhaps I am read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 10, 2013
Unchou
Hunter x Hunter; an anime that is becoming increasingly popular among the AMV community because of its well-chereographed, strategically correct, fluid action scenes; and to simple anime fans such as me for its exceptionally well-written story, lovable characters and unpredictable plot. No spoilers in this review whatsoever.


Hunter x Hunter is a remake of the 1999 series with the same name (minus the 2011 part) that follows the manga page by page without adding any filler and going even further in the story. Straight from the beginning we are introduced to our main character and its goal, Gon.
A cheerful, determined, optimistic yet down-to-earth boy. His voice read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 8, 2013
soundscape
I have seen both versions of Hunter x Hunter and I liked the 1999 version better so there will be inevitably some slight comparisons in this review to the 2011 one.

Story:
Togashi Yoshihiro is a very talented mangaka who managed to create a world of great imagination where he can take you from dark realistic settings to a virtual reality cheerful world.The story progresses in arc format with each arc being connected nicely together, of course there is the main story where the protagonist a small boy named Gon embarks on a journey to search for his father a "Hunter" where lots of difficult challenges and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2013
Abh_jet
Gon - A boy who is on a journey to find his father.

Epicness? You already sensed it right! Hell yeah! This anime redefines the meaning of epicness!!

I still cant understand how a masterpiece anime like this doesnt have much hype.

Now let me tell you, one by one.

STORY - 10/10
outstanding! I wont give any spoilers. But, the story is truely a masterpiece! There is hunter exam arc, yorknew arc, greed island arc. . . . . . Epic win!

Art - 10/10
Colourful & toned down to dark when necessary. Oh man, the art is actually a plus point.

Sound - 10/10
starts kinda avarage in this in first few read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices