MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #797
No.6

No.6

Alternative Titles

English: No.6
Japanese: NO.6 ナンバー・シックス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2011 to Sep 16, 2011
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 50170 users)
Ranked: #7972
Popularity: #229
Members: 89,163
Favorites: 2,787
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Sep 24, 2011
rachel-chanx3
No.6 is a captivating anime and I can honestly say that after having just watched it twice through. But then again, everyone has different tastes and this just may not be your cup of tea. Even so, it couldn’t hurt to try a sip, could it?

NOTE: For my sake, I’m writing Nezumi, as Nezumi, and not “Rat” like in the subs, and Shion instead of Sion, like the MAL character page.

Story – 8/10. No.6 is a utopia, there is no poverty, there are no conflicts, there are no problems. You will live happily and peacefully within these safe walls, and you will wear this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 14, 2013
CD209
The story of no. 6 is set in a post apocalyptic earth, where humans are divided into 6 cities, and the one that is focused on is number 6, hence the title. So far, so good right? We have a story that occurs outside of a high school for once. Throw a few dystopian elements in, and it immediately looks like something worth watching. Not to mention, no. 6 is animated by studio Bones, the people behind FMA: Brotherhood. So why do I not enjoy this nearly as much as similar animes?

Let"s take a closer look.

Story: 7/10

Just a fair warning, this is not an anime read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 22, 2011
Silent_Scream
It is easy to like shows when it includes one of your favorite genres: slice of life, sci-fi, action, anything, just name it. But what if it includes something that doesn’t appeal to you, something that you think would offend you as an individual; would this show still be likable? Yes, it is very possible. With a bit of effort and who knows, what you have thought was horrific would in the end turn out terrific. But the real question is, is it really worth seeing the light at the end of the tunnel? Let’s try to answer that momentarily.

Whether you like it or not, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 29, 2011
Catseyes
I read some other reviews and found them a bit short sighted in some areas. If you are the type of person that , like many i know, watch anime in the background while doing other things and just look close when things blow up... dont bother with this one. You will miss details and not get the big picture and small subplots and it will seem boring.

Yes not much action in the middle episodes, and yes some characters on a first look might just seem filling. But if you look closer it's not so.
This isn't an action anime. It actually addresses many read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 15, 2011
Funnyguts
Wow, that was painful. Please, anyone reading this, don't bother with this anime. Go pick up a translation of the novels or the manga. I've only read brief summaries of the novel, but those summaries were enough to let me know how good of a show this could have been, and just how far BONES had to go out of its way to make the No. 6 anime a complete trainwreck.

The first three episodes of the show were really interesting. Not fantastic, but enough to get me excited. There's a strong sense of mystery pervading the first episode: Why is this kid being pursued? read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 29, 2011
Argentchan
Seemed to be lacking in reviews, so decided for me to write my own.
Firstly, although only four episodes in, there are some definite Shonen Ai hints. We still have some more episodes to go before it is confirmed, but it is most definitely on the cards. So do not watch if you aren't into that kind of thing. If not, do try this, it makes for interesting character (and comical) interaction and relationship. (Sometimes even married couple like)

Now onto the main story, set in the near future in a Dystopia. (Google is your friend) Which follows Sion and Nezumi(Rat)'s story that investigates the mysteries of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 31, 2011
Hazegurl
Had so much potential but was wasted. When I saw the first episode I fell in love with the characters and became very interested in the story. I was so glad this wasn't one of those animes where you had to watch up until episode 4 or 5 before something good happens. It started right out with some action and character development.

Watching the next batch of episodes had me hooked because there was so many things going on with Shion and Nezumi, both apart and together, plus the background of No. 6 and how it got the way it is. The horrible acts committed by read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 18, 2011
pennyiscute
I won't repeat the synopsis, instead I will just tell you exactly what to expect from watching this: this is not for kids. Far from it. It's a dark drama with blood, death, insects sucking the life out of humans, government secrets and in one scene a mountain of dead bodies! It's not for the fainthearted, but with saying that it, it's not gory or frightening it's just when someone gets into a fight they actually bleed and get hurt.

It does have quirky moments though and the relationship between the two main characters tugs at your heart a few times. You even get a few read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 11, 2011
TimChan
Firstly, No. 6 is very homotastic. It`s a fact. But to anyone who may be discouraged by the not-very-subtle homosexuality, I advise that you keep watching. Whether or not you like the overt man-love that erupts between Nezumi and Sion (who, oddly, resemble a certain pair of characters from D.Gray Man who get a lot of Yaoi attention as well), getting past it will reveal an intriguing, thought-provoking plot. Given, it is just like any utopian anime in concept - Nuclear War, bla bla bla, Utopia that turns out to not be Utopia. Yet, No. 6 does not suffer from read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 25, 2013
HattiewithSugar
“Ignorance is Bliss.” Many agree with such a term, many go against it, and many qualify it. This anime, “No. 6” is one of those animes that really gets you thinking about it. Is living in eternal bliss without knowing what goes on under the surface the best way to live? What about rebelling against the gov’t and risking your own life to save the ignorant minds of others? Would you want to be the righteous villain, or the guilty hero? Destroy or be destroyed? Survive, or die? Evil or Good? Black or White? No. 6 is really that type of anime that begs these read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2013
Allice84
Ah.... such wasted potential.

The story is basically about a utopian society called No. 6. The story basically centers around two teenage named Nezumi and Shion. Now, like all utopian societies, this one holds major unseen flaws. Though it is not mentioned, this is a sorta shonen ai type of anime. However, the story does not revolve very much around that aspect of the anime, so for those who do not care for it, do not worry. Just ignore it and keep watching.

The story of the anime started out with good promise. It starts out with Shion, the protagonist with a high level IQ, who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 17, 2013
moonlitneko
Well, I have actually been tryin to watch this back in the summer of last year. And I finished it in one day, so that's nice. Now, onto the review.

I do have to say, the main reason I wanted to watch this show was because it was recommended as a yaoi anime. But in all entirety, it's not really all that yaoish. Yeah, the main characters are the intended couple, but this is more of a story than a yaoi anime. So, even though I was disappointed in that area, it turned out to be a great story all together with amazing characters. I really read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 25, 2011
marusamarento
No. 6 is probably one of the most publicised anime of the Summer 2011 season, for this reason only:

The two characters are supposedly gaybones for each other.

No. 6 is a beautifully animated series by Studio Bones, who also gave us Full Metal Alchemist and Soul Eater. It is based on a series of light novels and should be known for its literary allusions and dystopian undertones. However, though the potential for an intelligent sci-fi anime is there, it is never fully realised.

Even in the light novels the plot seems rather dodgy, indecisive on whether it wants to focus on mythology or science as a basis read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2014
soupbandit
Based on the novel, it strays a little bit away at some points. The main theme and everything is still there. They also left out part of the ending in the novel, which is absolutely amazing. if you've finished watching this anime, I recommend you to read chapter 35 (last chapter) of the novel.

This is a very good anime and has you on the edge of your seat. The plot is great but it suffers from pacing issues. The earlier episodes and the last two episodes have so much crammed inside. While some of the middle episodes had very little point and barely anything happened read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 3, 2011
DeadByDani
I really liked the storyline in this anime, and how it shows you the characters as kids and then when they're older, also I really loved how interesting it was and how most of the episodes ended at a cliff hanger, making you want to watch more.

I would have enjoyed it much more if it had been longer than eleven episodes, but in the end it turned out okay.

I liked how different the characters where compared to each other, and I enjoyed their different reactions to what was being said.

Overall, I though it was a great anime, and I would love to watch it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2011
Jigoku-n3ko
No.6 makes a valiant effort to cram as many themes as it possibly can in its short duration. It aspires to be a post apocalyptic dystopian adventure, a corrupted-regime-fighting character study with a dash of yaoi and some inexplicably mystical deus ex machina as topping. It all makes as much sense as divining the future from my cat’s furballs.

Story:
Stupidly naive boy is kicked out of an artificial paradise city, lives with a pretty bad-boy in a refugee ghetto. Confusing situations ensue.
The story is all over the place. It spends too much time on things that are proven to be unimportant in the end, it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 16, 2011
Snowley
I'd love to give that show a good 9+. I really would. Sadly, No.6 is a prefect example of anime screwed up by a bad ending. Last 5 minutes of the show make the overall score drop by one. Still, it's a great, compelling story for those, who love drama with a piece of action.

Story:
Anime follows the story of Sion, who lives in a perfect, utopian society of city called No.6, and Nezumi, who falls the victim of authorities ruling mentioned town. Two boys join forces to discover the truth about about the city, as well as themselves.
As you can see, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 24, 2012
Greedy_Monster
Basic Facts:
- Contains a highly suggestive (nay, canon), meaningful, and wonderfully crafted relationship between two men.
-There's no face to the bad side in this story.
- Convoluted storyline that tried to juggle a post apocalyptic false utopia and magical forest shenanigans in 11 episodes.
- Imbalance in character development. Some side characters are more fleshed out than main characters.

Well, that was a nice summation of what I'd like to discuss. Let me start with the bad stuff.

The storyline in this anime is horrendous. As soon as they start weaving in complications into the story, I threw in the towel. No.6 threw crisp, polished, and frightening social read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 16, 2013
67OtakuGirl24X3
After completing No. 6, I must say, I am very impressed and deeply in love.

I admit: I only decided to watch the anime because I had seen fanart of Shion x Rat and thought they were an adorable pairing. But when I actually got down to watching it, I realized it was so much more than that, and hardly even revolved around romance (let alone yaoi).

Normally, it’ll take me at least a week to finish even a short anime. Yet I was so infatuated with No. 6 that I watched all 11 episodes in one day. I watched the English dub since I’m too read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 23, 2011
chiXcookie
Now, there have been a lot of mixed reviews for this anime. However, after just finishing it, I couldn't be any more entertained, in fact i'm rather sad it's ended. For a start, I think the two mains are incredibly likable, and very contrasting. Nezumi, who even though is very serious at times has plenty of other moments that make his character charming and funny. Especially his interactions with the rather naive Sion.
The only character I really didn't like was the girl counterpart, Safu, although, one of her lines earlier into the anime had me laughing my head off.

The plot is also really fantastic, there read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices