MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #1781
Shin Shirayuki-hime Densetsu Pretear

Shin Shirayuki-hime Densetsu Pretear

Alternative Titles

English: Prétear: The New Legend of Snow White
Japanese: 新白雪姫伝説プリーティア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2001 to Jun 21, 2001
Duration: 23 min. per episode
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 7.391 (scored by 13863 users)
Ranked: #17812
Popularity: #955
Members: 25,668
Favorites: 308
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

comedy fantasy romance shoujo
Mar 14, 2013
Adair
"Solitude is everyone's greatest fear."

When most people look at the mahou shoujo genre nowadays, there are probably two things that immediately pop into their heads. The first is a traditional, happy-go-lucky mahou shoujo series with young girls fighting evil with the power of love and friendship, a la Sailor Moon or Pretty Cure.

The second is Puella Magi Madoka Magica, the dark and gritty reconstruction of the genre that became the darling of the anime fandom almost overnight.

However, Shin Shirayuki-hime Densetsu Pretear, or simply known as Pretear, seems to straddle those two preconceptions. While the series starts out as light-hearted as a traditional magical girl read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 11, 2008
Retro8bit
Upon first looking at the title you may be thinking to yourself, is this some sort of story about someone about to cry? (Pre-tear) Hahahaha but no, in all seriousness this is actual a magical girl style anime with a more interesting concept.

Story: 8/10
Basically it follows our main heroine "Himeno" as she tries to stop the evil demons made from the "Princess of disaster." (main villain) But how she does this is pretty interesting, she basically has to merge with these beings called "The Leafe Knights" in order to temporally take control of their powers, and this is quite important as she will need different read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2010
Elfsire
First few episodes may have you wavering between dropping but if you stay with this its well worth it. Its a beautiful plot and works on the theme of magic and nature. The main characters father has remarried and this give the family settings a cinderella feel as the new home is huge. Our main character meets up wth a collection of people and our story begins. The anime is similar to princess tutu and sailor moon but more elemental.
Its worth continuing with and has some very suprising shockers in the plot, I enjoyed this anime and wish it had been longer so the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 15, 2008
KloverKat
At first, I thought Pretear would be some dumb rip off of Sailor Moon using elements instead of planets but man was I wrong. This show was much deeper than I thought it would be and even made me cry at the end! One thing I liked about this anime was that all of the characters developed into likeable people and it also wasnt predictable-- because predictable shows are just plain boring. I couldnt stop watching it and finished the series in one night! So I give this one two thumbs up, although I wish I could have watched it over time other than all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 3, 2011
AdeNike
We all have a point in our life when we fall into this darkness of despair, when we are scared, don't know what to do, at times we feel it's best to disappear, or a knight in shining armour should come to our rescue. In times like these we also have options- get consumed by that darkness of despair or refuse to be consumed by it. That's the scenario Pretear presents to us.

Story
It's a whooping 10. It's about two Pretears; one who was once a Pretear and the other that wants to be a Pretear read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 7, 2012
kajia
If there's one word that sums up "Pretear", that word would be "cliched". It's not a word I personally use all that often, but whilst watching "Pretear", I couldn't help but have that word pop into my head constantly.

The whole magic girl setting is a well treaded premises, but usually there would be at least something that gives the show a sense of identity, something that helps distinguish it in some small way. That something is absent in "Pretear".

And as I watched, the cliches piled on one after another: the generic character designs; the overused magical girl transformation sequences; the annoyingly loud heorine; the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2009
Shadowlockheart
At first, I thought Pretear would be some dumb rip off of Sailor Moon using elements instead of planets but man was I wrong. This show was much deeper than I thought it would be and even made me cry at the end! One thing I liked about this anime was that all of the characters developed into likeable people and it also wasnt predictable-- because predictable shows are just plain boring. I couldnt stop watching it and finished the series in one night! So I give this one two thumbs up, although I wish I could have watched it over time other than all read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 3, 2009
torapu
At first, this show seems like every other Shojo anime you might've seen. And, you're pretty much right. This show is horrible.

Story: 3/10
This plot is very generic and boring. I cannot believe that I sat at watched this. A girl named Himeno Awayuki moves into her new home, and stumbles into a guy named Hayate. Then she discovers she has powers, yada yada yada. There's obviously romance involved, duh, it's a shojo anime. The rest of the plot writes itself, pretty much. I haven't read the manga (I never plan to) so I have no clue how much has been changed.

Art: 6/10
The read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 5, 2014
lampshades120
Today was Day 19 of my 30 Day Anime Challenge! Every day for 30 days, I will be watching a predetermined 11-13 episode anime that fits the genre of that day. Today's genre was REVERSE HAREM, and I selected Shin Shirayuki Hime Densetsu Pretear. I LOVE anime from the early 2000's for some reason. I enjoyed this show, but it was one of 'those' anime that have a really cheesy-ish and predictable ending; I will describe what I mean by that.

The characters are REALLY good. I love the main character. I also love the setting and situation, as well as the concept. I also read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2011
Donwun
I had overlooked this series for years and while I was watching an ADV outtake of another anime one of the voice actors said how much passion they put into vocing Pretear.

This is what finally made me check it out and I have to admit UNFORTUNATELY it was a decent shojo-ish anime despite a huge waste of episodes at the beginning

Animation

Lets take into account this series was made back in 2001, animation is quite decent even up to today’s standards, yes the transformations are korny as well as Pretears special attacks and enemy designs but its kinda in line with the style this anime is read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 22, 2010
kisaa7
The reason why I thought I'd watch this was because I love reverse harem!!
One girl - Himeno destined to be the pretear and fight against the evil princess who is draining leafe (a kind of life source) from the world... surrounded by 7 guys....
Kind of reminded me of sailormoon how she changes into costumes... but the wierd thing was- by combining with each individual guy. So if you think about it 13 episodes for the series... 7 changes with 7 diff guys and thats half the series gone just introducing the individual changes very briefly...

With all that taken into account, i felt the anime lacked read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 6, 2012
angelsreview
Well, this little magical girl show is pretty much standard in many ways. It’s not that it’s bad, mind you, but the story feels like it was told before in other shows. A young girl is trusted with the power to save the world and only has to let pretty young men inside her… um, not that way.

The whole thought of ‘pretear’ing seems to stem around the thought that she and one of the leafe knights becoming one and sharing the power that leafe knight controls. You can consider it sexual except when you have three of the leafe knights as preteens and toddlers, it read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 21, 2013
carterbently
I honestly did not like pretear at all...
It was predictible, annoying, and overuses the title of drama. I could barely get through the season. I would not reccommend it unless you want the most dramatic characters in history. :P
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 11, 2013
tuff2baunicorn
As a high schooler with little experience watching anime, but plenty of enthusiasm, I jumped at the chance to buy Pretear when I found the series in the bargain bin at Best Buy. If I could go back in time and warn myself against this total waste of money I would. This series belongs in the bargain bin for sure, not in a DVD player.

Even as a 16 year old, when my tastes were far less developed, I was disappointed with this show. The characters are shallow, the plot is pointless and the stakes are very low. It tries to pull at your heart strings read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 13, 2010
jigglypuff
I just finished it today. 1/13/09
And i've got to say it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.
I thought "oh this is going to be another salior moon knock off,"
but to my surprise, it was slighty different. Yes, there are magical beings, and such, but this was such a tear jerker.
I mean at first the series is very corny! (I did watch it dubbed, since I was to lazy to read subs)
But once you get into the 2nd-3rd episode, you think, "it's not so bad" and you kind of get hooked.
Once you get deep into it you can't help read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 22, 2011
Kohppa
Oh man. I loved this anime so freaking much. I bought it on a whim because it looked a bit like Sailor Moon and as soon as I finished the DVD, I went out and bought the next two in the series. This was the kind of anime that you tell all your friends about, not only because it's fun to watch, but also because the story is gripping.

I absolutely loved the characters. I loved their personalities, the way they interacted with one another, and how each one of them never felt like an unimportant part of the story. I can't remember if I watched read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 4, 2013
Kawaiipikachuu
This anime is sort of like Snow White and the Seven Dwarves... except they're all hot men.

This is the typical fairy magical powers anime. It follows a girl, who is the chosen Pretear. She can use each and every one of her new guy friends powers.

Struggling at the start, she eventually becomes a master at the magic and is a true hero.

There are many sacrifices, love, and a budding relationship between the girl and the man she secretly loves.

I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 5, 2013
shinigami1987
Story - 7

Although the target audience was probably teenage girls....there was enough of a kind of Shounen feel to this to keep this 25 Year Old Male interested...kinda like a reverse Bleach/Buso Renkin.....and that was good enough for me. The nice...albeit cheesy....sentiments in the last couple of episodse raised a slight smile. Slapstick 'Looney Tunes-like' subplot with the stepsister laying out traps is also quite amusing.

Art - 3

This was one of the biggest problems for me....and would probably given this an 8 or at least a 7 Overall score if it wasn't for the art. Why? Two factors........A) The artist doesn't seem to know how read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices