Ranked #872


Alternative Titles

English: No.6
Japanese: NO.6 ナンバー・シックス


Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2011 to Sep 16, 2011
Premiered: Summer 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Unknown
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 7.781 (scored by 69,550 users)
Ranked: #8722
Popularity: #256
Members: 127,834
Favorites: 3,704
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Sep 24, 2011
No.6 is a captivating anime and I can honestly say that after having just watched it twice through. But then again, everyone has different tastes and this just may not be your cup of tea. Even so, it couldn’t hurt to try a sip, could it?

NOTE: For my sake, I’m writing Nezumi, as Nezumi, and not “Rat” like in the subs, and Shion instead of Sion, like the MAL character page.

Story – 8/10. No.6 is a utopia, there is no poverty, there are no conflicts, there are no problems. You will live happily and peacefully within these safe walls, and you will wear this read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 26, 2015
No.6 was part of the first batch of anime I had acquired together with Noir, Kill la Kill, Attack on Titan and Another and was one that stayed unwatched for the longest but after watching it I realised waiting for this long was a grave mistake. Rarely do I come across something that manages to touch me as deeply as No.6 managed to, in its short runtime of eleven episodes.

The story takes place in the future after wars have ravaged most of the earth’s surface and now people live in a few city-states which are built on the only habitable pieces of land left. We read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 15, 2011
Wow, that was painful. Please, anyone reading this, don't bother with this anime. Go pick up a translation of the novels or the manga. I've only read brief summaries of the novel, but those summaries were enough to let me know how good of a show this could have been, and just how far BONES had to go out of its way to make the No. 6 anime a complete trainwreck.

The first three episodes of the show were really interesting. Not fantastic, but enough to get me excited. There's a strong sense of mystery pervading the first episode: Why is this kid being pursued? read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 5, 2015
***There will be minor spoilers in this review. If you would prefer not to know anything, just watch it. I mean, what have you got to lose? No.6 is short and unforgettable. Negative reviews come from plot problems and pace, but how rare is it to find an anime that is perfect? Just note that the manga does have a better ending.

After watching this anime, I fell so in love with the characters that I read both the light novel and the manga. While the anime version felt rushed at the end and the storyline was changed, I still think this anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 14, 2015
I love this anime. That's about as much as I can say. When I first started watching, I didn't expect much, and I got so much more and then some.

The characters are absolutely beautiful. Each and every one of them, not just Nezumi and Shion, but all of them. They are solid, believable, and they make you empathize and sympathize and drive you crazy with how much you come to love them in just 11 short episodes. The story itself is pretty good – except maybe for the ending, which to me was a bit of a Deus Ex Machina moment, but I can read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 16, 2015
No.6 is about a dystopian near future, where an apparently perfect city (No.6) hides a dark secret. This idea has been used in many animes, it’s nothing special. However, compared whith others, No.6 is more focused on the story and the main characters.

Nezumi and Shion are the protagonist of No.6. Nezumi is the typical character that was hurt badly and now he can’t trust anyone. In fact, he thinks that trusting someone will make him weak. There comes Shion, the innocent guy that knows nothing about what’s up outside his little world. However, he seems willing to learn about the harsh reality and confront it. read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 29, 2014
No.6 is probably one of my favorite stories of all time. It's so well written and so inspiring that when I started to watch the anime I had such high hopes especially after reading a few of the light novel volumes as well as the manga, however I was a bit disappointed in the outcome. I wouldn't say that the anime was all that bad, it was enjoyable, the Japanese voice actors were absolutely amazing (dubbed version is horrible don't watch that) and that's what really kept me going until the very end and of course the story of Shion and Nezumi. It's very face read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 14, 2013
The story of no. 6 is set in a post apocalyptic earth, where humans are divided into 6 cities, and the one that is focused on is number 6, hence the title. So far, so good right? We have a story that occurs outside of a high school for once. Throw a few dystopian elements in, and it immediately looks like something worth watching. Not to mention, no. 6 is animated by studio Bones, the people behind FMA: Brotherhood. So why do I not enjoy this nearly as much as similar animes?

Let"s take a closer look.

Story: 7/10

Just a fair warning, this is not an anime read more
I found this review Helpful
May 19, 2015
This was one of very few anime that I could definitely watch all the episodes in a row and not even feel time passing. And I will definitely watch it again sometime. Despite all the negative reviews, I felt the story flowed so nicely that as soon as the ending song started I frequently caught myself in surprise thinking "what? already?".

Main themes are contrasts, knowledge/ignorance, dreams/reality. Inside the narrative, though, there is a lot of refreshingly progressive turns. There are strong, feisty intelligent girls interested in sex, there are strong emotional relationships regardless of gender and time, there are people in sync with animals, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 29, 2011
Seemed to be lacking in reviews, so decided for me to write my own.
Firstly, although only four episodes in, there are some definite Shonen Ai hints. We still have some more episodes to go before it is confirmed, but it is most definitely on the cards. So do not watch if you aren't into that kind of thing. If not, do try this, it makes for interesting character (and comical) interaction and relationship. (Sometimes even married couple like)

Now onto the main story, set in the near future in a Dystopia. (Google is your friend) Which follows Sion and Nezumi(Rat)'s story that investigates the mysteries of read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 31, 2011
Had so much potential but was wasted. When I saw the first episode I fell in love with the characters and became very interested in the story. I was so glad this wasn't one of those animes where you had to watch up until episode 4 or 5 before something good happens. It started right out with some action and character development.

Watching the next batch of episodes had me hooked because there was so many things going on with Shion and Nezumi, both apart and together, plus the background of No. 6 and how it got the way it is. The horrible acts committed by read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 22, 2015
I originally started watching this anime because I was looking for an anime with some sort of homosexual romance with mature themes. I fell in love with the characters. Rat and Shion were absolutely adorable leads and my heart was melting at the relationship between the two. It did leave a lot to be desired though. They never actually drew closer together than just a couple kisses, which were more like pecks tbh.

Also, I felt very bitter sweet at the end of the story. For one, only being twelve episodes long doesn't really leave much room for an elaborate plot. At the end of read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 11, 2011
Firstly, No. 6 is very homotastic. It`s a fact. But to anyone who may be discouraged by the not-very-subtle homosexuality, I advise that you keep watching. Whether or not you like the overt man-love that erupts between Nezumi and Sion (who, oddly, resemble a certain pair of characters from D.Gray Man who get a lot of Yaoi attention as well), getting past it will reveal an intriguing, thought-provoking plot. Given, it is just like any utopian anime in concept - Nuclear War, bla bla bla, Utopia that turns out to not be Utopia. Yet, No. 6 does not suffer from read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2014
No. 6 is an interesting dystopian future anime where the world is a curiosity and the characters are what makes the show. The concept of the future in the show is not totally new (beautiful cities with dark secrets and displaced towns on the outside of its walls) but still intriguing.

What makes the show is the main story and the characters. Off the bat, the two main characters show that a complex, turbulent but genuine relationship will form. Other characters introduced in the show are also fascinating with strange dynamics between them. I would have liked to know more about the world of the show. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 10, 2011
All right, I realize I've only seen one episode, but it isn't often that I get this excited about an anime. One episode and I'm completely taken in by it. I'm incredibly interested in this world that has been created and in the two boys, Shion and Nezumi.

The art is lovely and my initial impression is the same that I had for Eden of the East. It just has that feel to it.

Anyway, only one episode in, I don't know much about the story or where it's going, but it looks promising. Extremely promising. I think read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 9, 2015
"You two just date already!" that's all I could think about during the whole eps. Though, in seriousness it's pretty suave, I don't have anything bad to say.

Here's my own understanding throughout the show, I think Shion is a very relatable character, I find that there's a little Shion within us, a Shion who lacks experience outside that big wall (world) and doesn't know much about bad things that happen in life. Shion sees good in people, and if that innocence is put aside by another person who experienced so much pain and lost, everything starts getting messy. Lol, yeah that's it, that's all read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 16, 2014
"Let there be shining lights in the starless sky" - No. 6 ending (song)

Well, the story takes place in - *rataplan* - No. 6; an ideal and perfect City, without starvation, without wars and everything you need is right there. The only thing: the city is surrounded by walls.

Soon after the start we're introduced to one of the mains; Shion. A curious, naive young Boy who lives in no. 6. One night he lets a strange, injured boy into his house - and this boy is revealed as the second main named Nezumi (Side note: Nezumi is the jap. word for Rat).
Of course is read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 15, 2015
No. 6 is an anime set in a dystopian setting that honestly could have been a lot better. As someone who has read both the manga and the novels, I can savely say that the anime fails to deliver on both the story and characters. Regardless, it was still very enjoyable.

The story's problems start with the setting, which is bland as all hell. The anime fails to make No. 6 interesting or threatening. Because of this, it is hard to get invested in the story. If you want world-building, I point you towards the novels.

The story's problems continue with the story itself, which read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 10, 2015
No.6 is a sci-fi anime. The world where the story takes place is very realistic even though is a dystopia. All the premises were great so I was expecting an outstanding anime but I was a bit disapponted in the end.

Story 7/10
As I said before, the fiction world they created is awsome and No.6 starts with a great story. Sadly the story is not explained enough and there are a few things left unsolved in the end. It begins with some great philosophical reflections which however are not carried out through the story. So it's an interesting story, maybe not developed enough.

Art 9/10
The art read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 18, 2011
I won't repeat the synopsis, instead I will just tell you exactly what to expect from watching this: this is not for kids. Far from it. It's a dark drama with blood, death, insects sucking the life out of humans, government secrets and in one scene a mountain of dead bodies! It's not for the fainthearted, but with saying that it, it's not gory or frightening it's just when someone gets into a fight they actually bleed and get hurt.

It does have quirky moments though and the relationship between the two main characters tugs at your heart a few times. You even get a few read more
I found this review Helpful