MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #3863
Sacred Seven

Sacred Seven

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Sacred 7
Japanese: セイクリッドセブン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2011 to Sep 16, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 6.781 (scored by 16159 users)
Ranked: #38632
Popularity: #865
Members: 32,634
Favorites: 51
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Nov 5, 2011
Archaeon
"Haste makes waste."

Entertainment is a cut throat industry, and while every studio and publisher scrabbles around in a desperate search for the next big thing, they must continue to make ends meet in some way. When it comes to anime this is usually achieved by creating a one season adaptation of an existing manga, game or light novel, and the aim of these shows isn't simply to generate revenue, but also to test the market for potential franchises. There are other methods though, one of which is to string together several well known base concepts, add something resembling a story, and release the finished article read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2013
Lyfa
Sacred Seven in an rather unique anime, that some will like and some will dislike. If you're intresed in watching it but not sure if you would like this, please read this review and be advised ^^

STORY
As I mentioned before the story is rather unique, the name of the anime stands for the power of 7 mysterious stones that once scattered. Thanks to Ruri's sacred power, Alma is the only person that is able to use all the power of the 7 stones as 1, he fights the other Dark Stones with help of Ruri's maids and Kagami.
The story is as you can see, a read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 21, 2011
brass2themax
I'm going to keep this review rather short, because frankly, even thinking about this show bores me to death. Writing a review about it is even worse because it makes me think about it harder than watching it.

STORY: 1 (Pathetic)

This show has no direction. Main character automatically has hidden powers from the get-go, of which the origins are glossed over within a few minutes and we are just expected to accept it. He fights to... Fight... And save... Something... Because the Darkstones (the enemies in this show) are... Evil? Because... They just are. Really. There's nothing to this at all. I'm not expecting a deep read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 18, 2011
judojon
Nowadays it has gotten to the point where there is so many action-oriented shows that it is hard to find one that stands out. With its retro-vibe, Sacred Seven tries to stand out from the crowd astedically. However, it also goes to show that it takes more than aesthetics to make a show something truly special.

The story is simple superhero hijinks following one Alma Tandogi, a rather intimidating looking outcast who has inhuman powers, and keeps to himself because of them. He spends most of his free time searching for a purple gemstone in a river, a keepsake of his late mother he had lost read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 11, 2011
sciencewarrior
This is just what one would expect from a Sunrise/Bandai series: action-packed, family-friendly, with pretty solid production values.

The characters will also look familiar: Tandoji, the brooding, self-doubting hero, who is afraid of his own power; Ruri, the absurdly rich and nice girl that needs his help, and her army of combat maids led by the mecha-riding super-efficient butler; the snarky infodumping comic relief; the mysterious black knight; the positive and energetic president of the Rock Club (rock as in pebble, not music), and assorted high school students. As the story progresses, we get to see some character development, specially from the hero, and there's read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 2, 2011
Taufiq91
Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman star as two detectives who investigate a series of murders relating to the seven deadly sins, like wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony. They discover that these series of murders are conducted by Kevin Spacey who plays a hardcore Christian who's only trying to do God's holy work and.....

...wait? This isn't Se7en? You mean, we aren't watching the David Fincher movie? Oh, you want me to review SACRED Seven, not Se7en. Oh, okay.

Alright, let's talk Sacred Seven. Now, let's say you're a producer at Studio Sunrise and you are asked to produce an anime for the Summer of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 3, 2011
Aphroticus
As an avid watcher of Anime, I tend to look into most series with the utmost optimism and confidence that whatever I watch fulfills a certain level of overall enjoyment. The 2011 batch has had it's fair share of hits and misses so far which is understandable. Each Studio has the opportunity and resources to provide the viewers with content that ranges to the appeal of any kind of Anime fan. It's no wonder Sunrise has made it where they are now looking back at previous successes (Wolf's Rain, Cowboy Bebop, Planetes, etc...).

Sacred Seven however, is something Sunrise can learn from in the following read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 15, 2011
animegirl12182
While I don't think this anime is going to be a masterpiece, I don't think it's as bad as some of the other reviews I saw.

Overall, the story looks to be a pretty standard story, but personally, I don't mind that. It's the guy who's afraid of his power coming to terms with it and fighting (from what I can tell in one episode). Nothing groundbreaking, but based on what I've seen, it looks like they are going to do it well.

I like the art. It feels very much like Scryed, but hopefully the story will be better (sorry if you liked read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2011
Bugsquasher
When I wrote this review originally I only watched three episodes and gave it an 8. I'm going to be honest: it went a little downhill from there. But then I saw the final episode. And I sat back on my chair thinking of the awesomeness I just witnessed. Seriously, if you start this anime you have got to finish it till the end. I mean that.

In the opening we see Tandoji riding his tiny motorcycle in the most badass way possible and FictionJunction singing a fitting song. First impressions are important, and this show managed to give a good one.

About the story; read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 23, 2011
Raffinate
I really should have seen the warning signs with this show. I had high hopes for a over-the-top Sunrise action series with faaaaabulous costumes and amazing fights. Sacred Seven delivered all of those things buried inside an insipid high school anime. It had all the theoretical ingredients for a fantastic series, but failed on the execution. For a show that revolves around gemstones and rocks, Sacred Seven has a weak foundation.

The story starts off with a call-to-action for the hero, Alma Tandouj, to fight against the Darkstones that threaten the general population. Alma has the power of the Sacred Seven unlocked when he meets Ruri read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 2, 2013
roriconfan
THE STAFF
- Animated and planned by studio Sunrise, which means cool robot action.
- Directed by Oohashi Yoshimitsu, who has produced nothing but random bullshit shows in his whole career.

Sacred Seven is to fighting shonen what Star Driver is to mecha. A laid back series, full of stereotypes that tributes various shows of the past. It supposed to be running mostly on nostalgia that anything else, and in all honesty it made a crappy job at it. Everything is completely random and uninspired, plus nothing is focused upon enough for us to care.

PRODUCTION VALUES
It feels like a whole fortune was wasted on making artwork read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 8, 2011
Nyron
Okay kids, time for some more real talk. Scryed came out 10 years ago, that's a whole damn decade. That show was a masterpiece, it took every aspect of its genre and executed them perfectly. The story was straight to the point and didn't have any bullshit to weigh it down. No titties, no robots, no girlymen, no school setting, no overelaborate art direction, no holes, no filler, no extraneous characters, etc; it was a super power fighting show about people who beat the shit out of things and were proud to have that privilege. It was truly Sunrise's greatest work of its kind.

That's one read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 17, 2011
flower-strike
Sacred Seven is a show that should only be watched with the mindset of "this is a parody of every mecha show ever." If you aren't thinking that as you watch it, you'll think it's shit. If you do think of it as a parody, it'll still be shitty, but at least it'll be enjoyably so.

The main character lives alone in a hovel, but his life is changed by the lovely Ruri Aiba. Ruri is half his height and her hair probably weighs more than she does, but she's very rich and bad at typical social things. She has a devoted butler who's in love read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 10, 2011
versx
Well, I know, that most of people did not understand Mars of Destruction, but it is top level parody on series like Sacred Seven. And Sacred Seven should be on it's place in rating.
 
1) Story. There is no such thing, if you don't count for a story shit like "ordinary japaneese schoolboy suddenly gets superpower and starts fighting with some EVIL FORCES to PROTECT people all over the world".
MAMORU MAMORU TATAKAI MAMORU, without any questions and any reason.
 
2) Art is the same as in Code Geass. If you like thin gay-looking boys and military forces dressed in maid uniforms (sure it is more comfortably to read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 1, 2011
ChioneDyrken
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!]

Before taking on Sacred Seven, I’ve read of many critiques about it. Though there were a minority number of people who liked/loved the anime, there was a majority of those who did not. Even on YouTube, when I took a glance at their opening song by FictionJunction, comments stated that the Stone Cold awesomeness didn’t complement the awful plot Sacred Seven had.

Well, that was what I heard, but decided to take it on anyway.

I must say that the anime wasn’t that bad. Certainly, it wasn’t those kind that will make one go WOW! or OMG! type of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 6, 2011
Keodara
This is a review based on the first episode (obviously):

I'm hoping whatever I type here will help people who are in the middle of deciding if this anime is worth it or not. I could just put in "just watch it" and that's it, but I'd rather not. I don't know if this has a manga (it should) and if it does, I haven't read it.... so this is based on the anime only.

I'm leaving out character and enjoyment as both, to me, refer to character development of the whole anime and enjoyment refers to how I enjoyed the anime, both which I won't read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 17, 2011
AnimeFtw1
Here is how I stumbled upon this show. -tries not to spoil-
My brother was watching this anime in full screen and I just happened to walk by him, so I just watched for a minute or two, like any other animefreak would do =D.
I didn't have a clue of what this anime which I was sneakily looking at was.
So, here were my thoughts at the time. Quoted sentences are what I was thinking. (I'm a big fan of Tiger&Bunny and Kuroshitsuji, just saying)
Main character transforms, "Wth since when was there a new episode of Tiger&Bunny?". Then the ass that made me think it was read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2012
Johan44
This is a series that you should include in your watch list. What makes it good is the fact that its only 12 episodes so every episode is action packed and progress is quick. The downside is you don't see the characters grow and develop.

Overall it is good but if your looking for a anime that you'd wana rewatch in the future then this isn't it.
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 29, 2011
FudgeNouget
Now in response to the top 2 reviews I've just seen, which were both putting the anime down, I made this review which will hopefully be up there to replace one of them to show positive/negative aspects of the show.

Story 8:
Alright I will be honest and say that I was not expecting the story to be what it was. It was BETTER than what I expected and if you have read the two and watched it, you will agree with me. The story was honestly good in my opinion especially since it was what I was looking for when I was trying to watch this read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 22, 2011
Tyrenol
I didn't think Bancolding$ would do it. (Oh. And "Bancolding$" is the nickname I game Bandai Namco Holdings $unrise after watching those "money-making tragedies" Seed Destiny and Mai Otome.)

I didn't think Bancolding$ would create animu that's not blatantly either "I'LL SHOW YOU HOW TO CAPITALIZE ON A FRANCHISE!!" (Mitsuo Fukuda's Gundam series), "HEY!! WE'RE MOE AS WELL!!" (Mai Hime / Otome), or "Dey See Me Rollin', Dey Hatin'...!" (Code Geass, and more on this when you ask me).

Sacred Seven is (probably one of the more misleading titles for) one of the few shows that are written by thinking human beings; as oppose to (those read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices